Hayston Golf Club

4.5555333333 4.6 stars from 5 (11)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6080 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: All shirts must be an approved golf shirt. 'New style' round/crew neck golf shirts are acceptable. Collarless and/or sleeveless shirts or T-shirts are not considered acceptable. All golf shirts must be worn inside waistband at all times.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 6080 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 69 5786 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 71 5246 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 11 Reviews
5 stars:
8
4 stars:
0
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

8 out of 11 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Disappointing"


fraserangus's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We booked the tee at 8.30am, but phoned up the day before to add on another golfer. The pro said that this would be fine but when we arrived at 8.10am we would that the pro shop was shut and 12 elderly members on tee. So despite booking the tee we never got out until 9.15, with no score card or juice.

Course was in decent nick. Soft in places as was to be expected. Some of the rough at the base of the trees was too long so you were punished twice. Holes in the middle become a bit repetitive but still fairly enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



t740614443's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great greens but a boring layout pace of play slow due to senior medal that day.

Friendly pro and clubhouse


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Didn't match the reviews"


t2084152889's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Having read the reviews, we thought we couldn't really go wrong with this course but definitely wouldn't have played the course if we had known the conditions prior to playing. We paid £20 which is a touch more than we have paid recently for much higher standards. The first nine holes had coring on the greens and were very sandy - to the point where putting was really a lottery.

We understand from the locals that there was some work started but couldn't be completed because of the adverse weather ( but we only booked a couple of days ahead so this could have been communicated ). Had this been advised either by teeofftimes or the Pro in the shop, we would have played elsewhere.

The bunkers were not raked and didn't have enough sand in them so maybe they used the sand out of the bunkers for the greens? The layout - there are some nice holes but too many just straight up and down. Not too much variety.

If you are considering this one, I would call in advance to check conditions. Don't think these greens will be very good for a few weeks now but we probably won't return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Another excellent round at Hayston"


johnhorspool's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Second time on the course and again thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It's a great round , on a well maintained course. Thoroughly recommended


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"First time playing won't be last"


u676959725's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the first time playing this course and it was in a great condition considering the amount of rain over the last month, the greens were excellent and fast. There is some tricky holes abd sone tricky par 3's, will definitely be back to play here again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hayston....A hidden Gem!!"


johnhorspool's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Hayston is a challenging , well maintained , picturesque course. The greens were the best we have played on this year and that includes Glen Eagles Kings Course and Mar Hall so well done to the Hayston ground staff for top class maintenance and preparation during a tough spring growing season. This course is great fun and well worth trying out if you've never been there. We will be back!!!

p.s. Bar Staff and Pro shop staff are all super friendly and welcoming. We were treated like members from the start .....thank you


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



noelpbyrne's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

stunning golf course greens were ok they will be perfect in a week or 2


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


t1213448303's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played a 3 ball here the course was in great condition and I would recommend playing it. I'll definitely book up again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hidden gem"


t730438809's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tried this course today hadn't heard of it before saw reviews on tee times decided to try it

Gem of a course not the longest but always interesting holes to play

People and staff were very welcoming would definitely recommend this course you wouldn't be disappointed


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hayston gc"


u793770183's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a wonderful course. The term"hidden gem" is over used, but Hayston is well worthy of such praise. Every hole is different, plenty of changes in elevation and the course was well presented, a joy to play. Will definitely return again next year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"You must play this course"


u516526940's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a wonderful golf course every hole being of interest this is one of the best if not the best I've played all year

It was worth the journey and effort to get to will definitely play again

We didn't go into the clubhouse so that's why I couldn't rate the amenities no reason to believe they are not good


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed