Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

4.4694000000 4.5 stars from 5 (98)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6292 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.0

Address Course Location

  • 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, California 93023
  • (805) 646-1111, 1 (888) 697-8780
  • (805) 640-2192
  • www.ojairesort.com

Key Info

Year built: 1923
Architect(s): George C. Thomas, Jr., William P. Bell
Type: Resort
Greens: Kikuyu grass
Fairways: Kikuyu grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6292 yards 71.0 132
White 70 5962 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5244 yards 70.9 128

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.5 stars from 5
Overall Condition: 4.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Food & Beverage: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 100 Reviews
5 stars:
62
4 stars:
28
3 stars:
6
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

92 out of 99 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive   Great for a weekend splurge wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining amazing food  

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"What a Beautiful Course!!!!"


paul4545's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age: 55-64
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2013
First time playing

Reviewed on

By far the most challenging, the best maintained and the most fun of any course I have played and I have played lots. The fairways were pure, the greens rolled true and were in incredible shape and the tee boxes were outstanding. My wife and I played 18 holes and because of great incentives from GolfNow played for free. We will be back as soon as we can.


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 1/4 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"This course has great features"


paullee's avatar
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/26/2014
Previously played

Reviewed on

Although It takes good 1hr 30 min drive from LA, my wife and I enjoyed play the courses whenever we get a chance to get away in the weekend. The course is beautiful, the greens are good, food is good, staffs are friendly, everything we experienced here are excellent. Thank you.


18 Hole Pace of Play: <3 1/2 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"loved this course!"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was our first time playing Ojai valley CC. We loved it. Every hole is different with some canyons to cross, blind holes, hills, etc. The course was in excellent condition.


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Golf paradise"


michaelmarson's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2014
First time playing Paired up at course Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This old course is magical, beautiful, and scorable ( as long as u play better than i did!) -- each whole feels special, make sure u play there if u ever get the opportunity


18 Hole Pace of Play: <3 1/2 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"always loved the place"


u000006821777's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ojai was absolutely perfect! played with two of my great friends and they had a great time too.
would love to go back soon. ONE THING OF MUCH NEEDED IMPROVEMENT; THE TEE BOXES OF ALL THINGS ARE NOT LEVEL AND CHEWED UP A BIT.

we all shot 68', then woke up from our dreams!!


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 1/4 hrs

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Overall Condition: Good

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Player unable to play this date."


mfreemansb's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2014
Previously played Used cart Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent round...I have brought players down from Santa Barbara several times recently. Yesterday one of the players, avid golfer who lives at Birnam Woods, awoke with a swollen foot and had to cancel. While I understand reservations are non-refundable, possibly something could be provided....a later playing date?...rather than having a 100% loss. Your records should have my name and multiple reservations which could allow some consideration. One of my players yesterday had never played Ojai CC before, had a great day, and looks forward to returning. Obviously the Golf Now program is very beneficial to the golf course.
Thanks, Mike Freeman


18 Hole Pace of Play: <3 1/2 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Rolling hills with mature eucalyptus trees"


RicCraig's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape; greens were rolling really true and the pace of play was wonderful. Even though we could see other groups on the course, it is easy to feel like you have the course to yourself!


18 Hole Pace of Play: <3 1/2 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course!"


tzenter81's avatar
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's a shorty but a goodie! Have to think your way around and can't just pull out driver on every tee...well you can but not wise.


18 Hole Pace of Play: <3 1/2 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


ovedias's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the course was in great shape! Even though it was a holiday week-end, the course was not crowded and at times you felt like you were the only ones on the course.


I recommend this course


"awesome course"


u000007827171's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

great course for family or friends outing, very nice scenery, feels like u r in the jungle


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 hrs

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"always great to play the inn"


mopar1970's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2014
Previously played Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always great to play the Inn. Conditions are always good and staff friendly.


18 Hole Pace of Play: <3 1/2 hrs

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Alice in Wonderland"


julsnsb's avatar
Skill: Beginner
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My friend and I decided to go for the twilight time (less expensive) but at first worried we would not keep our pace of play intention... We started on the back nine and it was just wonderful. The weather , no one in front or behind , we just had a time of our lives.
Darren (carts) was the first person to meet and what a gentle person, he was: professional,kind and we felt at home straight away.
I think it was hole 4 or 5 that construction equipment and pipes were laid out ,so we did get confused there where to go.
But with no one around and gps built in the carts even us ladies figured it out.
On the fairways 6 and 7 we got 3 deer hanging around us, so we were thrilled with the close up photos of them.
Over all it was a fantastic and gorgeous course.


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Moderate


I recommend this course


"A lot of history"


tonysiv's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2014
First time playing Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was one of the courses on my bucket list and I finally found a good rate. The course is very nice and the staff is wonderful, and at $60 I'd probably be back. The rack rate however is very high, which is why I only gave it 4 stars. There are many comparable courses for half the price.


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course, great golf, great day"


u000005217850's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Couldn't have ask for more. Great value through GN.


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Crazy and great"


janran's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very strange and crazy check in. Need a better parking and check in for average golfers.
Great course and gps. Staff was perfect. A must for all golfers. Just getting to 1st tee a little crazy. Easy to get lost. Very crowded, it is a resort with lots going on. Give extra check in time.
Course was great and very fun. Price is high , but worth it.


18 Hole Pace of Play: <3 1/2 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


stevlin2's avatar
Age: 65+
Gender: Male
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very interesting course. First few holes after number one seemed the most difficult to me. Very frustrating at times for a high handicapper like me. Bring extra balls for sure.
Most friendly and helpful staff I've encountered at a golf course anywhere. Glad I did it once but for the money, even the discounted rate on Golf Now, I wouldn't do it more than once a year at most. From LA it's a tough 2 hour drive with weekday traffic . Course played fast on a Monday. We had twosomes in front of us and behind. Don't expect the lush fairways you get in Palm Springs.
If you're looking for a course just as interesting but a bit longer and some might say tougher especially on a normal windy day... try
La Purisima between Buellton and Lompoc. The two courses seem similar in many ways to me.


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 hrs

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great fun course"


noahsmiller's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is very interesting with lots of nice challenges. Make sure to get the "tips sheet" from the pros shop of you haven't played it before.

We played 18 and enjoyed it so much we went back out for the front 9 again.


18 Hole Pace of Play: <3 1/2 hrs

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Immaculate Course"


u580701193's avatar
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Once a month
Handicap: 20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

My friend and I played at this course and it was in immaculate condition. The fairways were amazing, the greens were amazing, and the sand traps were in tip top shape. We both think this course is the best either one of us has ever played at and we have played on many golf courses on both the east and west coast.


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Truly a Gem"


dbash14's avatar
Skill: Intermediate
Plays: Few times a week
Handicap: 5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played at noon with 2 friends. staff was great. took time to show us gps on golf cart which worked great. Golf course is awesome and not much more to say.......Thank you Ojai CC and GolfNow


18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Ojai Valley Inn and Sap"


martone1's avatar
Skill: Advanced
Plays: Once a week
Handicap: 10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great staff and course conditions. The whole course and surrounding areas are beautiful. Greens running true and are difficult but fun. It is a joy to play here and I highly recommend it!!! It a top notch golf experience!!!


Player Tip: Use the "Fly Over" function on the Cart GPS. It gives great info on each hole!

18 Hole Pace of Play: 4 hrs

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Overall Condition: Excellent

Course Difficulty: Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course