Bowes Creek Country Club

4.5603647059 4.6 stars from 5 (308)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6917 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 73.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Bowes Creek Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6917 yards 73.2 142
Blue 71 6569 yards 71.5 138
White 71 6120 yards 69.3 133
White (W) 71 6120 yards 74.7 135
Red (W) 71 5626 yards 71.5 128
Gold (W) 71 5029 yards 68.1 121

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 308 Reviews
5 stars:
200
4 stars:
90
3 stars:
11
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

296 out of 307 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views locals   Challenges include bunkers forced carries elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great layout and green compexes"


Michael9865945's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Bowes creek is just fun to play, The layout can be as challenging as you want to make it with 5 sets of tees. The bunkering reminds me of Scotland with many smaller bunkers instead of one large number. Lots of visual challenges with water and highly grown natural wet lands but not overly done. The green complexes are very challenging with undulations, green within green pin positions, and the put quickly even on the day I was there which was the morning after significant rain the day before. In fact the entire course handled the drainage very well. The staff a service is at a quality country club level. A must play!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem"


u350804208's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My girlfriend and I had not played the course since we played 36 holes a few years ago.

We had an awesome day!

We recommend having lunch in the clubhouse after your round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



bingoboy7229's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



mikecote's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"A Bow to Bowes!!!"


michaelh56's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of my top public course choices in the entire metro Chicago area. Fair to all skill levels off the tee with a premium on shot making for approach shots to challenging green complexes. No redundancy in the course layout. A new challenge every time you step on a tee box. Fun and surprising elevation changes on the back nine!

The only negative is they frown on single players and penalize them with non discounted fees.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



carl7214020's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course is in top condition"


Thomped123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I usually play this course once or twice a season since it opened and feel the course is in the best condition I've ever seen. Greens were rolling true, fairways and traps were immaculate and the staff was friendly and courteous.

Disappointed in the food afterwards though....eh, I'm more concerned about the golf then the food but the review questions asked so I had to say something........FORE!!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Very nice layout"


u600949713's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in great condition except greens on 1&2 very beat up. Don't let the poorly maintained Driving Range fool you.... the overall course conditions were very good. Sand traps are neglected but that seems to be a theme on most public courses nowadays. Play the back tees and you will have more than you bargained for. Championship layout !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great place!"


Giuseppe2085499's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love this place especially if you get one of their deals!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



golf4funofit's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



lenshea1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Liked the course. 133 slope from the white tees shows how tough it is. Good design and conditions. Significant elevation changes which is unusual for the Chicago area. Winds were blowing 15-20 mph which made the course even more challenging. The group in front of us were slow but the Rangers got on their case and they played the back nine at a better pace. This is one of the few courses I've played where the Rangers unforced a pace of play. I compliment them for that.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"August 17"


jonswrkout2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played this course at least twice a summer the last 4 years. It's a great layout but must say the greens ruined the day. Over 50% appear to have little to no root system thus leaving ball marks everywhere. A 10 ft chip left a mark that could be expected if fro 40 or more yards. It appears nobody follows the rule of fix your mark and one more. I accept the fact we had prior nite rains but good greens don't do this. Look forward to trying again but most likely won't be till next year


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 08/25/2017:

We appreciate your feedback. We agree in that everyone should do their part to fix their ball marks. We hope you give us another shot soon.

"great layout, lots of acreage, bent fairways"


Tom4781006's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I like that the course is so big, and has elevated tees on several holes, tough but fair track, a little on the pricey side unless you're playing twilight but it's worth it! Has a country club feel with the free range balls.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 08/25/2017:

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the course layout and found value in the course. Come play again soon!

"Challenging Course"


u7354149's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This was the first time I golfed this course. I definitely recommend this course and will play it again. The course is fair but challenging. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The only drawback was the pace of play. We started as a 2-some and caught the 2-some in front of us, so we combined into a 4-some. The round took about 4.5 hours. Notwithstanding, I definitely will be back again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"I will play again"


karthdog1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I actually think I was expecting too much when I went to BOWES CREEK. I was expecting everything to be in country club condition and everything pretty much perfect. That is my fault. I felt the greens could have been in better shape, and really that's the main thing. The fairways and all the rest was like most good public g.c. not the softest c.c condition. I will definitely want to play it again. I have found other courses this season that I do prefer more. but its certainly worth playing. As I mentioned I truly think I was expecting a bit too much because of the rating and the option to have a membership.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 08/25/2017:

We appreciate your feedback. We are gld you found the course worth playing and coming back to. We look forward to your next round.


Matt6700225's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course and amenities were in great shape. Range and restaurant/bar give it a private country club feel. Fairways and greens were in excellent condition. Only complaint was a terrible pace of play. Had a 3:30 tee time on a Sunday, were on track to finish around 7/730 until the back nine. No rangers out to speed up players, hopefully can get this figured out and I will definitely be back to play again!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wonderful course"


Garrett4793911's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a day. Rain held off for us thankfully and it turned into a beautiful evening of golf. The pace was fantastic for the amount of groups out in front of us, we were a twosome behind a few foursomes, we took our time but were rarely waiting to hit. It was a challenging course that made you think about your shots, and hot critical bunker placement that collected errant shots.My buddy had a few nice shots out of the bunkers and fescue grass around them. I managed to stay out of them for the day. Greens rolled well for the most part, but some had quite a few ball marks. Golf etiquette people, super simple stuff. The tee boxes could have used a little TLC as well. But overall was a great course in good condition, really fun and interesting layout.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 08/25/2017:

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an overall fun round. We are also glad you enjoyed the challenge the course has to offer.

"Great course"


u000003929597's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always a great time at a beautiful track. Course is in exceptional shape greens rolling true and fast. Love playing here. Brought 2 newbies and they couldn't believe it was such a fabulous course


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 08/06/2017:

We are glad you and your friends had a wonderful time at Bowes Creek Country Club!

"Tough but great!"


Shane3295481's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I'd heard so much about this course on TV and via GolfNow. We found a hot deal for $49 and it was worth every penny.

I played terribly but I'd definitely come back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 07/31/2017:

We are glad you decided to give Bowes Creek Country Club a try after hearing so much about it! We are also glad you found value in the golf course. We look forward to your next round soon!

"Slow day"


choman's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately, I took a wrong day to play on this beautiful course. There was Golfweek Amateur Tournament in front of us and boy they were slow. No ranger to speed them along. One of 4 some decided to leave after 9 holes because it was so slow. We went past 5 hour round. They took sweet old time including visit to a halfway house.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 08/25/2017:

We are sorry to hear you did not have as great of a round as expected. We also apologize for the slow pace of play. We hope you give us another shot soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed