El Dorado at Quail Valley Golf Course

4.0845000000 4.1 stars from 5 (71)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6931 yards
  • Slope: 140
  • Rating: 74.3
  • Layout

  • 2880 La Quinta Dr, Missouri City, Texas 77459, Fort Bend County
  • (281) 403-5910, (281) 403-5900
  • (281) 403-5908
  • www.golfquailvalley.com
Write a review

Year built: 1970
Architect(s): Jack Miller, Jay Rivere, Jeffery D. Blume (2009)
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Men: Must wear collared shirts. Tee shirts and tank tops are not allowed. Women: Must wear blouses with a collar or sleeves. Tee shirts and tank tops are not allowed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6931 yards 74.3 140
Blue 71 6552 yards 72.5 136
White 71 6146 yards 70.9 130
White 71 6116 yards 70.1 124
Gold 71 5685 yards 69.2 125
Gold (W) 71 5685 yards 73.5 134
Red (W) 71 5100 yards 71.0 121

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 71 Reviews
5 stars:
26
4 stars:
32
3 stars:
8
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

63 out of 71 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good condition, great layout"


bak63's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed my round on the El Dorado course very much. Teed off around 2pm on Friday and was done by 6. This course is very challenging, but the views are spectacular and make for an exciting round. A few bunkers were in rough shape, but otherwise the greens and fairways were in very good condition. I will be back again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Very nice in SW houston"


Dhsallee's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

All good. Nice course in good shape. Only areas of recommended improvement are the driving range, which is small and overused so probably need mats. Secondly, quite a few of the sand traps appear to have some drainage issues. Although not holding water, indications of mud vs sand. This could also be due to recent heavy rain.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Pretty good"


u000002344671's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Sand was packed from rain. Good layout. Greens were slow and had some rough patches


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000003212635's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/17/2017

Great to have you for a first visit. Hope to have you back and make it 5 stars. Thank you.



fireman96's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course very tight and the food was great after the round


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/10/2017

Many thanks and glad you were able to enjoy The Bluebonnet Grille afterward.



Cory7640316's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/10/2017

Thank you Cory!


"Vary satisfied with the experience"


qling's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I got hot deal at El Dorado at Quail Valley Golf Course. Nice course and perfect weather. Very satisfied with the golf outing through Golfnow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/10/2017

Boom! Five stars! Thank you and hope to have you back.


"Slowest Play I ever encountered"


tcookthekid's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After such slow groups in front of us, without being able to play through, and over four [4] hours, to hole #13, our group of 3 decided to go around the group in front of us, and just not play that hole. The Marshal had already been by twice, but no help. There was a complete empty hole between that foursome and the next. But looking ahead of the next foursome, we found that every hole was very backed up, with as many as 8 carts at some of the tee box areas. We had no choice but to just head in, as it might have taken us 6 or 7 hours to complete our round. We passed the Marshal again on the way in. When I asked about the slow play, he indicated that it was likely due to all the groups of 5 playing. Nobody we spoke to was happy with the situation. Ridiculous ! !


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/08/2017

We apologize for the slow play on such a beautiful weather weekend. Everyone and their extended family came out! We hope the staff in the golf shop made it right. If not, please call the facility and ask for management. Otherwise, we hope to have yo back out again. The courses are in excellent shape.


"Bob"


mahoneygolfer100's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Our round of golf started with a sarcastically friendly Starter named Bob. He was able to get us out on the course a little before our tee time and explained the history of the two courses as well as some other information that was helpful latter in our round.

The greens were in great shape and fast. I love putting on TRUE greens and El Dorado had them.

Over all I give this corse 5 stars. From the first tee to the great Cobb salad after my round everything about Quail Vally was "Top Notch".


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/08/2017

Thank you very much, and we're thrilled you appreciated the personality our staff brings to the experience.


"I don't play often"


clevrier's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I don't play golf often but I have played a few courses. This course was beautiful. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and the staff was friendly. Definitely will be coming back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/02/2017

Thank you very much and we hope to have you back more often!


"Good Course, Horrible Scheduling"


claytonsiegerist's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course was in alright condition. Greens were hard and rough around the edges. Fairways about normal. The layout is challenging with lots of water and a good amount of sand.

My group and I got booked right before a tournament and were rushed and nagged the entire time by marshalls and players. We came to find out that the tournament was rushing because another tournament was scheduled to play immediately after the first one! We finished our round well under 4 hours, forced to play hurry up golf. But we couldn't relax or enjoy ourselves due to the constant nagging of staff and "regulars". I would not recommend this course. At the very least make sure you're not playing before any tournaments...


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/27/2017

We apologize that our staff and other golfers made you feel rushed. Not sure why you were slotted between two events on a busy weekend, but if you have time, please call us. We'd like the opportunity to make it right. Our goal is to help everyone have fun and enjoy themselves here.


"Challenging and fun course"


u2671340's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time on this course. Although it rained earlier in the week, the course was mostly dry. It started out cart path only, but as conditions allowed for 90 rule, the marshalls drove around and informed us we could drive off cart path. Tee boxes were a bit small, but everything else was in real good condition. A LOT of water, traps, and trees.... but fun


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/21/2017

Glad to have you all the way from Florida! Thank you and hope to have you back.



u531210880's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2017

Many thanks!



Janet4771869's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2017

Five stars... thank you Janet!


"The long wait!"


ReubenUSMC's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice people, nice course but they let 5 somes on the course and do not control the pace of play. We walked away after nine holes - we were at the 2:30 mark on the tee box at #9!!! Extremely frustrating!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/04/2017

Hi Reubun. We apologize for the slower play. We had an extremely full weekend due to a number of circumstances. Our staff should have provided you with a return check for 9 holes. If not, please contact us.


"Avoid on Friday's!"


u000006272390's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I visited Quail Valley to play the El Dorado course in preparation for a golf tournament on Sat. My tee time was 12:32 and what I learned (after booking) was that they have a men's group that tees of at noon on Friday's. The problem is that they play in 5soms! This was a big mistake because it was so slow that I was only able to play 4 holes before I gave up. Those 4 holes took almost 1.5 hours. My advice: Avoid this course on Fridays unless you are going to play before noon!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/04/2017

We apologize for the delay last Friday. With the Houston Open going on, the nice weather and an event that afternoon, we had a full house. We do allow fivesomes but work to make sure play moves along. We should have provided you with a return check and hope you make it back from San Antonio. If not, please contact us and we'll help you out.


"Tuesday Golf"


u335609993's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golf course was in good condition. Fun outing during the week.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/30/2017

Solid. Thank you!


Commented on 03/28/2017

Thank you. Our goal is to help everyone have fun here.


Commented on 03/18/2017

Thank you. We're working on going from good to great this Spring.



u000002548172's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/13/2017

Thank you... hope to have you back another time soon.


"Really enjoyed it!"


u623027937's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great time playing this course yesterday afternoon. The course was in great conditions and the staff were friendly. I would definitely recommend to anyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/08/2017

Many thanks and please come out again... give La Quinta a shot too.


"First Time Here"


u1031347's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was my first time on El Dorado. I would recommend it to any golfer wanting a somewhat challenging course. It does have water and lots of sand, both fairway and greenside. I believe it was the site of the 1973 Houston Open.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/24/2017

Thank you... and indeed Quail Valley hosted the Houston Open for a couple years. The routing back then including 9 holes from the La Quinta golf course and 9 holes from the El Dorado golf course.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed