Quintero Golf Club

4.7801235294 4.8 stars from 5 (658)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7208 yards
  • Slope: 147
  • Rating: 74.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt and bermuda shorts required. No denim.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7208 yards 74.9 147
Gold 72 6845 yards 72.9 143
Silver 72 6435 yards 70.7 137
Cooper 72 5984 yards 69.2 128
Cooper (W) 72 5984 yards 75.8 145
Jade (W) 72 5307 yards 71.9 125

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 658 Reviews
5 stars:
511
4 stars:
108
3 stars:
27
2 stars:
10
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

623 out of 657 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks amazing food patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Beautiful and Quiet"


sdparker55's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing this course and we were not disappointed. The layout is challenging, but as long as you follow the tip sheet and keep in it play off the tee you will be fine. The course is beautiful and quiet, far away from the city. You will immediately notice the lack of ambient noise coming from houses, traffic, and other city noises which was very pleasant. Fairways were nice a short, bunkers were fluffy and easy to hit out of, and greens were fast but predictable. The greens definitely sped up as they dried out. Overall, conditions were excellent. Other than the wonderful course itself, the best part about Quintero is the superior management and employees running the course. This was the most efficiently run course I have ever played. Marshals were all over the course, but were not intrusive, which resulted in our foursome completing our round in 4 hours flat. Great experience, I look forward to playing here again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Fantastic golf with fantastic views"


Mlangier's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/20/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Quintero was an awesome challenge. Greens are fast but true, course is long but fair. Really enjoyed the outing and cannot wait to be back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"It’s Out There, But Worth It"


BrianUttley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course consistently has those key elements that you just don’t get at other courses in the valley. This is a hard course with fast greens and well manicured fairways and tee boxes. If it weren’t for the threat of rattlesnakes (didn’t see any) I would walk this course barefoot.

This was the fourth time I have played Quintero, it was a treat and a beautiful day!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



cdaiken's avatar
Age:  25-34

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"one of a kind"


layman9er's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/13/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

for the value, the course is the best in the west valley. Well worth the time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Challenging with fabulous views"


u00000354892's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/13/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

This course is 50 min from Scottsdale, so it’s a good drive and an all day event. Outside service staff are not the friendliest people. Driving range was very crowded on the weekend. I found the course very challenging from the forward tees. Views were spectacular and worth the drive. I wish the clubhouse offered nice dining options as it wold be great to have a leisurely lunch after the round .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"The course was perfect!!"


Colemlaroche's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/13/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

I am from Seattle, wa. Every year/ couple times a year I come down to golf. We chose Quintero based off the reviews. The course did NOT disappoint! The price to play was awesome. There was no one behind us, and no one in front of us the whole time!! We ended playing 36 that Saturday. Everything from tee to green was in phenomenal shape. Me, my dad, uncle will for sure be back the next trip down! Thank you for a great experience with beautiful landscape, and views.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


u000001106222's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on

Fantastic Course with great conditions and amazing views. Don't skip this one on your next trip to Arizona!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Rees Jones' Quintero: Bring your A Game"


caknox1's avatar
Arizona Advisor
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

If you watch golf on TV, you've likely seen Quintero Golf Club before... through Wilson Golf commercials, Fox10, etc. Rees Jones (the youngest son of Robert Trent Jones Sr. and brother of RTJ II) design is one of the very best tracks in the Valley and it absolutely dictates that you pay attention and play within yourself, otherwise you are in for a very long day.

Built in 2000, the Founders Course was to be the centerpiece of a small, very private master-planned community. In fact, a second course was planned, as well, to be built (in 2004-2006) by Greg Norman as the Charter Course. You remember the 2006-2008 run up to the bubble burst and that affect upon Quintero was enormous. Lots of articles on-line will tell the story of what happened, to whom, why and what eventually transpired. Almost ALL of them mention a gentleman named Mr. Elliot Lewis. I met Mr. Lewis one afternoon while smoking a cigar and we talked for a couple of hours. He's visionary but is tempered by a sensible dose of realism. If you want to know WHY Quintero was saved and has flourished, he is THE primary reason. One last thing to keep in mind: The course has received superior accolades for many years. That is no small thing, as it reflects a constancy of effort to improve (Example: Troon was brought in to manage the facility a few years back) and is reflected by multiple experiences having played there, invariably followed by deep satisfaction.

Nuts and Bolts: The Website

Quintero's site is excellent: Plenty of content, easily navigable and it offers a combination of photographs of each hole along with spectacular drone flyovers. Many a course could learn from what Quintero has as a digital representation, as it is the first place a golfer is touched.

Course design: As always, the playability of the course is determined by an honest appraisal of your skills. Ego won't help. From all the way back (7249 yards) the slope is 148. At just under 6,900, the slope is still 143. Even at 6,437, the slope still comes in at 137. Quintero, again, is particularly attuned to their player(s). The scorecard offers combo routings along with their ratings and slope. The choices of tees directly impacts the difficulty of driving. For the most part, there is plenty of room to hit the tee ball.

Approach shots/greens: Rees has always impressed me as an adherent to his father's philosophy of open driving areas (still with some difficult fairway bunkering) followed by exacting approach shots, to greens well-defended by both bunkering and green undulation... and size. Such is the case at Quintero. The par fives are scorable, the par fours are tough and the three pars are the best collection of single-shotters in the state. As the course is routed, there is plenty of slope to take into account, both up and downhill. The green complexes are difficult but not impossible. The green speed, however, you will need to take into account, as well as where the primary slope is located. If you are not careful, you can misread a 30 footer and be left with more than you started with ;)

Quintero is actually in Peoria, just south of Lake Pleasant. The drive is almost ALWAYS mentioned by any reviewer. Here's the deal: I once drove 28 hours straight through to play Pinehurst #7 (interestingly, a Rees Jones design). If you consider tooling down the highway for an hour or two in an effort to tee it up at a spectacular ride a pain... then, by all means, DON"T tell us about it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"The best course in Arizona"


u853259266's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/01/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

I love this golf course I played it for the first time probably five years ago. I look for specials all the time I would play this course more if it wasn’t so far from me and if it didn’t get so expensive in the winter. If you haven’t tried it please plan on making a trip out there you won’t regret it. Love love love this course!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



claudiners's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Absolutely incredible!"


mbald23's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/29/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This place is amazing. Quintero is honestly better than most of the private clubs I have played. It was in perfect shape and the greens were lightning fast. This is the best course in Arizona because they do everything right, just like at Augusta!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Love it!!!"


kasie's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/28/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Love this course. Beautiful settings. Wish they would make the women’s par three tees more interesting. Not all of us find under 100 yards enjoyable. But. I did well this year and scored decent. Pro shop was so much better this year for shopping!! Lol! You guys are great and the staff is greater!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Get ya phone ready"


bigmike4bird86's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Beautiful layout, lots of elevated tees (pretty much every par 3 is elevated), incredible views of the surrounding desert landscape. You'll find it hard not to try and take a picture on every hole. Worth the hr or so drive from phoenix (depending where you are). The drive from the clubhouse to the no 1 tee is literally ten mins but helps to build the suspense. Fairways and tee boxes immaculate, some dry spots on edges of greens maybe they lost some of the grass over the summer. Very challenging, greens were SUPER fast and hard but pretty receptive on short iron shots. Bunkers fluffy with white sand and have fun trying to stop the ball on the greens out of them. Definitely a MUST play if you are in the phoenix area, maybe the best course you can play in all of arizona at least in my experience and probably one of the top 100 in the country. Winter rates are pretty high but in the summer I was able to find a hot deal around 40 dollars.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



Ter4mar2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful, challenging and great experience every time!"


speplinski's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/17/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Always my favorite place to take guests to give them an awesome desert golf experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Scenic, Difficult, Unique"


golfterry's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Arriving at the entry to the course you are met by staff who greet you, take your bag and direct you to the pro shop and parking lot. This was the only negative to the day, The man unloading clubs was rude, unfriendly and definitely didn't want to be working there. After I parked, went inside and checked in, came back outside there was no sign of my golf clubs. 15 minutes later they arrived on a cart.

I drove up the hill to the practice area and the starter was exceptional. Very friendly and very service oriented. The on course marshal also was exceptional. Probably two of the best I have seen at any golf course.

The golf course was in great shape. It was tough. It played long. No roll, ball seemed to always come up short. The greens were very quick and the tough pin placements made it very challenging. All three of us single digit handicappers scored in the 90's.

The par threes were a lot of fun and some of the best I have ever played.

Surprised after 16 years the place still has no clubhouse. Just a trailer/tent.

The regular green fees are high. But Troon card or Golfnow deals can be had to bring it back to a realistic rate.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Simply the best"


u000007329755's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/01/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This is by far my favorite course. I’ve played Sawgrass, Ocean, and Harbour Town among others....Quintero is right there. Yes it is out in the middle of nowhere, but it is so worth it. The par 3s are amazing with dramatic downhill shots. The course is fair and tough at the same time.

I’ve played here 5 times now and I can’t wait to get back. It’s really that good.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"My Favorite Course In AZ so far!"


Branden1422862's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Love this course! My favorite track so far since moving to Phoenix. Very friendly staff when you arrive, great range and warm up area. When you get to the 1st T box they always have a great staff member giving tips about the course and some advice on how the course is playing. The track itself has some of the most beautiful holes in the country! The elavatee Par 3's are both a challenge and amazing so enjoy your time up on those!!!

Don't let other reviews of the "drive" bother you. Just because Phoenix has so many courses within 10 minutes of each other, to some driving 45-50 minutes seems like a "ways out there" I think it's worth it every time and am going to look into a stay and play weekend at one of the like 8 houses on the course!

If your from in town or out this is a MUST Play!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Quintero is consistently good"


pbuchner's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Have played this course about a dozen times in the past 6 years and it is always in pristine condition. Playing it about a month out of overseeding, it was in the best condition I've ever seen. Pace of play was a little slower than usual but not excessive. Overall a great track.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Might be the best public course in the Phoenix area"


ejrasmo31's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Quintero is a great layout with a good mix of holes. Lots of elevation change with picturesque views. Price point is reasonable compared to many of the course in the Scottsdale area and the course is better. It is a bit of drive with not much else around it, but worth the trip.

It is a Troon course and they participate in the Troon Rewards program. My only complaint is the pro shop staff tends to not be real friendly towards the program. On a 2 for 1 day, I paid for a friend and they only credited half the rate and another time they would not let me use my certificates because I was outside the 3 day booking window. None of the other Troon facilities manage the program this way. Despite this, I will be back because of the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed