Quintero Golf Club

4.6783000000 4.7 stars from 5 (575)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7208 yards
  • Slope: 147
  • Rating: 74.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt and bermuda shorts required. No denim.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7208 yards 74.9 147
Gold 72 6845 yards 72.9 143
Silver 72 6435 yards 70.7 137
Cooper 72 5984 yards 69.2 128
Cooper (W) 72 5984 yards 75.8 145
Jade (W) 72 5307 yards 71.9 125

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 575 Reviews
5 stars:
438
4 stars:
102
3 stars:
24
2 stars:
9
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

544 out of 574 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks amazing food patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Beautiful and Quiet"


sdparker55's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing this course and we were not disappointed. The layout is challenging, but as long as you follow the tip sheet and keep in it play off the tee you will be fine. The course is beautiful and quiet, far away from the city. You will immediately notice the lack of ambient noise coming from houses, traffic, and other city noises which was very pleasant. Fairways were nice a short, bunkers were fluffy and easy to hit out of, and greens were fast but predictable. The greens definitely sped up as they dried out. Overall, conditions were excellent. Other than the wonderful course itself, the best part about Quintero is the superior management and employees running the course. This was the most efficiently run course I have ever played. Marshals were all over the course, but were not intrusive, which resulted in our foursome completing our round in 4 hours flat. Great experience, I look forward to playing here again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Love Me Some Quintero"


Stroker22's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Simply one of, if not the, best golf courses I have played in the valley. All of the high rated golf reviews you see about this course are absolutely true. It's a gem. In my marks, I down graded Course Conditions and Value only because the greens and tee boxes had recently been aerated. Other than that, the course was immaculate. I will wait a few weeks and then go back to play the course at full strength. The layout and views alone are worth the price of admission. Lots of well placed bunkers, so make sure you spend a few minutes in the practice bunker before hitting the first tee. Also, the staff was as nice as could be. Looking forward to playing this place again--soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Tex7623232's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome Course, Amazing layout, Target challenging"


trident13's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Quintero is nestled in between wickenburg and north Phoenix, near lake pleasant. This course was an absolute pleasure to play, I am a local to northern Phoenix and have played most of the Phoenix "desert courses" out there. The greens were challenging and fast, from the tee you need to have spot on accuracy to hit the playable areas of the fairways. The course is challenging on a targeting level for the advanced player and for the weekend warrior it has room to spare. Make sure your good at the beach because Quintero has plenty of puffy sand beaches to hit(Bunkers). Overall with the elevated tee boxes and undulated greens it was a masterpiece to play. A true hidden gem in the northwest valley. Comparable courses include the boulders, DC mountain etc....


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



Bill5001757's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course conditions at Quintero are always excellent and the scenery is spectacular!

The greens are are usually hard and fast, but they always roll very true. Approach shots can run away, but with the correct trajectory and spin you can hold most greens.

There are plenty of traps guarding the greens, but the sand is good and sand saves are not impossible.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Quintero is a great test."


randyhair127's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Quintero is out in the middle of nowhere. It took us an hour to drive from the middle of Scottsdale so plan ahead. A long cart ride from the pro shop to the practice area & 1st tee (and last green). This is a challenging golf course all the way through from tee to holing out. We enjoyed it & played fairly well until the pace of play bogged down to waiting on every shot. The golf course's difficulty will add to slow play & the greens are so fast that leaving the ball close to the hole for tap-ins is not a sure thing. Not a golf course for beginners of hackers, but a great test if you like a challenge. I should add the natural desert scenery is also very nice at this course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Stay and Play"


jimbob1941's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The two days of golf, with overnight accommodations and meals was an outstanding event. The course was difficult and demands accurate shot making; however the course conditions were great and the staff were great hosts. We were very impressed with the entire experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Quentero golf"


u000005291152's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The course is beautiful and scenic. The course is challenging--but is worth the challenge. I would play this course everyday if I could. The greens are very fast--pro quality. Fairways are well maintained and are fast. Great golf here!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Golf experience"


u000005752734's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great course and great golf experience... a little pricey for mere mortals who play multiple times a week... I had customers in town for a week and got to play TPC stadium, Troon north, Verrado founders (Ravin) and Quintero and this was the best golf experience of all of them... in fact I'd pick both west side courses over the east side courses and for the money... by far, this course is in great shape, beautiful to play, very secluded and a little strange as it is in the middle of nowhere, long drives to first hole and between holes but that is part of its wonderful character, I think it's a golf course in the valley all golfers should experience ... will be back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"The Desert Mirage"


Bobemac's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Texas Advisor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This golf course is like a mirage in the desert.

The 1.5-hour drive from Chandler is not a fun trip. Phoenix traffic is always a mess then you

turn onto highway 74, the road that time forgot. It has not changed in 100 years and is still 2 lanes.

The golf course entrance has a desolate winding route with no man made buildings around.

Some temporary structures appear and so do the cart guys. They are helpful.

The man in the Pro Shop isn't a Pro, he works for Farmers' Insurance full-time.

Andy from Wisconsin is friendly and brags about how fast the greens are and how tough the course is.

The journey to the #1 tee and practice area is about 1.5 miles down a lonely road.

The starter is an affable guy from Illinois who also bragged about how fast their greens were

and how tough the course was. The practice greens had just been top dressed and were covered with sand. I asked our starter if the greens on the course were like this and he replied;

"no, they are much better."

Hole #1 is a short par four, and an easy par, but the greens were covered with sand.

I had been deceived. I should have left here immediately but after the long drive, what the hey.

I discovered that there are more flies on Quintero than on any of the eight other courses

we've played.

Also, on our first four holes, we had more maintenance personnel interference than all the other courses combined.

The "GPS" here is rudimentary. There is a small six-inch screen located below and right of the steering wheel with distance to the pin virtually illegible. This is woefully inadequate in comparison to other prime courses.

Tees are not marked 90% of the time. This will cause a big delay if you are a first-time visitor

because not all tee boxes are in play and many are hidden. All other courses that we've played clearly mark each tee box.

The key in playing this course is to stripe a straight drive in the fairway. On par three holes

hitting the green sets you up nice for birdie.

The second shot on par fours is the most important here. Many times an extra club is required

because the greens are located behind punitive bunkers.

Sadly, the top-dressed greens took away a lot of the legendary speed but they all seemed to run true as in straight. Do not give away the hole here.

Rees Jones was channeling a mountain goat on quite a few of these holes. He has designed

a tiered level of tee boxes going up the hillside. The back tees hit from the top and have beautiful vistas. When you wind down to the copper and jade tees, you could find some gnarly tee shots with rocks and vegetation as distractions.

Because of forced carries and tricky, uneven side hill lies, this course is not recommended for high handicap golfers.

This course has had a long history of overbooking/overcrowding and horrendous slow play during the high season.

On a 100 degree day in early May, it took over 4.5 hours to play and we only encountered a ranger once. He was heading to the group in front to sped them up.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Jewel of the Valley"


Golfinutt's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This track is by far one of the most aesthetically pleasing and challenging you'll find in the west valley. It's well worth the drive and the price of admission.(provided you play off peak) It will more than challenge the scratch golfer and absolutely frustrate the beginner, however the scenery will more than make up for any feelings of consternation with the level of difficulty. The day that I played the winds were in excess of 40 mph, making the course play even harder however I came to quickly appreciate the innate challenges the course would provide with or without gale force winds, and it didn't change my mind at all about this track! A must play when visiting the west valley!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


u000003617851's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great design and use of terrain. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Dining facilities are very modest but the wait staff was excellent and the chicken wings and fries were also top shelf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Masters like..."


u000003825820's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

So beautiful and well manicured !

Greens so true.

Outlets of cart paths well placed. Doing it again next weekend with my sons!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome Experience"


marbros1's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Course is beautiful. The views, the course conditions and the overall quality were just amazing. This course lives up to all of the hype and the reviews are all accurate I their respect for this course.

Greens were very firm and holding a shot to a front pin was impossible. Noticed that the rack rate if you booked today was 1/2 what we paid by booking a week out. This time of year, it would be well worth it to wait till the day before to book your round.

Pace of play was slow. 5:15 to play the round and lots of waiting. Had an early afternoon time so that may be part of the reason.

Worth the drive and certainly one of the very best courses I have ever played.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very dramatic views and challenging"


GBG's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape and #9 par 3 was awesome! Loved the layout with very challenging fast greens. Highly recommend!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Spectacular Views - but....."


David6783918's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The views here are spectacular. Tees and fairways were excellent but the greens were a little torn up from ball marks. Greens were as fast as concrete, and our overall experience was great. Don't buy the wings in the snack shop (not good) and smuggle in your drinks. We ordered 4 mixed drinks on the course and were charged $56.00. That's a little out of the park at $14.00 per drink - plus tip !!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Great course!"


u000007743818's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love this course. It was my first time playing it and I will be playing there a lot more. I'm an average golfer that gets to play once or twice a month and felt that it was a challenging but fair course. Not so difficult that you go home mad. This is the best scenery of any courses I have played since moving to Phoenix! The conditions were perfect. If you haven't played here yet, go check it out. Definitely worth the drive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Best Conditions Around"


BGribbons11's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played the Stadium Course on Monday and this is hands down a better layout and conditioned course. I love the elevation changes and lightning fast greens. Staff was amazing, very helpful and knowledgeable. Pro shop had anything you could need. Can't wait to get back out here!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Amazing Course"


woodchris's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

While it is a bit of a trek to get to Quintero, what awaits you is what, in my opinion is the best course around Phoenix. The course is really playable with birdies and par opportunities at every hole, but with big scores for poor play. Greens run fast but true. The beauty of the course is amazing and the peacefulness of the surroundings is amazing. Play it, you will love it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"A must play"


RhodyGrinder's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Golf Advisor has it right. This course is best in class. The layout has great hole to hole variety, awesome elevation changes, and excellent conditioning. Of the 6 places I played on my trip to Arizona, I'd say this was the best and most unique layout. And if I could only pick one to play again, this would be it.

I loved that there was hardly a house in sight. Desert golf at it's finest.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed