Scotch Hall Preserve

4.9138000000 4.9 stars from 5 (58)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7262 yards
  • Slope: 146
  • Rating: 77.1
  • Layout

  • 1041 Sutton Rd, Merry Hill, NC 27957
  • (877) 847-3727, (252) 482-5300
  • scotchhallpreserve.com
Write a review

Year built: 2009
Architect(s): Arnold Palmer (2009)
Type: Private/Resort
Greens: 50-50 blend of A1 and A4 creeping bentgrass
Fairways: Tifsport Bermuda grass

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7262 yards 77.1 146
Silver 72 6974 yards 75.3 142
Blue 72 6445 yards 72.7 135
Green 72 6073 yards 70.9 132
Green (W) 72 6073 yards 77.4 145
Burgundy 72 5330 yards 67.4 124
Burgundy (W) 72 5330 yards 73.1 130

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 58 Reviews
5 stars:
53
4 stars:
5
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

58 out of 58 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers plays long thick rough  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Excellent Course"


prestonbwell's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very challenging course that has a course rating higher than 77 and a a slope greater than 145 and plays 7,200+yards. It wasn't even that windy but I. The several 450+ par 4s made it challenging to come in to greens guarded by bunkers and water. Hole 17 is an excellent signature hole and good one to finish the day on.

Highly recommended. Played on December 11 and course was still in great shape. I wish they would overseed just to make it look nicer. But the fairways are still in great shape despite them being brown. Bunkers re nicely takes as well. Greens have many undulations too which call for leaving your approaches in the right spot if you want an easy up and down if you miss the green


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Worrh the trip"


SteveVogt's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/08/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Live on the OBX have played all courses within 50 miles. THE BEST!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Amazing course and views"


u1549623951's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is amazing but the best part may have been the food in the shed after #12


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem!"


cbrew82's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had head about this course from a friend. I finally got a chance to play it Friday, and what a pleasure! The staff was great, very friendly and helpful! The course was immaculate. Greens were fast and very receptive. A challenging layout the rewards shot making while not overly punishing an errant shot. Beautiful setting and layout. I will be back again soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"This course makes you think"


Icandoallthings's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course for strategic play or u can get into trouble. Very scenic and a challenge with all the bunkers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course, brutal rough"


u000005471248's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/25/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Bermuda rough was brutal. Our foursome spent an enormous amount of time looking for balls that were hit just off the fairway into what seemed like 4 to 5 inch rough. The balls dropped out of sight.

But we all agreed the course was as good as ever. Beautiful layout.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"The king"


albatross89's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Poor weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The best course I ever played among Palmer courses.There is nothing to complaint.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/25/2016

Thank you for your review.


"Magnificent Golf Course"


Shaun1342406's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/28/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

I drive a hour and half from Chesapeake, VA to Scotch hall Preserve and I must say was the best golf course I've ever played on.

First of all when you arrive, you check in and a cart attendant brings a cart to your car and loads up your bags. Top notch southern hospitality. Finding your way around the course is a little wierd but once you figure it out its fine. They moved the pro shop away from the 1,9,10,18 splits. It's a hike to number 1 but your driving in a very nice cart with built in gps so no worries.

From 1 to 18 tee box to green it is pure beauty. I've never played a course with well manicured tee boxes. The fairways are plush green carpet. The rough is exactly that, it's rough. You will be awarded for finding fairways. You will be greatly penalized for finding rough. Most of the cart paths ride right along bushes and high grass. There's no bouncing off cart paths and finding grass to hit a second shot. HIT STRAIGHT SHOTS!!!! There's nothing bad to say about this course.

There's a cooler on your cart filled with water. Every par 3 has a huge cooler filled with ice and water for you to drink. The carts have a very nice touch screen gps system that tracks each shot, where you are and even slows you down to 10 mph on bridges. Make sure you follow cart path signs. If not gps will tell you and slow you down to 7mph. Touch screen even has a scorecard function that automatically comes up after you leave each green.

If you looking for a great deal and a beautiful course with magnificent views then Scotch Hall Preserve should be your next outing. Thank you Scotch Hall for a great golf day I fully plan on returning.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course, what's up with the pro shop?"


river18's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

We played yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful piece of land and beautiful course.Good course layout, fair but tough. Greens were not in good shape at all. Now the new pro shop. Why put the pro shop a half a mile from the first tee? We took our cart on a long trip to the first tee only to turn back around to make the long trip back to get a bag of range balls.

Very inconvenient.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"This course has great features"


ltwjr's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course is always kept nice...traps wash after heavy rains but that's expected...with all the big nice bunkers there...great golf tee to green...Staff are wonderful to deal with...best deal for the money that I played....


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Course, but very difficult"


GolfFlaJim's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

The Pro's: Excellent condition; great layout; water view holes are fantastic; fairways like carpet, staff is very friendly: special mention to Lori ,who booked our reservation and upgraded us to a villa; Terri, who runs the bar/restaurant and Chad, who provides the cart & loads up the bags. They made us feel like family. Our villa was amazing. 3 bedrooms, each w/full bath, kitchen, living room, dining area, fireplace, HD TV's, nice patio. Would be great for 2-3 couples travelling together.

The Con's: My wife & I are in our late 60's and we play a lot of golf. The men's forward tees at our club measure 5500-5600 yards. The men's forward tees at Scotch Hall measure 6073 yards. Hole #10 is 375 yards, straight uphill. The ladies tees measure 5330 vs 4650 at our home course. Just way too long for us and, probably, the retired crowd in general. Also, the rough is US Open style. Very long and difficult to even find your ball. I lost a ball 10 feet off the green!! Between us, we lost 7 balls in the rough. We loved the course, the facilities and the staff but, we probably won't be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/25/2016

Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family.

Our course is challenging but fair. We have the forward tees rated for Men at 5330.

The rough will be tamed for next year! Please come back.


"Best Course in Eastern NC"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/09/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Very challenging but fair.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great condition, they are redoing all the bunkers."


bikeva's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We will go back! loved the plush fairways and

generous greens


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"big t"


bigtom's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course. Really tough with heavy grass next to fairway. Everyone you met was very friendly. Just a long travel to 1st tee and grill and long ride back to clubhouse. Not set up well


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"I'll be back."


MrHooks's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Was my 2nd trip to the course. I had just played it the previous Saturday. Both times I experienced great hospitality, great conditions, and an all around good atmosphere. This course has easily found it's way into my personal favorite top 10 and it's definitely not number 10. I strongly recommend this course if you value great conditions, a great layout, and an enjoyable round of golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Challenging Course"


Chris2871926's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Every time I play this course I fall more in love with it. The only negative about the place is the club house is about half mile from the 1st tee.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"nice course"


Allenb99's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

beautiful course,good layout , right on Albemarle Sound a hugh body of water, good breeze, brent grass greens, great views along the way, just hard to get to but Ill play it again


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Location of the New Pro Shop"


ngotarheels's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/19/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

While chatting with one of the staff members I learned the new Pro Shop had been open only about three weeks. The course is great and the new Pro Shop is very nice. I found the location of the new Pro Shop, though, to be very inconvenient considering that it's located a half of mile or more from the first hole. When we mad the turn after nine holes we had a long ride to the Pro Shop to get refreshments. When the Pro Shop was located near the first hole and the ninth hole it was more convenient.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/20/2016

Thank you for your comments. We are working at options to alleviate your concerns.


"Good all around."


ge65's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging course, friendly/ helpfull staff, look forward to my next round here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth the trip."


vapeters's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Only issue was finding a nice Place to eat dinner.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/02/2016

Thank you for your great review. We now have our clubhouse open with The Shed Bar & Eatery. Come back and check out our new facility.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed