Earl of Mar Golf Course

3.9790000000 4.0 stars from 5 (11)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6507 yards
  • Layout

  • Bishopton, PA7 5PH, Scotland
  • +44 (0) 141 8129990, +44 (0) 141 8129999
  • www.marhall.com
Write a review

Year built: 2010
Architect(s): Dave Thomas (2010)
Type: Resort
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 6507 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 70 6259 yards 0.0 0
Red 70 5516 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 11 Reviews
5 stars:
4
4 stars:
5
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

9 out of 11 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

t1390408849's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2017
Previously played Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Mar Hall"


t1834062900's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

An excellent test of golf. Course is hard but fair. Great mixture of holes in an stunning setting.

Course was in very good condition. Staff and members/players all very friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Mar Hall review"


t704439870's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Superb course and in great condition, I'll be back in a few weeks!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


u000004179397's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played here on Sunday night. Course in lovely condition. Pace of play good. Great welcome from the pro Andrew. Would definitely recommend playing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Skowest round u've ever played"


u119639738's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played saturday past and the pace of play was terrible. At each tee you were waiting around 15 minutes before you could then enter onto the play due to the que in front.

Front nine was decent. Can see the greens are still to grt to there true way. Back nine looked great but ended up coming off at the 10th as it 3 hours 30 mins to ger to that point.

Was looking forward to playing as the resort itself is fantastic. Wouldn't pay the money for the golf again unfortunatly.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"Dangerous and unplayable"


Zander1979's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I have played the course several times and love it. However I played on Sunday 5th of February and the course was unplayable. The tee's we're poor quality mats. If it was a grass tee you struggled to stay on your feet as it was a bog. Very disappointed as I took 3 others that have never played the course. At £104 for a 4 ball you think your getting a bargain. Unfortunately this is not the case. I play at paisley golf club. My own course blows this out the water condition wise.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Winter round"


ghay59's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/17/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in good condition for the time of year. Very friendly staff & a mix of length of holes on a nice layout. Well worth a visit.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Will try again"


u873631188's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately the weather took the shine off my day but will definitely be trying here again in the summer, liked the layout with different types of holes & lengths & a very easy golf course to walk


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good Value for Money"


u060379878's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/16/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good club shop staff

Good value for money

It's a slightly Aldi Version of Carrick but worth Waitrose

Better value than Carrick

Fairways well maintained

Greens were in good condition

Very Entertaining


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good course"


glasburn's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2014
First time playing Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed this experience. The course was in decent nick for the Scottish spring though the greens were very slow. Good body of grass on them so just need cut down a bit. Bunkering is very clever and our group spent a bit of time 'exploding'. Loved the variation in the holes. Quite a lot of dog legs but no two the same. Would like to play it again in the future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


Mlumsden's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2014
First time playing Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a very pleasant course on the banks of the River Clyde. Received a friendly welcome and the facilities in Marhall are lovely. The course is of a good length and challenging enough given it is resort style. Fairways were soft and preferred lies in play but we have had a lot of rain and still very playable. It was very windy the day we played which made the into the wind holes very long.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed