Thistle Golf Club - Stewart Course

4.4600000000 4.5 stars from 5 (100)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 35
  • Length: 3351 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Thistle 35 3351 yards 0.0 0
Blue 35 3168 yards 0.0 0
White 35 2894 yards 0.0 0
Gold 35 2583 yards 0.0 0
Red 35 2179 yards 0.0 0

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 100 Reviews
5 stars:
67
4 stars:
22
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

92 out of 100 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers locals a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Well worth the price of admission"


u000003424376's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition, with well marked tees and distance markers. The bunkers are sometimes deep, and always have good sand. I was in enough of them to know. This is a challenging layout, with plenty of tee box choices to fit most golfers' ability levels. Quite a few of the green complexes are well bunkered and elevated enough to make club selection far from simple. I enjoyed the round and will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/05/2016

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your round! We look forward to your next visit, if you book far enough in advance with us, you save on your round!


"Beautiful Track"


dorknfreak's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I have played golf the Myrtle Beach area for more than 15 years now and don't know why I have not made a stop at the Thistle until yesterday. But what a beautiful course with supposedly three 9 holes layout. I played the McKay and Cameron 9s with a member and it was outstanding!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 07/18/2017:

Thank you so much for the kind review! We are glad you finally gave us a chance and hope to see you again soon!

"King of the North!"


Bob7828426's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

The Myrtle Beach area, also referred to as the Grand Strand has three distinct areas. The South Strand, Myrtle Beach "proper" and the North Strand. All three with great courses. But I can tell you the King of the North is surely The Thistle! A 27 hole layout with everything you want in a course. Great layout, challenging holes, green complexes that reward a good shot and penalize a bad one. When you arrrive you will walk into the very best clubhouse in the area and a more than friendly staff. Make sure to take the time to visit the veranda and enjoy the view. Then get ready for a treat! Make this course a "Must Play" when you visit the Golf Capital of the World!

Bob J

Greenwood IN


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 07/12/2017:

Thank you so much for the 5* review and glowing recommendation. We are glad to hear you had such an incredible experience at the course and hope you come back next time you visit!


Rocco80's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/22/2017:

Thank you for the 5* review!

"Top Notch"


Rocco80's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Thistle is about as good as it gets, and I've played a lot of courses. Played in the Memorial Day Captains Choice, only negative due to no fault of their owns was the greens due to wrong chemicals being applied, but I know they will return to former high quality greens once corrected. Great course, staff, and amenities, can't go wrong. First class all the way.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/26/2017:

Thank you for the kind words about the course! The greens have recovered very nicely and we hope to see you again soon!

"Great course"


skidley's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best score ever, course was great, layout was nice. Greens were well on way to recovery.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Glad to hear you played so well! Come back again soon!

"Greens"


robert8149103's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in fair shape. Apparently they had some fertilizing problems. There were streaks on the greens which caused the ball to bounce around. At least a third of the greens were very bumpy and the edges around the greens were in poor shape. I paid $30 I would not pay more than $40 due to the condition of the greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are working to get the greens back in great shape and hope to have them back to normal soon!

"Greens"


mark9431209's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were absolutely horrible I was told they were 90% bck they are may be 50% I do not recommend playing until the Greens are totally back


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

We apologize you were not happy with the greens. We can assure you we are working incredibly hard to restore them.

"This course will make you work!"


tbsimon's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really nice layout, and some challenging holes along the way. One Par 5 in particular will give you something to think about before you tee off (I won't ruin the surprise).

Greens are currently in tough condition, but are being worked on and fixed. Pace of play could have been faster.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you for the positive review! We hope you had a great time out on the course!


shipbum's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you!

"good layout variety of holes"


mackley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent courses recovering from green burn out. Staff doing excellent job with greens, Probably perfect in 1-2 months


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you for the encouraging words! We hope to see you again soon.

"Greens are Horrible......"


ebentz24's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the price it's an ok course. The parking lot was smoother and had better roll than the greens.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

We apologize that you were not happy with the greens. We can assure you we are doing everything to get them back into fantastic shape!

"A Gem"


jging's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Awesome clubhouse, excellent practice facilities, very friendly staff, and an excellent links style course. I would have rated 5 stars overall, but they had an issue with the greens on the 2nd 9 I played. Didn't drastically affect my scoring.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you for the positive review! We are glad that you had a great day out on the course and we look forward to having you back again soon!

"Very nice course. Enjoyed the round very much."


wsm's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff inside and outside could not have been more welcoming and professional. Very nice start to what was an enjoyable experience all around. I was a single and matched with two others - one of whom was a regular and provided super helpful local information on course strategy. Both were great company. We played in three hours and thirty minutes and never felt rushed. Just nice and steady - thanks to that local knowledge and three low to mid handicaps.

The greens are recovering nicely. The holes were cut where any unresolved damage had minimum involvement with putting. The surface was slow with normal "over seeding and grow out" length "hairy" grass. Our local said the greens are normally the best on the strand and very fast. We left a few short on the slow greens that we probably would have missed long on fast greens so no negative impact on scores overall. I shot 79 and that is about how I played tee to green so quite happy with the experience. I would play Thistle again in a heart beat at GolfNow rates but never at the $124 standard fee. GolfNow made the experience possible.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you so much for this incredible review! We sincerely appreciate it and are sure that any golfer reading it feels the same way! We hope to have you back again soon!

"Beautiful course"


jkwilson93's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played here for $57.80, great price and a beautiful course compared to Lockwood Folly. Lockwood Folly was $75 & in bad shape. Would love to play The Thistle again


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/26/2017:

We are glad that you found the course to be a great value and we look forward to having you back again soon!


u000007318658's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you!


Chapppp's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Place was great even with greens being less than there standards. Wildlife was everywhere


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you so much for the positive review! Glad you enjoyed the wildlife!

"Fun"


sandkat's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always love to play the Thistle. They were having some problems with the greens but some of the greens are coming back and were not that bad.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you for the positive review! The greens are comeing back well and we hope to see you again soon.

"Thistle excellent but greens repairing now"


u000004916708's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Five stars deserving but must be frustrating to them that their greens have bald spots and are very bumpy due to bad chemicals supplied which killed much of the grass. Supposed to be all well by end of May.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

The greens are healing up great, we hope to see you again soon!

"Awesome course and staff"


fabboss7's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Couldn't have been better. Price, pace of play, layout, course condition, (even with airation of greens), and staff. Weather was terrific too. Excellent for women and juniors too Can't wait to play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you so much for the incredible review. We are pleased to hear you had such a great time at the course!

Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you so much for the incredible review. We are pleased to hear you had such a great time at the course!

"First time playing Thistle"


u257192254's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee boxes and fairways were in great shape. I got a deal because we were alerted that the course had just aerated but the greens were in terrible shape because the company that supplies their chemicals screwed up and trashed the greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Thistle Golf Club on 06/06/2017:

The greens have started to heal up nicely so we hope to see you again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed