El Dorado at Quail Valley Golf Course

4.1207058824 4.1 stars from 5 (76)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6931 yards
  • Slope: 140
  • Rating: 74.3
  • Layout

  • 2880 La Quinta Dr, Missouri City, Texas 77459, Fort Bend County
  • (281) 403-5910, (281) 403-5900
  • (281) 403-5908
  • www.golfquailvalley.com

Year built: 1970
Architect(s): Jack Miller, Jay Rivere, Jeffery D. Blume (2009)
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Men: Must wear collared shirts. Tee shirts and tank tops are not allowed. Women: Must wear blouses with a collar or sleeves. Tee shirts and tank tops are not allowed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6931 yards 74.3 140
Blue 71 6552 yards 72.5 136
White 71 6146 yards 70.9 130
White 71 6116 yards 70.1 124
Gold 71 5685 yards 69.2 125
Gold (W) 71 5685 yards 73.5 134
Red (W) 71 5100 yards 71.0 121

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 76 Reviews
5 stars:
28
4 stars:
35
3 stars:
8
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

68 out of 76 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u4610886's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/24/2017

Thank you for playing Quail Valley again.



bucksm's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/17/2017

Many thanks. Hope we can earn a 5th star next time.


"Beautiful Course"


Melknows's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Course was in excellent condition from tee to green. The only issue were the tee boxes. The ground on the tee boxes was very hard. Had to use short tees. Only a minor adjustment. Fairways in excellent condition. Sand has been replaced in 90% of sand traps due to Harvey. Greens also in excellent condition. Pace of play was excellent 3hr 45min. I'll be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/13/2017

Thank you Mel. We're in the process of converting those 10% of washed out bunkers into grass bunkers, so all should be good on your next visit. See you soon again.


"Friday morning"


Charles9922234's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Even with sand top dressing still a guide course fir the money. Sand traps need work after heavy rain. Staff excellent.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/15/2017

Thank you very much Charles. The summer rains may have provided us with great grass this years but were they were tough on the bunkers. We're constantly touching them up, so we look forward to having you back out.



adesiyannnnnn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/12/2017

Thank you! See you next time.


"Good condition, great layout"


bak63's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed my round on the El Dorado course very much. Teed off around 2pm on Friday and was done by 6. This course is very challenging, but the views are spectacular and make for an exciting round. A few bunkers were in rough shape, but otherwise the greens and fairways were in very good condition. I will be back again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/12/2017

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back! We hear you on the bunkers.


"Very nice in SW houston"


Dhsallee's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

All good. Nice course in good shape. Only areas of recommended improvement are the driving range, which is small and overused so probably need mats. Secondly, quite a few of the sand traps appear to have some drainage issues. Although not holding water, indications of mud vs sand. This could also be due to recent heavy rain.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/12/2017

Appreciate the feedback. We are actually getting ready to do some significant work on the range, so we hope to have you back to earn that 5th star. Thank you.


"Pretty good"


u000002344671's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Sand was packed from rain. Good layout. Greens were slow and had some rough patches


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/12/2017

Thank you. The heavy rains this year have been tough again but we'll keep at it.



u000003212635's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/17/2017

Great to have you for a first visit. Hope to have you back and make it 5 stars. Thank you.



fireman96's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course very tight and the food was great after the round


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/10/2017

Many thanks and glad you were able to enjoy The Bluebonnet Grille afterward.



Cory7640316's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/10/2017

Thank you Cory!


"Vary satisfied with the experience"


qling's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I got hot deal at El Dorado at Quail Valley Golf Course. Nice course and perfect weather. Very satisfied with the golf outing through Golfnow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/10/2017

Boom! Five stars! Thank you and hope to have you back.


"Slowest Play I ever encountered"


tcookthekid's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After such slow groups in front of us, without being able to play through, and over four [4] hours, to hole #13, our group of 3 decided to go around the group in front of us, and just not play that hole. The Marshal had already been by twice, but no help. There was a complete empty hole between that foursome and the next. But looking ahead of the next foursome, we found that every hole was very backed up, with as many as 8 carts at some of the tee box areas. We had no choice but to just head in, as it might have taken us 6 or 7 hours to complete our round. We passed the Marshal again on the way in. When I asked about the slow play, he indicated that it was likely due to all the groups of 5 playing. Nobody we spoke to was happy with the situation. Ridiculous ! !


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/08/2017

We apologize for the slow play on such a beautiful weather weekend. Everyone and their extended family came out! We hope the staff in the golf shop made it right. If not, please call the facility and ask for management. Otherwise, we hope to have yo back out again. The courses are in excellent shape.


"Bob"


mahoneygolfer100's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Our round of golf started with a sarcastically friendly Starter named Bob. He was able to get us out on the course a little before our tee time and explained the history of the two courses as well as some other information that was helpful latter in our round.

The greens were in great shape and fast. I love putting on TRUE greens and El Dorado had them.

Over all I give this corse 5 stars. From the first tee to the great Cobb salad after my round everything about Quail Vally was "Top Notch".


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/08/2017

Thank you very much, and we're thrilled you appreciated the personality our staff brings to the experience.


"I don't play often"


clevrier's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I don't play golf often but I have played a few courses. This course was beautiful. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and the staff was friendly. Definitely will be coming back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/02/2017

Thank you very much and we hope to have you back more often!


"Good Course, Horrible Scheduling"


claytonsiegerist's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course was in alright condition. Greens were hard and rough around the edges. Fairways about normal. The layout is challenging with lots of water and a good amount of sand.

My group and I got booked right before a tournament and were rushed and nagged the entire time by marshalls and players. We came to find out that the tournament was rushing because another tournament was scheduled to play immediately after the first one! We finished our round well under 4 hours, forced to play hurry up golf. But we couldn't relax or enjoy ourselves due to the constant nagging of staff and "regulars". I would not recommend this course. At the very least make sure you're not playing before any tournaments...


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/27/2017

We apologize that our staff and other golfers made you feel rushed. Not sure why you were slotted between two events on a busy weekend, but if you have time, please call us. We'd like the opportunity to make it right. Our goal is to help everyone have fun and enjoy themselves here.


"Challenging and fun course"


u2671340's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time on this course. Although it rained earlier in the week, the course was mostly dry. It started out cart path only, but as conditions allowed for 90 rule, the marshalls drove around and informed us we could drive off cart path. Tee boxes were a bit small, but everything else was in real good condition. A LOT of water, traps, and trees.... but fun


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/21/2017

Glad to have you all the way from Florida! Thank you and hope to have you back.



u531210880's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2017

Many thanks!



Janet4771869's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2017

Five stars... thank you Janet!


"The long wait!"


ReubenUSMC's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice people, nice course but they let 5 somes on the course and do not control the pace of play. We walked away after nine holes - we were at the 2:30 mark on the tee box at #9!!! Extremely frustrating!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/04/2017

Hi Reubun. We apologize for the slower play. We had an extremely full weekend due to a number of circumstances. Our staff should have provided you with a return check for 9 holes. If not, please contact us.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed