La Quinta at Quail Valley Golf Course

3.9322000000 3.9 stars from 5 (59)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6920 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 73.7
  • Layout

  • 2880 La Quinta Dr, Missouri City, Texas 77459, Fort Bend County
  • (281) 403-5910, (281) 403-5900
  • (281) 403-5908
  • www.golfquailvalley.com
Write a review

Year built: 1980
Architect(s): Jack Miller
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Men: Must wear collared shirts. Tee shirts and tank tops are not allowed. Women: Must wear blouses with a collar or sleeves. Tee shirts and tank tops are not allowed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6920 yards 73.7 138
Blue 71 6645 yards 72.5 135
White 71 6239 yards 70.0 131
Gold 71 5682 yards 67.9 117
Gold (W) 72 5682 yards 72.6 132
Red (W) 72 5486 yards 71.5 130

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 59 Reviews
5 stars:
16
4 stars:
29
3 stars:
10
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

53 out of 59 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers playing multiple courses   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

ewilk's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/25/2017

It was a busy weekend. We're keeping an eye on the pace and doing what we can. You've been out here a few times, so we hope to have you back. Please don't hesitate to let us know how we are doing. Thank you!




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2017

Thank you!


"Good course"


fisherm539's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

La Quinta was an excellent course and staff were very friendly. Although we finished in the alotted time, It would have been faster except for a fivesome that was playing in front of us. As several marshals came by, I assumed that this is permissable as long as they keep up with the alotted pace of play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2017

All the way from Tennessee! Thank you and hope to have you back.


"Great Condition"


bevo10's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Great Course for the price. The fairways are in excellent shape and the greens are fast. Definitely coming back.

The food at the restaurant is also really good!!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/06/2017

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back. The Bluebonnet Grille and patio are becoming popular spots!



tcookthekid's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The weather was almost perfect, but extremely windy in anticipation of stormy weather expected in the next day. I played in the early afternoon, in the hottest part of the day, and never saw a beverage cart. There is not a TURN at the ninth beverage area, or vending machine anywhere on the course, only some push button cooler water.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/30/2017

We apologize that the beverage cart wasn't available for you that day. Seems like you enjoyed the course though, so we hope to have you back. Please feel free to ask for management regarding any detail like the beverage cart that needs to be addressed. We should have advised you of that before you started out. There are lots of sports drinks, beer and snacks available for purchase in the golf shop.


"Shot Selection"


STeve7686151's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lots of water comes in play, huge greens, great shape. Be careful of your tee shot on # 15 sand traps come into play. I was told that # 17 was the best, they were correct⛳


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/30/2017

Thank you Steve. I think you you played El Dorado instead of La Quinta. Let's see if we can get Golf Advisor to switch the review.


"Great course"


Jesus8089465's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course twice and i have yet to be disappointed, the fairways are tight and the greens are well maintained.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/28/2017

Thank you very much. Hope to have you back for a third time and more.



ruler's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/28/2017

Thank you.


"Good value for $25!"


u000008223196's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pretty decent track. Nice layout, lots of water. Only disappointment: greens were too slow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/02/2017

Thank you. Indeed, with a classic layout that features smaller greens, we tend to keep La Quinta's greens a little longer. The grain in the Bermuda grass can be tough! Hope to have you back.


"A fun course to play"


elk062's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the first time I played the La Quinta course. The fairways are large and wide greens were nice size as well.

The fairways were in good shape for winter time the rough wasn't too thick.

Green's had good grass on theme but were very slow.

I would play it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/24/2017

Thank you. We look forward to having you back. Give the El Dorado a try sometime too.


"Greens in good shape"


u949236741's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Over all a good experience, for playing the first time I would have liked to see better hole markings and signage.

Plenty of restrooms available and saw the cart girl twice, a little confusing knowing where to check in and where to go, but other than that a good experience!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/20/2017

Thank you and we really appreciate the feedback detail. It helps us to make improvements and adjustments.




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/13/2017

Thank you. Hope to have you back soon.


"Not a 4 star course"


sjc7649's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I played this course with a friend at the end of January 17, I never played it, and booked it on golf now based on the 4 star rating, and reviews, and was very disappointed, with a 5 star the highest you can get, you would think 4 would be just below PGA quality. That's not what we got. The course itself should be a 2 at best. The tee boxes were beat up, they had maintenance going on in the fairway, the greens weren't nice.. I would give 1 of them 3 stars the rest below, and one of the fairways , I think 15 was so bumpy we wish we had 4 wheelers instead of a cart. Oh and also they have power lines blocking your approach on I think 16... we drove 2 hrs to play this course expecting something nice like a moody gardens or the wilderness the real 4 star courses for this area. So bottom line it's more like a 2 star course and we definitely won't be coming back... we're just happy that when we called golf now to complain they did what they could to make things rite


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 02/08/2017

We apologize your experience didn't come together, driving 45 min from League City. Reviews are based on personal metrics, so we do everything we can to help all kinds of guests and their respective expectations enjoy themselves at Quail Valley. It seems like we didn't manage to help your group have fun and enjoy the value… again, for that we apologize. The up and down weather has been tough lately. You mentioned you won’t be back, but we hope you give us a try. We continue to be the best value/experience around the SW side of town.


"Not a 4.5 star course!"


u000007060596's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Me and a friend played the la quinta course and we were very dissapointed. Uneven tee boxes. Extremely bumpy fairways. Greens..... Only 3 holes that i would consider maybe 3 stars. Course maintanence was also being done without notification or signs posted. Like not regular grass cutting maintenance. No sand in the bunkers just hard packed dirt.

There is also a hole that has several powerlines going accross the fairway. No way around it, you have to play over them and they are directly in the way of your approach shot. Driving range was not exactly in tune as well. All in a all a waste of time and money. Nice pictures online and on the website so we thought it would be worth the drive. Its not a 4.5 star course.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Not a 4 star course"


sjc7649's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Beware reviews have beeno trolled... course is a joke


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"not too bad"


pakalz's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

old course shows signs of needed attention, still a good place to play.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/30/2017

It's a classic. Thank you Pakalz. After updating El Dorado a few years ago, La Quinta is queued for an eventual refresh. Thanks again.


"Hidden jewel"


dramatic1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had a great experience, from check in to finish. The course is well maintained and enjoyable. My cart died but I was able to hook up with another single and continue on. May be time for new carts.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/20/2016

Thank you and we appreciate your patience with the cart that lost power.


"Great value"


systemkid5's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Especially if your a beginner. Fairways are generous and greens are in good condition. Parking is awkward being across the street. Great value for you're money


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/26/2016

Thank you for the review. The parking next to the clubhouse can fill up quick in the morning. Hopefully you return to play El Dorado as well. And if you do, please note that we have a bag drop circle you can drive into next to the cart staging area and drop off your bag if you wish.


"Pace of play good"


tzhogan's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the green fee price the course is good. Greens were real bumpy but not bad for the amount of play this course receives.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/09/2016

Glad we are a solid value for you. Given the value aspect, how could we earn another star?


"Customer service"


clsmith68's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I booked my round for four players through GN. We arrived early, checked in, loaded our clubs and preceded to check in with the starter. I give the starter my recite and tell him out tee time.

Then the starter says he will fit us in.

as he began to write our names at the bottom of a waiting list I glanced down and noticed that he scratched through our typed names on the tee time and placed three other players in our place. I said you placed someone else in our tee time

spaced. He said don't worry about it.

Needless to say we had to wait for two additional groups to tee off.

I understand if the course is running behind but I don't understand being placed on a waiting list and watching other groups tee off at your tee time.

If this is the standard what purpose does it serve to book online and pay booking fees


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 08/16/2016

Thank you for the review. We apologize for the miscommunication. Weekends can be stacked and our crew does our best to manage slow starts or weather delays. In this case, it seems our started could have explained the delay-shift a little better. We hope the rest of your round and day was enjoyable. If you have a moment, we'd like to discuss with you. Please call us and ask for management.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed