Twin Lakes Golf Course

4.5362882353 4.5 stars from 5 (115)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7239 yards
  • Slope: 135
  • Rating: 75.3
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7239 yards 75.3 135
Blue 72 6672 yards 72.9 132
White 72 5760 yards 68.9 121
Red (W) 72 4859 yards 65.2 113

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 115 Reviews
5 stars:
80
4 stars:
31
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

112 out of 115 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"East Texas golf at its finerst"


crbascott's avatar
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There's something different about playing golf in East Texas - peaceful, pine trees, relaxed atmosphere. And it doesn't get any better than what Twin Lakes has to offer with a relaxed resort like atmosphere. Beautiful views of the lakes, country side, and tree nursery. The course itself is fun ... a good mixture of challenging water holes, long par fives, soft greens, and East Texas beauty. Can't wait to see this course in the spring when the flowers are blooming.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Sadness"


Ronny5465254's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I live in Dallas, and this is by far my favorite golf course in Texas, and am very sad to see it close down! Glad I got to get in 36 holes this past Thursday.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"So Long Twin Lakes- Great while you lasted"


a0162446's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I am so sorry to see this golf course go. July 31st is the last day it will be open. This is not only a beautiful course, it's well maintained.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Hurry up"


u472353576's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is about to close, you NEED to go play it before it does. Beautiful course, GPS on every cart, greens in excellent condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"A drive to get there but worth it"


SSykes111's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This place is out in the boonies but it is worth the trip. Had an awesome round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"I Love This Course"


u092345668's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course gets my friends out of the big city to come visit. My only complaint is the condition of the sand traps. I try to stay out of them.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u5643845's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course layout in good condition"


wkhickma's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course layout in good condition. Nice locker room, great restaurant and food, plus very helpful and friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000007037787's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"The Course was Beautiful"


u5790743's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a place!! Found this course on Golf Now and was not disappointed. The greens could have been a little better and faster but the recent cold weather in March and April played a part in that. Its a great layout and very different from most east Texas designs. Would recommend anyone to go check this place out. The surrounding tree farm makes for a great view all day. The course is tough but not unfair. Most tee shots have ample room for strays but still penalizes misses. Fairway bunkers are well placed so be aware. Par 3's are tough. We played in 15 to 20 mph wind that probably made it more of a challenge than a normal day. The cart screen GPS has a flyover of every hole (Use it!!!). I can see how it could possibly be an Augusta type experience in peak condition. I will be back ASAP to find out.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Scenery is great, but greens"


Christophe3842293's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are always a gamble at this course. On this roll they were bumpy and weeds mixed in with the little grass on the greens. There were a couple of holes where the pin position was questionable. Not enough grass for the ball to hold. Maybe they will be better in about a month. As a paying customer I think that things can always be better. But the course does have some of the best views in the area.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great views"


jes196940's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course




susejohn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Avoid this place until they redo the grass on the greens"


ddeschler's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The greens were really awful, and ruined the whole experience. Poa annua has infested these greens, with 1 cm high tufts covering large areas of the greens. The bermuda portions of the greens were dead, patchy, scratchy, bumpy, or had been shot with weed killer in spots. Making a putt was only possible by sheer accident. It's really time to fire the greenskeeper and get someone who knows what they are doing. They literally need to burn out the grass on the entire green on every hole and start over. We played 3 other courses in the area over the weekend, all with greens very good to excellent. So there's no blaming this on anything other than poor maintenance. Was really disappointed after playing this course solely based upon reviews on this site. The layout is decent, and has some tough holes, but our day was just ruined by what's going on here with the greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Great course and layout"


Jason1465021's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For early spring course was great! Bar staff was friendly and helpful. Management not so much. Greens we're still dormant but large and challenging. Definitely recommend playing


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Terrible burnt diseased greens"


John1526775's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I really wanted to like this course. It is located on a beautiful piece of land with beautiful water holes. Unfortunately the golf course was just in poor condition. EVERY tee box was a mess. Completely down to the sand. The greens were diseased and burnt out. The range was weak and the range balls were the worst I've ever had on a golf course, including many goat pasture munis I've played over the years.

The staff was friendly and affable. I probably wouldn't play it again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"WInter Golf at Twin Lakes"


ibchillin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No rush, casual pace of play. Fairways are starting to green up, greens are in good shape for winter. Roses are blooming, course is beautiful. My favorite course in this area. Only sounds you hear are the wildlife. Staff is very friendly and the price was right! Not an easy course but very fun to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Outstanding Course!"


bkgeorge's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Such a beautiful facility, love the trees and flow of the course, the lakes are beautiful, really a wonderful place to tee it up. Staff is very friendly, and they have the best cheese burgers around!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u5312438's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Must play course, regardless of location"


u000007851070's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Amazing course, especially for the time of year. Greens are smoooth and deceptively quick, but consistent throughout the course. Bunkers are well maintained and fairways always manicured. Staff is extremely friendly and will answer any questions. All around great course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed