Ocean Resorts Golf Club

3.4416294118 3.4 stars from 5 (157)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6505 yards
  • Slope: 122
  • Rating: 69.3
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 10655 Cathell Rd, Berlin, Maryland 21811, Worcester County
  • (410) 641-5643
  • (410) 641-7531
  • oceanresortsgolfclub.com

Year built: 2001
Type: Resort
Greens: Bent
Fairways: Bent
Golf Season: Seasonal

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: No
Golf school / academy: No

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6505 yards 69.3 122
White 72 5689 yards 67.4 113
Green 72 5093 yards 66.8 110
Red 72 4564 yards 65.7 107

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 157 Reviews
5 stars:
25
4 stars:
76
3 stars:
29
2 stars:
21
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

130 out of 157 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include water hazards narrow fairways bunkers   Great for drinks 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Disappointing"


neenie's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We play Ocean Resorts often, so we generally know not to expect a top-tier golfing experience. However, we’ve found it to be a good place to practice and work out some kinks. This time we had a hot deal combined with some Golf Now rewards, so we paid about $25 for two. That would have been a great rate except that the course was in terrible shape. In addition to the poor conditions, we saw at least two groups of five playing together on the same hole. Things backed up, but there was no marshall in sight. We gave up after nine holes, turning our great deal into a so-so one.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/19/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, in the Berlin area. We are sorry to hear that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and that you did not have a smooth round due to the poor pace of play. Your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff, so we hope that improved your experience. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope you choose to work on your game with us again soon.

"Don’t waste your time"


jokers13's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Should have been told they were top dressing greens before the round- so much sand that your entire ball and putter were covered. Course has a few interesting holes but for the most part not that exciting. Tee boxes and some fairways were in need of some work. Much better options in the area


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/13/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We apologize for the course conditions not being their best that day and appreciate the feedback so we can make the best improvements. We can see that you did hopefully enjoy the pace of play and friendly staff, so we are excited about that. Thank you for playing with us and we hope to earn your business back again soon.

"Plesantly surprized"


Frank729's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Ocean Resorts for the first time this year because of the value. Was pleasantly surprised that the course over all was in decent shape especially for the money. Played in the past and seems to be hit or miss with course conditions. Greens were sanded but rolled great. Tee boxes on some holes not in best of shape but a minor issue. The fairways for the most part were good with some bad areas but much better than in the past where it was the other way around. Hope the course keeps it up and I plan to play again even for a little more.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/13/2017:

Hi Frank, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are glad to see that the course layout was great and that while the conditions were not the best, had been improved upon since the last time you played with us. Thank you for recommending our course in the Berlin, MD area and we hope to see you again soon!

"Nice day for golf"


dekesheller's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Fairways had been aerated but greens in good condition. Food service will be closing soon and was limited but good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Slow.."


Lou7362994's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

So slow, we left after nine holes. No ranger to keep pace going. We had a twosome and two foursomes in front of us. Would not go back.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 09/26/2017:

Hello Lou, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We apologize that you did not have a smooth round due to the poor pace of play. Your feedback is appreciated so that we know where improvements can be made. We hope that you enjoyed the course conditions and the layout. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to earn your business again soon.


u000002146516's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are in great shape.

Fairways had been recently aerated and they were a bit chewed up.

a lot of un.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good Value"


u000007175264's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I like the layout of this course; it's a bit old school with trees and water but fun...the fairways are a bit beat up but the greens are in good shape. I paid $13 hot deal that included cart , an excellent value. The meatball sub and draft beer at the turn were excellent.

I would just as soon play here for the money than $100 for ocean city courses.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Layout but Terrible Conditions"


johnlee48's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has a nice layout but it is swampy. The fairways were in poor shape as were most of the greens. Also, the yardage choices are 6500 for blue tees but only 5600 for white. Needs something in the 6K range. It's a course to pka in a pinch but hardly worth $60.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 09/18/2017:

Hello John, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear that the course may have been a little wet when you played and that the fairways and greens were in poor shape. Your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that you enjoyed the course layout, so we hope that made your round a little better. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to earn your business again soon.


jjstabers's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Several greens and even more tee boxes are in tough shape


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 09/05/2017:

Hello John, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that some of the greens and tee boxes may not have been in the best shape when you played, but we hope you enjoyed the layout of the course. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for choosing our golf course, in the Berlin area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"aerated not posted"


uGNFV3041GN's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

for the money it was fine. the greens were unputtable


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 08/30/2017:

Hello John, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that the greens may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It sounds like your round was a great value for you and we are glad to see that you had a friendly experience with our staff. Thank you for golfing with us, in the Washington DC area, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Bad fairways"


u000007783680's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have player this course for many years usually once or twice a year. It was so so before WorWic CC took it over. We really thought that when Wor Wic took it over the course would get better. It has gotten worse. The fairways are in terrible condition. We will never play there again!!! You should pay us to play the course!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 08/30/2017:

Hello Clare, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. Your loyalty over the past couple of years is valued and we hope you will see an improvement for your next round with us. Thank you for playing our course and we hope to earn your business again soon.


Jeff3794011's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good after a rainy day"


captnard's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was on vacation in Ocean City and decided to try this course after reading some reviews online. The reviews were right about the manager being a friendly guy! I believe his name is Evan. There had been quite a bit of rain the day prior to us playing. However, the course was in far better shape than I had expected, since the ground crew had spent the morning preparing the course. Nobody was allowed to tee off until 11 with a shotgun starting format. That was a wise decision. We enjoyed playing this course and will go back when in Ocean City again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Staff is friendly and did a great job getting course playable!"


Roger9458896's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my second time playing here ... course had gotten 4-inches of rain the night before but the staff did an amazing job getting the course playable !! The course layout is nice ... a great value!! The pro shop staff and grounds crew are friendly!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



None's avatar

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 08/30/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience playing our golf course and we would like to hear any additional feedback on where improvements can be made. It looks like you had a smooth round and had a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to see you again soon.

"Played it for the first time"


RGacek's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways and tees were rough. Greens were less than 10 on a stempmeter. Got it for a hot deal price, but wouldn't have been too happy if paying full price. It is what it is.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 09/17/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that course may not have been in the best shape when you played, specifically the fairways and rough. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It looks like you enjoyed the course layout and had a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for playing our course, in the Washington DC area, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Great Day at Ocean Resorts"


OZTPATH's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My son and I drove from Bethany Beach, DE to play here. The drive was about 30 min. When we arrived we were greeted by Evan, a very very friendly Pro Shop Manager. He fully explained the course. It was a lovely course, mid-range in expense but certainly challenging. I would play here again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice suprise"


bb635's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways were a little bare in a few spots,however the greens were excellent,

Overall we had a great time and will be back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"fun little course"


bucklewbob's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is nice. It's not long and in average condition for a public course. Greens are very good and not to tough.My pace of play was under 3 hours, of course that can change if you get a slow group ahead of you. It's good option in place of the big name courses in Ocean City sporting high greens fees. Take your savings and have a nice dinner with the family. The holes are not to hard with a couple exceptions. A good drive or well placed tee shot will leave you with a short iron to the green. A couple holes are target golf. A couple holes are wide open. I f you play well you should come in couple strokes under your average. I will keep it in my mix when visiting Ocean City.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Needs work"


uVHJL8149VH's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Greens are great. Nice layout. Love shot makers courses. Fairways & tee boxes need work. Great staff. 19th hole fine. Hoping next year the fairways will be much, much better. A lot of competition in this area and this course has great potential to make money.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ocean Resorts Golf Club on 10/11/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ocean Resorts Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that the fairways may not have been in the best shape when you played, but we are glad you still enjoyed the greens. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will see an improvement for your next round with us. It sounds like you had a great experience with our staff and that you enjoyed the course layout, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for choosing our course, in the Washington DC area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed