Hideaway Country Club, The

4.8158000000 4.8 stars from 5 (114)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 67
  • Length: 5146 yards
  • Slope: 120
  • Rating: 66.1
  • Layout

  • 5670 Trailwinds Dr, Fort Myers, Florida 33907, Lee County
  • (239) 275-5581, (239) 275-6232
  • (239) 275-3195
  • www.thehideawaygolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1984
Architect(s): Ron Garl (1984)
Type: Private
Style: Executive
Greens: Paspalum Platinum TE
Fairways: Paspalum Platinum TE
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No denim, collared shirt and bermuda shorts required
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 67 5146 yards 66.1 120
White 67 4741 yards 64.5 115
White (W) 67 4741 yards 68.3 124
Gold 67 4294 yards 63.2 115
Gold (W) 67 4294 yards 66.2 117
Red 67 3910 yards 61.9 108
Red (W) 67 3910 yards 64.5 110
Red+ #3 Aqua Tee 67 3878 yards 61.8 108
Red+ #3 Aqua Tee (W) 67 3878 yards 64.4 108

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 114 Reviews
5 stars:
96
4 stars:
15
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

111 out of 112 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for seniors locals advanced golfers   Challenges include water hazards narrow fairways bunkers   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Surprisingly immaculate fairways and greens"


JJarrett1955's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course a number of times this summer. My group and I play all over Lee and Collier counties during the summer months to take advantage of the great prices at some of the top courses in the area.

I don't think I've played on a course with better fairways and greens for the price.and that includes courses like Old Corkscrew, Stoneybrook and The Raptor. I mean, there are NO weeds or even a foreign blade of grass on the fairways. They are kept in near perfect condition . Same with the greens.

Though it is a relatively short course with only two par fives, it is remarkably challenging; especially considering it is right in the city of ft myers. And their lunch special for 2 bucks more gets you a great burger, french dip or other great sandwich and a beer. You just can't beat it.

Sad to know it is members only starting nov 1st but I will certainly golf it often next year when season ends.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Shattuck2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Wonderful Course"


Dawn2163305's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course several times and this was the first time this year. I could not believe how fabulous everything was from the tee boxes to the fairways to the greens. I cannot wait until the clubhouse is finished!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem"


kicksave88's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I very much enjoyed my 1st round at The Hideaway. The course is in immaculate condition given our severe drought. Fairways, rough, greens all plush and looking great. Greens aren't the quickest you'll play, but the roll is true. The layout is interesting and alot of fun to play. The traps were also in fantastic condition.

The value for your money is very real here. Its a short course which should play quick. A new clubhouse is set to open in just over a month which will greatly improve the overall experience. If your looking for a fair price and truly outstanding conditioning, this is the place. Give it a look.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great course!"


couples72's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Except for a little confusion on path to next hole on 2 holes, course was in great shape! Even though no rain in the area for months, course was plush and green! We all enjoyed the variety of holes and golfing experience. We will be back and highly recommend course, great value!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000007833023's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



sunside's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Hideaway Country Club"


Ftmyer's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Greens and fairways are immaculate. Beautiful course lots of water that is not hard to avoid if you are careful.

Nice layout, holes have nice isolated feel from one another.

Much better test of golf than one would expect just looking at the scorecard.

Pace of play was surprisingly good. My favorite course in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"excellent condition of course made it worth it"


nudgee's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was quite difficult to find with conflicting directions provided. It is in excellent condition both greens and fairways. What it lacks in distance is compensated by you having to "think about club choice". Considering its location it is quite picturesque. Apart from the 1st and 10th hole there is no signage of where to go.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Allways again ... short but challenging"


Hanslebek's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It is a really fine course. Greens are fast and true, fairway was in excellent condition. It is a short course, but ....


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Super condition"


Wehapfoch's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A real Good course in super condition


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hideaway Golf"


Billflysfree's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/29/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a beautiful little course and is also very challenging due to lots of water and sand traps.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Mine, mine, all mine!"


bobbuell's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

The Hideaway is the worst course I've ever played in over 40 years of golfing! I say that because I want to keep this absolute little gem of a golf course all to myself! No sharing. I've lived and golfed in SW Fla. for 30 years and played here yesterday for the first time and it beats most, if not all, other courses hands down. The condition of the entire couse from tee to green is flat out the best I've ever seen. Period. And I've seen them all. The track is superb for a short course. To the staff and maintenance crew I say "Be very proud of what you created here and Thank You for letting me experience this little beauty! " I will be back! ALOT!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wonderful round"


Helga3217681's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

We enjoyed this tricky course: nice doglegs, some narrow fairways, well placed water hazards.

Extremly friendly staff.

Cheers to Steffanie from Helga


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


u422509195's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

This is the nicest course in Lee County. It is very well maintained and they have a very friendly staff on duty. Lovely course, well worth the money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Thank You!"


HideawayCC's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/11/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

100 REVIEWS!

On behalf of the Hideaway Country Club we would like to thank each of you for taking the time to write a review of our golf course. Your positive reviews are very kind and they recognize our efforts to make The Hideaway better each day.

Please enjoy a few photos of our multi award winning golf course.

The Hideaway Country Club


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"A Hidden Gem"


fjstark's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in outstanding shape. When the clubhouse is completed, it will be a first-rate track.

It's a fair test for golfers of all skills. Enjoyed it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u695174174's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This my favorite course in the area!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hideaway- Golfs Best Kept Secret"


grlipman's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

The course is in great shape, the staff is the best, and played round in 3 and 1/2 hours!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Awesome experience !!!!!"


mreilly221967's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Me and my twin brother played here for first time and what a fantastic find. The course is immaculate with best fairways and testing greens. Brilliant lay out that makes you think about club selection and course management. The golf is so enjoyable but it gets beaten by the unbelievable attention and hospitality of their staff namely Shaun and Stephanie. Their enthusiasm and helpfulness made our day perfect and we thank you for all your time and effort towards us. Top quality golf......top drawer people


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pricey Lil Course"


NiceSpikes's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

I booked this course knowing that it had a aerification alert on it. When I arrived the clubhouse was literally in ruble. Yes, they were literally tearing down the clubhouse. Once I found where the temporary clubhouse were (Modular trailers ) with limited parking, I was checked in to play my round. The holes have been reconfigured due to the construction but there are signs directing the new layout.

A nice little par 3 course but I have never figured why they are priced higher than other courses in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed