Santa Clara Golf & Tennis Club

3.2050823529 3.2 stars from 5 (192)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6704 yards
  • Slope: 118
  • Rating: 72.4
  • Layout


Year built: 1987
Architect(s): Robert Muir Graves
Type: Public
Greens: Bent grass
Fairways: Bent grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6704 yards 72.4 118
Blue 72 6329 yards 70.5 116
White 72 5918 yards 68.5 111
Red (W) 72 5492 yards 70.9 113

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 192 Reviews
5 stars:
10
4 stars:
78
3 stars:
65
2 stars:
25
1 stars:
14

recommend this course

139 out of 191 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions near the airport   Great for locals walkers beginners   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks watching the game brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/07/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/11/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your round and course conditions. I will pass your feedback to both our Superintendent and Golf Shop manager.

We hope to see you again soon and happy holidays.

General Manager



jimontenegro's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/07/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the good review. We are glad you enjoyed the course.

Happy holidays.

General Manager



tenaciousdan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course for the price. But very slow play at times. Good layout and not too tough.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/29/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the positive comments. We are sorry about the pace on the Friday after Thanksgiving. We did have marshals out managing pace. In addition, both golf managers went out to help improve pace.

We will continue to work hard to keep the course moving and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you,

General Manager


"Slowest round ever played"


u695050192's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the slowest round of my life Harv to wait 5 minutes to hihave any shot due to the slow played in front. No course marshal to speed up to let us pass. When I mentioned it to the pro shop had a super rude member of staff who played it on us when it is up to the course to contain sp er of play. What a waste of money playing there.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 11/29/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the positive comments. We are sorry about the pace on the Friday after Thanksgiving. We did have marshals out managing pace. In addition, both golf managers went out to help improve pace.

I apologize for our unprofessional response when you let us know about the pace. I will address it with our staff.

Thank you for the input.

Best,

General Manager


"Never play there again!"


sawman123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Had a 9:45am tee time with golf now. Got email saying that time was no longer available & was rebooked to 10:07. Got to course & they said they had been double booking times. The course was giving out the same times as Golfnow.. So instead of my original 9:45 tee time we ended up not teeing off until almost 10:45 & then it took 5 1/2 hours to finish round!

Secondly their food service is the worst I have experienced at any course in the greater Bay Area. We phoned ahead to order food because they are so ineffectual & slow at the turn. A lot that helped, after they told us the food would be ready, they didn't even have our order & knew nothing of it. We had to forgo food to keep our turn at the 10th tee!

So 5 1/2 hour round, hungry & thirsty on top it...NO THANKS...there's lot's of better choices then this poorly run establishment!!!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 11/21/2017

Thank you for the feedback. Please let me apologize for your poor experience.

We did not intentionally double-book tee times. It appears that a technical error between GolfNow's and our systems caused the problem. Unfortunately, we did not realize there was an issue until guest arrived. We apologize and if you will contact me directly at santaclaragm@americangolf.com, I will work with you to ensure you have a great experience next time you play.

Regarding the food, it is run by David's Restaurant and Banquet company, It is completely separate from the golf course and not under our management. I will, however, forward your concerns to David's management.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you will contact me so we can ensure you have a great experience next time.

Best,

General Manager


"Horrible Starter"


ncybmh99's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This review is only about the starter/staff, not the course.

Arrived at the course around 6:30AM. Got the cart and drove towards the driving range area. Suddenly a very rude voice yelling out from behind: "HEY!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING!!! YOU CAN'T DRIVE CART OVER THERE!!!".

"Oh, I am sorry. I don't know that." I answered and turned around as quickly as I could.

"DON'T YOU SEE THAT SIGN", the rude guy (starter) continued yelling. "Sorry I didn't see it", I felt guilty. I really didn't know that because it was the second time to me to play here.

"WHICH GROUP ARE YOU WITH?" The tone sounded like to check if I had the authority to be here. "My tee-time is 6:52AM", I tried to be calm.

"I AM ASKING YOUR NAME, NOT THE TIME. YOUR NAME!!!"

"MY NAME IS XXXXX!!!" I was totally burned and yelled it back. Everyone around could hear my voice too.

Speechless. I wish I am the only one having such a horrible experience at a golf course, before the tee-off.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 11/21/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback. Please accept my apology for the way you were treated. I will speak directly with the starter about how he handled the situation.

It is not possible to match your screen name with the tee time so if you will contact me at santaclaragm@americangolf.com, I would be pleased to make arrangements for you to have a great experience at Santa Clara.

Thank you again for your feedback and I apologize again for your poor experience.

Best,

General Manager



u000004181925's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/21/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the positive review.

Best,

General Manager


"SC Perfect Weather"


gnhhuey's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Generally good condition, greens pretty gud shape. Though tee areas, fairways can be tough on the golf cart. great value this week.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/07/2017

Thank you for the review. We will keep working on the bumpy ride.

We are very pleased you had a good round, the greens were in good shape and you thought the course was a good value.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

General Manager


"Good value for your $$$"


chin9829467's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Originally I heard golfers were staying away from playing at Santa Clara Golf and Tennis Club but I do not agree with previous reviews. The staff management have turned this course around over the last 12 months with strategic pricing and maintenance of the overall course.

There is definitely more play than ever by at least henceforth. No doubt the word is getting around. Probably for my selfish reasons my review may bring more golfers on board. If it brings more play and pop to the course let it be. It deserves the attention that its currently acquiring.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/29/2017

Hi,

We are pleased you have been having a great experience playing Santa Clara. And thank you for your positive review. We have been working hard to improve conditions so it's nice to hear that our golfers are seeing and experiencing those improvement.

Thank you again and hope to see you and your friends back out playing and practicing soon.

Best, General Manager


"There is a flag out there."


lance9691's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Having never played course the the starter said stay left on the par 5. I hit right and could not see the flag. After playing this course you may feel better , but I hit so many blind shots. Course has many gopher holes and an ankle twist is to be avoided. Greens are small and well maintained, the fairways are crab grass and ball roll is minimum. Course was not busy and round was about 4 hours. Good value but course cart paths and course could use some attention.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/29/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your round and felt the course was a good value.

We will continue addressing the gopher issue. It is an on-going item that we attend to daily. We also will continue working on the other items you mentioned.

Once again, thank you for the review and glad you had fun.

Best, General Manager


"Good place to practice a nice round of golf"


Jose8am's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I hope you give more maintenance as this golf course would improve a lot and more costumers would come back more often. I like this place.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/28/2017

Hi,

We are happy you enjoy the course and appreciate your feedback.

We will continue to work on conditions to improve the experience for all our golfers. If you have specific areas we can address, please drop the golf shop and ask for either the Assistant GM or the GM. We would be happy to talk with you directly.

Best,

General Manager


"This course is an outstanding value"


nomoreslice's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course twice over the weekend. First on Saturday. I liked it so much, I went back on Sunday. The conditions are excellent, everything from the tee boxes, fairways, rough and greens. I was especially pleased with the greens - they are not beat up at all, and they are challenging (pin placement and undulating). Also, the fairways are well maintained, no muddy spots. Also, it was not crowded at all (played late afternoon). It can get a bit windy in the late afternoon, but it was not bad when we were there. Great views of the surrounding hills outside the valley, and 49er stadium right there on the south side. I'm an intermediate player, trying to advance my game, so I don't want a short/par 3 course, but I also don't want a harder course such as Cinnabar Hills. I think for the money and proximity in the South Bay, you can't go wrong with Santa Clara Muni.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/28/2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic support. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience on Saturday and that you chose to repeat it on Sunday!

I will pass along your comments to both our Superintendent and our Asst. GM.

Best,

General Manager


"Unbearable Pace"


Johnny4129579's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

5+ hours to play 18 holes....with a cart! Enough said. There needs to be a Marshall out there telling people to move it along because that is truly ridiculous. Kills the entire rhythm of your game and makes it impossible to get into any kind of groove. This is a shame because the course is actually pretty nice and the rates are reasonable (for the Bay Area anyway). Won't be coming back, lots of other courses to choose from in the area that don't make you feel the need to write a bad review.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 09/22/2017

Hi,

We are so sorry you had a long round. No excuses and we have made some changes to ensure we have on-course marshals monitoring and managing the pace.

I apologize for the long round and we are taking the feedback seriously and working to fix the issue.

Regards, General Manager


"Fairways need to be cut"


dq42golflife's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The course is shaped very nicely for its location. The price to play here is a bang for your buck as it offers views of Levi's Stadium and the South Bay. However, the fairways should be larger in width but the rough has grown way too much. I think by simply mowing the fairway would entice longer hitters like myself to go for it more. Either way this course, I will definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/22/2017

HI,

Thanks for the feedback. I will review the conditions with the Superintendent and see about widening the fairways and trimming back the rough.

We have been aggressively fertilizing to ensure the turf is in good shape was we move into winter and may have gotten a bit too heavy with it.

Thank you for the feedback.

Regards,

General Manager


"Good course, but beware of potholes on all cart paths"


u455543569's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pretty fun course. Greens are in reasonable shape, fairways okay as well. Tee boxes pretty beat up and cart paths are full of ruts, potholes and other crud. Not fun to drive if you have any lower back concerns. No snack bar.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/30/2017

Thank you for your comments and am glad you had fun.

We agree the cart paths need work and are filling holes to smooth out the ride. I reviewed the course with the Super last week but will take another look at the tee boxes.

The restaurant is operated by a separate company and I will share your sanck bar comment with them.

Thank you for the compliment on the greens.

Best, General Manager


"Good corse. Nice people"


brad30097's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had a really nice round of golf at Santa Clara golf and tennis club. I thought the course laid out fair and I thought the greens were in great condition overall a great experience


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/27/2017

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your round. We too are very happy with the condition of the greens. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

General Manager


"Worst course I've played"


u58477425's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Maybe it's because the course will be torn down soon so they don't care about taking care of it, but that had to be the worst course conditions I've ever played. Tee boxes and fairways were atrocious, surprisingly the greens were well kept though. Even the cart paths were extremely uneven and bumpy. Do better.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 08/27/2017

I am sorry you did not think course conditions met your expectations. Despite the rumors, there are no plans to tear down the property, and we have been pleased with the improving turf conditions. In addition, we are working on the cart paths.

Thank you for the compliment on the greens. I hope you play again soon and see how conditions continue to improving.

Best,

General Manager



u000004761828's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/20/2017

Thank you for the feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards, General Manager


"slow as mollases"


jamnguy1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

even on a weekday, it was slow play. i jumped a couple of holes because there were empty holes between many players, but that's really no way to enjoy golf. came back to club house after 1 hour and called it a day and the check in guy asked me when my tee time was and i told him an hour ago because it was slow and his response was "I'm not concerned how slow the pace is" so I guess this was the norm here. Well, I guess it was wishful thinking for weekday golf.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 08/10/2017

Hi,

I am sorry you had a poor experience at our course. We work hard to ensure a fast pace and we track the pace through-out the day. Clearly, we didn't do a good job when you played. Also, I will talk with the staff member to improve his customer service skills. We did not handle your concern properly and I apologize for that.

Please contact the golf shop, 408.980.9515, and ask to speak with the General Manager. I would like to have you play again and have a great experience.

Best regards,

General Manager




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/10/2017

Thank you for your rating. We are pleased you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon Regards, General Manager


Commented on 08/10/2017

Thank you for the rating. We are pleased you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon Regards, General Manager



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed