Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

4.4809000000 4.5 stars from 5 (131)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6292 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.0

  • 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, California 93023
  • (805) 646-1111, 1 (888) 697-8780
  • (805) 640-2192
  • www.ojairesort.com

Year built: 1923
Architect(s): George C. Thomas, Jr., William P. Bell
Type: Resort
Greens: Kikuyu grass
Fairways: Kikuyu grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6292 yards 71.0 132
White 70 5962 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5244 yards 70.9 128

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.5 stars from 5
Overall Condition: 4.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Food & Beverage: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 131 Reviews
5 stars:
80
4 stars:
38
3 stars:
9
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

123 out of 130 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"What a Beautiful Course!!!!"


paul4545's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age: 55-64
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2013
First time playing

Reviewed on

By far the most challenging, the best maintained and the most fun of any course I have played and I have played lots. The fairways were pure, the greens rolled true and were in incredible shape and the tee boxes were outstanding. My wife and I played 18 holes and because of great incentives from GolfNow played for free. We will be back as soon as we can.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Felt like vacation"


u000006902512's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great day at Ojai Valley Inn. We felt like we were on vacation. The course was in nice shape and pace of play was very good.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great golf experience"


u000001379162's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A couple of holes were kind of goofy but generally this course plays fairly & is good for the average golfer.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Classic Course"


PHehir's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Took my son to play here for his first time. Staff members are excellent and very courteous. Greens had been recently sanded so that was disappointing, however, otherwise conditions were excellent. Did not have time to sit down and eat. Drinks from cart person were very over-priced.

If you want to play a beautiful course with a classic look and feel, this course is a must.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"All good"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course punched the greens other than that
perfect


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


golfpro6969's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ojai Valley has never disappointed me. The course is always well maintained and the scenery is great. This round, the green had been recently punched, but that is to be expected this time of year in Southern California.

All and all a great experience.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent as Usual!"


Jasmith91301's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and staff, saved $20 using GolfNow. Traps were fully groomed and all consistent texture, nice. I had to wait on every hole, not unexpected as a single. Still my round was completed in 3:40, so can't complain too much.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wonderful day of golf"


Tom1325613's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2015
First time playing Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played at some beautiful golf courses around the country, and Ojai Valley is right up there with the best of them.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Ojai Valley Inn"


skyview639's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always fun to play this somewhat challenging but beautiful course..The rate provided by Golf Now makes the experience even more worthwhile..


I recommend this course


"A Gem"


Daveron2's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a beautiful golf course and a gem on the South Coast. Lots of history here, and several plaques around the course give you an idea of it's glorious past. Each hole is unique and challenging. Staff was outstanding. HIGHLY recommended.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Valley in name only"


robtmanning's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a fairly hilly course for having the name valley in it. The course was in decent condition and the greens were excellent, but I expected more from a $185 green fee course. I would only recommend it if you get a great price from GolfNow. The staff was first class, the food was excellent, and the views were wonderful.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Good

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"My Ojai experience"


John2738654's avatar
Age: 55-64
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in very good cindition. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Pace of play was right on time. Greens were fast and undulated. This is not an easy course. Bring your A game or lots of balls.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"beautiful course"


john4par's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/19/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

this course was in excellent condition for this time of the year. one of the prettiest courses i've ever played. The greens were fast and ran true, a tough course to play for a 15 hc but I totally enjoyed it.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


None's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2014
First time playing Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For a winter day before a big rain storm, the course was in great shape. Playing as a single the GPS was very helpful. A good test from the back tees, but I played the whites since it was my first time on the course. Try to find a deal on Golf Now if you can, $180 for 18 is a little pricey.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"Really nice"


mikemac72's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/07/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played it for $80 golf now special - rack is $180

I would play here any time - as often as I could. Price wise?? I don't pay $180 to play anywhere - well accept for a couple rounds at pebble for $$$$$. Anyway if you have a chance to play it at a good rate - run don't walk.
Front nice placement golf - a bit shorter. Fair and fun holes- no bad holes.
Back longer - traditional fairways - requires longer straighter driving. Par threes are 200 plus and play longer. Tiny greens that are in excellent shape if not terribly fast - but we played not long after two days of rain.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Thanks ojai"


brianpyt's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2014
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ojai is such a great spot. Beautiful setting. Great service. Great people Vacation for a day.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Somewhat Shoddy Conditions for High End Resort Course"


retiredcarmelgolfer's avatar
Age: 55-64
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2014
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee'd off at 8am as a single and finished my round in 3 hours 10 minutes playing 2 balls. The GPS system in the cart is a good feature and speeds up play. The course has somewhat shoddy conditions for a high end resort course. The fairways were sparse and wet, with fenced off areas and one bunker close to the green on the 12th hole being drained down the cart path at around 10am. The restaurant closest to the golf shop (Jimmy's Pub) wasn't even open for a bite to eat or a take out before my round. And there never was a sign of a food cart the whole round. This is a par 70 course and somewhat short. They need to figure out how to make it a par 72 course thus longer and more challenging.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Poor

Overall Condition: Average

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"OJAI DAWN TO DUSK"


cfresh66's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We play here 4-5 times a year. Tee off at Sunrise, finish at Sundown. 45 Holes yesterday. We have played 54 when the days are longer. Everyone is over the top friendly and accommodating !
Jim the starter is awesome!


Player Tip: Course,Facilities and Staff are excellent. Tip your starter, beverage cart staff, waiters and waitresses! All XLNT!

18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"Gray course too slow"


u385238453's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course but had to wait up to 45 minutes to play each hole starting at 1150. I ended up cutting off the back 9 because there was a pile up of 20 players at the mid point. Overall good though.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Poor

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Good


I recommend this course


"Ojai inn and Spa"


tombobeaton's avatar
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/19/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Beautiful area, nice course, well maintained, starter pleasant and helpful, good pace of play.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Fair

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good Layout"


Kennethgreene's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played as twosome in 3 hours. New water system keeps greens and fairways green! Course was in great shape.


18 Hole Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Good


I recommend this course