The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes

4.0191235294 4.0 stars from 5 (459)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7300 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 75.6
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 2500 Wiregrass Way, Bluffton, South Carolina 29927-4153
  • (866) 396-3230, (843) 208-5353
  • (843) 208-5354
  • www.hiltonheadlakes.com

Year built: 2007
Architect(s): Tommy Fazio
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tradition 72 7300 yards 75.6 133
Blue 72 6650 yards 72.3 128
White 72 6200 yards 70.4 122
Green 72 5690 yards 67.9 116
Red (W) 72 4955 yards 69.1 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 459 Reviews
5 stars:
108
4 stars:
235
3 stars:
80
2 stars:
26
1 stars:
10

recommend this course

404 out of 455 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include bunkers water hazards plays long   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"First time, great time"


uARQX1070AR's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My first round at Hilton Head Lakes. Passed it many times on the way to other courses but will check this course out first in the future.

Course is in great shape with great greens, nice fairways and tee boxes. Traps need a little maintenance as do most of the courses in this area. Other than that, its a course you should consider your next time out.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



tomjenns's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good Golf Course"


rjpeloff's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed playing there very much. The staff is very friendly and the course is a great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great layout, Excellent green conditions."


jrosenthall's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes is well laid out, has challenges but can be navigated with patience. If you are looking for a course in great condition with near perfect greens, this course is well worth the time and price.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Mike6052900's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



will6577's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great greens for December"


Robert5649777's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played here many times and it keeps getting better. New sand in traps, greens rolled true. This course is a must play right now. I live in Bluffton and play them all and this course is among the best for winter golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great condition"


Boglejrgolf's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I played here in December. The greens were perfect. Good speed, no ball marks, smooth. Generous fairways but challenging approach shots as is the case with most Fazio designs. Fan of George (once head pro at Pine Valley), not so much of Tom, but son seems to be good. Tom and Ernie Ransome did a great short course at PV and there is a short course here. Clubhouse under construction, great range, and practice facilities. Quite a ways off the island but easy to find and not crowded. Great value.

Look at the gator bunker picture. A big one must have played through. They were working on the bunkers today as well.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Great again"


GerryC's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When ever we come to HHI, we book this course, always friendly staff, they make you feel like your playing at home.

The greens had been double cut, what a pleasure to play on.

Can’t wait to see what your new club house will look like.

Keep up the great work.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent Greens"


TERRY7272's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The greens could not have putted better. If you love great greens play here. Fairly wide fairways but some have raps that will catch errant tee shots.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



johntflynn's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great day"


u000006354602's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens are in great shape, a little slow yet true to your stroke.

Fairways are wide open and in good shape.

One bunker tbat my ball 'fell into' was hard as dirt. Otherwise was a great day of golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



yungr1's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good time"


u000006354602's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love playing the game. I am willing to adjust to any course, especially if the greens are in good shape. These greens were just right for re. I had a great day out there.

Staff is great, the young man who helped me with the cart was great, just an all around great day for golf.

I always play here when I visit the area and the Golfnow.com prices cannot be beat.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Value"


jhreben's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent condition-fairways and greens. Wide, but very long. New clubhouse is under construction.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"James goes Hilton Head Lakes"


143whisper's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are very good. Sand traps well maintained.

Driving range, putting green. NEW clubhouse nearing completion. Fazio Course; nice layout with most water not a threat. Course now has restroom locations on course. Good Choice for play!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Maybe next year"


JoAnn4692803's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The back 9 was really pretty, but the front not so much. The rough was very tough, and houses were being built all around the front 9, making it noisy and unpleasant. No clubhouse yet, and few opportunities for bathrooms around the course. Possibly when the building is complete this course will be more enjoyable. Staff was friendly and helpful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 10/23/2017:

Hi JoAnn, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We apologize for the off-course amenities not being up to date yet, however we do hope that the great pace of play and friendly staff was able to make sure you enjoyed your round with us. Thank you for playing with us and we hope to earn your business back again soon!

"Fun time"


oakie65's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in good shape. Greens in very good condition. Enjoyable round of golf. It's a long hitters course, but had nice par 3's.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Clubhouse!"


u7905856's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I think this course is about a year away from being one of the better ones in the area. The neighborhood is building up which will attract more members and more money and conditions will continue to rise. The clubhouse should open in March which alone will bring something this course lacks running out of a trailer. Pace of Play was good for us but got crowded behind and had to let people play through. Our fault? Maybe, but we ended up playing close to 5 hours because of that. I love the layout and course and the bag boys are awesome. Will be back for the price and got our foursome in no problem. Would recommend to anyone.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Steve"


uRCLR6773RC's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course has been updated and is s great value. Ride fairways and really true greens. Good course for the average golfer


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed