Peterstone Lakes Golf Club

4.3111333333 4.3 stars from 5 (16)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6007 meters
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Proper golf attire

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 72 6007 meters 0.0 0
Yellow 72 5621 meters 0.0 0
Red (W) 72 4979 meters 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 16 Reviews
5 stars:
11
4 stars:
3
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

15 out of 16 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A flat course with some interesting holes."


t516595394's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Having played this course before I would normally give it a four star rating but playing off mats, temporary greens and muddy conditions could only rate average on this occasion.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Stuck in the cold"


t1393504749's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

It has just taken me and my playing partner over 5 hours to play 18 holes and we had a buggy! We got stuck behind the slowest 4 ball i have ever witnessed! The first 8 holes were great then it turned into a nightmare.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



t15607116's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

a great course well maintained flat ,no hills and great grees for putting on well enjoyed the round also very friendly staff


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Peterstone Lakes - give it a try!"


Pricegazz's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good warm-up facility enabling full swing, chipping and putting. Course in good condition. Greens running at a decent pace. Excellent value for money. Would recommend.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fair challenge"


u593991999's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played in the best of weather - dry, sunny and hardly any wind. It's called Peterstone Lakes for a reason, lots of water hazards, which you are constantly aware of, but don't particularly spoil the round as they didn't intrude too much on your line of sight off the tee. The greens were large and evenly paced, once the morning dew had burned off. Would recommend to anyone.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Cjonesy79's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Highly recommend"


t277870252's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played a few times and always in good condition, well worth a visit and good value for money


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Absolutely fantastic course"


u337515219's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I can't believe this course has been on my doorstep for the six years I've lived in Newport and I've never played it until now. Quite simply a stunning course in immaculate condition and a beautiful setting. It's challenging but very playable with a high handicap or if you're a beginner.

Holes are a good length, not too short not too long.

Greens are excellent if a little slower than I'm used to but I played afternoon on a hot day which would definitely have contributed. But they're not so slow as to cause you a problem, just need a few holes to adjust a little.

There's no question I'll be back for another round, indeed I'm giving serious consideration to joining based on my round here.

If you're in South Wales looking for a game then you'd be mad to miss this one out. One of the best courses I've played.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Well worth it."


t1467868481's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great condition, well wort the green fees


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Lovely Course"


t1064111723's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really enjoyed the course at Peterstoune Lake,there were some testing holes & the condition of the course was excellent,I will definitely be playing there again soon


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"A visit to a friendly course"


t697989592's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The day we played, the weather was perfect but it was obvious that there had been a lot of rain the day before. The greens were good but there were wet/muddy patches around the course.

This is a challenging course with lovely par 3's, testing par 4's and good par 5's.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Peterstone lakes"


Andrew7110099's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good condition , fairway grass was quite long, had to play off winter mats , had to clean my ball after every shot , even though the fairways were not wet , bunkers were out of play and had quite a lot of water in them , green look ok but are very very slow , overall a good golf day and good value , the pro was ok, bar staff was quick , but a real pain getting from the bar to patio as they got tables in the middle of the bar and very little room to get back and fore . Looking forward to my next round of golf at peterstone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Lovely course"


whippey's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

First time playing Peterstone lakes had been wanting to play this course for a while, didn't disappoint either lovely long holes and some very nice short ones also. Bit concerned with the amount of goose poo which seemed to be everywhere, could do with a toilet and maybe some vending machines at the turn for refreshments.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



CrazyAlman's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2017
First time playing Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"This course has great features"


hschan88's avatar
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Focus on the course played and your individual experience


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed