Ocean Resorts Golf Club

3.4629411765 3.5 stars from 5 (171)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6505 yards
  • Slope: 122
  • Rating: 69.3
  • Layout

  • 10655 Cathell Rd, Berlin, Maryland 21811, Worcester County
  • (410) 641-5643
  • (410) 641-7531
  • oceanresortsgolfclub.com

Year built: 2001
Type: Resort
Greens: Bent
Fairways: Bent
Golf Season: Seasonal

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: No
Golf school / academy: No

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6505 yards 69.3 122
White 72 5689 yards 67.4 113
Green 72 5093 yards 66.8 110
Red 72 4564 yards 65.7 107

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 171 Reviews
5 stars:
27
4 stars:
84
3 stars:
33
2 stars:
21
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

144 out of 171 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include water hazards narrow fairways bunkers   Great for drinks 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great course to practice your game for the money."


Book1073489's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fast paced and a great value. Beats hitting a random bucket of balls.will certainly go back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"great course, anazing staff"


c1carroll's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played here several times, and each time I've had an encounter with some of the grounds crew (who do an amazing job on a small budget), and they're always super friendly. Course is reasonably challenging with some narrow treed fairways and water hazards, though most greens are not heavily bunkered. Tee boxes need some attention, but for late season, not totally unexpected. Will definitely return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Ocean Resort"


jcollinspyramid's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got a great deal on golf now. The course is fun to play i usually play several times a year when the rates drop.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 11/17/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are glad to see that your round was at a great value for you, and we hope you continue to enjoy playing our golf course. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we hope you will see improvements in the course conditions for your next round with us. Thank you for recommending our course, in the Berlin area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Good Times!"


octaylorb's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always a fun little course for the price! Conditions weren't great but the weather hasnt been great either, but still lots of fun!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



rich1048's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



holly2's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always try and play your course when we are down in the O C area.

The layout is challenging from the tips, always a breeze to add to playing , greens were great,

Fairways a little rough ,. But I enjoyed my round .

Great value


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



davedean's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



jimwhidden's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/30/2017:

Hello Jim, thank you for reviewing our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club in the Washington D.C. area, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we hope this improved your experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Courses"


u208022575's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It has narrow fairways and on some holes have to play target golf. Good layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/26/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, and for the 3 stars. We appreciate your feedback regarding the course layout and are glad to hear you had a challenging round. It looks like the course conditions may not have been in the best shape on your day of play, so we hope you will see improvements during your next round. Thank you for choosing to golf with us in the Washington D.C. area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Very friendly course"


u604125003's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee box good condition, fairways some spotty spots, greens in great shape. We had a foursome, after the round and before everyone said they loved the course and wanted to play again. Great job everyone!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000006597606's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Book1073489's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice affordable course with friendly people allows for practicing all the shots.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/20/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are happy that you enjoyed the friendly people and staff on site along with the value that you received for the price. Thank you for recommending our course in the Berlin, MD area and we hope to see you back again with us soon!

"Disappointing"


neenie's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We play Ocean Resorts often, so we generally know not to expect a top-tier golfing experience. However, we’ve found it to be a good place to practice and work out some kinks. This time we had a hot deal combined with some Golf Now rewards, so we paid about $25 for two. That would have been a great rate except that the course was in terrible shape. In addition to the poor conditions, we saw at least two groups of five playing together on the same hole. Things backed up, but there was no marshall in sight. We gave up after nine holes, turning our great deal into a so-so one.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/19/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, in the Berlin area. We are sorry to hear that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and that you did not have a smooth round due to the poor pace of play. Your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff, so we hope that improved your experience. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope you choose to work on your game with us again soon.

"Don’t waste your time"


jokers13's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Should have been told they were top dressing greens before the round- so much sand that your entire ball and putter were covered. Course has a few interesting holes but for the most part not that exciting. Tee boxes and some fairways were in need of some work. Much better options in the area


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/13/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We apologize for the course conditions not being their best that day and appreciate the feedback so we can make the best improvements. We can see that you did hopefully enjoy the pace of play and friendly staff, so we are excited about that. Thank you for playing with us and we hope to earn your business back again soon.

"Plesantly surprized"


Frank729's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Ocean Resorts for the first time this year because of the value. Was pleasantly surprised that the course over all was in decent shape especially for the money. Played in the past and seems to be hit or miss with course conditions. Greens were sanded but rolled great. Tee boxes on some holes not in best of shape but a minor issue. The fairways for the most part were good with some bad areas but much better than in the past where it was the other way around. Hope the course keeps it up and I plan to play again even for a little more.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/13/2017:

Hi Frank, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are glad to see that the course layout was great and that while the conditions were not the best, had been improved upon since the last time you played with us. Thank you for recommending our course in the Berlin, MD area and we hope to see you again soon!

"Nice day for golf"


dekesheller's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Fairways had been aerated but greens in good condition. Food service will be closing soon and was limited but good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Slow.."


Lou7362994's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

So slow, we left after nine holes. No ranger to keep pace going. We had a twosome and two foursomes in front of us. Would not go back.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 09/26/2017:

Hello Lou, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We apologize that you did not have a smooth round due to the poor pace of play. Your feedback is appreciated so that we know where improvements can be made. We hope that you enjoyed the course conditions and the layout. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to earn your business again soon.


u000002146516's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are in great shape.

Fairways had been recently aerated and they were a bit chewed up.

a lot of un.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good Value"


u000007175264's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I like the layout of this course; it's a bit old school with trees and water but fun...the fairways are a bit beat up but the greens are in good shape. I paid $13 hot deal that included cart , an excellent value. The meatball sub and draft beer at the turn were excellent.

I would just as soon play here for the money than $100 for ocean city courses.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Layout but Terrible Conditions"


johnlee48's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has a nice layout but it is swampy. The fairways were in poor shape as were most of the greens. Also, the yardage choices are 6500 for blue tees but only 5600 for white. Needs something in the 6K range. It's a course to pka in a pinch but hardly worth $60.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 09/18/2017:

Hello John, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear that the course may have been a little wet when you played and that the fairways and greens were in poor shape. Your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that you enjoyed the course layout, so we hope that made your round a little better. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to earn your business again soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed