Troon Municipal Golf Courses - Lochgreen Course

4.3492000000 4.3 stars from 5 (10)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 74
  • Length: 6785 yards
  • Layout

  • Harling Dr, Troon, Scotland KA10 6NF, South Ayrshire
  • +44 (0) 1292 312464, +44 (0) 1292 315566
  • +44 (0) 1292 312578
  • troonlinksgolf.co.uk
Write a review

Type: Public
Style: Links

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: No vests, sleeveless t-shirts, football shirts, torn denim or dirty work wear permitted. Shoes should not damage the golf greens, golf shoes are preferred although trainers are permitted

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Men 74 6785 yards 0.0 0
Ladies 74 6035 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 10 Reviews
5 stars:
6
4 stars:
3
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

9 out of 10 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Walked Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great day out"


u226604129's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/19/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played Lochgreen a few times before and always enjoy the challenge.The day started a bit misty but cleared after a few holes to clear blue skies.The course was in great condition and my golf was not bad either.All in had a good day and enjoyed some refreshments in the newly refubished club house


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Long"


u698452411's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course plays very long. Conditions not the best. Scruffy and lots of divots. Greens are slow. Open, so no lost balls.

Darley is in better shape and more fun to play.

Didn't use clubhouse so I can't say what the food and beverage situation is.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Troon Municipal - Loch Green"


u511288552's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the three courses here at Troon, however had chosen not to play this year as £36 a round for a municipal course is a bit steep.

Luckily TeeTimes sent me money off offer and I booked up for me and a friend for a round which equated to £18 each.

Facilities have recently been improved at the clubhouse, with a beer garden added for good measure.

Course was in great nick and greens were immaculate.

Only slight gripe was the twoball behind us who seemed to be in a race and basically stood on thr teeoff with us, we had a twoball in front of us so couldn't go any faster, we took 3 hours 14mins for our round which we thought was decent pace.

Hopefully we will be back if prices drop a touch, £28 would be fair enough


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wet but greens were good."


u720048566's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately we were behind some inconsiderate golfers from Glasgow who could not have held down a handicap of 28. There etiquette on the course was extremely poor in fact quite sure they knew nothing about etiquette. They would have been better placed playing the Fullerton course which would not have been as tough as Lochgreen.

Unfortunately councils too quick to take people's money and not question their golfing ability.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Great condition"


Zander1979's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the course today. First class condition the fairways and greens were very firm considering the cold and wet conditions of late. Will be back in the coming weeks


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Amazing experience"


hw's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/08/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Fabulous day at Lochgreen! The course was in great condition for this time of year and the sun shone - and it was 12 degrees!! Staff were excellent! Great value for money!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Layout"


Bajouk's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2015
Previously played Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

I played this course some years ago and was keen to go back and see how it was. I was not disappointed. The coures is beautifully crafted on the natural contours of the land and although the greens were slow (I played at night) they were in perfect condition and very true.<br/> A very enjoyable course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


darylm15's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2015
First time playing

Reviewed on

First time playing here conditions held up well would definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"great day out"


Brianybell's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time on this course.played a 3 ball with my friends..<br/> Staff totally friendly..course was in great condition...greens supper fast...holes look longer then they are...9th hole best iv played but beware the bunkers that surround the hole...going bck bent week to play lochgreen...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed