The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes

3.9607411765 4.0 stars from 5 (446)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7300 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 75.6
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 2500 Wiregrass Way, Bluffton, South Carolina 29927-4153
  • (866) 396-3230, (843) 208-5353
  • (843) 208-5354
  • www.hiltonheadlakes.com

Year built: 2007
Architect(s): Tommy Fazio
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tradition 72 7300 yards 75.6 133
Blue 72 6650 yards 72.3 128
White 72 6200 yards 70.4 122
Green 72 5690 yards 67.9 116
Red (W) 72 4955 yards 69.1 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 446 Reviews
5 stars:
100
4 stars:
230
3 stars:
80
2 stars:
26
1 stars:
10

recommend this course

391 out of 442 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include bunkers water hazards plays long   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

yungr1's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Value"


jhreben's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent condition-fairways and greens. Wide, but very long. New clubhouse is under construction.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"James goes Hilton Head Lakes"


143whisper's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are very good. Sand traps well maintained.

Driving range, putting green. NEW clubhouse nearing completion. Fazio Course; nice layout with most water not a threat. Course now has restroom locations on course. Good Choice for play!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Maybe next year"


JoAnn4692803's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The back 9 was really pretty, but the front not so much. The rough was very tough, and houses were being built all around the front 9, making it noisy and unpleasant. No clubhouse yet, and few opportunities for bathrooms around the course. Possibly when the building is complete this course will be more enjoyable. Staff was friendly and helpful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 10/23/2017:

Hi JoAnn, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We apologize for the off-course amenities not being up to date yet, however we do hope that the great pace of play and friendly staff was able to make sure you enjoyed your round with us. Thank you for playing with us and we hope to earn your business back again soon!

"Fun time"


oakie65's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in good shape. Greens in very good condition. Enjoyable round of golf. It's a long hitters course, but had nice par 3's.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Clubhouse!"


u7905856's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I think this course is about a year away from being one of the better ones in the area. The neighborhood is building up which will attract more members and more money and conditions will continue to rise. The clubhouse should open in March which alone will bring something this course lacks running out of a trailer. Pace of Play was good for us but got crowded behind and had to let people play through. Our fault? Maybe, but we ended up playing close to 5 hours because of that. I love the layout and course and the bag boys are awesome. Will be back for the price and got our foursome in no problem. Would recommend to anyone.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Steve"


uRCLR6773RC's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course has been updated and is s great value. Ride fairways and really true greens. Good course for the average golfer


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good day for golf"


agordon66's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played HHL many times fun track to play. More improvements being made, new clubhouse and on course washroom facilities all under construction. Definitely will play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Fun Course"


Robert9486017's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

This is a fun course to play. It has wide fairways but it is not a simple course by any means. It is long enough to challenge most level players and the layout will stop even the long ball player from bringing it to it's knees. The course is always in good shape and I try to play this tract many times per year. Staff is very friendly and prices will make it an easy decision to drive from Hilton Head Island out to the course. I will be back for another round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Bauden's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play this course several times a month, as it is generally not busy. This round was a surprise in that only nine holes were open and it was cart path only. There was no notification on Golf-Now to indicate that fact.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Back 9 closed"


Tony9908320's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Booked 18 holes but was told when I checked in the back 9 was closed I would have to play front twice. Water level was still high on the front can't imagine what back looks like. May want to wait awhile and let the course recover n drain.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 09/22/2017:

Hello Tony, thank you for taking the time to review our course, The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes, and for the 3-stars. We were sorry to inconvenience your round with the back 9 holes being closed due to maintenance. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will see an improvement for your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our golf course, in the South Carolina area, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Back 9 CLOSED, no notification when booking"


rwhite0614's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

Irma still impacting Bluffton SC area, back 9 closed and advised could be until the 1st of October before open again.....should call to check before booking.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"HI Lakes"


Henry7758030's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course twice in the last year. They closed the back 9 due to flooding. Unfortunately you were not Told until you got there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head on 10/17/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, The Golf Club at Hilton Head, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that you were not properly notified of the current course conditions, and your feedback is appreciated so that we can strive to improve our communication process. It looks like you still enjoyed the course layout and had a smooth round, so we hope that improved your experience. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, in the South Carolina area, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Good layout, needs some conditioning"


bretjacobo's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Strong layout (6,200 yards for the White Tees) and a nice design. But I do not like to see intrusion of crabgrass in the rough let alone in the fairways or on the greens. Bunkers need some TLC.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Lakes on 09/05/2017:

Hello Bret, thank you for taking the time to review our course, The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear about the crabgrass sprouting up throughout the course and that the bunkers may need some care. Your feedback is appreciated so that we know where further improvements can be made. Though, we are glad to hear that you still enjoyed the course layout and it looks like your round was a great value. Thank you for recommending our course, in the South Carolina area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Need some ice"


taegolf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is good but traps are not good because of inconsistent sand. Greens were slow.and had been recently airiated

They MUST have some coolers in the carts to carry ice in because the temperature and humidity were over 100

Other courses in the Savannah area provide these and also have water bottles provided or fountains or coolers with cold water.

Some of their water coolers on the course were empty

Fix this and it's a good layout with a good price for a hot deal


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Enjoyable"


u000006354602's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played from the tees behind the Seniors today. Enjoyed the round with two others who invited me to join and who were also out of towners.

Greens were slow, but in great shape. Perfect for a ball that rolls.

Play here at least two times on each of my visits to SC.

Load up at the clubhouse with drinks this time of year.

I usually tote my extra water and nuts and light lunch.

Enjoy the round

The price is right on GolfNow


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"The Lakes"


hockeycop1's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A 25 mile ride from the Island seems long. However if you have the time make this one of your stops. Friendly staff and a scenic course make the trip worth it. Every time we come back to HHI we make a point of taking the drive and have enjoyed it each and every time. The price was a great value and with a chipping, putting and range prior to play it it a nice day all around.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



duhmills's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was very wet from continuous rain the last few weeks Cart path only. A little tough during August in the low country for a 60 year old. We still played in 4 hrs. Looking forward to fall golf weather. Overall a great deal.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



rjpeloff's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good time"


u000006354602's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

The greens are in rxcrllent condition. I played alone and was allowed to go througb once.

Unfortunately no one witnessed my birdies.

As a senior i played from the senikr tees and hadgoid control of my distances . I lost only one ball.

Fairways are wide open and the bunkers are not too deep.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed