Cardross Golf Club

4.4627647059 4.5 stars from 5 (12)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6447 yards
  • Layout

  • Main Road, Cardross, Dumbarton, G82 5LB
  • +44 (0) 1389 841350, +44 (0) 1389 841754, +44 (0) 1389 841213
  • +44 (0) 1389 842162
  • www.cardross.com

Year built: 1895
Architect(s): James Braid, Willie Fernie (1904)
Style: Parkland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 71 6447 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 71 6146 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 74 5738 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 12 Reviews
5 stars:
8
4 stars:
3
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

12 out of 12 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"argyllshire's little gem"


reggargaro1967's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2017
Previously played Walked Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

excellent course playing extremely good winter rules from 1st nov till 1st mar pick ball up from fairway and place on edge of semi rough though all greens open apart from the 10th where they are doing drainage works


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Really good outlook in pleasant surroundings"


Tommygordon's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was very wet underfoot but to their credit all greens were on. Would like to play again in the summer. Given what we paid for the round it was good value for money


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"cardross the jewel of argyllshire"


reggargaro1967's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

when we arrived at the course we were met by extremely welcoming staff locker room/toilet were sparklingly clean we then went for a pint and a wee dram and sat out on the patio to be greeted by the wonderful sight of the 1st fairway and 18th overall the course is very tough and set on the carman hills and when you come off the 18th the 19th is a welcome sight


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very good, challenging and interesting course"


u000003109717's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great condition , challenging on a good day, was a fairly strong wind at certain points.Most enjoyable, you will play well to maintain your handicap, the view from the 18th tee is sublime.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A hidden gem"


u328434789's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a fantastic golf course. In fantastic condition, would recommend this to all golfers.

Staff very friendly. Food lovely. Only slight disappointment was the kitchen was closed when we came in, however recommendation in Drymen was superb on way home.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"One to play"


ianhwallace's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall the weather was a real pain however this did not diminish the enjoyment my brother and I had playing this course and we will be back.

The course layout was quirky and really interesting and we found this a great feature of the course in relation to the twists and turns on some of the holes, seriously we had a fun time despite the weather.

Due to rainfall some of the bunkers were flooded and the continious rain made conditions almost unplayable but the greens were in really good condition and true and the fairways were firm, impressions we'll be back as my son played the day after and not a puddle in sight and bunkers in play, great recovery and implies the course is quite something when the sun shines.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout"


Stewarty74's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways and greens great a few blind shots on course if your ball strays left or right give a shout course is a bit hilly at some parts would play again but use my trolley next time


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"hidden gem"


martincosgrove7469's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cardross is a.fantatic test for all levels course is in excellent condition greens were a bit soft but roll very true would recommend this course to any one


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"The Jewel on the Clyde"


gfward's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2015
Previously played Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cardross has always been one of the best golf courses in the west of Scotland. It should be on everyone's 'must-play' list.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great value"


colinheggie's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/29/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very enjoyable round on a well maintained and challenging course. I was paired up to make a three ball which worked out great as the two guys were very nice. This may not be desirable for all, but for £15 you can't really complain!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautifully scenic"


gembranosus's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really enjoyed my round, very easy to negotiate round from green to next tee box. Course in great condition. If only my driving had been better,I would have scored better. That aside, 1 small gripe was sprinkler hoses on several greens as I managed to bump and run into a couple of them. Weather was terrific. Great day. :-)


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Superb course"


Cameroon79's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course, greens are in excellant condition, defiantly going to play here again soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed