Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

4.5220000000 4.5 stars from 5 (159)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6292 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.0

  • 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, California 93023
  • (805) 646-1111, 1 (888) 697-8780
  • (805) 640-2192
  • www.ojairesort.com
Write a review

Year built: 1923
Architect(s): George C. Thomas, Jr., William P. Bell
Type: Resort
Greens: Kikuyu grass
Fairways: Kikuyu grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6292 yards 71.0 132
White 70 5962 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5244 yards 70.9 128

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.5 stars from 5
Overall Condition: 4.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Food & Beverage: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 159 Reviews
5 stars:
101
4 stars:
44
3 stars:
10
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

150 out of 158 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive at a resort convenient to the city   Great for a weekend splurge wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"What a Beautiful Course!!!!"


paul4545's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age: 55-64
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2013
First time playing

Reviewed on

By far the most challenging, the best maintained and the most fun of any course I have played and I have played lots. The fairways were pure, the greens rolled true and were in incredible shape and the tee boxes were outstanding. My wife and I played 18 holes and because of great incentives from GolfNow played for free. We will be back as soon as we can.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"GREAT COURSE"


jew3804's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/29/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A+ EXPERIENCE, I HAD 3 FRIENDS VISITING FROM OUT OF TOWN EVERYONE SAID IT WAS THE BEST COURSE THEY PLAYED THIS YEAR.
A GREAT BARAGIN THROUGH GOLFNOW

THANKS
JOE WATERS


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great condition"


0154963's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After getting rained out last time after 9 we were looking forward to playing again. The course was in awesome shape and more gorgeous than ever. What drought? Lush and green as could be. One of my favorite rounds ever and I have played some great tracks. We played on a Wednesday and there were maybe 20 people on the course. Very highly recommended!! DB


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Always a treat"


Shaun8112174's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course isn't long by any means, but it forces you to be a shot maker and that's where the difficulty comes into play. My struggle here is out of the rough which is "sticky" and your ball rests on top of 4inch plus thick rough. Enjoy your round


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great day of golf!"


skimom3's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We thoroughly enjoyed our golf round at Ojai Valley Inn and Spa. We arrived early for our 12:30 tee time and after hitting some balls at the range, the starter allowed us to start early. We played the round in about 3.5 hours. This is a beautiful course with gorgeous vistas. It was well worth the trip to Ojai. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great day of golf!


Player Tip: Hole 2- hit your ball slightly left of the bunker. The hole has an almost 90 degree turn. Beware of the ravine to the right!

Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"George C Thomas jewel in Ojai"


Raymond3283622's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My friends and I love this facility . The Inn , the spa , the restaurants , the staff and the golf are all excellent in one of America ' s most beautiful settings .
It was hot , but we knew it would be . We live nearby .
The only negative the whole day was we never saw a beverage cart the entire front nine . We had gone thru the complimentary waters provided and were thirsty by the 5th / 6th hole .
Meantime , the long time starter at the course is Jim .
He is a gentlemen . Always good to see him .


Player Tip: Stock up on beverages and balls .

Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Good

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"beautiful resort and course"


dougwille's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

first time playing ojai and loved it!!! staff was super friendly and encouraged us to start earlier than our tee time so we could have a faster round.

loved the course. in beautiful shape. the greens were immaculate and consistent.

can't wait to go back!


Player Tip: book your tee time thru golfnow--huge savings vs the resort's listed rates!!!

Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course in great shape!"


golfCAmk's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/20/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing track, and going back soon! Everything about course was great. We played on an off day I think, so course was empty.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice Course Slow Pace"


DocCwik's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Gender: Male
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice resort course in excellent condition . Very busy though and not easy to walk , even from cart path to area around greens . Old guys in front three groups deep on 5 hour plus pace . Left after nine . Will try againbut not on weekend.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course even on a bad day!"


uteedmoff2's avatar
Skill: Advanced

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our foursome thanks to golf now, was able to enjoy a round of golf at Ojai Valley Inn without breaking the bank. (What a savings) Fairways and greens were in great shape, pace of play was 4.15. We have to thank the ojai golf staff members that stocked ice box with apples. Great idea on warm day, the apples were cold, crisp and sweet. If you're a nature lover you'll enjoy the deer, grazing as you hit your shot too the greens. So beautiful can't wait until next visit to Ojai Valley inn.
Smoothie....


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem"


ohiscotty1's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you have never played golf at the Ojai Valley Inn you are missing out. The greens were in great shape, the fairways were awesome. We played 18 holes in 3 and a half hours and had a great time. I can't wait to go back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"High expectations for resort golf"


John4757164's avatar
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2015
First time playing Paired up at course Used cart Good weather

Reviewed on

It was just ok, a little bit of build up driving an hour plus to play.

Greens were great, pretty extreme false fronts on a few - really false fronts.

Beware of dozens of range balls on #1 and #9 fairways from the range - kind of ridiculous.

Replay was more than reasonable - $17 for 18 which I did in under two hours.


Player Tip: If you're at the resort, it's playable. Not exactly a destination golf facility though - maybe that was my mistake to assume given all the high rating

Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Overall Condition: Average

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Great course, challenging!!"


Billtsoftball's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Definitely a course that I will play again and again with a discounted price!! Must know where to hit to place a shot to the green. Greens were true and receptive. Overall just a great course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


aspiringgolfer's avatar
Skill: Beginner
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything was excellent. The course was in great condition. The staff was great. The driving range was excellent. All the facilities were superb. It was nice to have the ice cold apples as well.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Impressed"


Vibesmanjake's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2015
First time playing Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golf Now sent me a 50% off my next round coupon so I used it for the Ojai Valley course I paid $40.00
I had a 12:30 tee time so I got to the course at 11am
to warm up and used the included range balls,but the starter said that if I was ready to play I could tee off right away as a golf party of 20 were just about to tee off. I said yes of course and went right to the first tee with no warm up. Played the front 9 in less than 1 1/2 hour's with several groups letting me play through.
The 10th hole had several foursomes waiting but they to let me play through.
The course was fun to play with the front 9 a little harder as there were some forced carries and extreme doglegs. Greens and fairways were in wonderful condition and I shot my best round ever a 85. Everyone was very friendly and will play this course again and again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great, fun golf course. Superb facility."


petervn's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lovely, fun and challenging golf course. Beautiful scenery, great course design. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great restaurant.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Ojai or Spyglass, tough call.............."


ran121367's avatar
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

This was our come-down course after playing Spyglass last week. Still need to come-down since this course was equally as nice, minus the ocean view. Played for 60 bucks with a cart from golf now so an unbelievable deal for a course of this caliber. Facilities are a cross between the Bacara in Santa Barbara and La Quinta. The carts are hi-tech, the course was in awesome shape and we had awesome weather to boot. If I had to choose between Spyglass for $450 or Ojai Valley for $60, I would take Ojai anyway. This place is a treat so enjoy yourself............


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u000005772355's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wonderful course. Beautiful holes, beautiful trees, modest crowd. Just delightful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Always a Great Day at Ojai Valley Inn"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Life enjoyment system when you are at Ojai Valley Inn. Course is amazing and always challenging.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Unless you are a pro, play from the White Tees"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Amazing course: well kept fairways, doable rough grass, manicured greens. Also beautiful grounds, great views, and the service is great. At the Inn, you are a guest, even when you're just playing golf. The course is challenging, but not crazy hard. Just don't make the mistake we made: If you are hitting 90s or greater, and want to keep it like that, play from the Whites. The Blue tees are for PGA Tour players. It not only adds more distance, but all sorts of difficulty to the tee shot.


I recommend this course


"Course is always in excellant condition, offering challenging holes."


antonbeck's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in excellent condition. Staff very helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Taking a cart is definitely the way to go. Very hilly.


Player Tip: Stay in the fairway on all holes. Large trees can give you problems if you get near them.

I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget