Cameron House - The Carrick

3.9621764706 4.0 stars from 5 (19)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 7082 yards
  • Layout

Write a review

Year built: 2007
Architect(s): Doug Carrick (2007)
Type: Resort
Style: Heathland

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 7082 yards 0.0 0
White 71 6729 yards 0.0 0
Gold 71 6265 yards 0.0 0
Burgundy (W) 71 5380 yards 0.0 0
Blue (W) 71 5079 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 19 Reviews
5 stars:
7
4 stars:
9
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

17 out of 19 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Carrick"


t557898682's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What an experience to play an official European tour course. What a beautiful course even in early November. Staff were incredibly informative before we started. It bettered what I imagined, would highly recommend for anyone wanting to play a beautiful and exceptionally challenging course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wet weather dampened the day."


u968215257's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The carrick was a nice little course with some beautiful holes and testing greens.

We arrived got signed in ok the member of staff asked if we had played the course before- we hadn't. Usually this is when you'd get a small brief if layout etc but we got nothing. We had to go back in and ask where the 1st tee was located as signage is poor!

The weather was wet most of the round and the course held up reasonably well apart from some greens(would have been useful to have something to get the water of the green)

Would like to play the course when the weather is a little better but was disappointed as at £50 a round I would have expected better and didn't even get a look at the famous Loch lining until the 10th so it feels like an inland course till then.

Overall decent course but thinks it's better than it is.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Super Sodden."


Douglas4741492's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course but unfortunately due to recent wet weather, it was close to unplayable and probably should have been closed, due to being so waterlogged - plugged ball or casual water relief needed for almost every shot. Yuck.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"if you get the chance...get it played!"


u457166173's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great set up from start to finish, friendly clubhouse/dining staff as we arrived in plenty of time and couldn't be any more helpful.

Had a decent warm up area although practice range is a little further out from the 1st tee. 500-600 yards away.

Good facilities and breath-taking scenary added to the on course ambience. We were lucky it was a beautiful sunny day.

Good course set up and a real challenge to a mid-high handicapper.

I've heard the course is usually waterlogged ( even in height of summer) but I've got to say didn't experience any of that and fairways / greens in good shape.

Lunch decent quality and slightly over priced for a baguette but get what you pay for in lavish surroundings.

The only downside is the amount of duck poo on the fairways but with local habitat can't be helped so can't be too picky.

overall loved experience and I'd like to join next year as a member.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"5 BALL NIGHTMARE"


t1714785708's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played this course on a fine summer evening and what should have been a nice time was spoiled completely. We could only get a tee off time of 6.50 pm. There was no one in front but after 2 holes we'd caught a 5 ball who were quite clearly never going to let us through. I eventually called the club but was told that all golf staff had left and no one else could do anything about the matter. Although the 5 ball didn't finish the round their extremely slow pace meant we couldn't either. This completely ruined what was supposed to be a visit for a special occasion. That wasn't the only 5 ball we saw on the course. Very disappointed with the 5 ball being there and with nothing being done about it.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Lovely course, stunning scenery"


espioclone's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging course, accurate driving essential, makes you think and plan. Stunning scenery on a glorious evening.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Would definetly play again next time I am in the area"


u940212048's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very attractive layout - fantastic views especially around the 14th tee. Good for all levels of golfer


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



t1067354079's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Brilliant weather, stunning views and a testing course. Great price from teeoff times.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


pauloliver1988's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played on a Friday evening ,course was in good condition for time of year. Great challenge with some challenging drives over water.will definitely be back as was great value for money


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bitterly Disappointed."


None's avatar
Gender:  Male

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Green fees here range from £50/70/90 depending on the time of year. The golfing challenge cannot be underestimated, really good test (especially for me playing off 20!) Deep bunkers waiting for every shot, water hazards, out of bounds, you name it, you need to be on your mettle here! Also being on Loch Lomond some of the views are magnificent. The par 3 14th is perfect!

The condition of the course however was a disgrace. Tee box's uncut and full of divots, greens with bare patches on them, different patches of grass on the greens as if they've used incorrect grass seed on said bare patches? The fairways are shocking. I've never seen so many divots, literally hundreds of them all over the course, unkempt bunkers with dandelions growing out the sides, more moss than grass!!. Is it overplayed? Are the (very visible) ground staff not doing their jobs? Whatever it is, charging those prices you ought to hang your heads in shame.


Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"The Carrick"


u000005667155's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had been looking forward to playing the course today but due to the rainfall in the last few days the course was very wet and at times unplayable (in my opinion) very very soft underfoot on fairways, greens were ok for the time of year. To add to that the "claret jug" bar was closed so no pre or after game drinks or something to eat, we were directed to the "spa cafe" for coffee though. Putting it down to just being unlucky on the day as staff were first class and the course brilliantly designed, I would definitely return but only in the summer months where I think you would get the course at its best.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"The Carrick"


Bob251's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played just after the course had been closed for four days after serious rain and storm Doris.

In my opinion it should still have been closed,it was on the point of being unplayable.

Very very wet,greens had been airated and even the greens were extremely wet leaving footprints.

However the weather was spectacular and made the game worthwhile,the fourteenth signature hole is remarkable.

In summer the course must be a great one to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Jiever"


u488633841's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Some fair ways were pretty wet but there had been a lot of rain. Greens were in super condition as always.we will b back in the summer


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Carrick"


mcinally1's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Arrived to play heavy frost night before starter arranged to put our tee time back to try let course thaw out as much as possible played later than should will return when weather improves staff very helpful and pleasant


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good layout"


u222491040's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A good layout with some exceptional holes.

White tees excellent some yellows a bit scruffy.

Greens were very soft with a lot of meadow grass.

I would imagine very slow course if busy considering they consider 4.27 to be the pace of play !!

Not an easy walk.

A very enjoyable course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Value"


Paul9402095's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played at twilight and the value was great. Course was boggy in parts due to the downpours The area had. Some greens had been aired and sanded but the spectacular views and challenging holes made up for it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


u029560133's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2015
Previously played Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course, fairly challenging in that there are plenty of trees and water hazards to capture wayward shots. Scenery and course maintenance top class.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A must for golfers to play"


u916058465's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course to play with a few tough holes and stunning surroundings. Staff are really friendly and make you feel welcome.<br/> Will definitely be returning to play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Gorgeous, modern inland course in Scotland"


BrandonTuckerGA's avatar
Golf Advisor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2013
First time playing Paired up at course Walked Played 18 holes Fair weather

Reviewed on

What a gorgeous setting along Loch Lomond, a gem of Scotland. It's going to be tough for anyone to get a tee time at the nearby Loch Lomond Golf Club, which is uber-private, but this Carrick design is worthy of its own visit. I absolutely love the back nine, particularly the stretch of holes that overlook the lake. The pot bunkers are deep and plentiful, so heed caution off the tee.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed