Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club

4.5463000000 4.5 stars from 5 (432)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7517 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 76.2
  • Layout

  • 48456 W Hwy 238, Maricopa, Arizona 85239, Pinal County
  • (480) 367-8949
  • golfsoutherndunes.com
Write a review

Year built: 2002
Architect(s): Brian Curley
Type: Public
Style: Traditional/Links
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round. Closed on Mondays from June 1 - August 31st

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tips 72 7517 yards 76.2 141
Black 72 7307 yards 75.1 138
Gold 72 6889 yards 72.6 131
Blue 72 6493 yards 70.6 126
White 72 6074 yards 68.5 121
Red (W) 72 5102 yards 71.7 124

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 432 Reviews
5 stars:
292
4 stars:
101
3 stars:
25
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

402 out of 429 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Hidden gem track in the Phoenix valley area"


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Track layout and conditions are as good as they come. Course plays excellent. It's beautifully designed for both avid and recreational players. Definitely a pleasant surprise and different from the other tourist trap courses in the valley. This track is up there with just about any other top course in the Phoenix valley.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



mtnfox024's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course with many bunkers to navigate. Every hole was a challenge & very enjoyable. The staff were exceptional & very friendly like we old friends even though this was our first time to play this course. Will tell all my friends to definitely play this course when they are in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"awsome course"


jose7626820's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the best courses in the greater Phoenix area. A must play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"A Tough and Enjoyable Golf Experience"


Bobemac's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Texas Advisor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Playing this course is an experience that should not be missed.

This is without a doubt the most organized golf operation that I've seen. We were greeted by Kyle an expert golf cart engineer.

The pro shop had the dynamic duo of Sam and Sam. Tall Sam and shorter but much more attractive small Sam. They have personality to spare and greet everybody and make them feel welcome.

Our starter was an amazing snowbird from Austin, Minnesota named Pete. Pete is the glue that keeps this impressive operation running.

On a Saturday morning, the tee sheet was full and they had 100 players before 9:30. Pete welcomes each group and spends time with everybody. They all know that it is important to maintain the pace of play. Golfers were making the turn in under 2 hours and Pete was cheering them on. Pete's enforcer on the course is Joe from New York. Joe can monitor all players on the course in real-time and put out the fires.

The course is beautiful but dangerous. The fairways and tee boxes are prime. The greens are thin in spots waiting for the Bermuda grass. Several of them are very challenging with false fronts, sides, and backs allowing your ball to easily roll off into deep swales. There are so many sand bunkers here you have to be aware at all times. Bunkers are punitive, especially around the greens. There are few clean approaches here.

The scenery here is amazing and it is so peaceful and quiet. We never encountered any maintenance personnel on this course!

To add to all our travails there was a rare 20 MPH wind that blew in different directions all day. There was no humidity and the temps were in the 70s most of our round.

Ak-Chin is a beautiful but tough golf course. Plan to tee it up here soon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Southern Dunes"


RichardLindh's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I think the slope rating is a little low on this course. It's heavily trapped and the tournament tees are way back. We've played the course for about five years and the condition of the course this year was the best ever.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"If you like the Beach, worth the drive"


jbbardal's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Loved the layout, really good conditions, but too many bunkers. First time playing this course, had high expectations, didn't totally disappoint regarding conditions, greens were fast, speed was everything. Only disappointment, once we reached the 10th tee box, groups were waiting, averaged 2 groups waiting through to the 18th, took 3 hours to play the back 9! Lucky for us we were not in a rush !


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Will be back!"


u000006673322's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, lots of bunkers but overall, very player friendly. Worth the drive and will be back!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Mathieu6383037's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great service"


crokochy's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

From the minute we pulled up to drop off our clubs, to the starter and pro shop staff went above and beyond. We arrived early for our tee time and they accommodated us by letting us go earlier. The water on every third hole is such a bonus in the hot weather. Great courses need to be accurate or pay the price in the sand traps..


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Long Drive, but worth it. Well maintained. Tough, but fair."


silky85282's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of the nicest courses in Arizona. Without question, one of the best values in Arizona golf.

Not the most convenient location. Not the prettiest surroundings, but extremely well designed and well maintained. Very friendly staff, small, but well designed club house and patio.

Tough track, but fair. Greens are well designed, fast and can be hard to read for fist timers (there is some sort of mountain effect going on.).

If you play early morning in summer, make sure you use the insect repellent that the starter provides.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



phoenix480's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Best of phoenix"


nathangoeke's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You can't beat this course especially with price value. Greens have character and are challenging. It's a wonderful course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bring your bug spray"


yinyinchinn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had an early morning tee time. Conditions were fabulous. Greens fast. Staff courteous. I did get a lot of insect bites so I would recommend bug spray especially if you are the type they like. Definitely on my list to play again if I'm in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



Ron4272473's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Lots of Beach"


dthb's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great target golf course. The drives and approach shots all had sand in play. Bring your A game.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging, don't miss this course"


vrussea's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Vast amounts of well kept sand traps, challenging layout, always well manicured. Our favorite Arizona golf course. Greens today a bit scruffy due to recent dressing, sand. Almost a perfect golf day with the the exception of the arrival and departure experience in recent visits. Today, we pulled up to the "drop bag" area. Attendant was about 20 yards away in a conversation with another staffe member. Both saw us pull up and proceeded to ignore us. I dropped our bags at the curb, a which point the gent runs over to find out our tee time and names. Normally at a Troon course, and always in the past at Ak-Chin we would have one or two staff members all over us as we pulled up. Upon departure, similar disinterested staff. This is twice in a row, hope that it is not a trend.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Awesome course"


Barbaemmert's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lots of sand but a great course. Every 3 holes they offer water. Staff very friendly. I would recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pleasant experience"


ianklein11375's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nicely maintained golf course. Was very crowded day we played due to 18 college golf team event that had just finished. Still enjoyed the round, however wish I would've been informed of the tournament prior to making the 45-50 min drive south of Phoenix area. Would def recommend playing if you're in the area...lots of sand traps....not one cactus.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Very challenging with many bunkers"


GBG's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed the course. Lots of trouble with the 109 bunkers and this particular gay the greens were rolling at around a 12. Very quick but a true roll. Enjoyed it a lot!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



reeddds's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2017
Previously played Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u492605533's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed