Stoneybrook West Golf Course

3.4170000000 3.4 stars from 5 (837)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7101 yards
  • Slope: 135
  • Rating: 74.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Winter Garden Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7101 yards 74.8 135
Blue 72 6455 yards 71.4 131
White 72 5801 yards 68.2 124
Red 72 5173 yards 70.8 119

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 837 Reviews
5 stars:
126
4 stars:
341
3 stars:
197
2 stars:
102
1 stars:
71

recommend this course

615 out of 829 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Pleasantly surprised"


AnthonyLazzara's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have not played here in nearly six years. Great value. Appears they are bringing back some of the previously filled in bunkers which is good. Will be back


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/14/2017:

We're excited to hear you returned to the golf course after six years! Our staff is working hard finishing up renovations and look forward to seeing you again for another round. Thank you for golfing with us and providing a 4 star review of the course. See you soon!



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/12/2017:

Thank you for the review and recommendation!

"Well worth the trip"


u325229743's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging course plays long and wet take extra balls youll use them


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West on 06/01/2017:

Thank you for your review! We hope you enjoyed the challenge, and will be back for another round soon!

"SBW"


danny4593889's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape. The greens were very slow. They took most of the bunkers out. I believe that by taking out so many bunkers it has taken away something from the course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

Thank you for the 4 star review and recommendation! We're happy to hear course was in good shape during your round. See you soon!


drsmith10's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West on 06/01/2017:

Thank you for playing Stoneybrook West, drsmith10. We hope that the severe drought this spring effecting our course conditions will not deter you from coming back to play our course again!


Tomfry1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Please feel free to reach out to the pro shop to discuss in detail.


u759233998's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

Thank you for the review and recommendation! Our staff is currently hard at work to renovate the course and improve overall conditions. We hope you can come back soon and try us again.

"Solid value golf course."


rlb06e's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

About as good as it gets for under $40 on a weekend morning. Not on the level of some of the 5* resorts but more than holds its own against most public courses around.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/12/2017:

Thank you for the review and recommendation of the course! We're happy to provide a good value for your weekend mornings. See you soon!


u603666333's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For a bunch of amateurs, this course was excellent. The greens were in excellent condition, the fairways are open. The staff was friendly. This is my 4th time playing here, would come again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

We love to hear from returning golfers! Thank you for golfing with us and providing feedback on your experience. See you next time!

"Poor customer service from superintendent/groundskeeper"


u362368371's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I like the layout of course and thought we would give it a try since it was under new management. The former manager from Legends who is a great guy is now out there. I won't go into detail but I don't appreciate being berated at the turn while getting a sandwich from the groundskeeper about something he mistakingly thought I said. It was quickly pointed out to him by staff that I was wrong guy. He had already told me to get out and not come back. I've belonged to clubs in Tennessee and also here, including Legends. Never have I been talked to that way and never will I return to that club. I think someone is forgetting the customer pays, the employee should use good customer service.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

We're very sorry to hear about your experience with customer service. We can assure you this is not our standard and would like to hear more details on this incident. Please feel free to reach out to the pro shop to discuss in detail. Thank you for golfing with us!


John1378844's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

Thank you for the 5 star review! We're excited to hear course conditions were great for your round. See you soon!

"Fun Day"


gsalmo's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Even though they aerated only a few days before the greens were well above average. They are doing a lot of work on the bunkers but it didn't both play, and they had warned us about that before we teed off.

Fairways are good, Grass around the greens was a little long.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

Thank you for the 4 star review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the round and appreciate your feedback on course conditions.

"Great layout but..."


schwaggydog99's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout but there was no forewarning of arification...

Greens were Probally great before they were punched but that would have been nice to know... I always enjoy the course but Probally wouldn't have paid the full price if I had known about the greens


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

We're sorry to hear you were not notified of aeration. This is not up to our standard. Our staff makes sure we have notifications on all tee time notes and signs around the shop. It's great to see you were still able to recommend the course and you had a fun day of golf.

"Great off season value"


PastorGarry's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course had a green condition warning due to airation. So greens where rough but that was expected. The bunkers where also under repair with many unplayable due to turf replacement and sand fill piles. With that said there course was not busy allowing for multi ball play. For the price a great tune up course that will only get better as we move into summer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

Thank you for the recommendation! Your comments as we move into summer are encouraging for the course. We're excited to see the fantastic results of our renovations. See you soon!

"Early morning round of 18 in 2 hours as a single!"


Kulgenalp's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course had recently been aerated, so greens were jumpy and slow. Lots of the bunkers were under re-hab and lots of new sod around greens. Standing water on some greens due to irrigation leak of some sort. Otherwise, was able to get out early and play quickly. Good layout and plays long even from the blues. Eager to go back when course in better condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Our staff is working hard to renovate the course as quickly and efficiently as possible. We are also eager to see you return for a round soon!

"In great shape....."


u000005174088's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is pretty good generally. I can believe you'll find worse at this price level. They've looked after it in the drought and it's not half bad. We'll most likely be heading back after we've tried a couple more places. Greens are aerated at the moment but it didn't bother us. Didn't see any staff so can't comment. The bar was closed for mother's day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

Thank you for the 4 star review and recommendation of the course! Great to hear pace of play was a 5 during your round and we look forward to having you back!

"Give this course a few months"


Jeff6836679's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I knew going in that the course had been aerated however they are doing a lot of work on their sandtraps. It looks as if they are eliminating a good number of them however the traps that are in transition are big holes of dirt. One hole even has a piece of machinery in the middle of the fairway. Give this place a few months then try it out. Not worth the cost right now


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 06/09/2017:

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Our staff is working hard to renovate the course and will be ready to go as we head into season. We look forward to seeing you back!

"Great Layout real nice track"


CecilJamesMoulton's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A lot of work being done no better greens in Fl cant wait to go back.When they complete all the work on the bunkers they have started will be hard not to play at least once a week.Guy in pro shop excellent personality and customer service.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 05/09/2017:

Hi CecilJamesMoulton,

We're so happy to hear you will be back to play, especially when renovations are complete. The future of the course is very exciting and will only get better from here. Thank you for the 5 star review!

"Good course for the money!"


dantpowers140's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was very surprised at the condition of the course seeing how it hasnt rained in Orlando in over a month, fairways were spongy, and greens were in great condition!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 05/05/2017:

Hi dantpowers140,

Thank you for the 4 star review! Our staff has worked very hard to maintain good course conditions through this drought and we are happy to hear our golfers noticing on the course. Looking forward to your next round with us!


u8242392's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 05/05/2017:

Hi u8242392,

Thank you for the review and recommendation of the course! We're sorry to hear about the rain out. Please come back and visit us again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed