Santa Clara Golf & Tennis Club

3.2002941176 3.2 stars from 5 (174)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6704 yards
  • Slope: 118
  • Rating: 72.4
  • Layout

  • 5155 Stars and Stripes Dr, Santa Clara, California 95054,
  • (408) 980-9515
  • (408) 980-0479
  • www.santaclara.americangolf.com

Year built: 1987
Architect(s): Robert Muir Graves
Type: Public
Greens: Bent grass
Fairways: Bent grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6704 yards 72.4 118
Blue 72 6329 yards 70.5 116
White 72 5918 yards 68.5 111
Red (W) 72 5492 yards 70.9 113

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 174 Reviews
5 stars:
9
4 stars:
69
3 stars:
61
2 stars:
23
1 stars:
12

recommend this course

126 out of 173 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions near the airport   Great for locals walkers beginners   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks watching the game brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"slow as mollases"


jamnguy1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

even on a weekday, it was slow play. i jumped a couple of holes because there were empty holes between many players, but that's really no way to enjoy golf. came back to club house after 1 hour and called it a day and the check in guy asked me when my tee time was and i told him an hour ago because it was slow and his response was "I'm not concerned how slow the pace is" so I guess this was the norm here. Well, I guess it was wishful thinking for weekday golf.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 08/10/2017

Hi,

I am sorry you had a poor experience at our course. We work hard to ensure a fast pace and we track the pace through-out the day. Clearly, we didn't do a good job when you played. Also, I will talk with the staff member to improve his customer service skills. We did not handle your concern properly and I apologize for that.

Please contact the golf shop, 408.980.9515, and ask to speak with the General Manager. I would like to have you play again and have a great experience.

Best regards,

General Manager




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/10/2017

Thank you for your rating. We are pleased you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon Regards, General Manager


Commented on 08/10/2017

Thank you for the rating. We are pleased you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon Regards, General Manager



jhmwen's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/10/2017

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon Regards, General Manager


"Great summer condition"


pdxniu's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/26/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

First time playing here this summer, the course is in much better condition than a few months ago when we had a lot of rain. Green is in great condition, smooth and rolls well.

I had my personal best score today, definitely recommended.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/30/2017

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon.

Congratulations on your personal best score !

Regards,

General Manager




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/30/2017

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon

Regards,

General Manager


"golf course in a good zip code"


dharmarajan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Knowing the course layout would certainly help, for a first timer. If you are paired with a local, that would certainly be the best. The first few holes were testy because my playing partner (a local walk on) was non-communicative. He warmed up later on and gave me pointers on ball placement and course management. Pace of play was far from desirable on this Thursday early afternoon. It appeared that they sent out golfers on the fly. Course conditions were a little suspect, especially around the fringes of the greens and fairways. Tall grass and all. Overall, a decent course to prowl.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/30/2017

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your round.

I will pass along your observations about course conditions to our Superintendent.

Sorry for a bit of slow play. Our junior golfers were out in front of you and while we monitor them closely, they sometimes lose a bit of focus.

We hope to see you again soon and please ask for a yardage book to help with course management.

Regards,

General Manager


"Course Is Run Down"


Christophe5490606's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Other than the greens, which I would say were in pretty good condition, the rest of the course was not well maintained. If it wasn't for the pace of play (I played 18 in 3:20) and the price, I would have been disappointed. Unless you're in a hurry, I would not recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 06/01/2017

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard on improving conditions and it would be helpful to learn your specific concerns. If you would please email me at santaclaragm@americangolf.com, I would appreciate it. Or, please call at 408.980.9515 and ask for the General Manager and we can discuss what you is in need of attention.

Thank you in advance for your input.

Best regards,

General Manager



u365405599's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great staff but course is in under a lot of repairs. I'm sure once it is done with repairs it be a great course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/28/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback. The construction you mentioned will be completed the last week of May.

Please come back in June and see the improvements.

Thank you.


"Good value/ good pace"


Jerrod9768636's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For a muni course, not a pushover. A couple par 4s are long and hard, especially if there is a bit of wind. Greens are not terribly easy, but most often play straighter than appear to the eyes. A good course to walk. For this area $40 was a great weekday value (Tues 9:00AM tee off) and didn't have to eat up the whole day, as we were able to tee off each hole without waiting and got dine in just under 4 hrs walking.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/18/2017

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your round and played in less than 4 hours.

We hope to see you again soon

General Manager


"Course is neglected"


igaudet's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really sad, this course used to be fun, but it's obvious it's being let go to seed due to the impending future plans for the money. It felt like the greens keeping staff is a volunteer effort. Price was low, but you get what you pay for. Spend the money to play somewhere that's actually in golf shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 06/01/2017

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry you think the course is being neglected as that is not our intent. The property is open with no plans to close.

If you would please email me at santaclaragm@americangolf.com with your concerns, I would appreciate it. It always is helpful to have guests' perspectives on where/what we need to improve. If you would prefer, please call me at 408.980.9515 and ask for the General Manager.

Looking forward to receiving your input.

Best regards,

General Manager


Commented on 05/18/2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed the conditions were not up to expectations. We have made significant progress recovering from the wet winter and think you will be pleased the next time you play.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns.

General Manager


"Golfnow + $5.00 key return...."


ahsales06's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I haven't played this course in a long time and it was in great shape after all the rain. My main concern was that, I booked on Golfnow to play $63.99 and the course charged me an additional $5.00 which I got back in after the round returning they key. I just think if you book on Golfnow, that should include the $5.00 key return.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/27/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback and glad you enjoyed the course.

The key deposit is a policy at our course and as such, isn't included in the GolfNow rate. As you mentioned, it is a deposit only and is returned at the end of your round. It is for safety reasons we ask you to bring the key back into the shop. I realize it can be an annoyance but it is done to prevent all the junior golfers and tennis players from jumping into a cart with a key and having an accident.

I appreciate your and all our golfer's help to ensure we keep our young guests safe.

Best,



dennis7359012's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/27/2017

Hi Dennis,

Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard to improve course conditions after a wet and cold winter into spring. Please play again soon to see our improvements.

Best regards,


"GREENS"


michael3839775's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

THE GREENS ARE HORRIBLE , NEVER THE SAME EVERY HOLE ROLES DIFFERENT.SLOW FAST BUMPY ECT.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/27/2017

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about the uneven pace of the greens. Due to the unusually wet and cold spring, our greens took longer than anticipated to recover.

I hope you will come back soon and see what a difference sun and warmth have made.

Best,


"Great Course To Play, Was Alot Of Fun"


u000005863898's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Tried this course out for the first time, it was fun and defiantly a good time. Was wet in some spots along with goose droppings, but was not a big deal at all. The course layout was nice with fairly good size greens. The only downside was the greens were recently aerated a week or two ago so our ball during putting was bouncing around. We spoke to the pro shop about it, the lady at the front desk was very nice and compensated us for money off on our next round. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Overall this is a great course and layout, I will refer my fellow golfers, and defiantly be visiting again for another round. Big Thanks to Santa Clara Muni!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/27/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the course and are planning to come back soon!

We have been drying out from the wet (did I mention really wet?) winter/spring and the geese have moved on. Our greens have come back nicely with sun and warm weather and are rolling well.

You are confident you will be pleased with course conditions for your next round.

Best,


"Fun course , nice people"


jeanne7386100's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Only issue was that the greens were aerated but otherwise it's a great course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Slow Play"


nelsonpw's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

4 hours - 15 holes. Quit out of frustration with the pace.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/27/2017

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for your slow play. We try to manage our pace to complete a round in 4:00 to 4:30 hours. We will continue to monitor the pace and keep everyone moving.

If at any time you have an issue during your round, please contact the golf shop for assistance.

Best,


"Aerated greens"


u103067221's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Recently aerated greens make this course unplayable. The greens were full of holes and covered in sand. Once putting your ball would take crazy bounces and turns due to the punched greens. I should have been notified prior to booking this round. I regret wasting my Sunday round of golf at this course. Also the pace of play is extremely slow as you run into beginner golfers getting down on all fours to read puts.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/27/2017

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback about the greens. I apologize you were not informed of conditions prior to play. We had posted discounted rates on GolfNow due to the work on the greens.

If you have an issue during your round such as with pace of play, please call the golf shop and we will be happy to assist you.

Thank you again for your input as we are always working to improve our service.

Best,



Sails's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

Thank you for the feedback.


"unplayable greens"


AllenFinch's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course provided no advanced notice that greens had been aerated. Due to he amount of sand used, the greens were completely unusable. But they still charge full price. Profit before honesty - not the way a game of integrity like golf should be run


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

HI Mr. Finch,

Thank you for your feedback about the greens. I apologize you were not informed of conditions prior to play. We had posted discounted rates on GolfNow due to the work on the greens. According to our records, it appears you received a 30% discount for a savings of $16 on your green fee/cart fee.

Thank you again for your input as we are always working to improve our service.



seanwri's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

Thank you for your feedback.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed