Vale Hotel, Golf and Spa Resort - The Wales National Golf Course

4.6666666667 4.7 stars from 5 (13)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 73
  • Length: 7433 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Vale Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Strict dress code

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 73 7433 yards 0.0 0
White 73 6987 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 73 6608 yards 0.0 0
Red 75 5863 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 13 Reviews
5 stars:
9
4 stars:
2
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

13 out of 13 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great course"


peterfenton's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good variety of holes, excellent condition considering the weather


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great day out."


jasonputt007's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Great condition. Great venue. Great facilities. Great colleagues.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course!"


Caerphilly's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course, top condition! Pick your time of day to play a top course for reasonable money! Highly recommend!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Must play course.."


t795631271's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A fantastic golf course,its not an easy course to play.most of the holes are tree lined with water and bunkers..every hole is a different challenge with sloping fareways

and incredibly greens..well worth playing this golf course...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"The Vale Resort National"


u8867373's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was absolutely stunning. The conditions were ideal. Some long par 5's but not to hard if you stayed on the fairway. Enjoyable to play. Everything in my opinion was perfect today.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Golf Day out"


hschan88's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

is a outstanding golf course ,when is a sunny day i will be back again


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Enjoyed the challenge however round was marred by slow play."



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great condition and weather was extremely good. It is always a challenging course but I found it very frustrating to be held up by some very poor and slow golf by other golfers on the course. Some of the golfers could only hit the ball 50-75 yards and surely should not be playing on a course of this calibre - very disappointing.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"The course is long"


u088365806's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When I booked the round it said there was a GBP . I though this was golf buggy provided when I went to pick up the buggy they charged me £28 for the buggy this was not a hot deal for me very disappointed.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great value"


t1872061210's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played on a whim on Easter Saturday. Was so impressed. Welcomed with a smile at the pro shop, went out and the course was pretty much deserted. On a Saturday! Six interesting holes on the first section of the course with the second a gorgeous long par five and the sixth a tempting drivable downhill par four with water on the right to swallow up any slices. More of the same on the second section of the course with plenty of hazards to keep you thinking. In comparison to the rest of the course, 17 and 18 are relatively uninteresting but for me it was nice to have a couple of easier holes to wind down after an emotional rollercoaster through the other 16! Decent pint afterwards. Driving range and large putting green also available but didn't use myself.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Vale national course"


Dange66's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Tee off @7.30am booked via tee off times

It was still pitch black until 7.45am so started late, but were advised no one behind us until 8.40am

Course was frozen solid, until the 10th where it started thawing,

Would have been better if we left it an hour like everyone else,

But for £19 couldn't grumble at all


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Lakes course"


whippey's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/05/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed the course quite hilly in places but lovely open fairways, can be a bit noisy in places with football and rugby training next to the course other than that can't complain.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Sodden in the winter - save it for the summer, if you can afford it!"


KellieThorne's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

So, we only paid £17.50 each for a round and we were expecting 'winter conditions'.... but on a bright sunny day, after a few showery but not torrentially rainy days, we really weren't expecting the course to be so wet underfoot.

There were very few dry spots, the course was pretty well sodden, worse than we might have expected. The course really, really needs to improve its drainage, it was virtually impossible to play.

Shame really, because the course looks great and I'd love to play it in the summer.... but that comes with a pretty hefty price tag!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


JamesTincombe's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great course. Very challenging. Greens are in amazing condition!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed