Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

4.4891000000 4.5 stars from 5 (137)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6292 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.0

  • 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, California 93023
  • (805) 646-1111, 1 (888) 697-8780
  • (805) 640-2192
  • www.ojairesort.com

Year built: 1923
Architect(s): George C. Thomas, Jr., William P. Bell
Type: Resort
Greens: Kikuyu grass
Fairways: Kikuyu grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6292 yards 71.0 132
White 70 5962 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5244 yards 70.9 128

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.5 stars from 5
Overall Condition: 4.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Food & Beverage: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 137 Reviews
5 stars:
84
4 stars:
40
3 stars:
9
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

129 out of 136 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"What a Beautiful Course!!!!"


paul4545's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age: 55-64
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2013
First time playing

Reviewed on

By far the most challenging, the best maintained and the most fun of any course I have played and I have played lots. The fairways were pure, the greens rolled true and were in incredible shape and the tee boxes were outstanding. My wife and I played 18 holes and because of great incentives from GolfNow played for free. We will be back as soon as we can.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Lovely conutryside course and facility"


mkdavies's avatar
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We went to play as a couple staying in Santa Barbara and, on request were teamed up with another couple. We had a nice 4 hour round. The course was a bit tricky when you haven't played it before and our GPS in the cart wasn't working for the 1st 9 holes so we were teeing off into blind spots a lot. We booked to play there again as a 2nd round would have been even more enjoyable but sadly the weather turned bad so we had to cancel our 2nd round. We would consider staying at the resort on our next golfing trip to California


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Ojai Valley a Unique Course"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2015
Previously played Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a unique course with some very interesting holes. Many elevated shots to greens, some firced carries over creeks and forested areas. Greens are in very good shape, fairways and tees also good. Standard rate is very high, but if you get a discount it is worth it.


Player Tip: stay in fairway, take extra club to many uphill greens. Watch speed of greens.

18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fantasyland for Golfers"


jlb93022's avatar
Age: 55-64
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2015
Previously played

Reviewed on

This wonderful course takes full advantage of Ojai's rolling hills, oak woodlands and beautiful mountain views. Elevated tee boxes add thrills to several holes. Cart paths wind through oak-lined canyons and over picturesque wooden bridges. The hilly terrain is challenging but quite playable. Bunkers are well-placed but not punitive for the average player. Greens and fairways are very well maintained despite a crippling drought. It's not unusual to see wildlife and celebrities strolling through the course. Staff members could not be friendlier. My wife and I can't wait to play here again soon!


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


Rob7501101's avatar
Age: 55-64
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Nice course, great staff. Some forced carries, but nothing too difficult. Pace of play was great, finished in just over three hours on a Tuesday afternoon.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"timeless beauty"


u367045097's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course to play thru GOLF NOW as they often have great price for this outstanding course . When Inn not busy , the course is often not crowded , I played as a single in just over two hours !


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Get the greens cut and rolled!"


gigitony's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2015
First time playing Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wow! Something I've wanted to do for my 20 year golfing career was finally accomplished. I found a free weekday to drive up to Ojai and try this famed track. Was not disappointed with the course design, fairway conditions, rough conditions, and especially not the scenery. YET - GREENS WERE RIDICULOUSLY SLOW. For a course this short (I played the tips) they should also worry about their well-heeled resort guests and good visiting golf players, AND NOT just about the local Seniors and LADIES when considering green speed. Way too slow for the quality of this course. Disappointingly so.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Overall Condition: Good

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Felt like vacation"


u000006902512's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great day at Ojai Valley Inn. We felt like we were on vacation. The course was in nice shape and pace of play was very good.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great golf experience"


u000001379162's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A couple of holes were kind of goofy but generally this course plays fairly & is good for the average golfer.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Classic Course"


PHehir's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Took my son to play here for his first time. Staff members are excellent and very courteous. Greens had been recently sanded so that was disappointing, however, otherwise conditions were excellent. Did not have time to sit down and eat. Drinks from cart person were very over-priced.

If you want to play a beautiful course with a classic look and feel, this course is a must.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"All good"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course punched the greens other than that
perfect


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


golfpro6969's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ojai Valley has never disappointed me. The course is always well maintained and the scenery is great. This round, the green had been recently punched, but that is to be expected this time of year in Southern California.

All and all a great experience.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent as Usual!"


Jasmith91301's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and staff, saved $20 using GolfNow. Traps were fully groomed and all consistent texture, nice. I had to wait on every hole, not unexpected as a single. Still my round was completed in 3:40, so can't complain too much.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wonderful day of golf"


Tom1325613's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2015
First time playing Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played at some beautiful golf courses around the country, and Ojai Valley is right up there with the best of them.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Ojai Valley Inn"


skyview639's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always fun to play this somewhat challenging but beautiful course..The rate provided by Golf Now makes the experience even more worthwhile..


I recommend this course


"A Gem"


Daveron2's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a beautiful golf course and a gem on the South Coast. Lots of history here, and several plaques around the course give you an idea of it's glorious past. Each hole is unique and challenging. Staff was outstanding. HIGHLY recommended.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Valley in name only"


robtmanning's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a fairly hilly course for having the name valley in it. The course was in decent condition and the greens were excellent, but I expected more from a $185 green fee course. I would only recommend it if you get a great price from GolfNow. The staff was first class, the food was excellent, and the views were wonderful.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Good

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"My Ojai experience"


John2738654's avatar
Age: 55-64
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in very good cindition. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Pace of play was right on time. Greens were fast and undulated. This is not an easy course. Bring your A game or lots of balls.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"beautiful course"


john4par's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/19/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

this course was in excellent condition for this time of the year. one of the prettiest courses i've ever played. The greens were fast and ran true, a tough course to play for a 15 hc but I totally enjoyed it.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


None's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2014
First time playing Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For a winter day before a big rain storm, the course was in great shape. Playing as a single the GPS was very helpful. A good test from the back tees, but I played the whites since it was my first time on the course. Try to find a deal on Golf Now if you can, $180 for 18 is a little pricey.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"Really nice"


mikemac72's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/07/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played it for $80 golf now special - rack is $180

I would play here any time - as often as I could. Price wise?? I don't pay $180 to play anywhere - well accept for a couple rounds at pebble for $$$$$. Anyway if you have a chance to play it at a good rate - run don't walk.
Front nice placement golf - a bit shorter. Fair and fun holes- no bad holes.
Back longer - traditional fairways - requires longer straighter driving. Par threes are 200 plus and play longer. Tiny greens that are in excellent shape if not terribly fast - but we played not long after two days of rain.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course