The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes

3.8558000000 3.9 stars from 5 (423)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7300 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 75.6
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 2500 Wiregrass Way, Bluffton, South Carolina 29927-4153
  • (866) 396-3230, (843) 208-5353
  • (843) 208-5354
  • www.hiltonheadlakes.com
Write a review

Year built: 2007
Architect(s): Tommy Fazio
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tradition 72 7300 yards 75.6 133
Blue 72 6650 yards 72.3 128
White 72 6200 yards 70.4 122
Green 72 5690 yards 67.9 116
Red (W) 72 4955 yards 69.1 120

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 423 Reviews
5 stars:
96
4 stars:
216
3 stars:
75
2 stars:
26
1 stars:
10

recommend this course

371 out of 419 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include bunkers water hazards plays long   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Poor Poor Poor"


jersmith1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My group consisted of 6 guys on our annual golf trip from Maryland. Having spent almost $200.00 to play here, two holes in I should been refunded EVERY cent paid.

The fairways, bunkers and greens were in TERRIBLE conditions.

Someone should call me and offer some type of refund, my group was so upset they didn't play the last five holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 05/23/2017:

Hello Jerome, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Never disappointed"


Yumadons's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played after the greens were aerorated which I was informed about but played anyway which is why I only gave it 3 stars.I know the greens are usually very good and will be once they recover.Bunkers looked as if they haven't been worked since last storm.Just another good reason hit better approach shots.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 05/24/2017:

Hi Donald, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and rating our course. We appreciate your support and understanding the necessary measures we must take to keep improving our course for future use. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the pace of play, course layout, and staff friendliness. We thank you for stopping by The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes and we hope to see you back again soon when the greens are at their best condition. Have a great day!

"Decent course Bad week to play"


duhmills's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course had just done aeriation. Greens not cut and full of sand. Had to play front side twice. Not really an issue as this has to be done. Fairways could use some aerification also. No advanced notice of this being done until arriving at course


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 05/18/2017:

Hello Kerry, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and found our staff friendly. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.


fabboss7's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



leduffin's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Good value for the $, a bit away from the island proper but worth the drive with plenty of great restaurants to hit on the way back in Old Bluffton. Will return each visit to HHI.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I recommend this course


"It's a two to three star course, The usual 4 star rating is way off!"


DavidXu's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

After reading online four star reviews for this course, I was expecting a reasonably good course.

It was not. Fairway was brown and bare. Greens were In better shape but still rough and slow. All other approaching areas were very rough and not maintained, gave you the impression that the owner run out of money or just don't care about making it a nice course.

I wonder where the four star rating come from! It's a two for me.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 05/03/2017:

Hello David, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Great course!"


desm0nd's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

We are staying on Hilton Head island and made the 45 minute trek to Hilton Head lakes. The course is great, wasn't busy and was in decent shape. The back 9 is absolutely beautiful. Well worth the drive and great value for the money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best golf ever"


u121076105's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the most fun I have ever had golfing. Staff and course were great.. We played 9 and then got rained out so we were given a rain check for the other nine. We played the next day with no reservation. All the Canadian snowbirds need to skip Florida and stay in Hilton Head. Thanks for great vacation memories.

Prince Edward Island Snowbirds- Bert & Debbie


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"hhlakes"


uYNWD9145YN's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

great for the money.greens are perfect plays long in the wind but fair.very few houses on front 9 well worth the drive


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"You get what you pay for"


thecrees's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

What I am seeing is that people do reviews based on what they pay not the quality of the course. Staff was great but the course while the greens were good the fairways were bare and sandtraps were unplayable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head on 04/20/2017:

Hi, Jim. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us some honest feedback. Very sorry to hear that you thought our course conditions were 2-star quality during your round. We are however pleased to see that staff friendliness and pace of play was 4-star! Once again thanks for your review, we hope to see you on the course again soon!


efoley552's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"This course in excellent condition"


u7620205's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Early tee time pace of play excellent. Course in great condition. Best value in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hilton Head Lakes worth the drive"


pl3474's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Hilton Head Lakes GC is worth a 30 minute trip from HH island. This is more a links style course with great scenery that is spread out over a large area with no back and forth holes. The conditions are nice and the layout is challenging without being tricky.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



Aaron7959521's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"This course is one of the best if not the best public course on 278."


dawgs912's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course quite a bit a couple years ago, then I took a break from playing. Now that I'm getting back into it this course has made a dramatic improvement and is reaching it potential. Greens and almost perfect, it never stays wet for too long. I would consider making this my home course if I lived closer. Two thumbs up


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Mulligan"


u053684038's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are in perfect condition. Tee boxes are great. Layout is wide open but still challenging. Well placed bunkers but could use a little more sand. This place is a gem.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Cory7741388's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 03/20/2017:

HI, Cory. We're glad that you took the time to review our course. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We regret to learn that you were not a fan of the off-course amenities and course conditions. We are always striving to make the course as good as it can be. We're glad that you were able to play at a steady pace and see value in playing our course.


u000001159303's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent new course , good layout , very windy , greens excellent , staff great


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 03/17/2017:

Hey Gary, Thanks for taking the time to review our course. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the course and loved how the greens were rolling. It looks like you selected 1 star across the board but given your written review, that sounds like it may not be accurate. Please feel free to write a new review or update this one! We hope to see you again to play soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed