Troon Municipal Golf Courses - Darley Course

4.0606000000 4.1 stars from 5 (12)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6321 yards
  • Layout

  • Harling Dr, Troon, Scotland KA10 6NF, South Ayrshire
  • +44 (0) 1292 312464, +44 (0) 1292 315566
  • +44 (0) 1292 312578
  • troonlinksgolf.co.uk
Write a review

Year built: 1910
Type: Public
Style: Links

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: No vests, sleeveless t-shirts, football shirts, torn denim or dirty work wear permitted. Shoes should not damage the golf greens, golf shoes are preferred although trainers are permitted

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Men 71 6321 yards 0.0 0
Ladies 73 5681 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 12 Reviews
5 stars:
4
4 stars:
7
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

11 out of 12 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent course, excellent condition"


t1132903325's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Although I live locally, this is the first time I've played this course. For this time of year the course was in immaculate condition. It was a tough course to play, but enjoyable none the less. Will definitely be back soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great condition for the time of year."


u182413509's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent value for money Course that was in very good condition (particularly the greens) given the time of year that we played.

Will def play again.

Gary


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Troon experience"


Stefboy's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the darly course. Brilliant condition. But very very busy. 4hrs 40 mins. Finished in the moon light


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Still learning"


u030944661's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A very challenging course for the golfer who is can still hit a round in the high 90s.

I played this course with two freinds who I think enjoyed it more than me(I still enjoyed it)because they have better control over their driving to keep them out of trouble.

Definitely a course to revisit and put developing skills to the test.

Condition of the course was exemplary to other municipal courses.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Darley Golf Course 12/09/2017"


alansteven's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed my match with my friend. Conditions very wet and quite windy. However I knew the course would be challenging for me whatever the weather...and it was!. Very much enjoyed playing Darley as never played there before.

Will try it again sometime and try and pick better weather. Some lovely holes and good scenery.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Experience"


u698452411's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Didn't quite understand the starter, and his directions, but Scott-a worker, took me out and told me the layout. 1st hole then over or under the bridge to 2nd hole. Really fun course that might not appeal to some. Forced carries but fair. Hitting over hills to off camber fairways. Highly recommended by local players.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u1740302's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Opportunity wasted"


t768500482's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

So I was looking forward to playing Darley after reading some good reviews. The starter was very welcoming and friendly, took time to show us the first few holes.

The course must have been good in its day but I'm sorry to say that it has let itself go. The fairways did not appear to have been cut, daisies everywhere, the tee boxes were in poor condition, no rakes in the bunkers was inexcusable, sandpits!!

The greens were in good condition if lacking some water. I don't expect Augusta for £30 a round but I have played better courses for less. Maybe playing on the Troon brand too much and forgetting about quality. Sorry won't be back


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



u723389845's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Troon Darley"


stuartymucker's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Troon Darley on Sunday 8th January 2017. Course in decent shape considering time of year. 18 full greens and tees. Course very busy hence 18 holes taking over 4hrs for a 4 ball. A quite difficult course with a lot of gorse bushes, not a forgiving course for high handicappers, probably the reason for the round being relatively long.

All in all good value as booked through Golf Now on a Hot Deal. Would play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"James anderson"


u537255454's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good condition the weather was great all in all we had a good day would go back anytime


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed