The Georgia Club - Chancellors Red/Black Course

4.6966000000 4.7 stars from 5 (234)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7283 yards
  • Slope: 129
  • Rating: 74.2
  • Layout

  • 1050 Chancellors Drive, Statham, GA 30666
  • (770) 725-8100, (866) 725-8100
  • (770) 725-1852
  • www.thegeorgiaclub.com
Write a review

Year built: 2006
Architect(s): Denis Griffiths (2001)
Type: Public
Greens: Bent
Fairways: Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7283 yards 74.2 129
Silver 72 6669 yards 72.3 126
White 72 6204 yards 70.2 121
White (W) 72 6204 yards 76.1 129
Green (W) 72 5882 yards 73.5 125
Green 72 5882 yards 68.5 116
Red (W) 72 5152 yards 69.3 116

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 234 Reviews
5 stars:
172
4 stars:
56
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

230 out of 234 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers water hazards elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Enjoyable day"


Anthony2756785's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course was in excellent shape. I will play this course again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 05/15/2017:

Thanks for the kind review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon!

"Great corse !!!!"


Angeldog90's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

play this course maybe 4 times a year, always in tip top shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 05/15/2017:

Thanks for leaving us a review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round at The Georgia Club. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon!

"Very Nice High Priced Semi-Private Track"


DG1's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I have played a few previous rounds at the Georgia Club and usually find the course well maintained. I played the Black to Silver sequence for this round. The course is in very good (not quite pristine) condition with greens at a 5-star level. The Black 9 plays nearly 3,400 yards from the medal tees (silver) which is a bit long for my game. The holes have adequate, but protected landing areas. Most holes include modest to significant doglegs. The par three holes offer a good challenge, yet are not very long. I highly recommend the Georgia Club if you can tolerate the price. In my opinion, there are several area courses that offer a much better value. Note: I rate golf courses on an absolute scale using the following guidelines:

5 stars - Top tier golf course, all amenities, outstanding service/management and excellent course maintenance.

4 stars - Good to great course layout, complete club experience (full practice facilities, locker room, grill, etc...), efficient service/management, very good course maintenance.

3 stars - Good course layout, average practice facilities, average service/management, average course maintenance. No pace of play problems.

2 stars - Nothing special, but an enjoyable course to play. Only minor issues with pace of play.

1 star - Not worth the effort or serious pace of play issues. I take pace of play very seriously.

A 5-hour round is a minimum two-star reduction.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


tonywilding's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great round on a perfect day. Course was in outstanding condition and great practice facility.

Hope to play here again before too long.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 05/05/2017:

Thanks for the kind words! We're looking forward to seeing you again soon.

"Great course and club staff"


u154843275's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course layout is amazing and in great shape.

Greens where a bit hard but the ball rolled beautyfully.

The club staff is extraordinary, from the guys that pick up your bag to the starter, and the bar.

Great experience

The range is also great.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 05/02/2017:

Thank you for the kind words. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at The Georgia Club. We hope to see you again soon!

"No Cargo Shorts"


Dsouth785's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Starter was rude about normal length cargo shorts not being golf shorts, and was not going to let me play in them. These were the same type of shorts I had worn to play here and everywhere in for the past four years, luckily I had a pair of slacks in the car that were approved for golfing at Georgia Club. Course was in good shape and greens were rolling true. However, we followed a group of six for the afternoon round and although they were quick, it was still a group of six on a course that is picky about their golf shorts.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great club"


tonyperrigan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best semi private club I have found within a short drive of Atlanta. I play there often when they are maintaining my home course or when I just need a fresh course look.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 04/25/2017:

Thank you for the great review! Come back and see us again soon!

"Great Layout"


smitty51's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent conditions. Greens were in great shape. The staff were all friendly and very helpful.

I would play it again if I get back to Athens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 04/11/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We appreciate the feedback. Please make sure to stop by again if you ever make it back to Athens.


wvelam's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 04/11/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you at The Georgia Club again soon!


u402446395's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 03/22/2017:

Thank you! Please come back and play again soon!

"Great Course - Friendly Staff"


pgapro33's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape and the staff was helpful and friendly. Practice area is one of a kind and range balls included with each round. Can't wait to go back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 02/28/2017:

Thanks so much! We can't wait to have you back!

"Fun Course - Friendly Staff"


arharris8's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played all three 9s and really enjoyed the course. The layout is challenging and the greens are fast, firm, and true. The course forces you to use every club in your bag and to play both fades and draws. It has a great mixture of long and short holes. It was truly a pleasure playing the course. The staff is extremely friendly. They truly go out of the their way to make you feel welcome. And the members are very friendly as well. It's a great place to play and definitely worth the price and the hour and a half ride. I look forward to playing it again when the course is green and the trees are full!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 02/10/2017:

What a great review! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We're so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time. Please come back and play again soon!

"Great Gergia course"


TellTJ's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape, greens were soft from rain the night before. Weather was extremely windy! Overall great day of golf!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 01/30/2017:

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! We're glad that you had a great round, even with some challenging weather conditions. We hope you'll come back and play again soon!

"Great Course!"


u447157482's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/08/2016
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Conditions were great and so was the staff! Will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 12/06/2016:

Thanks so much! We look forward to seeing you back!

"Quite and Beautiful"


Mark1nut's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful course to play. Soft, but fast greens. Good pace of play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 11/07/2016:

Thanks so much! We're happy to hear that you had a great time with us and we hope to see you back soon!

"Perfect mix of challenge, fair, and excitement!"


zbuechner4's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Atlanta Advisor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

There is a reason the Georgia Club is consistently rated the number one golf course in the Atlanta/Athens area on golf advisor. The staff was welcoming and accommodating before I even walked into the clubhouse to check-in. The practice area and range were top notch with lots of space to prepare for your round. The course is challenging with some significant elevation changes. There is forgiveness throughout the course that allows errant shots to be played which helps the mid to high handicappers. There are several doglegs both left and right that have considerable rewards for cutting off corners and having shorter second shots. The greens were rolling quite fast, at least double digits on the stimp meter.

Prices to play are on the higher end but that seems to help keep the number of golfers lower on most days, so pace of play typically isn't an issue.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 11/02/2016:

Thanks so much! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our course as well as the practice facilities. We hope to see you again soon!

"Nice Golf Venue"


u000001707476's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Georgia Club course is fairly open. Some tight fairways with some challenges left and right. Very nice venue.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 10/13/2016:

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're thrilled you had a 5-star experience and that you enjoyed our course. Please come back and play again soon!

"Georgia club/ a place of beauty"


John2855521's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

All I can say is that the course is in perfect condition. As hot as its been you would not be able to tell/ fairway, top notch with a rough that had been cut which was nice for a change. Greens, top notch! Rolled true as any I've ever played on. It's a must if you haven't! Staff, very friendly and understanding! Amenities, top notch. The range is a practice facility for the most part. Overall a score of 100%


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 10/13/2016:

Thanks so much for your 5-star review! We're happy that you had such a great experience and we appreciate you sharing it with golfers here. Please come back and play again anytime!

"One of my favorites in Georgia"


VanBreezy's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great layout always in great shape. The heat of this summer was hard on bent grass greens but they have keep them in good shape out here . All 3 nines are in great shape


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/27/2016

Thanks for playing and for noticing our course conditions. Happy to hear you were able to play all 3 nines and that you enjoyed the layouts. Please come back and play again soon!


"Great Shape Nice Rolling Hills"


u00000606318's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was in great shape, nice rolling hills, greens had good speed. Service was good, friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/27/2016

Thanks for the love! Happy that you enjoyed our course conditions and that you had friendly interactions with our staff. We love them too! Thanks for playing and please come back and play again soon!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed