Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

4.6916764706 4.7 stars from 5 (249)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6292 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.0
  • Layout

  • 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, California 93023
  • (805) 646-1111, 1 (888) 697-8780
  • (805) 640-2192
  • www.ojairesort.com

Year built: 1923
Type: Resort
Greens: Kikuyu grass
Fairways: Kikuyu grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6292 yards 71.0 132
White 70 5962 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5244 yards 70.9 128

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 249 Reviews
5 stars:
172
4 stars:
60
3 stars:
12
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

238 out of 248 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for a weekend splurge wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"What a Beautiful Course!!!!"


paul4545's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2013
First time playing

Reviewed on

By far the most challenging, the best maintained and the most fun of any course I have played and I have played lots. The fairways were pure, the greens rolled true and were in incredible shape and the tee boxes were outstanding. My wife and I played 18 holes and because of great incentives from GolfNow played for free. We will be back as soon as we can.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Short but lots of fun"


hugofolli's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout where driver is often not needed. Greens are small well guarded and in excellent shape to take good shots at the flag. Last 3 holes worth the price of admission. Played 2 days in a row between 12:30-2 - very very very slow pace. First day ended up playing front twice since front 9 took over 2:30. No Marshall in sight. Would not judge based on that since course is fun. Just check tee sheet!!!!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course, Great Staff."


tonysiv's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As usual everything was great and customer service was off the chart. This is an old school golf course that knows how to treat players. I got caught behind an accident on my way to the course and was running a little late. I called the pro shop and they made sure I got out.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great afternoon, as usual"


tamaroff's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa is my midweek regular. First, the Inn is a rambling resort that is visually enticing. The staff is outstanding, professional but friendly, and very accommodating. The front nine are situated mostly through the hills, holes 10 through 15 spread out in front of the restaurants on the plain, then the two lost holes, 16 & 17 back in the foothills. The Tips on 18 are elevated, down the hill for more forward tees. This course is beautiful to play and look at. It's relaxing golf at it's best.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautifully Challenging Course"


u593320747's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Even though it was a scorcher outside I really enjoyed myself. The fairways were well manicured and the greens weren't too fast or slow. It has enough blind holes to keep you on your toes the entire round. With my hot deal you couldn't beat the price, but I'm sure I only got that price because of how hot it was supposed to be. Some of the holes will challenge your drive to get over the canyons so bring an extra sleeve or two for the high handicappers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Charlie8948149's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u7290888's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"Great deal great round of golf"


eckolsson's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Took my best friend for a round of golf at Oja Valley Inn for his birthday . It was a great experience for both of us. The staff was helpful and extremely Friendly. The course was in good condition but the greens were surprisingly slow. Great layout and a good pace of play. We finished in 3 1/2 hours on a Sunday. Drinks at the bar are far to expensive but that comes with a resort. Will definitely return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



mikelavery's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"OJai golf fun"


johnsgolf1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

An excellent day of golf here; the course is not that long but offers some design challenges and great aesthetics. It was our first time here, but we will come back soon as we can. greens were in very good condition and had consistent speed. Lots of sand traps, especially on the par 3 # 16


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Ojai golf"


jeffreyfglenn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course

Tough layout

Not like Texas

Roland was great...helpful & friendly


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great place to play"


dewndi's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played on a Tuesday during a heat wave so the course was empty. No one in front of me, no one behind me. LOT'S of elevation changes so tough to judge yardage but really fun layout with beautiful views.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Killer Bees"


JeffSummers's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/29/2017
Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was attacked by bees on course, they need to get ride of the bees on the course. the course is great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Can I Go Back Tomorrow?"


smoothie24's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Awesome George Thomas design. He also designed Riviera CC. I can't believe I haven't played this before. The course and views are so classically beautiful with great bunkering and green designs. Course conditions are excellent. I want to go back tomorrow and play it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Commented on 07/28/2017

Yes. GaryChung1324


Commented on 07/28/2017

Sharing on Instagram. Do you have a handle? Thanks!




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent starter, course and location"


arcticfox6's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Truly a wonderful day. The starter was very personable and accommodating. The course was in excellent shape, very ciourteous grounds keepers and staff overall. An excellent deal for the price. Highly recommend, except on the day I decide to play....:-)


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



David9919010's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u167130959's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



MRacine's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



bill3635226's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u412553096's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed