Wilderness Golf Course

4.7002176471 4.7 stars from 5 (153)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7106 yards
  • Slope: 126
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7106 yards 72.9 126
Maroon 72 6720 yards 71.0 122
Green 72 6151 yards 68.4 115
Orange (W) 72 5414 yards 0.0 0

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 153 Reviews
5 stars:
106
4 stars:
44
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

148 out of 151 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include undulating greens bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Awesome course"


Philip7456579's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in beautiful shape. The staff is extremely friendly and I would highly recommend the Wilderness to anyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



flexin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great golf course, course was in good shape.

Definitely would play it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent layout"


georg004's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging, interesting, fun layout. Fairways, tees and greens in surprisingly good condition given the course was completely flooded less than 3 months ago. Bunkers still out of play, which was unfortunate as the bunkering is a key feature of the course design. I hear they will be back online soon.

Great value and well worth the trip from Houston


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



johnbrescian's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was flooded by last storm and is in fair shape, not like it used to be. I would wait several maybe 6 month before playing this course again. Too bad what happened to it.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Excellent layout with superb greens"


RobKempinski's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A challenging layout through the"wilderness." The greens were in excellent shape, fast and true. The bunkers are still damaged due to Hurricane Harvey but the rest of the course more than made up for it. The par 5s are a fine set of long holes. Holes 9 and 18 are two challenging par 4s that will test your resolve and skill

The staff had a friendly Texas attitude and the log cabin clubhouse fits the milieu perfectly. Thoroughly enjoyed the round and recommend anyone making the drive from Houston to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome as always"


edward3754815's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was my 4th time playing the course and it was in great condition as always except for the bunkers. They were is disrepair due to the flooding from Harvey. As far as courses near the Gulf Coast are concerned, this is one of the best. Definitely worthy of the 5 star rating it has on GN!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



etsworld1's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very nice course"


u5740774's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice layout , friendly staff, even with all the rain in great shape, would recommend to anyone wanting a good round


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Love this course!!!"


u000006597209's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is probably my favorite course in the Houston area. The greens, fairways, and tee boxes are always it great shape. The bunkers have quality sand in them but get washed out occasionally, whic its to be expected with how often they get down pours. Great course and absolutely beautiful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000007034649's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoy playing this course, even in the summer afternoon heat. It is the best course in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"One of the best public courses"


Philip7939678's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Twice a year

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This has to be one of the best public courses you can play, and if you live in Houston, it's worth the drive. That being said, it usually takes up half of your day, so plan this day with others that like to out on a golf course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Alan8984973's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good experience. Greens had just been punched, but were recovering quickly. I played with one of the course marshalls, Jerry, who made the round quite enjoyable. Course is off the beaten path and has a good feel for its location. Highly recommend!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Day of Golf"


u000004131967's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing this course and it did not disappoint! Great layout and just challenging enough to make it fun without it being too difficult. Greens ran true and fast. Great staff and friendly cart attendant. Can't wait to play again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course an layout"


bevo10's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

The service from arrival to finish was excellent. The course was in great playing condition. The pace of play was 3 1/2 hrs to play. We never waited on any shot. The course from tee to green was great. Greens rolled true with some tough reads. Received a great price via Golfnow. This Made the outing worthwhile. I can't wait to come back to play this course next year.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great track!"


EricP80's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, worth the trip, & a good challenge! 4 stars for course conditions for punched fairways. When they're all the way back course will be in prime shape!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Staff"


u036128809's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

John and David were very friendly and took great care of my buddy and I. We made a two hour road trip from Victoria. I had played herearpund 10 times. It was a first for my buddy. The layout is excellent along with a well manicured course. It was great to come back! We played decent too. That always helps


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u6081845's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



mk8q16ophx8764076's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Super nice"


revreed's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of the best courses I've played in a while. Just one solid golf hole after another. Could be supe challenging if the greens were running fast.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fantastic Layout"


u936183830's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best layout I have played in southeast Texas. Course is fair but challenging. Tee boxes are placed to promote confidence in tee shots with very few if any forced carries over water or native areas. Fairway bunkers and green side bunkers are well placed and manicured, however I wish they would have used native sand over the shipped in white sugar sand. Greens were just recently punched so they were a little inconsistent but they are large and well designed. Pace of play was 4.5 hours, however we followed a tournament so that was to be expected. Great course to play with a group of mixed golfer abilities. High handicappers will not be excessively punished and experienced players will find the course challenging, which I think is what every course design should strive for to make the game fun for all. Pro shop and starter were friendly.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u000005147287's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's not easy, huge bunkers and large, slippery greens but beautiful and well kept golf course with all the amenities you would expect.

I will definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed