River Ridge Golf Club

2.9279000000 2.9 stars from 5 (111)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 68
  • Length: 4615 yards
  • Slope: 100
  • Rating: 62.5
  • Layout

  • 11022 Tee Time Cir, New Port Richey, Florida 34654, Pasco County
  • (888) 596-0361, (727) 847-4762
  • (727) 844-7413
  • www.myriverridgegolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1985
Type: Semi-Private
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Regulation golf shirts. No tank tops or cut off jeans.

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 68 4615 yards 62.5 100
White 68 4087 yards 59.3 92
Red (W) 68 3501 yards 61.3 104

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 2.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 111 Reviews
5 stars:
11
4 stars:
33
3 stars:
29
2 stars:
13
1 stars:
25

recommend this course

75 out of 110 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for locals wildlife/ scenic views seniors   Challenges include water hazards narrow fairways bunkers   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u000003776592's avatar
Age:  55-64

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



jerrynbryant's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 04/10/2017:

Hi Jerry, thank you for the response. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and the pace of play was quick. We do however regret to hear that the course conditions were not up to par. This is certainly not the standard we are trying to set for our golfer and will pass this note along to help make improvements. Thank you and we hope to see you again.


u965671356's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Four Stars Soon"


gorlicka's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is harder than it looks, as is often the case with shorter layouts. Nevertheless, the greens are readable and there is a premium on course management. I agree with previous writers who thought that the harsh reviews were too harsh. Sure some of the holes are very short, but they are fitting 18 in roughly 4000 yards. Blame math, not devious design. And when you consider the price and the size, don't act shocked that it's not in TPC condition. If you get in a spot that ought to be "ground under repair" but is just fairway, move your ball. No one from the USGA is watching.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 04/04/2017:

Hi Alan, thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and that you saw value in our course. We do however regret to hear that the course conditions were not up to par. We will pass this note along to help make improvements. Thank you for playing and we hope to see you soon!

"Getting better"


u240285340's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the second year we have played this course. Overall a great improvement. Need to work on growing more grass. Overall a good value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/10/2017

Thank you for your support. We have done a lot of work to improve the course and have more improvements on the way and fully expect that with a full grow season the course will fill in and we will eliminate the remaining weeds. Please keep us updated on how you think we are doing.


"Good day"


CSIMS1968's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played for the first time in a year and 4 months due to two shoulder surgeries. Course was in decent shape a couple of the greens need some work and a couple of the bridges felt like the cart was going to fall through especially the one near the 10th tee box. Staff was friendly. Pace was good. Overall I think it was a good value for the price and I would recommend it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 03/10/2017:

Good Morning, Chris. Thanks for taking the time to review our course. We're glad to hear that you're back on the course able to swing a club after your shoulder surgeries. Thanks for choosing River Ridge. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your round and played at a decent pace. We continue to make course conditions our main priority. We hope you see noticeable differences next time you come out!


u274964814's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2017
Previously played Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Bad conditions"


Sbagley's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I played her on Feb. 23, 2017. The fairways and greens are in bad shap. This course needs some major TLC. Not worth booking at this time.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 03/08/2017:

Good Morning, Steven. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate the feedback. We're sorry that the course conditions were less than favorable for your round. We are always working to improve course conditions so we hope that you see improvement next time you come out and play with us. We're glad that you had a great experience with our staff. See you soon!

"Short but awesome!!"


u000005384384's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed a shorter course. Was quite challenging and wil return!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Good Value!"


melnycm's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a decent course especially for the money. I got a last minute deal for just $12. If u like a nice manicured course, don't play here. But, if u want a good challenge (links style) at a good price, then RR is for u. I think the 1 & 2 star reviews are too harsh. What they failed to note is the course has only been around since 1985. Good golf courses need way more time than that for what they're looking for. Having said that, the staff could pay more attention to improving around their greens and tee boxes, relatively little effort would go a long way to improving this course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 03/02/2017:

Hello Michael, we are sorry to hear you found the course conditions to be so poor. We are going to escalate your feedback about the greens and tee boxes to our staff to make the necessary improvements. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the layout and found the course challenging. Thank you for playing River Ridge Golf Club, we hope to see you on the course again soon!

"Disappointed"


BRYAN5180854's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is not in good shape. For a first time player it's hard to determine distance. It's not a long course, some really short tee shots are a must.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 02/14/2017:

Good Morning, Bryan. thanks for the review. It's our goal to make sure that every golfer who comes out and players with us has a great experience. We regret to hear that you found the course layout to be long and challenging. Also, we are constantly working to improve course conditions. We hope that next time you come out, the course is a bit easier to judge distance and the conditions are improved.

"Improved - progressively getting better"


RonMochon's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This course has a lot of character.

The course has improved immensely over last year.

I just hope the owner/s continue with the improvements. Several holes have trees that need trimming (obstruct the golfers view).

P.S. Practice net needs t/b fixed


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 02/09/2017:

Hi Ron! We are happy to hear you have noticed our improvements over the last year. We are working hard to provide you with an incredible experience each time you play our course. We will pass along your feedback that our trees needing to be cut. Ideally, by your next round, everything will be up to par. Thank you for your feedback and we can not wait to see you again at River Ridge Golf Club.

P.S. We will also tell the team that we need to fix the practice nets!

"MUCH IMPROVED!!"


sheis50's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Haven't played this course in a couple of years, ( due to the conditions), but was PLEASANTLY SURPRISED! It was in fairly descent shape. Spotty greens here & there, but for an inexpensive round of golf, definitely worth the trip! Will play again next week.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fun layout, challenges skills."


jwars's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our first time At River Ridge and we really enjoyed the course. Although very challenging with some narrow fairways, water on many holes and accuracy at a premium my wife loved it. Ladies tees were fair, play from the blue was again some challenging and interesting golf. For the winter time, the greens were in pretty good shape and the fairways were fine. This is a course we will definitely play again when we come to Florida.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course, technically challenging."


djscheuring's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unlike many of the other reviews we found the course to be in fine condition without the bare spots noted by others. The course is technically challenging with lots of water and tight dog legs. Most of the holes are short and narrow requiring accuacy but only irons. I enjoyed the round and look forward to another visit.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Big improvement"


golfndadtoo's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played River Ridge for 1st time in years and was pleased by the many improvements. greens are coming back nicely and fairways were decent.

The layout is very challenging, but offers many chances to recover. Not a bombers course and requires some skill to keep the ball in play.

Great venue for seniors and those who play only once a week. A really fun course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



dayers55's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 03/02/2017:

Hey, David. Thanks for taking the time to review our course. We're happy to see that you enjoyed the course layout and saw value in playing here. Also, it's great to see that you were happy with the staff. We hope that next time you come out and play the pace of play is faster! See you soon.

"Nice for working out the kinks"


eoschwartz's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After not being able to play since Oct. due to a neck injury this was my first time back and played 9 holes to get the rust out.

A few challenges but mostly average. Really nice people that work there. For the money worthwhile.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 03/02/2017:

Good Morning, Edward. We're sorry to hear about your neck injury but glad you're able to get out there and play golf. Thanks for choosing us to get your game back in line. It's great that you saw value in playing our course and had a pleasant experience with our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

"Make shift course"


Deadeye4eyes's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/07/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Grant you the course is better than before but once the overseeded rye grass dies, it will be just as barren as before. The greens were better but the tee boxes no flat and full of holes. Pace of play was very slow with rangers nowhere to be seen. I think they were too busy being "bag boys" to be much help on the course. They were very friendly however as was the older guy in the pro shop.

I got a hot dog and beer on the turn and it was the most pathetic little dried up thing you ever saw. I had one a couple years ago and it was great. One of the golfers behind us told us that nobody eats there anymore because of the quality and service.

Whatever you do, just don't step in any of that black fungus on the greens as it looks like it could eat through your shoes. Also pretty sure I saw Fred Sanford out by the junkyard where they keep their worn out cartsl and other junk.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from River Ridge Golf Club on 02/09/2017:

Hello Steve, let us start by apologizing for the experience you had at our course. We are working to improve the conditions and are glad you were able to pick up on the changes we made with overseeding. The conditions of the tee boxes and holes have been passed along to our team. We are working to improve our course each and every day. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our staff and found them to be friendly. We will inform the team that the rangers need to not only cater to players on the course but also continue to monitor the pace of play. We will work to bring our quality of service back to the same you experienced and enjoyed a couple of years ago. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you on the course soon!

"Good course for the price"


Ron9532077's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun little course, Lets you work on your short game. Nice fairways and greens. Fun course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed