The Golf Club at Champions Circle

3.4478000000 3.4 stars from 5 (297)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7027 yards
  • Slope: 143
  • Rating: 73.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Collared golf shirts and proper Bermuda length shorts or slacks required. Denim or blue jeans, halter-tops, bathing suits, sweat pants or t-shirts of any kind, are not considered golf attire and are prohibited.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7027 yards 73.7 143
Blue 72 6496 yards 71.0 131
White 72 5841 yards 68.4 125
Red (W) 72 5143 yards 70.7 120

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 297 Reviews
5 stars:
43
4 stars:
128
3 stars:
67
2 stars:
37
1 stars:
22

recommend this course

221 out of 296 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for locals advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers water hazards forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Champions circle in June"


dwmeissner's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens not the best but had rained the previous three days. Good value overall.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 06/13/2017:

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We're happy to hear you found a good overall value with us and were able to recommend the course for play. See you soon!

"Great course."


GLENN8218490's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Even after a 6" rain the day before, the course was in great shape. Little to wet compared to what I'm used to. But it was another learning experience I order to improve my game. Shot an 83. Not bad for the wet conditions and first time there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 06/11/2017:

Thank you for the 5 star review! An 83 is definitely a solid score with wet conditions and a first visit to the course. See you soon!

"Worst this course has ever been"


u349129836's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were covered in bald spots and the grassy areas of the greens were very hairy and not smooth at all .the bunkers were not raked and had tire tracks in them . Worst condition I've ever seen this course in do not waste your time or money .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 06/11/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Our staff is working hard to improve greens conditions here in the summer months.

"Troon should drop this course"


Lane5940268's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played a number of Troon properties over the last 10 years, this was by far the worst. 75% of the greens are unplayable, and the others weren't anything to be proud of. Weather in DFW has been excellent this Spring and there is no excuse for the poor conditions.

The F&B staff was non-existent as they had 1 person staffing both the bar AND the beverage cart...... which we never saw.

Even if the round was free I would rather pay to play a course that is in good shape


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 06/11/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! Your feedback on course conditions and staff is greatly appreciated and will help us improve moving forward. Our staff is working hard to improve the greens in summer season.

"Super Friendly Staff/Not So Friendly Greens"


u941424629's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Clubhouse staff were the most polite of any course I have ever played, including my own private member home club. However, that was the only excellent thing I can say about the course. The greens were far from good, many with large patches of dirt that made putting impossible. We got behind a group that was so bad and so slow our round turned unenjoyable fast. One hole we timed them at 12 minutes on the green alone, then again the next hole at 16 minutes on the green after needing 4 shots, 4shots, 5 shots and 6shots (19 total shots between 4 players on a par 4) to even reach the green in the first place. The timer came out after having waited on them a couple holes and realizing how slow they were. A single was between them and us. He finally skipped a hole and went on ahead. Being out-of-towners and first time guests we wanted to play every hole so we endured them a couple more holes before they finally allowed us to play through. Why is this in my review? They need a Marshall desperately. Fairways were great. Grass was great. Sand was great. Felt like a high end course with municipal level greens.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 06/11/2017:

Thank you for the review and recommendation of the course! We're sorry to hear about your sloe play. Our staff works hard to accommodate all golfers, but this situation should have been addressed. This will help us improve for next time. Thank you for golfing with us!

"Greens"


u9608659's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Horrible condition; should be charging 1/2 normal rates until they are healed and or repaired!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 06/11/2017:

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Our staff is working hard to maintain the course in summer season. We hope to see you again. Thank you for golfing with us!

"I shot a 78"


u000883689's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens are in repair however the rest of the course was impeccable !!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 05/09/2017:

Hi u000883689,

Great score! Thank you for the review and recommendation. Our staff is working hard to maintain excellent course conditions. See you soon!

"Worst greens ever played."


nbillardello's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

These were the worst greens I have ever played on. I will never play here again. It's obvious that the course does not have the budget to properly maintain the property. It's a shame because it used to be a nice course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi nbillardello,

Thank you for golfing with us! We're sorry to hear your last round with us was not up to par. Our staff is hard at work to maintain the course and improve conditions on the greens. Hopefully, you can return over the summer so we can improve your 1 star experience.

"Greens are unacceptable"


ddbkgb's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not sure what happened to the greens at Champions circle but they are almost not playable. What used to be the mainstay has eroded into a bad experience for any golfer. Won't be back until I see a report that the greens have been replaced or returned to an acceptable level.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi ddbkgb,

Your feedback on greens conditions is greatly appreciated. As we head into summer months, our staff will be working hard to return greens to our "mainstay". We look forward to your next round!

"Greens are in bad shape!!"


u5312438's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The layout of this course is nice, however the pace of play was very slow and all of the greens but three were in really bad condition.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi u5312438,

Thank you for golfing with us! We're glad you enjoyed the layout of the course and will work on the greens as we head into summer months. See you soon!


osampei's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 04/26/2017:

Hi osampei,

Thank you for the 5 star review!

"Greens need help"


loudmouthred's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They need to work the greens a little. Not much grass and not very soft.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 04/26/2017:

Hi loudmouthred,

Thank you for the 4 star review and recommendation! We are currently working on the greens in preparation for the summer season. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

"Great Layout, poorly maintained greens"


bruce3908's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

This is truly a great track with a variety of interesting holes. Unfortunately, the current condition of the greens is borderline unplayable. There is much exposed dirt on the greens and the amount of poana grass invading the greens is significant. I would avoid playing this course at least until June or later for the heat of summer to help the greens recover.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 04/26/2017:

Hi bruce3908,

Thank you for golfing with us! Our staff is currently very hard at work on the greens in preparation for the summer season. We look forward to seeing you again!


RobertHuxtable's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were horrendous. They should not be open at this time of year. They were dirt with patches of grass.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 04/22/2017:

Hi RobertHuxtable,

Thank you for golfing with us! Our staff is currently working to improve conditions on the greens. Hopefully, you can give us another try so we can improve your golfing experience with us.

"These greens were doo doo"


u593822638's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I would think a course would want to ensure that their greens were the best maintained asset in their operation but that was not the case at this place. The fairways were decent which is mind boggling to me. There is no excuse letting your greens degrade to that level whilst maintaining everything else to decent standards.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 04/22/2017:

Hi u593822638,

Thank you for golfing with us! Our staff is working hard to improve course conditions. We're sorry the greens were not up to par during your round. We hope you can give us another try in the future so we can improve your 2 star experience.

"April 1st round"


mlotze's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Champions is always my favorite public course but all the greens are is such terrible shape .... not sure when I will return ..would like to know if this will get fixed soon .!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 04/22/2017:

Hi mlotze,

Thank you for golfing with us! Our staff is always working hard to improve conditions of the greens. We hope you can give us another try in the future.

"Bumpy Greens"


mmoxley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course layout was good, but the greens and general course conditions were terrible. The pace of play was slow, even though the course was not busy and we never saw a marshal or anyone working the course. I expected more from a resort course and will not play this course again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 04/22/2017:

Hi mmoxley,

We're sorry to hear course conditions were not up to par during your round. Pace of play is monitored very carefully on the course. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Hopefully, you can try us again so we can improve your 2 star experience next time.


Richard9557931's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape and we got around quickly. Staff was friendly. We will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 04/18/2017:

Hi Richard9557931,

Thank you for the 4 star review and recommendation! It's great to hear about your experience with our excellent staff. See you soon!

"Needs better marshaling"


gusdad's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Too many singles and two's, also greens a bit rough.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Golf Club at Champions Circle Management on 03/21/2017:

Hi gusdad,

Your review and recommendation is greatly appreciated. Thank you for golfing with us!

"Played many times disappointed every time"


jschluet's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played CC many times because it is close by and fairly convenient. The course never fails to disappoint mainly due to conditions. If you are just looking for a cheap round check it out but keep your expectations low. Easy to get tee times, probably because repeat business is low.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Champions Circle Management on 03/13/2017:

Hi jschluet,

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time due to conditions. Hopefully, you can come back in season and give us a chance to improve your experience. See you soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed