TPC San Antonio - AT&T Canyons Course

4.4901764706 4.5 stars from 5 (7)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7106 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 74.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "TOUR Academy TPC San Antonio"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Cibolo 72 7106 yards 74.1 136
Tournament 72 6622 yards 71.9 131
Players 72 6142 yards 69.8 127
Club 72 5609 yards 67.5 120
Club (W) 72 5609 yards 73.7 131
Forward 72 4968 yards 70.4 118

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 5.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 7 Reviews
5 stars:
2
4 stars:
5
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

7 out of 7 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

GreerGolf's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Texas Advisor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Our group played from the Tournament tees 6700 yards 72.3/134. Started at 50 degrees and warmed up to 70 degrees with moderate winds that affected shots. First time for me playing at TPC San Antonio. First impression was great seeing Greg Hiller on the instruction tee. Nice to have a former tour player on staff.

The course appears to play short visually but is definitely longer. The course conditions are good. Playing dry and ball is running. Starter told us greens were 12 to 13 on the stimp. They were fast but played true. The green complexes did show Pete Dye bunkering but green size was a moving target. Some very small, some amazingly large. We played on a Monday so the greenskeeper had most pin placements on ridges. Made for some tricky putts.

The layout ran both sides of a gully (Canyon?) that will filled with live oak, wildlife, and cactus. I lost five balls but found a dozen more. The fairways are wide. A few have narrow openings off the tee. Several doglegs offer big hitters a chance to cut corners for easy scoring. The par 3 holes are all exceptional.

I enjoyed the course immensely. It was mostly empty. We did have two member twosomes play through us and we finished our round in slightly over 4 hours.

I look forward to playing the Oaks on my next visit.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"TPC San Antonio Canyons"


jathames22's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Beautiful course! From the time we got there until we left staff was unbelievable great! Course is great also. Lots of great holes and course conditions were .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"2 rounds - both excellent!"


Lonnie1239174's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played 2 rounds at the Canyons course during my stay at the resort. Booked online and was pleasantly surprised by the twilight rate at 1pm that was not advertised on the site. Played one round as a single, didn't see another person on the course, and did a loop in 2:45. The second round was a planned 5 some, still didn't see anyone else, and got around in 4 hrs. Beautiful condition of everything. Punishing approaches to greens. Would definitely consider playing up a set of tees. Really nice practice facilities, including short game/bunker area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"A must if you come to San Antonio"


tiburonazo's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather

Reviewed on

Lots of pros.

1) Me and my military veteran buddies from out of town received amazing green fee discounts. Greatly appreciate that this course can be affordable for us.

2) The layout is fantastic, a bit more scenic than neighboring TPC Oaks. More elevation changes than its neighbor as well, which makes it a hill country gem.

3) Great facilities, loved the snack/drink shack at the 9th.

4) Pace of play, fastest round I've ever played in the past couple of years. (3.5 hours total)

5) Best resort in the area, nothing tops the JW Hill Country.

The only minor cons

1) greens had been aerated a few days ago, nonetheless putts rolled decently fast and smooth

2) weather in the summer in San Antonio is brutal, nothing can't be done about that though

Bottom line, me and my buds are hoping to return to this course and try out the TPC Oaks over and over and over... Thanks TPC San Antonio for taking care of the military!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great views and fun test"


mr79golf's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Fun "resort-style" course. Not what you'd expect from Dye, but that's not a bad thing. Very fair with room to bail out. Bunkers aren't as deep as most Dye designs. Really enjoyable, fantastic views of the nature preserve and surrounds. Open off the tee, greens protected but not brutal. Great practice facilities but they charge you $16 for them on top of a hefty green fee. Best deal is to the stay and play package for sure (we did not). Great 19th hole at 18 Oaks. Great service there. Blue cheese olives in the martinis finish a great day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"TPC San Antonio - AT&T Canyons Course"


Golfcrazy23's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2015
First time playing

Reviewed on

Pro: This course hosts a tournament for the Senior Tour. The course was a nice Pete Dye design. The tough finishing hole number 18 had a lot of bunkers that made the hole challenging. I played there in a college tournament with some bad weather conditions that made the course tough. Bunkers were in excellent shape.

Cons: The greens were rolling smoothly but there were some Poe Anna grass growing on the Bermuda greens. They looked like weeds but overall the course was in nice shape.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"A dramatic, Hill Country test of Dye"


BrandonTuckerGA's avatar
Golf Advisor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2013
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather

Reviewed on

Rare is it when a Pete Dye course is considered to be the "easier" of two courses at a resort, but the Canyons is just that, sitting next to the famed Oaks Course that hosts the Valero Texas Open. Dye's effort here is a good one, full of elevation changes, water and dramatic shots. Do I like it more than Norman's offering next door? Probably not, since I find the Oaks a little more artistic compared to Dye's more rugged look here. Both courses are certainly different from one another in look and playability, and the JW Marriott here, all 1,001 rooms of it, is a pretty incredible property to stay-and-play at (only members and guests of the resort can play here, making tee sheets generally more open compared to some of this golf town's more accessible courses).


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed