Stoneybrook West Golf Course

3.2222529412 3.2 stars from 5 (861)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7101 yards
  • Slope: 135
  • Rating: 74.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Winter Garden Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7101 yards 74.8 135
Blue 72 6455 yards 71.4 131
White 72 5801 yards 68.2 124
Red 72 5173 yards 70.8 119

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 861 Reviews
5 stars:
131
4 stars:
352
3 stars:
204
2 stars:
102
1 stars:
72

recommend this course

638 out of 853 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u000007918567's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Lduchien's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"This course is coming back!"


rwmichaelis's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The new management team is doing an exceptional job in bringing this course back to greatness, The fairways for the most part are good (one week after Irma), the greens have always been good to great. Lots of casual water (post hurricane) but you can see the focus of the superintendent and his staff (great job guys!). In another season, Stoneybrook West will be giving its nearest neighbor (OCN) a run for their money. You have to come back and play this course. You will be very impressed with the improved conditions. I was and am playing it again today.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 09/20/2017:

Our staff really enjoyed reading your feedback. We've been working hard to provide an exceptional golfing experience at SBW. Looking forward to your next round!

"Recovered from hurricane"


rocketron's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was very impressed with the way the staff had worked hard to recover the course following hurricane Irma. The greens were running good and apart from some small debris around and a few uprooted trees you wouldn't have known that a hurricane had passed through.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 09/19/2017:

We appreciate your kind words in response to Hurricane Irma. Our staff is proud of the recovery time and ready to get back to golf!

"Stoneybrook West"


u00000331580's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff friendly, pace of play exceptional, and course layout challenging. Some areas wet due to rain but playable. Greens a little slow due to recent aerification. Great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 09/12/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us and recommending the course!

"Great place"


Coachrgt's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Consistent service, Chris in Pro shop and Ken the starter are good people and make the experience a Plus


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 09/06/2017:

We're happy to read about your excellent customer service with our friendly staff. Thank you for golfing with us!


ghigliottyer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 09/06/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation!

"Tim"


tcwhitetiger's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is still in rough shape! Slowly getting there!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 09/06/2017:

Our staff appreciates reading comments on improvements. Thank you for golfing with us and sharing your experience!


u8935929's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Wow. Renovations paying off. Ball sits up well on fairways. Greens are quick yet soft. Yea several fairways under renovation but that's a good thing. Playing here since march and have seen the course improve each month. New owners have done well to bring this course back into a competitive course. Staff very friendly as well as those golfers I've paired up. Price on golf now is excellent. Played with several groups that hadn't been here since last year and they were are very complementary of course conditions. Tight fairways and tough rough. Ladies tee length is very forgiving.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 09/06/2017:

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments on course conditions! It's great to see hard work pay off for our golfers. See you soon!

"Good start to our holiday"


jocksmith's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Although the weather was not at its best, the course condition was good although the pace of play was a bit slow. We had 3 golfers in front of us out for a stroll. Never got called through and when we caught 1 on his phone we just drove past and played on. Never saw the 3 ball again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 09/19/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review! Glad to hear you were able to slip by the group in front to speed up your round. See you soon!

"WG Hotspot"


Coachrgt's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Perfect day: beat the rain, temperature was just right with little overcast.

The only or one thing that bothers me here is the rough is always too long.

Too hard to find your ball just off fairway. Outside of this challenge, everything else works great.

Keith (pro-shop) and Ken (starter) always get us off to a great start on Saturday mornings.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/29/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us and sharing your experience! We're happy to hear Keith and Ken provide excellent customer service and start your round off right.

"Wet course"


Sfhorn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love the layout of this course, one of the best in central Florida. We were told by the course marshal that there some of the sand traps had been taken out and a couple are being reworked.. He also said that course maintenance hadn't been able to work the rough due the rain we've had lately. I've played five different courses in three weeks and seen this in the other four. Much of the course was wet due to rain or irragation issues resulting in tire tracks on the course. Fix these issues and it could be a course people will play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/29/2017:

Thank you for the review and recommendation! Summer rains usually take a toll on Florida courses, but we are almost through the season. See you soon!

"Stoneybrook West"


Rags123's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The changes that have been made and those in process are bringing this course back to fine shape. With all of the rain we've had recently it's been impossible to mow the rough which impacts the occasional errant shot, this is the only issue at this point. Chris (Pro Shop), Hannah and Peter (Restaurant) were outstanding!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/18/2017:

Thank you for mentioning all of the great improvements being made at Stoneybrook West! Our staff also loves to hear about excellent customer service.

"Stony brook West"


elgum's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Could only play front nine, back nine was closed for some reason. Rough really high. Lost a couple balls just off the fairway!! Greens in fair shape. With all the rain in the area it was in playable shape!! My GN rate made it a good value at any rate!! On course refreshments would have been good as well. I realize it was the middle of the week and not a lot of play going on. I had 2 guys in front of me that was really holding up play and a foursome pushing me. I got frustrated and left at the start of my second nine!!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/10/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! We're sorry to hear the group in front did not let you play through. A great value can usually be found on GN!


pbw22222's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I don't ever write a review but, Golfnow did not have any warning about what we experienced. Greens were full of holes, we had to play the front 9 twice because of condition of the back 9. The ruff hadn't been mowed for a LONG time. I lost 4 balls just off the fairway in the grass because it was so high. The employee stated that all this was disclosed to Golfnow but, I don't know who to believe.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/10/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! Aerification alerts are stated in the tee time notes on GolfNow. We're sorry to hear you were not properly notified, but hope you can come back when the greens are healed.

"Starter was not pleasant"


u282183252's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great time but almost got ruin by the starter being rude.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/10/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! We're sorry to hear about your encounter with the starter but happy you were still able to have a great day of golf. See you soon!

"Good Value"


byoung45's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Much improvement to the course since I played last year when tee times were delayed due to cart shortages. Greens were excellent and fairways distinguishable from the rough. The course is making positive improvements and it was an enjoyable round. More than excellent value via GolfNow.com.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/09/2017:

Thank you for commenting on improvements. Great to hear all of the positive feedback from our golfers!

"Nice course"


uAZWC1064AZ's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was nice, only issue was the multiple areas of standing water. Our golf cart got stuck and we had to have two people help get it out. Very peaceful though, also found it strange that there was no water at any of the holes. Overall, we had a good day and would return to the course but be more mindful of any potential wet areas


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/09/2017:

Our staff works hard to manage the standing water on the course. Heavy rains in the summer can be tough. Thank you for golfing with us!

"Starter Issues"


nel9087's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the course but had a major issue with the starter (Ken). Once we started it was a very pleasurable day.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/18/2017:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're glad you were able to enjoy your round with us.

"Nice"


u713514309's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course. It was a little wet. Understandable with all the rain we've been having.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Stoneybrook West Management on 08/09/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed