Glynneath Golf Club

3.5000000000 3.5 stars from 5 (7)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6090 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 71 6090 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 71 5904 yards 0.0 0
Red 74 5249 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 7 Reviews
5 stars:
1
4 stars:
4
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

5 out of 7 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Interesting course-great value"


wintyboy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Bar was closed as their was a function on in the evening- didn't quite understand why it should be closed?

Small greens - great to putt on. Some areas very wet and balls plugged on fairways.

Interesting holes with a lot of blind tee shots

Overall good value


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Don't bother.."


t795631271's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course many times over the years and it was in very good condition and well worth the green fees..i played there with a couple of friends on may 2017 and was very disappointed with the condition of the golf course.not one decent green to putt on and fairways mostly uncut with over grow grass around the bunkers.The fairway white and black guidance poles are located in the rough and leaves you with no idea which direction or fareway to aim for.seems like the members of the cource have a understanding not to rake any of the bunkers and not encourage people to play on there course.we teed off on the first hole and got back to the clubhouse to play the 13th hole to find that three groups of four ball had just teed off and were more than happy to keep us waiting.i though that we would have priority to play through but im unsure what there rules are.after the 15th hole we gave up and left the course.endind summary,,

Great location to build 2000 houses on...


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Glynneath Golf Club"


nathanadam's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my first time at this course and it took a few holes to get used to the slopes on the fairways and greens, also they have not had any rain for a while so the greens and fairways were quite firm ( great for run on from drives etc but extremely difficult to keep approach shots on the green.)however I found this aspect of the course really a good challenge to overcome, having to use more bump and run shots than I normally would.

If you like a challenge to your golf game I would highly recommend playing a round here.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Impulse decision a good one!"


t1854698204's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Such a beautiful sunny day, we decided to delay our journey home and play golf.

We were warmly received in the pro shop and received friendly relevant advice about the course, which we were visiting for the first time. My wife, a relatively new player benefited from the fairway run, especially the holes back downhill towards the clubhouse. A couple of blind drives ended with a fruitless search for my golf balls, I will know better next time! Greens were even paced and enjoyable. Course set in spectacular surroundings, what could you not wish for on such a day.

Very good value for money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Needs work"


t1643538201's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played glyneath several times before and it has always been in decent nick. It appears that no work has been done on the course of late.

Greens are in need of a cut and desperate need of a good rolling.

Fairways were ok, but need a cut to remove the daisies.

When we arrived there was nobody in the pro shop or club house to book us on, so we just went out regardless.

We paid a special rate of £12 per player. The usual rate was £30. If we had paid this usual rate I would have been kicking the door down to demand my money back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Good greens"


u116098126's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well worth the money. Greens had just been cut and rolled so were excellent for this time of year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"What a gem!"


Ian9554351's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a find this place was! Very friendly reception on arrival, and nothing was too much trouble. The course played very well considering recent heavy downpours, no temporary tees or greens, and only the odd soggy patch between them on a couple of holes. The fairways and greens are very well maintained, and the layout does test your mental game as much as the physical. Opting for accuracy over power on numerous holes proves the wisest choice, as while it's well cut, the 1st cut of rough is thick and can ruin a score. The bar afterwards was welcoming, the staff and members friendly and chatty, and if the aroma of food was anything to go by, the Sunday carvery should be a must! Will definitely be returning to Glynneath soon for another round on this wonderful track, and to sample that carvery!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed