Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club

4.6739470588 4.7 stars from 5 (456)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7546 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 76.4
  • Layout

  • 48456 W Hwy 238, Maricopa, Arizona 85139, Pinal County
  • (480) 367-8949
  • www.akchinsoutherndunes.com
Write a review

Year built: 2002
Architect(s): Brian Curley
Type: Public
Style: Traditional/Links
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round. Closed on Mondays from June 1 - August 31st

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tips 72 7546 yards 76.4 142
Black 72 7330 yards 75.1 138
Gold 72 6902 yards 72.4 129
Blue 72 6493 yards 70.6 124
White 72 5981 yards 68.2 118
Red (W) 72 5055 yards 71.7 124

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 456 Reviews
5 stars:
306
4 stars:
107
3 stars:
28
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

423 out of 453 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Hidden gem track in the Phoenix valley area"


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Track layout and conditions are as good as they come. Course plays excellent. It's beautifully designed for both avid and recreational players. Definitely a pleasant surprise and different from the other tourist trap courses in the valley. This track is up there with just about any other top course in the Phoenix valley.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Problem with cart guys"


jerbabe44's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After the round was over, we tipped the cart guys who were cleaning our clubs and I explained to them that I had a disability, I was tired from cart path only all day, and that I would like to ride the cart from the cart cleaning station back to the location where the carts were loaded earlier in the day. They refused and told me they had a rule that couldn't be broken. I hauled my bag from that location to the car and they drove the cart back to the location where the carts were located at the start of the day. This kind of service is unacceptable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"An Absolute Treat"


BryanGehlen36's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The layout here is absolutely fantastic and the course conditions 4 days after overseeding were remarkably good. Everything from the practice facility to the entire golf course to the clubhouse and food was fantastic. I absolutely can't wait to go back the next time I make it to the Phoenix area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



billwill17662's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



yinyinchinn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"What a treat!!"


mmcneill's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a very enjoyable day at AK-Chin Southern Dunes. It was the first day after over-seeding but I rate the course in excellent condition because the greens, though slow, still rolled well and fairways were great. A very challenging course - small greens, well positioned bunkers and good length. Highly recommend this course!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"GTS1"


sandycreek's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great staff. Excellent service and treatment. Starters and cart girl were excellent also. Fun day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000002258000's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth the Drive"


Phil2077's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Very fun, beautiful course. Can score if you are hitting the ball reasonably well. Pace was a little slow as Web Tour Q school was having a practise round. Was not a big deal. Play it every chance you get.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"I was expecting more!"


u7790269's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After reviewing all the comments I booked this course for my wife and I. We are average golfers and that might be the problem. Too many sand traps that makes this course a "target" style course. Not easy for someone with a 20 handicap. Not satisfied with quality of traps. The course was dry and the greens had been air raided. Well at least I suspect they were given their condition. The person behind the counter at the pro shop was less than cordial. I did not experience this at the other four courses we played. In fact my wife and I ranked this as # 5 of the 5 courses we played.

Pace of play was great as they only had 35 golfers yesterday (for whole day) as per the cart lady who made last call at the first hole as we were teeing off.

I'm sure this course is good but for us it did not meet our expectations as per the reviews we researched.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 09/19/2017

My name is Devin Lowe and I work at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes. Terribly sorry to hear about your experience, when you can please give us a call so we can further discuss your day here. Please call 520.426.6829 at your convenience.


"Great shape."


peterkalkman's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape.

The fairways were lush and green.

The greens ruled fast and true.

The staff is always friendly and attentive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Cort4275824's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Mosquito Dunes"


sbreen3's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the course, but the mosquitos quench out all its greatness. I think the amenities, staff, and layout are all top notch but unless I'm a pro I just can't see dealing with the thousands of mosquitoes that overwhelm the practice area and course. It's a real shame but I'd prefer to play elsewhere and enjoy my friends and the great game without bathing in bug spray and swatting off the bugs at every hole.

Probably nothing they can do but the staff is fully aware. Is there no commercial spray or treatment that could be applied to keep this at bay? It's a shame but I won't be returning until this changes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course



wieseler04's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course (Need to Deal With the Mosquitos)"


dhume419's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got a hankering for a road trip and decided to head south to play a course I suspected was nice, but was always a bit too far to bother. As a Troon course, you can come to expect quality. And Southern Dunes did not disappoint. The fairways and greens were all well manicured and the many bunkers were as bunkers should be--loose sand, not packed clay. The par 3s were all a stretch to reach either because of the outright length (193 yards on one from the yellow tees) or the elevation change from tee to green. Nonetheless, the course was a good challenge requiring accuracy in length and in direction control. The bunkers were usually deep and penal if you strayed into them. With over 100 bunkers across the course, it is inevitable that you will find one. On the day I played there was one negative feature--mosquitos. I don't know if this is a regular problem at this course, but they were trying to make a meal out of me during the round. Check with the course in advance of a round; you'll want to take repellant if they are on the warpath.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful, challenging golf course."


dondauve's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing this course even though I've known about it for quite some time. I live in Tucson and the course is in Maricopa which is about an hour and 45 drive. Professional, resort style course with all the amenities for the golf only. Even has a cart come by a few times offering ice cold hand towels to cool off with. I played on 8-19-17 and the course was in pretty good shape except for the greens. They had been sanded recently in the past and they were terribly slow. Even downhill putts I couldn't get to the hole many times. But no worries, I plan to make it back up some time this fall once again. Did I mention all the bunkers throughout the course? Fairways and greens well guarded to make shots very challenging. Played with another single and we both shot in the low 80's so it was fun.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"great course,but hot and humid"


desertgolfer55's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

played in the second group out on sunday,first 5 or so holes greens kinda spotty and they had been punched in the past several week,but they did get better as the round went along,course is in very good shape for this time of year,lots of flies but did not bother me or the others in the group,the course marhall had cool towels and there is water bottles every 3 holes and 2 seperate cart girls on each nine and they are very friendly...they do really put the water to the course so there are a few wet areas but play lift and clean and place and you will be good to go


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"One of the best in the area"


pmshift123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, great staff. Pricey for every week play but good for a summer round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course!!!"


Degoviet's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played here on 6/11/17 with 6:30am tee time. Fairways and tee boxes are in excellent shape for this time of year, only down side was the greens were bumpy due to recently aerated. But the course did advised us in advance and we chose to proceed with playing there so no faults to them. No need to bring bottled water as they have bottled water every few holes. Pace of play was slower than what we were used to due to 4some in front kept going back to retrieve their clubs left behind. GPS on carts is a nice feature. Greens are well protected by LOTS of bunkers so this course may not be suited for novice golfers. If you are serious about scoring then pay close attention to GPS and plan your shots accordingly, hit to the right spots and you'll be rewarded but if you miss then you'd better have a strong scramble game up your sleeve. Water is in play for number 10 and 18. Overall, excellent day of golf and would definitely return to play again. This course lives up to Troon brand.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice Course But..."


u7544247's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

On our day the flies and the mosquitos from the nearby cattle farms were out of control and we all got a ton of bites, which definitely affected our experience. As for the course itself, it was in good condition and challenging, and had plenty of water on a hot day. Lastly, the food in the restaurant was horrible and all 4 in our party agreed.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course, to many bugs"


u866428801's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For such a well designed and well kept course, the grass, sand, etc, the reason and only reason I wouldn't recommend this course to friends, the biting flies that just continue to bother you and yes, bite. There are a lot of them all through out the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed