Pinecrest Golf Club

4.0619235294 4.1 stars from 5 (371)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7089 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Practice hole: No
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: No

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Professional 72 7089 yards 0.0 0
Championship 72 6685 yards 0.0 0
Regular 72 6079 yards 0.0 0
Forward 72 5153 yards 0.0 0

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 371 Reviews
5 stars:
120
4 stars:
187
3 stars:
49
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

335 out of 370 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers seniors locals   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Better than expected."


marshall44's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They had aerated about a week ago but the greens were better than I expected. Played early and finished round in 3 3/4. Staff extremely friendly and helpful


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



rustyjrm's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000002465055's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Enjoyed"


u000006354602's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A good GolGolfnow.com price.

Greens were a bit slow, yet very playable.

Fairways are wide and in good condition.

I Hit the green on the money hole but had too much club so ball ran through. Made the par though.

Rain delay at nine for 15 mins.

Greens rolled better, but the fairways were soaked.

Will play again next visit to Blufton.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



SweetOldBob's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Shape"


Thomas2265067's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had the first tee time of the morning. I was a single so pace of play was super fast. Course was in great shape. My only negative is that the greens were wet because I was ahead of the ground keeping crew. Gratefully it was only the first 4 or 5 holes. Staff was very friendly and the GolfNow price made it that much better. Will always be on my "to play" list when in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Terrific course for under $50"


Robert8826727's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great value for a high quality course under $50. Multiple tee boxes so you can play it long or as short as you like. We played the whites at 6100 yards but there were still plenty of challenges and trouble to get in to. Some long drives between tees and I'd like the greens to be a little faster but outside of that course conditions are really good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Took our clubs and had them set up on carts right outside the pro shop ready to go. No hold up on our round. Played in 4:20 including stopping for dogs & beer at the turn and a staff member was cleaning our clubs before we walked off the 18th green. Check this place out, you won't be disappointed.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great value."


u463543972's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in great shape. A little spread out in residential community... but nicely manicured with good greens.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Parkerjames1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"A great course"


victory's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Yardage markers not very visible, the greens were in great shape just slow. Staff was very friendly. First time playing the course enjoyed it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



jameswootenjr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very nice course"


rjpeloff's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed playing there. It was in very good shape, and a fun layout.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Neil2139227's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Pinecrest Golf Club – Fun to Play No Matter Your Handicap"


TheGolfinGuy's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The Pinecrest Golf Club in Bluffton SC opened for play in 2004 and was designed by Rocky Roquemore, best known for his designs at Cannongate Golf Club in GA and several of the Disney courses in Orlando, FL.

From the back tees, Pinecrest plays 7,089 yards with a course rating of 74.7 and a slope of 139. Most golfers will be challenged from the White Tees at 6,079 yards (70.0/127). The ladies play from either 5,539 yards (72.8/132) or the Red Tees (5,062/70.8/120)

Pinecrest is owned and operated by Brown Golf Management who purchased the club on March 10, 2011 and opened it up for public play. The course is known for having a stunning and scenic layout and plays its way through strands of tall pines and around several beautiful lakes. Water comes into play on about 15 holes with number 9 being the only forced carry over water off the tee, although not a very long carry at that.

Sand bunkers pose more of a threat to your scorecard, especially off the tee. Every non-par 3 hole has at least one bunker on the edge of the fairway in the landing zone; par 5s have been strategically fortified with a second set of bunkers in the layup landing area, although they always seem to be on the periphery of the fairway. Greens are also well protected, with many of them being elevated.

Speaking of greens, Pinecrest’s are large and roll true; if you want to score well, best to not leave yourself a lot of long putts.

Most Memorable Hole: Number 11. The course’s second hardest hole is a par 5 that plays 500 yards from the White Tees and requires an accurate tee shot due to the water on each side. You’ll want to use the left side of the fairway on your layup but be sure to avoid the fairway bunkers over there and be careful of the water that juts out half way into the fairway. These bunkers should not come into play. From here you’ll have a short pitch shot into an offset green. Three good shots and you can conquer this hole.

Favorite Par 3, Number 8. How often does the shortest hole on the course follow the longest? From the White Tees, the hole plays 137 yards although from the back tees it plays 224. You’ll need to carry the water in front of the green off the tee and avoid the bunkers long. The green slopes slightly from back to front. Par is a good score here.

Favorite Par 4: Number 15, 276 yards. Although not the longest par 4 on the course it is the most interesting; the sand on the left side and water on the right certainly get your attention. Calling this hole a dogleg doesn’t really do it justice; it’s more like a sharp right turn. You can either try and carry the bunker on the left off the tee - it’s a little over 200 yards –or play short of the bunker which will still leave a pitch shot of less than 100 yards to a two-tiered green fronted on the right side with water and a lone bunker behind. A third option is to try and fly the water and go straight at the green, but even long ball hitters will have to navigate the giant loblolly pine trees that guard the way.

Favorite Par 5: Number 7. This is the #1 handicapped hole at Pinecrest and for good reason. From the White Tees it plays 533 yards with water all down either side. The layup landing area is fraught with bunkers on either side and water comes into play on both sides for those who miss the fairway, although if you can clear the bunker on the left, you’ll have a better line into the green. There’s still water that guards the left side of the green, and a small bunker in the fairway makes it necessary for you to fly the ball on to the putting surface. This is a challenging yet fair hole.

Numbers 9 and 18 both play back to the clubhouse and their greens are separated by an enormous pond filled with wildlife. After your round, relax on the patio which overlooks these greens and see if your fellow golfers can fare any better on them than you did!

The practice area at Pinecrest is second to none and could very well be the best public access practice facility in the Bluffton area. There’s a double-sided range, two large putting greens and a separate chipping green to hone your game. If you’re still having trouble, check in at the pro shop and sign up for a lesson with one of their PGA professional staff.

After your round, stop by the 9 Iron Restaurant located in the clubhouse. They feature excellent food at reasonable prices, including fresh sandwiches, soups, salads and daily chef's specials. The jumbo Reuben is one of a kind or, if you’re looking for something a little lighter, try their cranberry-almond salad. No matter what you’re hungry for, odds are you’ll find it here, as well as your favorite after golf beverage.

Brown Golf has some incredible membership opportunities available which are particularly attractive to those in the Bluffton area. A single membership includes unlimited golf at 7 local courses as well as reciprocals at all other Brown Golf Facilities around the country. You’ll also receive access to the practice facilities and unlimited range balls as well as complimentary golf lessons from PGA professionals. That alone is worth the monthly dues. For more information or to book your next tee time at Pinecrest Golf Club, visit them at www.pinecrestcc.com.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"Late Fathers Day"


u000007461400's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My dad and I enjoyed a good day on a good course. Other than a little rain, it was a fun round. Course was in good shape. Offered some challenges from both sets of tees.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Lots of water"


efields3419's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a shotmakers course with lots of water hazards. Shot placement is very important. It is a very challenging course but fun to play. No personal coolers are allowed. The guy running the place was very rude when we asked for a cooler which is what the sign said we had to do. Its a shame he had to be that way but we had a good time anyway.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem"


u342596388's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

While on Vacation in Hilton Head drove the 30 minutes to Bluffton and was surprised by this great course. Only negative was getting in the middle of group of "regulars " of 10+players that felt as though we were interrupting their round and then waiting on each hole the entire back nine. But overall, loved the course


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Poor condition, not extraordinary"


u6855738's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Went to the course based on good reviews. However, I wasn't impressed based on playing other courses in the area. This course doesn't drain nearly as well the other courses as we played in basically mud fairways. Expected wet conditions but it was a bit extreme. The greens were extremely slow. There was also no beverage cart and no food in the bar. However, the staff was friendly and we had no issue with pace of play at all. If you want to try a different course it's worth a try but I wouldn't recommend over other courses in the are.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"There are Better in the Area"


as1439246's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Reading other reviews guided my decision to play here. The course is in a residential neighborhood in Bluffton as it winds thru the houses and water. Playing in June you would expect it to be in top condition. The tees need attention around the course, from divots to replanting turf so they have more than weeds. Greens were better and the fairways were ok. The course had a number of players being Father's Day weekend and it may have had more beginners than usual. The rate of play was very s l o w.

The clubhouse was nice, no one in there eating. Rental Club charges were not too high. Another course near by charged more than the round.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very good course"


u390526777's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape even though the greens had been aerated a couple of weeks prior. Would play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed