Oak Hollow Golf Course

3.5739000000 3.6 stars from 5 (176)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6736 yards
  • Slope: 121
  • Rating: 72.1
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 3005 N McDonald St, McKinney, Texas 75071, Collin County
  • (972) 562-0670
  • (972) 542-1770
  • www.oakhollowgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1998
Architect(s): Maury Miller
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6736 yards 72.1 121
White 70 6211 yards 69.2 118
Red (W) 70 5147 yards 68.8 115

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 176 Reviews
5 stars:
24
4 stars:
82
3 stars:
48
2 stars:
15
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

140 out of 175 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals beginners seniors   Challenges include water hazards forced carries narrow fairways   Great for drinks patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Greens succumbed over the past winter"


MJNoel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What was once a course with some of the best greens anywhere has now become unplayable. Something happened to these greens over the winter because just a few months ago they were not too bad. Now every one of them seems to have been attacked by some sort of fungus or really bad grass killing bug. These greens are pretty much unplayable now.

The photo attached is one of the greens that is in good condition.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 05/23/2017:

Hi Michael, we're sorry course conditions were not up to par. We appreciate your feedback and we are working on making improvements. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course, we hope you give us another shot in the future.

"Course conditions"



2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were the worst I have ever seen. Spray painted, mess. Large hosese laying on several holes, and most cups were failing over. Ok for under 30 but not worth a dollar more


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 05/17/2017:

Hello, we apologize you did not fully enjoy your round. We appreciate your feedback and we are working on improving our course conditions. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course, we hope you give us another chance in the future.

"The Hollow"


u697747603's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course, a challenging layout, friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 05/17/2017:

Hello Luis, we're happy you enjoyed our challenging layout and friendly staff. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"Times and Seasons"


u7607031's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Be warned playing ANY public courses around this time of year (late spring) as fairways and greens tend to be in less-than-ideal conditions. (dry, brown, fast -> greens especially) We lost a few balls that wouldn't have been lost at other courses due to this. Course can be challenging to navigate, so make sure you cross-check your scorecard with the hole marker so you don't play the wrong hole. Other than that, pretty smooth play! Excited to play it when the grounds are in better shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 05/15/2017:

Hi Michael, we're sorry course conditions were not up to par. We appreciate your feedback and are working on making improvements. We're happy you enjoyed a quick pace of play and plan to return to play. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"thrid time"


JLONGFELLOW's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the 3rd time i have played there and wonder why the pace of play is always so slow waited at every tee box, the fairways were ok but the greens need help bad kind of looks like they were painted wont hold a shot and very bumpy running a lawn mower over the tees could also help, but at least this time they did not run out of hot dogs or hamburgers like last time at 1.30 in the afternoon. it is a fun course to play but i could live without having to deal with that hole 8 where did they come up with that one


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 05/10/2017:

Hello John, we apologize you did not fully enjoy your round. We appreciate your feedback and we are working on making improvements. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course.



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played there with 13 year son on Sunday afternoon because all other couses were sold out.

The weather was perfect, expected the slow play, but it was beyond slow course.

The condition of green was horrible. Too many bold spot. Worse than tee box of some other courses in Plano.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 05/09/2017:

Hi Sokjoo, we apologize you did not fully enjoy your round. We are working on improving course conditions. We hope you give us another shot in the future. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"Where are the greens?"


u145352766's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Don't know what happened to the greens, but they are in terrible shape. They have been this way for at least a month now. They do not hold a shot into the green and then putting is at times like working through a maze to get to the hole. Only worth the $12-$15 on GolfNow, but the normal rate in the mid to upper $20's depending on the time and day of the week.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 05/01/2017:

Hi Kenneth, we're sorry you did not fully enjoy your round. We are working on improving the condition of our greens and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"Horrible!"


Summer2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course looks like a pasture, fairways are horrible greens even worse. Some mowing and weed killer would be a big plus. Folks don't waste your money . Pace was so slow because everyone was looking for their balls in the weed infested fairways.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 04/25/2017:

Hello Scott, we're sorry course conditions and pace of play was not up to par. We're happy you enjoyed our course layout and hope you give us another chance in the future. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"Needs Work"


ncwell2111's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens in bad shape as well as most of the fairways. With the course in this condition now, I can only think it'll get worse as the summer gets closer. We'll skip it the rest of this year and maybe try it again next spring.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 04/21/2017:

Hi Nolan, we appreciate your feedback and we are working on improving the conditions of our greens. We hope you give us another shot, thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"Greens in really bad shape. They should us to play there!"


Darrell9241275's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The pace of play was horrible. The greens were pretty much unplayable. I didn't see a marshal at all. The cart cut across the fairways and served people in the middle of a fairway and slowed play for everyone behind them. I won't be going back. A friend suggested we play because it was cheap. I rather pay more money for a better over experience.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 04/21/2017:

Hello Darrell, we apologize pace of play was not up to par when you played at our course. We hope you give us another shot in the future.

"Good course, horrible greens."


nlmoody13's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I like the value of the course and most everything is great except the greens. They were in horrible shape. Very sandy and no grass in a lot of sections. Some of the worst greens I've ever played on.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 04/11/2017:

Hi Nathan, we apologize for the poor shape of our greens, and we will escalate your feedback to the necessary department. We're happy you enjoyed our layout. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"Greens are very bad"


spolk41's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play Oak Hollow a lot and really like the course and staff. They recently cut the greens too low and they have little to no grass. Not sure how long it will be before they grow back.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 04/10/2017:

Hello Stan, we apologize for our poor course conditions and we will escalate your feedback to make improvements. We're happy you're a frequent golfer at Oak Hollow Golf Course and we hope to see you again soon.


u717895881's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Challenging course. The grass was aweful.

Lots of dirt and the greens were bare


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Oak Hollow Golf Course on 04/07/2017:

Hi Sochoung, we're sorry for the poor course conditions and we will escalate your feedback to make the necessary improvements. We're happy to see you enjoyed our challenging layout and a good pace of play. Thank you for playing Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"Disappointed"


Dennis3209197's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Maybe it's because I used to live in Florida; but I hated these greens. They were partially dead; short cut; painted type of greens. SMDH. The conditions left little control putting. Some tee boxes need repair. I would suggest they upgrade there flag markers; some looking shady. On the upside; it's a nicely laid out course. Some good challenges. Good average practice course. This was my first visit. I played a hot deal price; which made it reasonably priced. Was it worth my hour drive to the course; maybe. Hope with the warmer weather approaching the course improves.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Course Response on 03/29/2017:

Hi Dennis, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. While we are still making up from this winter, our course will always be a different experience than those in Florida. With the warm spring weather, we will see much better conditions, and we hope that you will consider visiting us again.

"GEM IN NORTH TEXAS"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had to find a spot out of my normal places i play,do yo being in th far north dallas aera i tried oak hollow

I was very glad to play here and i will be back it was in good shape for march andfun tp play with great staff

for the price it is well worth the hour drive to get to

john


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Course Response on 03/29/2017:

Thank you for your review John! We're glad you got to play here, too, and look forward to your next trip to Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"Stacked up"


u023667759's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Will not return to this course. Course was over booked. I notified the martial of the extremely slow play - backed up 4 holes. He did nothing. Then upon turning to the back nine, they put 2 golfers on ahead of us. So all 4 of us quit. Front desk was notified. Poor management.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Course Response on 03/29/2017:

We apologize that the pace of play was not up to par during your visit to the course. We ensure that this is not a typical playing experience, and hope you will reconsider coming to give us another try.

"Fun level of Challenge"


aaronshields's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really enjoy this course because it is moderately challenging and somewhat forgiving. I get bored with courses where every par 4/5 you pull up to the tee box, automatically grab the Driver and just blast off. I like a course that makes you strategize a little bit, and this is one of them - for a great value too. I used just about every club in my bag, and that makes for fun golf.

When you do have a mishit, it's not so heavily wooded or brushy that you can't find your ball. In fact, you're likely still in a position to recover on your next shot fairly well.

Good luck on #8; no shame in playing the other fairway, haha!

I played in late March and the course had already greened up beautifully. Just a couple of isolated bare spots on maybe 2 green perimeters, but it's early spring, they'll fill in quick.

Did I mention it's a great value? I'll be back soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Course Response on 03/29/2017:

Thank you for your outstanding, FIVE STAR review, Aaron! We appreciate all of your kind words about Oak Hollow Golf Course, and look forward to having you out for many rounds this year!

"Perfect day for golf"


u000004959680's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were fast and fairways are hard. Get lots of roll.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Course Response on 03/29/2017:

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Oak Hollow Golf Course!

"Good time!!"


u100669669's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

Had a great time! Trying to find a course that has challenges as well as mediocre obstacles! Greens in great shape, but early for good full growth to mature. Greens putted like linoleum floor with no texture or character. Later on in spring they will putt better. Still enjoyed myself immensely and will continue play with no second-thoughts.


I recommend this course


Course Response on 03/29/2017:

Thank you for your review! We're glad you all had a good time at Oak Hollow Golf Course, and look forward to your next visit!

"Worth Playing"


u000001806087's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Your first impression may be to think that this is an old course that has seen its better days. I love playing this course. There are 3 or 4 holes on the back 9 nine that always get the best of me. Especially a short par 4 that has gotten the best of me every time I play it. For the price it is well worth playing. It has been windy each time I have played it. It is a course that has become one of my favorites.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Course Response on 02/28/2017:

We're glad you consider us one of our favorites and appreciate your recommendation! Thank you for your review!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed