Thistle Golf Club - Stewart Course

4.4490000000 4.4 stars from 5 (98)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 35
  • Length: 3351 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Thistle 35 3351 yards 0.0 0
Blue 35 3168 yards 0.0 0
White 35 2894 yards 0.0 0
Gold 35 2583 yards 0.0 0
Red 35 2179 yards 0.0 0

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 98 Reviews
5 stars:
65
4 stars:
22
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

90 out of 98 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers locals a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Rocco80's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/22/2017:

Thank you for the 5* review!

"Top Notch"


Rocco80's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Thistle is about as good as it gets, and I've played a lot of courses. Played in the Memorial Day Captains Choice, only negative due to no fault of their owns was the greens due to wrong chemicals being applied, but I know they will return to former high quality greens once corrected. Great course, staff, and amenities, can't go wrong. First class all the way.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


skidley's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best score ever, course was great, layout was nice. Greens were well on way to recovery.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Glad to hear you played so well! Come back again soon!

"Greens"


robert8149103's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in fair shape. Apparently they had some fertilizing problems. There were streaks on the greens which caused the ball to bounce around. At least a third of the greens were very bumpy and the edges around the greens were in poor shape. I paid $30 I would not pay more than $40 due to the condition of the greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are working to get the greens back in great shape and hope to have them back to normal soon!

"Greens"


mark9431209's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were absolutely horrible I was told they were 90% bck they are may be 50% I do not recommend playing until the Greens are totally back


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

We apologize you were not happy with the greens. We can assure you we are working incredibly hard to restore them.

"This course will make you work!"


tbsimon's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really nice layout, and some challenging holes along the way. One Par 5 in particular will give you something to think about before you tee off (I won't ruin the surprise).

Greens are currently in tough condition, but are being worked on and fixed. Pace of play could have been faster.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you for the positive review! We hope you had a great time out on the course!


shipbum's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you!

"good layout variety of holes"


mackley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent courses recovering from green burn out. Staff doing excellent job with greens, Probably perfect in 1-2 months


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you for the encouraging words! We hope to see you again soon.

"Greens are Horrible......"


ebentz24's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the price it's an ok course. The parking lot was smoother and had better roll than the greens.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

We apologize that you were not happy with the greens. We can assure you we are doing everything to get them back into fantastic shape!

"A Gem"


jging's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Awesome clubhouse, excellent practice facilities, very friendly staff, and an excellent links style course. I would have rated 5 stars overall, but they had an issue with the greens on the 2nd 9 I played. Didn't drastically affect my scoring.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you for the positive review! We are glad that you had a great day out on the course and we look forward to having you back again soon!

"Very nice course. Enjoyed the round very much."


wsm's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff inside and outside could not have been more welcoming and professional. Very nice start to what was an enjoyable experience all around. I was a single and matched with two others - one of whom was a regular and provided super helpful local information on course strategy. Both were great company. We played in three hours and thirty minutes and never felt rushed. Just nice and steady - thanks to that local knowledge and three low to mid handicaps.

The greens are recovering nicely. The holes were cut where any unresolved damage had minimum involvement with putting. The surface was slow with normal "over seeding and grow out" length "hairy" grass. Our local said the greens are normally the best on the strand and very fast. We left a few short on the slow greens that we probably would have missed long on fast greens so no negative impact on scores overall. I shot 79 and that is about how I played tee to green so quite happy with the experience. I would play Thistle again in a heart beat at GolfNow rates but never at the $124 standard fee. GolfNow made the experience possible.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you so much for this incredible review! We sincerely appreciate it and are sure that any golfer reading it feels the same way! We hope to have you back again soon!

"Beautiful course"


jkwilson93's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played here for $57.80, great price and a beautiful course compared to Lockwood Folly. Lockwood Folly was $75 & in bad shape. Would love to play The Thistle again


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/26/2017:

We are glad that you found the course to be a great value and we look forward to having you back again soon!


u000007318658's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you!


Chapppp's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Place was great even with greens being less than there standards. Wildlife was everywhere


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you so much for the positive review! Glad you enjoyed the wildlife!

"Fun"


sandkat's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always love to play the Thistle. They were having some problems with the greens but some of the greens are coming back and were not that bad.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you for the positive review! The greens are comeing back well and we hope to see you again soon.

"Thistle excellent but greens repairing now"


u000004916708's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Five stars deserving but must be frustrating to them that their greens have bald spots and are very bumpy due to bad chemicals supplied which killed much of the grass. Supposed to be all well by end of May.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

The greens are healing up great, we hope to see you again soon!

"Awesome course and staff"


fabboss7's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Couldn't have been better. Price, pace of play, layout, course condition, (even with airation of greens), and staff. Weather was terrific too. Excellent for women and juniors too Can't wait to play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you so much for the incredible review. We are pleased to hear you had such a great time at the course!

Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you so much for the incredible review. We are pleased to hear you had such a great time at the course!

"First time playing Thistle"


u257192254's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee boxes and fairways were in great shape. I got a deal because we were alerted that the course had just aerated but the greens were in terrible shape because the company that supplies their chemicals screwed up and trashed the greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

The greens have started to heal up nicely so we hope to see you again soon!

"Awesome courses"


hirsch25's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, staff very friendly. The course was in great shape except for the greens. Just aeriated.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

The greens are healing up very nicely! Come back soon!

"Spotty, bumpy but not the end of the world"


bej7013's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The title refers to the conditions of the greens. They applied a chemical to the greens, and a week or so later, the company informed the maintenance staff that the instructions they were given were incorrect. they are doing everything possible to correct the problem until the grass grows back. The move the pin placements to areas where the grass is in good shape and other quick fixes, to make your round of golf more enjoyable. The staff is bending over backwards to inform everyone before the round of the conditions. The rest of the course is in great shape and the staff is fantastic. I found only one greens that was in horrible shape, most have stripes of bare spots that are about a foot wide.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate all of the kind words about our staff!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed