Thistle Golf Club - Stewart Course

4.4907470588 4.5 stars from 5 (132)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 35
  • Length: 3351 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Thistle 35 3351 yards 0.0 0
Blue 35 3168 yards 0.0 0
White 35 2894 yards 0.0 0
Gold 35 2583 yards 0.0 0
Red 35 2179 yards 0.0 0

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 132 Reviews
5 stars:
91
4 stars:
28
3 stars:
5
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

123 out of 132 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers locals a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Well worth the price of admission"


u000003424376's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition, with well marked tees and distance markers. The bunkers are sometimes deep, and always have good sand. I was in enough of them to know. This is a challenging layout, with plenty of tee box choices to fit most golfers' ability levels. Quite a few of the green complexes are well bunkered and elevated enough to make club selection far from simple. I enjoyed the round and will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/05/2016

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your round! We look forward to your next visit, if you book far enough in advance with us, you save on your round!



Nick2917521's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the round and played with a partner who was friendly


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Bridget7278412's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great views"


u5940495's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in very good shape and the greens were great. We love playing this course. It's always in great shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 09/18/2017:

Thank you for the 5* review!


rcbedard's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thank you!


u000005687846's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thank you for the 5* review!

"Great course & staff"


dmharr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in pristine condition and all the staff were just great. The course is open but challenging water holes with strategic sand traps made for thoughtful game play. Highly recommend!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thank you for the 5* review! We appreciate the recommendation!

"Great course"


Mitch7663777's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff is the best, cheerful very helpful and provides just the right amount of guideance. A nice three 9 hole layout with great challenges. The only downfall was the rain received the day prior so cart path only and most courses are in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 09/06/2017:

Thank you for the kind review! We appreciate the kind words about our staff!


BOBHUGUS's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/30/2017:

We are glad to hear you had a great experience!

"Excellent"


Willie6151396's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent golf course at a great price. We were a twosome with a noon tee time. We hit some balls on the range, then they called us up early. They loaded our cart and sent us to the starter who sent us out as a twosome and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. No houses, no hassles just a beautifully laid out course. There was still some sand on the greens from the late summer aeration, but they still rolled great, and they should be perfect just in time for the fall season.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 09/15/2017:

Thank you for the 5* review! We are so glad to hear you had such an incredible experience at the course.

"Great Golf Course"


mgaddy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed our round of golf on a well maintained, challenging and open course. Played Cameron and Steward. Great carts and wonderful experienced staff. Played only one round while in Myrtle Beach, glad it was here.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 09/15/2017:

Thank you for the 5* review!

"AMAZING!!!"


CUBBIE44's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

We played here two days ago and we're going back in about 3 hours and I feel like a kid on Christmas Eve. This course is second to none. The finely manicured cuts, the unbelievable cart paths and on course restrooms set this course several notches above the rest. Better bring your A game off the tee. Fairways are tight and trouble lurks everywhere! You will get a rare opportunity to feel like a PGA Tour Pro when you play here. Simply AMAZING!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/25/2017:

Thank you so much for the amazing review! We sincerely appreciate all of your kind words and hope you continue to come back and see us!

"Average at best"


John9814612's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Other reviews had said greens were aerated about 2 weeks ago, they were more like last week and not in good shape. 5 pat 3's and everyone the same, 200 yards, not very interesting or fun. Many holes simply play back and forth. Very nice golf carts as someone else stated. Clubhouse is amazing. Overall an ok course but not anywhere near worth normal rates.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/21/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback!


jackd213's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/21/2017:

Thank you!

"Mowing while you swing!"


firefighter41's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens had been plugged the week before, no notification was given to us about these greens until we got to the 1st one, putting green was perfect! A groundskeeper mowed on the tee box directly behind the box we were on and continued to mow the entire time our group hit, very unprofessional, they must be treaching that there because the poor guy had no idea when we confronted him! Overall it's a great course but we payed too much for the way the greens played!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/17/2017:

Thank you for the feedback. We apologize that you were not made aware of the aerification.

"Great course"


Alan5123064's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was a great course. I just wished I would have known the greens had just been aerated.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/17/2017:

Thank you so much for the review! We apologize that you were not made aware of the aerification.



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/16/2017:

We are always looking to improve and would welcome some feedback!

"Course is very nice!"


u456436056's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in fantastic shape. Greens had been punched 10-14 days ago but not bad. If greens were better I would've given 5-stars. Rained during 2nd nine and they did give a 9 hole raincheck which was nice and much appreciated. Staff was very kind and I'll definitely go back to play. Don't miss this gem!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/16/2017:

Thank you for the positive review! We are sorry to hear about the rain but hope you can make it back again soon!

"Great Course"


Terry2339402's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course with a very challenging layout. It was fun to play even though the conditions were very wet and the greens had been airrated. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The best golf carts on the Grand Strand. We truly enjoyed our experience:


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/16/2017:

Thank you so much for the 5* review! We are glad you had such a pleasurable experience!

"Brad"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Amazing time playing today. I missed my original tee time due to a personal situation and they were very accommodating. Definitely thoughtful individuals in the pro shop. I went by myself and on multiple occasions, I was approached by staff asking me how my round was going. The greens are apparently still recovering from a chemical issue a couple of months ago, but most greens seemed in awesome shape. I do wish that someone would have tried to pair to me up with another group, as I consistently caught up to foursomes and had to play through, feeling rushed...which I felt hurt my score and enjoyment on those holes. Grounds crew costantly working. Starters and staff were very helpful and courteous. I would certainly play again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/08/2017:

Thank you so much for the 5* review! We appreciate the kind words about our staff and are proud to hear they made you feel right at home. Come back and see us again soon!


Jim3273714's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/03/2017:

Thank you!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed