Timacuan Golf Club

4.0870000000 4.1 stars from 5 (299)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7047 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 73.3
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 550 Timacuan Blvd, Lake Mary, FL 32746, County Seminole
  • (407) 321-0010
  • (407) 323-6671
  • www.golftimacuan.com
Write a review

Year built: 1987
Architect(s): Ron Garl (1987), Bobby Weed (1996)
Type: Public
Style: Links
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "EagleDream Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: Soft spikes only
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7047 yards 73.3 127
Blue 72 6531 yards 71.2 122
White (W) 72 6001 yards 74.5 137
White 72 6001 yards 68.9 119
Black 72 5566 yards 67.2 116
Black (W) 72 5566 yards 72.6 128
Green 72 5343 yards 65.9 113
Green (W) 72 5343 yards 71.1 125
Red 72 4693 yards 63.0 109
Red (W) 72 4693 yards 66.5 112

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 299 Reviews
5 stars:
95
4 stars:
151
3 stars:
42
2 stars:
6
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

270 out of 296 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"The good, the bad, and the ugly"


Sebagoduck's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The good: greens are great And the fairways were average. The bad: tee boxes either had long grass or no grass. Women's tees were neglected. The service was poor. I'll explain. We had a threesome in front of us, on each tee they waited for the threesome in front of them to reach the green before teeing off. This included par 4s and par 5s. I called the pro shop at 12:16 on the fifth hole and spoke of the problem with Stephen. Stephen said he had no ranger on the course but would get someone out there. At 2:16 a twosome of members behind us, quit due to slow play. They called the pro sop and someone finally came out and spoke to the threesome. Whomever came out did not follow up and the practice of waiting on the tee until the group in front reached the green continued. The ugly: 5 hour round with a belligerent member threatening to wrap a golf club around my head for complaining.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Good greens"


joeyamin72's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were good but the course is in terrible shape otherwise. Burnt fairways, dead spots everywhere. Hitting off dirt a lot.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Fun for all levels"


JesterC's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great layout and multiple tees make it fun for all levels


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf Club on 04/17/2017:

Thank you for the great 4-star review! We are glad you had a fun round. Come play again soon!

"Very good greens"


Krumbug's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

We were a group from the north on a buddies trip and chose to replay this one. First round temperature hit 94 and we all wanted another crack at it when it was a bit more reasonable. The layout was challenging with a lot of elevation changes, a few waste areas and quite a bit of water on the back nine. My only complaint was the tee boxes could use a bit of attention.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Timacuan"


tpzconst's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice layout..can tell it was a nice course at one time...got a good price from Golf Now so made the experience more tolerable...course is in serious disarray...no money going into repairs and maintenance...lots of dump rules and signs....a semi private course but the members seem to want public players to be treated as second class ...just not a good day... reasonable price but many better options..will not play there again!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Good for a hot deal price"


mattfl's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Course is in ok shape. Played only because I got in on a hot deal time. Greens are in great shape, rolling smooth and fast. Rest of course is in pretty rough shape. Dirt/dead patches in the fairways. The tee boxes are horrible. I also got hit with the sprinklers twice during my round which was pretty annoying. I know they have to stay on top of watering, but maybe make sure no one is on the tee box or green before the sprinklers come on? Thanks...

Not sure how they can continue to charge a premium price for this course with it being in such a poor condition. Course was dead on a saturday afternoon, I played 2 balls the whole round and didn't have anyone behind or in front of me for at least 2-3 holes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf Club on 04/17/2017:

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found value in the course. We see that last time you played was over 2 weeks ago. We hope you come out to play at the course again soon and see how much it has improved.


Chiefl43's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"Fantastic greens"


u280402068's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Second time playing this course. I especially appreciate the consistency of the quick greens. I played on a Tuesday afternoon and felt like I had the course to myself. and my three playing partners felt the same way. I Played Falcons Fire the previous day and was very disappointed with what was advertised and the price. Timacuan is a great value and I am already looking forward to playing here again next year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



smhasham's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Maintenance"


Ryker's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There are better maintained courses in the vicinity. Greens were in good shape. Layout was challenging


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course



leedeke's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/28/2017:

We would like to apologize for your negative experience at the course. We’re normally known for our exceptional greens & course conditions, and we regret that you feel we missed the mark. We’d like to learn more about your specific situation and discuss this further. Please contact us at david@golftimacuan.com


ckmontg's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/20/2017:

Thank you for the 4 stars! Come play again soon!

"Very challenging course"


dmjellis's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Timacuan is a nicely laid out course making for some picturesque backdrop to your round. The greens were in tremendous shape when we played, but the tee boxes and fairways were average, at best. The course was very challenging for our group, all golfers who typically hit scores in the high-90s. The course offers little in amenities, so for our first time on this course it made it difficult to navigate. GPS is only made available via cell phone, which was a pain when trying to gauge distance to any number of hazards or the greens. In the end, we felt we overpaid to play here.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/20/2017:

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the great views the course has to offer. We hope you give us another shot. You can check for great daily prices online here https://timacuan-golf-club.play.teeitup.com/<br/>

"Absolutely Wonderful!"


u791964834's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Timacuan is not only the most picturesque course in Central Florida, but it is also one wonderful layout. If

you play from the tips you'd better be able to hit your drives 280 or so or you won't carry some water hazards. Even from the 6000 yard tees, the course is

a challenge. All in all, playing there was a greatl experience and I will do so again before heading

back up north.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/20/2017:

Thank you for the wonderful 5-Star review! We are happy to learn you describe Timacuan as "the most picturesque course in Central Florida!" We look forward to having you back, come visit us again on your next trip!

"Great course"


WigtownandBladnoch's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed our experience. Course layout very challenging. Best course we have played so far. Would like to return.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/20/2017:

Thank you for the great 4-Star review! We are glad you enjoyed the challenge the course has to offer, and that you consider Timacuan to be the best course you've played so far. Come play again soon!


rkobus's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout, greens excellent, pace of play slow.

Will definitely come back


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/15/2017:

Thank you for the great 4-Star review! We are glad you enjoyed your round, and we look forward to your next one!

"Very quick greens"


Jamesandcatrin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course not in bad shape and an ok layout. Greens very good and quick.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/15/2017:

Thank you for the great 4-Star review! We are glad you recognized how great the greens are looking. Come play again soon!


Tim1751128's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/14/2017:

Thank you for the 4 stars! We hope you had a great round.

"Who's In Charge"


bz6wt6's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Played here many times and you can therefore assume I enjoy the course; it's only a 10-15 minute drive from my house; and I enjoy the layout, etc. On this occasion, the greens were quite fast and true but fair. But the pace of play on the front 9 was awful. It was a Saturday and they had both Men's and Ladies Member Tournaments. To make a long story short, the ladies crossed over from the back nine 30 minutes early and we had to play a 2:45 hour front nine. No starter or ranger anywhere. I will say, of the many times we have played at the course, this was a first.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/14/2017:

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your loyalty to the course. We apologize for the pace of play on that busy Saturday, but we are lad you understand that is not usual for our course. We hope you give us another shot soon.

"Challenging course."


U00000955601's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Loved playing here. Will definitely come back to challenge.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Timacuan Golf on 03/14/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review! We are glad you enjoyed the challenge the course has to offer. Come play again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed