Santa Clara Golf & Tennis Club

3.2378000000 3.2 stars from 5 (164)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6704 yards
  • Slope: 118
  • Rating: 72.4
  • Layout

  • 5155 Stars and Stripes Dr, Santa Clara, California 95054,
  • (408) 980-9515
  • (408) 980-0479
  • www.santaclara.americangolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1987
Architect(s): Robert Muir Graves
Type: Public
Greens: Bent grass
Fairways: Bent grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6704 yards 72.4 118
Blue 72 6329 yards 70.5 116
White 72 5918 yards 68.5 111
Red (W) 72 5492 yards 70.9 113

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 3.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 164 Reviews
5 stars:
9
4 stars:
66
3 stars:
56
2 stars:
21
1 stars:
12

recommend this course

120 out of 163 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions near the airport   Great for locals walkers beginners   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks watching the game brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Golfnow + $5.00 key return...."


ahsales06's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I haven't played this course in a long time and it was in great shape after all the rain. My main concern was that, I booked on Golfnow to play $63.99 and the course charged me an additional $5.00 which I got back in after the round returning they key. I just think if you book on Golfnow, that should include the $5.00 key return.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



dennis7359012's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"GREENS"


michael3839775's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

THE GREENS ARE HORRIBLE , NEVER THE SAME EVERY HOLE ROLES DIFFERENT.SLOW FAST BUMPY ECT.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Great Course To Play, Was Alot Of Fun"


u000005863898's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Tried this course out for the first time, it was fun and defiantly a good time. Was wet in some spots along with goose droppings, but was not a big deal at all. The course layout was nice with fairly good size greens. The only downside was the greens were recently aerated a week or two ago so our ball during putting was bouncing around. We spoke to the pro shop about it, the lady at the front desk was very nice and compensated us for money off on our next round. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Overall this is a great course and layout, I will refer my fellow golfers, and defiantly be visiting again for another round. Big Thanks to Santa Clara Muni!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Fun course , nice people"


jeanne7386100's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Only issue was that the greens were aerated but otherwise it's a great course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Slow Play"


nelsonpw's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

4 hours - 15 holes. Quit out of frustration with the pace.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Aerated greens"


u103067221's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Recently aerated greens make this course unplayable. The greens were full of holes and covered in sand. Once putting your ball would take crazy bounces and turns due to the punched greens. I should have been notified prior to booking this round. I regret wasting my Sunday round of golf at this course. Also the pace of play is extremely slow as you run into beginner golfers getting down on all fours to read puts.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



Sails's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

Thank you for the feedback.


"unplayable greens"


AllenFinch's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course provided no advanced notice that greens had been aerated. Due to he amount of sand used, the greens were completely unusable. But they still charge full price. Profit before honesty - not the way a game of integrity like golf should be run


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

HI Mr. Finch,

Thank you for your feedback about the greens. I apologize you were not informed of conditions prior to play. We had posted discounted rates on GolfNow due to the work on the greens. According to our records, it appears you received a 30% discount for a savings of $16 on your green fee/cart fee.

Thank you again for your input as we are always working to improve our service.



seanwri's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

Thank you for your feedback.


"Early Round"


finch4120's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course needs a bit of work but it is early March after the storms so the tree branches and soggy parts were expected. This is a good easy track to go work on your game at. In the summer it get over $60 a round which is a bit much and not good value but $30-$40 for this is perfect.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your understanding as we have been working hard to provide good conditions during significant weather challenges. We think you will find the course in good shape now that the wind and rain have eased.

Thank you again for your input.



brkraft's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

We apologize you did not have a good experience when you played. We will investigate the pace of play issue and work to correct it.

If you would like to contact David's restaurant for any concerns, they can be reached at 408.986.1666. The restaurant is managed by a separate company from the golf course.

Thank you again for your input.


"Opening season"


chin9829467's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After two months of over 60 inches of rain , the course was actually in decent condition. It turned out it holds water well. Of course you had to avoid muddy areas. I enjoyed playing the round today.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your understanding as we have been working hard to provide good conditions during significant weather challenges. Think you will find the course in very good shape now that the wind and rain have eased.

Thank you again for your input.


"Bad conditions and expensive"


u5050881's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Is the worst golf course ever play ptretry bad conditions fairways greens Hight grass,horrible for the price and there's is a constructions witch make even worts


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

We apologize that you did not have a good experience when you played. We agree course conditions were below average due to the tremendous volume of rain we had received in the week prior to you playing. We did try to inform guests about playing conditions and will work harder on our communication. We apologize that you did not enjoy your round and hope you come back now that the rain has eased and conditions are good.


"Go play it!!"


driverny's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Interesting course . Friendliest staff I've enouuntered. Gotta go back


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

Thank you for the feedback and the recommendation to play our course.

Hope to see you again soon.



jojofri1960's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 03/27/2017

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to improve in all areas for your next round.


"Good course"


minhnguyenhung's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love to play this course. Not a hard course.

Will come back and play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good fun course"


u000006638339's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/22/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in good condition,we had a great day it was not that busy so we were not pushed along.l will be back to play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"49ers New Mall 2017"


Jeff3291222's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Sad to say this course which is a great play is going to be gone next year for stupid football. I've played this course 100 times at least and its always a fun challenge. If you have the chance do play this course before its gone!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


usgajim's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course for the money accessible and relatively easy, bunkers could use a little TLC though too hard !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed