Shoal Creek Golf Course

4.4365000000 4.4 stars from 5 (126)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6983 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire must be worn at all times. Collared shirts required for men and proper golf attire for women. No jeans or jean shorts allowed.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6983 yards 73.9 136
Blue 71 6363 yards 70.8 127
White 71 5571 yards 66.5 116
White (W) 71 5571 yards 71.6 126
Black (W) 71 4759 yards 67.1 112

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 126 Reviews
5 stars:
76
4 stars:
37
3 stars:
7
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

118 out of 126 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers locals entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes water hazards   Great for drinks watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Cool Layout, Fun Track"


Jernest3030's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2016
First time playing Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Took advantage of an afternoon of excellent weather to go walk 18 at Shoal Creek. I can say that I was thoroughly impressed with nearly every aspect of this course.

To start, the layout is excellent. Mixing short, narrow holes with long, wide ones makes this course a true test of all aspects of your game. Shoal Creek also gives a nice mixture of tree lined holes and more open, plains style holes.

The conditions were about as good as can be expected during this time of year. Everything was a bit soggy, but it didn't take away from the quality of play. The one drawback that I have about the conditions was that the greens seemed to be cut to inconsistent lengths on a few holes, but that was just a very slight takeaway.

Overall, I was very impressed with Shoal Creek. The excellent overall layout mixed with the wonderful conditions (and great weather) made for a great afternoon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


sstevens7's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I purchased a "hot deal" tee time and paid less than half the price of normal rates. This was my first time playing here and it was about a 45 minute drive for me to the course from my home in Tonganoxie. I mainly made the trip because of the great rate and positive reviews the course has been getting this year. First off, my experience was hindered due to the extreme winds on the day I played. Besides the wind, this course makes you work for your score. Greens have good break in them and fairways were in good shape. Tee boxes could have been better as far as them being level. I really had to search for a spot on most of the tee boxes for the most level lie; we played from the blue tees. Bunkers have decent sand in them and are well manicured/maintained. I would have liked to see a little more sand in the bunkers; especially with what they are charging their members here for their seasonal membership rates (meaning they should have plenty of revenue to pull from to spend a little more on sand). The facility itself is top notch. The golf carts all had GPS in them and to my surprise they were accurate (checked via my laser range finder). Overall I liked the course; however, there was not anything super special in this course to warrant the longer drive for me to return. Thank you and best of luck!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Greens"


GoingLowJoe's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

Front 9 greens had strips of sod missing around the entire circumference. Made for a tough time around the greens on approaches and chips near the green.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Naftali9063056's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course because it had some great reviews here, and it did not disappoint.

Everything about this course is as a course should be. Tees, fairways and greens were in great shape. I found the course challenging, but not too difficult. Between the doglegs, some lengthy holes and some with narrow landing areas for tee shots, it was a fun course to play. The final four holes here are really nice and send you home on such a high note.

I highly recommend this course for golfers of all abilities and I would definitely play here again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Babs90's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course"


Casey5574380's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was fun to play, the people were very friendly. I was coming from Iowa so I played this course because it had the best reviews. I was not disappointed. I would definitely recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u161122853's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course! love playing here.

Cant believe a course this nice doesn't have windshields on their carts though...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



merlin2556's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


mpl8570's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great place to play. We played it twice in two days. Great staff, and a great layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u254379438's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



RockStar88's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Always a great time!"


u000001618348's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Shoal Creek is always a great course to play. We jumped on a hot deal from Golfnow.com. Anytime you can get in a round during the winter season is a plus. Sunny with temps around 50 and light winds made for an excellent round of golf with friends. The grass is still dormant but the crew has been at work around the course. I couldn't believe how many trees have been taken down. None that affect your shots but around greens and between holes. It's going to let more light and wind in. I'm anxious to get back during the summer season to see the full effect. 5 stars to the staff. They are always so friendly and helpful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"MN senior"


u037491549's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Left Minneapolis western suburbs 7 a.m. Sunday morning... teed off at Shoal Creek @ 1:30 p.m. Played Winterstone on Monday. I give both courses 4 star ratings. They're both on par with Links of Northfork or Willingers in the Minneapolis area (Rush Creek = 5 star). What fun it was for a Minnesota boy to get in a couple rounds the end of January. I'll be back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Fun"


JoeBobbitt816's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather

Reviewed on

Fun, go play it. Play fast.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Top notch Northland course"


Scott6527624's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Aside from an abundance of leaves, the course was nearly perfect. The rough was high, but you're not supposed to be in the rough. Errant tee shots paid the price yesterday. I still shot 82 despite a couple of doubles due to lost balls in the rough. Stay in play and the course isn't terrible difficult. I recommend playing from the tips unless you like playing driver wedge all day. A friendly deer visited on the front 9. Played 18 holes in 3 hours and 45 minutes. Despite the course being "full" according to the starter.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great layout, uninterested staff, BRUTAL greens"


cbreu89's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

I played this course on a golfnow deal, paid $30. Was extremely excited to play it based on the ratings that had been given previously, and the rating that it was a top 5 course in Missouri. A must play, right?

I must say, the course layout is excellent. It is a very challenging and well laid out course, with excellent amenities. The carts had GPS which made navigating holes with blind spots very easy to make sure to not hit into groups in front of us. However, that was an issue constantly as the marshalls didn't control pace of play, as there were no marshalls on the course. One gentleman in the group in front of us probably shot 120+, but treated every shot as if he was in the final group of the masters. Teed off a little before 1, finished just before 7. Absolutely brutal in terms of pace of play, largely as a result of an uninterested or non-existent staff.

The course layout has a lot of promise, but the place that really matters is the greens. They have not been cared for in probably months, and were essentially unplayable in many locations. I stopped keeping score as a result of the greens. This is extremely noticeable on the 18th green, with a majority of the surrounding parts of the green covered in some sort of substance resembling sand, with the fringe on the left-hand side being 100% mud. Playing into it with a half pitch shot resulted in my ball being completely buried less than a yard off of the start of the green. Absolutely unacceptable for a course of the prestige given by the reviewers here.

I traveled to come play this course as a result of the rankings on a few sites, and left extremely disappointed. I will not be playing this course again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Greens are BRUTAL"


EerFanInOtown's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

I flew into KC last weekend for my annual Fantasy Football Draft. We have played there before on several occasions. Anyway, although the rest of the course was in good condition (Zoysia fairways, etc.), the greens were terrible. Not a place I would recommend at the moment. very bad greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Great Course for $30"


BPH4LIFE's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/12/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was a steal for $30. The carts were equipped with GPS. The Tee Boxes, Fairways, etc were in great shape. The ball sat up perfectly in the fairway. They only area of improvement were the greens. They were great sized greens just very bumpy, tons on unrepaired divots, and SLOW. Most holes felt secluded from the rest. Hodge Park is literally across the street from Shoal Creek so if you want to play 36 at two different courses, this cannot be beat.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very enjoyabe course to play"


dgisel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Poor weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My friends and I enjoy this course. It is in excellent shape, the staff is very friendly and the course is challenging, but not brutal. It was a very hot day, but we kept hydrated and stayed in the shade when we could.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Shoal Creek par 3 and 5s"


Jmarquess's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/20/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wonderful rolling course with multiple doglegs. 3 of the 4 par 3s are over 200 from the tips and 2 of the 3 par 5s stretch to

over 600 yards. Great course and despite 98 degree heat and humidity, in pretty good shape. Will definitely play it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"WHY SUCH AWFUL GREENS???"


u000007771757's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Well, yet again, we are totally baffled & disappointed. Have played this course many times over the years, but had not been there for quite a while-bad exchanges with pro shop, egregiously overpriced, pace of play, to name 3 issues...but wanted to give it a try for only $22 on GolfNow. Great timing, as there was hardly anyone there for once, and once we got out on the course, we were amazed that there is EVER anyone there...there is NO excuse for this type of course-with great tee boxes, and pretty good fairways, to have the WORST greens we have set foot on in years. Not only that, but MANY areas around many greens were filled in with VERY poor patchwork looking strips of non-matching grass. I/we would LOVE to meet many of the golfers who have left glowing reviews, just to find out why they think course conditions like this are acceptable, because they are NOT! And totally baffling that this course charges over $70 (including tax) on weekends, and people are actually paying it! And yes, I know what I am talking about because I got a $170 refund from the Kapalua Bay course, as apparently they were so stunned I complained they had no idea what to do! But if you are VERY easy to please, and don't mind throwing money away, then, yes, you will be thrilled with your round at Shoal Creek...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed