Bowes Creek Country Club

4.5455000000 4.5 stars from 5 (264)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6917 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 73.2
  • Layout

  • 1250 Bowes Creek Rd , Elgin, IL 60124, Kane County
  • (847) 214-5880, (847) 468-1852
  • (847) 931-5951
  • bowescreekcountryclub.com
Write a review

Year built: 2009
Architect(s): Rick Jacobson (2009)
Type: Public

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Bowes Creek Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6917 yards 73.2 142
Blue 71 6569 yards 71.5 138
White 71 6120 yards 69.3 133
White (W) 71 6120 yards 74.7 135
Red (W) 71 5626 yards 71.5 128
Gold (W) 71 5029 yards 68.1 121

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 264 Reviews
5 stars:
169
4 stars:
79
3 stars:
10
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

252 out of 263 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views locals   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great track"


u000005645327's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First round in 2017 was a lot of fun played in 3 hours and really enjoyed the course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"LINKS/PRAIRIE STYLE"


pleaseletmein's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

great PLACE TO GOLF IN FALL- HARDLY NO LEAVES AND TREES. THE COURSE WAS EXCELLENT AND FAIRWAYS VERY GENEROUS.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging course"


Farmandgolf's avatar
Age:  25-34

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Nice course with good elevations. Friendly staff. Will come back absolutely.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good Challenging Test At Bowes Creek"


gkrandel's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played late in the season. Weather felt like fall in Ireland. Front Nine had many interesting holes with a variety of challenges including water, elevations, elevated bunkered greens. Fairways wider that they looked. Back nine was much shorter and required a little more precision. All greens were challenging and you really need to be below the hole as the speed will make it difficult to stop at certain locations. Areas around the perimeter of the greens looked very worn( not sure that is the case all the time). Staff were all professional and friendly. Definitely worth a visit and I will go back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Just a great day"


Mavroc's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2016
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Can't say enough about this course, had a wonderful time


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great greens running around 12"


uTDZP7630TD's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great difference elevations.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great price and in great condition"


u000007302132's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in great condition. Plush fairways and tough greens. It's in better condition than some private courses in the area. Highly recommend for a fun and challenging round of golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Top Public Course for the money in Western Chicago Suburbs"


kbmac2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always in great shape. Very challenging but fair course. Elevation changes on back nine are very unique to the area. Love this course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Awesome"


baseballman17's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I will definatly be back!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Sister course is nicer"


Michael7532183's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Bowes Creek is a nice course but its sister course The Highlands is much nicer for the money. Front nine is ho-hum, back more scenic and requires more accurate shots. The member for a day is a nice concept but for what they charge they should have Rangers on the course. A twosome held up our threesome all day and the foresome in front of them was never seen after the 3rd hole. While our round only took 4 1/2 hours we could have played in 4 easily with a ranger moving play along.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great layout and green compexes"


Michael9865945's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Bowes creek is just fun to play, The layout can be as challenging as you want to make it with 5 sets of tees. The bunkering reminds me of Scotland with many smaller bunkers instead of one large number. Lots of visual challenges with water and highly grown natural wet lands but not overly done. The green complexes are very challenging with undulations, green within green pin positions, and the put quickly even on the day I was there which was the morning after significant rain the day before. In fact the entire course handled the drainage very well. The staff a service is at a quality country club level. A must play!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"One of the best"


cobbletron's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Beautiful course, fun and challenging.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Always a Challenge"


ptphd1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Bowes is 1 of our top 5 favorite courses in the area. Great lay out, challenging and just fun to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Awesome course"


u000004363170's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, excellent staff and amenities


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"What a great course"


richyrich1516's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Played the blue tees and had a good time. Usually every course has a few beautiful holes but have to say this course has 18. Loved the course and the greens. Stay on the fairway and you will love it. My cousin went into the bunker and it was not pretty. I told him he should of brought a back hoe to get it out. I love this course. My handicap is an 8.


I recommend this course


"One of the nicest courses in Western Suburbs"


u000004766517's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Absolutely great course in impeccable condition, friendly staff and great pace of play. The range and practice facility are amazing. The only shortcoming is the food either from the grill or the clubhouse. While the clubhouse has on occasion in the past had very good food, it seems to have gone down. This last time it seemed thery were not upto their task and seemed like the management is slacking off.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Don't miss playing this course!"


Larry6421008's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greeted by friendly, helpful staff at bag drop followed by excellent practice facilities.

Each hole had character and good scenery.

Greens were at least 11 or 12 Stimpmeter and rolled true to your read.

Will play again soon even though it's an hour + drive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Target golf"


Shorty1995's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Awesome experience for my first at Bowes Creek. I was able to catch a great deal on Golfnow. I would not recommend this course for high handicap players especially at regular rates. The tract is great with lots of strategically placed bunkers. The weather was mid 70's and we played in 4 hrs. The amenities include , Range balls , gps, and chipping area. Aesthetically pleasing with lots of elevation changes on the back nine. Lastly try and stay below the cup


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Round"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our foursome had a terrific round and great day of golf!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Always a pleasure to play"


TheOldThug's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of my favorite courses to play. Greens were at end of being aerated but still were excellent to putt. I really can't say enough good things about this course, had a super deal from Golf-now.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed