Pinecrest Golf Club

4.1065823529 4.1 stars from 5 (396)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7089 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Practice hole: No
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: No

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Professional 72 7089 yards 0.0 0
Championship 72 6685 yards 0.0 0
Regular 72 6079 yards 0.0 0
Forward 72 5153 yards 0.0 0

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 396 Reviews
5 stars:
126
4 stars:
202
3 stars:
52
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

356 out of 395 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers seniors locals   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Pinecrest Golf Club – Fun to Play No Matter Your Handicap"


TheGolfinGuy's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The Pinecrest Golf Club in Bluffton SC opened for play in 2004 and was designed by Rocky Roquemore, best known for his designs at Cannongate Golf Club in GA and several of the Disney courses in Orlando, FL.

From the back tees, Pinecrest plays 7,089 yards with a course rating of 74.7 and a slope of 139. Most golfers will be challenged from the White Tees at 6,079 yards (70.0/127). The ladies play from either 5,539 yards (72.8/132) or the Red Tees (5,062/70.8/120)

Pinecrest is owned and operated by Brown Golf Management who purchased the club on March 10, 2011 and opened it up for public play. The course is known for having a stunning and scenic layout and plays its way through strands of tall pines and around several beautiful lakes. Water comes into play on about 15 holes with number 9 being the only forced carry over water off the tee, although not a very long carry at that.

Sand bunkers pose more of a threat to your scorecard, especially off the tee. Every non-par 3 hole has at least one bunker on the edge of the fairway in the landing zone; par 5s have been strategically fortified with a second set of bunkers in the layup landing area, although they always seem to be on the periphery of the fairway. Greens are also well protected, with many of them being elevated.

Speaking of greens, Pinecrest’s are large and roll true; if you want to score well, best to not leave yourself a lot of long putts.

Most Memorable Hole: Number 11. The course’s second hardest hole is a par 5 that plays 500 yards from the White Tees and requires an accurate tee shot due to the water on each side. You’ll want to use the left side of the fairway on your layup but be sure to avoid the fairway bunkers over there and be careful of the water that juts out half way into the fairway. These bunkers should not come into play. From here you’ll have a short pitch shot into an offset green. Three good shots and you can conquer this hole.

Favorite Par 3, Number 8. How often does the shortest hole on the course follow the longest? From the White Tees, the hole plays 137 yards although from the back tees it plays 224. You’ll need to carry the water in front of the green off the tee and avoid the bunkers long. The green slopes slightly from back to front. Par is a good score here.

Favorite Par 4: Number 15, 276 yards. Although not the longest par 4 on the course it is the most interesting; the sand on the left side and water on the right certainly get your attention. Calling this hole a dogleg doesn’t really do it justice; it’s more like a sharp right turn. You can either try and carry the bunker on the left off the tee - it’s a little over 200 yards –or play short of the bunker which will still leave a pitch shot of less than 100 yards to a two-tiered green fronted on the right side with water and a lone bunker behind. A third option is to try and fly the water and go straight at the green, but even long ball hitters will have to navigate the giant loblolly pine trees that guard the way.

Favorite Par 5: Number 7. This is the #1 handicapped hole at Pinecrest and for good reason. From the White Tees it plays 533 yards with water all down either side. The layup landing area is fraught with bunkers on either side and water comes into play on both sides for those who miss the fairway, although if you can clear the bunker on the left, you’ll have a better line into the green. There’s still water that guards the left side of the green, and a small bunker in the fairway makes it necessary for you to fly the ball on to the putting surface. This is a challenging yet fair hole.

Numbers 9 and 18 both play back to the clubhouse and their greens are separated by an enormous pond filled with wildlife. After your round, relax on the patio which overlooks these greens and see if your fellow golfers can fare any better on them than you did!

The practice area at Pinecrest is second to none and could very well be the best public access practice facility in the Bluffton area. There’s a double-sided range, two large putting greens and a separate chipping green to hone your game. If you’re still having trouble, check in at the pro shop and sign up for a lesson with one of their PGA professional staff.

After your round, stop by the 9 Iron Restaurant located in the clubhouse. They feature excellent food at reasonable prices, including fresh sandwiches, soups, salads and daily chef's specials. The jumbo Reuben is one of a kind or, if you’re looking for something a little lighter, try their cranberry-almond salad. No matter what you’re hungry for, odds are you’ll find it here, as well as your favorite after golf beverage.

Brown Golf has some incredible membership opportunities available which are particularly attractive to those in the Bluffton area. A single membership includes unlimited golf at 7 local courses as well as reciprocals at all other Brown Golf Facilities around the country. You’ll also receive access to the practice facilities and unlimited range balls as well as complimentary golf lessons from PGA professionals. That alone is worth the monthly dues. For more information or to book your next tee time at Pinecrest Golf Club, visit them at www.pinecrestcc.com.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"Good time"


u000006354602's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were perfect for me. I had four birdies, multiple pars and only two bad holes.

I was in the company of some really great folks, no cussing, no smoking and no I'll timed jokes.

The Good Lord provided us with an absolutely great day for golf.

The staff was great all around, desk, golf bag handler and starter.

Golfnow.com is great.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Average Course"


u000005083338's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the third course that I played in Bluffton this week. Greens were poor. Remainder of course was average. Layout good. Staff was extremely friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Good Course in Bluffton SC"


u000005083338's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was challenging and scenic. Conditions were good. Marshall (Gerry) was very friendly and helpful. Women’s League was out before us so pace of play was a bit slow. Overall an enjoyable round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



pabresch's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging Course!"


somvil's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Hole #1 is still being worked on. You kinda start in the middle of the fairway and despite the fact that it's a Par 5, you should consider it a 4 during the construction.

Look, this isn't a premium course. Don't expect premium conditions. The course is in better than average shape if you don't try to compare it to the $200+ courses in town. The only sub $100 course that is in better shape right now is HH National. I paid $39 here on a local rate, but this course is worth $60-ish in my opinion. Any excessive bumps or turf issues (of which there are few) is more than made up for in the challenging play here. It may not be quite as nice as HH National, but it's absolutely harder in my opinion.

Play the black tees for an interesting afternoon! There's a do-or-die par 3 over a pond, there's 2 eagle-ready par 5's that will make you pay if you don't hit your 2nd shot clean, and there's a par 4 that I was able to drive the green on. The greens are absolutely enormous and there seemed to be a sand trap everywhere I aimed. This course makes you think and debate yourself on club selection, and I really enjoyed it.

The only minor complaint would be that some stretches of the cart-path seemed to be sponsored by the local dentist as they'll rattle your teeth out of your head, but that's common in the lowcountry and judging by all the work being done on the course, they'll take care of that in due time.

Good round, I'll be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Lack of staff"


JTerryMoore's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were not made aware of the construction and mess on the first hole. No starter. No Marshall. Slow play


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Pinecrest Golf"


bobr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very friendly staff. Course in very good condition. Some short par 4’s that give you options and challenges.

Good good and a great wait staff. Try the Red Pepper Bisque.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pinecrest"


ep0925's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape. Weather was perfect. Just a great day of golf!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Very Scenic"


PondHopper44's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course is one of my favorite in the area. First of all the first hole was under construction when I played so it was shortened to about 300 yards or so which made it feel like a practice hole. After that though it really gets beautiful starting with the second tee box and continuing throughout the round. The most important part of all my reviews are of the greens. I would say these greens are a little better than average. They were fairly slow and grainy but I overall they rolled okay. The layout is a mix of fun holes and some that I am not really a fan of but overall you will really enjoy playing this course. The length of the course was very comfortable at around 7,100 yards (shortened a little by hole one construction) with some holes feeling fairly long yet a couple that felt getable. I didn't play particularly well to begin with so it would be hard to determine the true difficulty of this course, however, I think it's a fair course where if you're hitting it well you will be rewarded and if you're not then hope it doesn't find one of the many bunkers or creeks along the way. Overall very fun!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



raymond7134441's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Course under repair"


Moochie1911's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Hole #1 is under repair, holes #7 and. #10 were cart path only. Greens were in good shape, overall good round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course but too far out"


u000006326926's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course but it was always to drive from where we were staying and my GPS got us lost. I wouldn’t play it again because if it’s location but there was nothing wrong with the cpurse at all very nice


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course



u413085411's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


".Pinecrest Bluffton"


EdwardBitondo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A very nice course with some challenging holes as well as wide open fairways.

Great layout, very well landscaped.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course for the money."


uBLGE1201BL's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was is excellent condition except for the first tee box which was under repair. Torrential rains the previous day made for “cart path only” conditions and slower then usual playing times.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Disappointed"


cmaigolf's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course, staff and conditions were good. However, WAY TOO MANY players for one day. It took us 5 hours to get around the course as a twosome. If it weren’t for the great layout and beautiful weather, we would have played 9 holes and called it a day. Recommend you call ahead and find out how busy they are before you commit!!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000002548814's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good experience from the time we entered the parking lot until we left. The course was in good condition for mid October. The greens were fast, the way I like them. Some unique holes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



nfpetersensr's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great day"


PHL's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent greens very very few divot marks the worst thing I hate is a golfer who doesn't fix his divot


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Layout was nice but greens were not cut or and dew was heavy making putting impossible. Must not cut greens on Tuesday. Unfortunately, that ruined the experience for me.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed