Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

4.5837000000 4.6 stars from 5 (221)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6292 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.0
  • Layout

  • 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, California 93023
  • (805) 646-1111, 1 (888) 697-8780
  • (805) 640-2192
  • www.ojairesort.com
Write a review

Year built: 1923
Type: Resort
Greens: Kikuyu grass
Fairways: Kikuyu grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6292 yards 71.0 132
White 70 5962 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5244 yards 70.9 128

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 221 Reviews
5 stars:
150
4 stars:
56
3 stars:
10
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

211 out of 220 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for a weekend splurge wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Amazing Classic Course"


Pooshdaddy's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

I love this course. It's not long but it requires strategic and precise shots to accomplish scoring. George Thomas is an all-time great course architect and this course is a testament to that. You start by playing out from the Inn and weave down into the valley and surrounding property in a supremely enjoyable routing. Memorable holes are littered all around the course and kikuyu grass provides a proper challenge from the rough. Strategic short par 4's, both short and long par 3's and tons of elevation change makes this arguably the best public course for the money in Southern California. Highly recommend it for elevated resort style golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Ojai spa"


u448217166's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Loved the kindness of staff

Especially the starter

Cool guy

Love the course

A bit upset that back nine was closed

Not sure why

Played front twice

Will be back

Hopefully back nine will be open

Oh yeah greens were punched so that was

Kind of a bummer

Wish someone said mine would be closed and greens were aireated

For the $$

Have a good day


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



georgedurr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Ojai Valley Inn Golf"


bjamin005's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is is nostalgic and fair. It conjures thoughts of how golf courses used to be designed. Unforunately, there are no signs to direct visiting golfers while the resort is under construction. We spent 20 minutes making our way to the gold shop. Once on the course, there is minimal direction to the next hole... particularly from 9-10 & 18 to the parking lot.Also, the greens had recently been punched and the course reps did not disclose this information. The ammenities on the course offer some relief... good food and a quality watering hole offer relief. I qualify this course with 3.9 stars, the major distraction being the recently punched greens. Regardless, a fun 18 holes of golf.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u6810521's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We went into this our first time, being prepared for anything I brought copies of our reservation. We were greated with smiles and good service. The course is tough lots of challenges but the view was so beautiful the greens were so well kept up impresseive. The only small minus would be I needed someone to explain to us the smart carts and video pads how they work. At times the cart would not move and we kept hearing a beep thinking our phones but turned out the pad and smart carts have restricted areas of the course . Takes only one time to remember that


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Gem of a course"


Jon8106620's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is very scenic and peaseful. It is on the short side, but still quite challenging. The layout is interesting. Pace of play is good. The staff could not be more friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A Classic!!"


neilank's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You'd never know Ojai was closing in on a hundred years old. Even with all the rain this year, the course is in excellent condition. It is a traditional layout, following the contours of the land. No gimmicks here. The greens are fast with subtle and some not so subtle breaks. Watch out for the false fronts. The setting is serene with clear skies and the Topa Topa mountains as a back drop. The course is very challenging and plays much longer than the scorecard.The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Jimmy's Pub is everything a 19th hole should be; a great look and feel, nice selection of beers, wines, excellent food and an attentive staff.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u6418852's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"magical place"


wayne805's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ojai Valley Inn is such a beautiful place. The golf course is my favorite to play, love to get out there on Sunday's. Never too crowded and pace of play is good. Scenery is amazing and course is fun to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great day at Ojai!"


amac716's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, Jim the starter was terrific, got me off well before my tee time...at my request. Got paired up in a twosome with Dave who works at the Inn, really provided me a lot of advice as to where to hit my shots. Great experience, highly recommend!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"A great lay not far from home"


Mark1601525's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cause was in great shape for the amount of rain that week cart path only but all paths were very good would play course again


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Charlie8948149's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



scott4948706's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ojai Valley Inn is a gem. Its like playing Bel Air or Riviera without the $100K+ membership fee. Course conditions were good but not awesome due to recent very heavy rains. The ball would land and stop immediately. Oddly enough, the greens were very hard and extremely fast. certainly not what you expect at a resort course. However, they were fair and rolled true. The staff is very friendly. Jim, the starter has been there forever and is a delight. He remembers frequent players and if there is a large outing will do everything possible to get you out in front of them. A real pro. Ojai Valley Inn is like stepping back in time and playing in the 1940s or 50s. Pace is quick. I've played there a dozen times or more and only once did my round exceed 4 hours. just a delightful golf experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good time"


Eric9067590's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My two brother and i had a great time at the golf course, it is a great track.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Scenic gem."


Millerjo44's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/27/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ojai Inn golf course is a scenic gem and a challenging course. The front nine winds through oak trees and hills. Keep an eye out for the deer. The back nine opens up a little the the last three holes. 16th, 17th and 18 will keep your attention, hit it straight! Love the course and it was in great shape. Only negative was them putting a group off the back nine. Just as the group in front of us was making the turn. Slowed play on the back, after a non stop front.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful place"


CameronMcN's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great old course. They allow walking, which I did. Great experience, beautiful conditions, greens were fast and fun.

Can't wait to come back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Quiet, peaceful round with no one around"


blink1037's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/20/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

We had our family playing 2 groups. The starter was great with accommodating us all, we loved him! The course is still in good shape even due to the drought of SoCal. We love how quiet and peaceful it is here. Ojai Valley Inn has become a "trendy" place it seems, just hope the golfing stays classy and one of our favorite places to relax and play a round. Also I understand if you want to hit the driving range, but if you're hipsters drinking wine, maybe chatting and "accidentally" throwing clubs might not be the best around people that pay for the Ojai golf experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love this course! Great deal!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great place to play"


Rick93's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very challenging course to play green r fast


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"This course has great features"


Mikelib2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging golf course. Starting time 10am on a Saturday morning and finished in 4 hours. Staff friendly and helpful. Recommend playing and staying here anytime.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Terrific Day of Golf"


ckplanet's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a buetiful day of golf !! The Staff, the Course and the whole embience is so Very Nice !!

Mind you, it's a difficult course but a great one.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed