Aylesbury Vale Golf Club

4.2539666667 4.3 stars from 5 (17)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6612 yards
  • Layout

  • Stewkley Rd, Wing, Leighton Buzzard, Buckinghamshire, LU7 0UJ, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 1525 240196
  • +44 (0) 1525 240848
  • www.avgc.co.uk

Year built: 1991
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Parkland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Smart casual
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, Maestro, Jcb

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Competition 72 6612 yards 0.0 0
Ladies 73 5652 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 17 Reviews
5 stars:
8
4 stars:
7
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

16 out of 17 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Enjoyable"


t1887837213's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course for the first time in around 12-15 years in early December.

The welcome from a young girl in the pro shop wasn't particularly warm but courteous nonetheless.

The practice area is excellent, you can choose to play from mats in undercover range bays or from a grassy area outside. I haven't found this at many courses so it was nice to hit a few from the grass before going out.

We were pleasantly surprised by the condition of the course for the time of year, greens were generally very good as were the fairways. Ball washers and towels on every hole is always a welcome addition.

The course layout was nice if lacking a little bit of variety, there are a few tough holes (a few fairly long par 4s) but generally a good test of golf.

The bar staff were very polite and friendly in the 19th. The bar area is small but fairly well stocked.

An enjoyable day overall, a really nice, well maintained course just lacking a bit of wow factor for me, that being said, I would look to come back for another round in slightly warmer weather !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



t604750201's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Hubby4's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Aylesbury vale has some of the best greens in the area very true hats off to the green keepers


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice course, every hole different"


scotty24seven's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/29/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My first time on this course, I'd like to play here again as no two holes felt the same. It has a mix of some easy, medium and hard holes. Same with the lengths. So challenging and a goof fun test.

When i played, a couple of the holes had greens in need of some work but nothing major.

I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it, and play here again - i think knowing the course layout would help with scoring on this course.

I only ask that golf instructors don't take their students/classes out onto the the holes in front of golfers about to tee off, we had someone holding us up for the first three holes, which then meant we were being chased by two groups behind, through no fault of our own.

Unfortunately I didn't have time to go in the club house, driving range needs updating (run down) although they have an area where you can hit off the deck which is good. Staff friendly.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best course I've played for under £30"


u7938642's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Very well kept course, fairways in good condition with well cut, good paced greens. Bunkers in good nick also. Played on a very nice sunny day so can excuse the waiting around due to numerous groups on the course but members happily allow quicker groups to play through and very friendly in the bar afterwards. Some rather small greens which make a few holes interesting but some challenging holes with a bit of character in general, great value for money


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Lovely course"


t1861222853's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time played was very well maintained. Greens very good. Course is well laid out and has few challenging holes. Definitely play again.excellent value for money


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



t604750201's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Interesting course"


t282106267's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Nice course very easy to get round in very good condition, and a friendly club house


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Aylesbury Vale"


SpursBoys's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

Play this course as a member (soon to be leaving) and have done for almost a year. Bad points are the continued slow play and the lack of 'members' letting or in the case of not letting faster groups play through. Very very frustrating! Greens which you cannot pitch on to as no water makes for rock hard greens. This means you have to use a lot less club to allow for the ball to roll onto the green - assuming you get a forward bounce. Would recommend you play elsewhere if you want to play at a reasonable pace and fire shots into the green the way golf should be played.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


"Enjoyable Round"


u00000671671's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was good, wide fairways, layout was good, would probably look to introduce more bunkers to defend some of the greens a little better, but that was a minor issue. Found the club staff to be friendly and the members were also. Very friendly good menu in clubhouse. Overall an enjoyable experience


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Lovely course"


u358126358's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Aylesbury Vale is a lovely course to play. Very peaceful, beautifully presented with a very friendly atmosphere. There is a good variety of holes to satisfy most golfers. We will definitely visit again


I recommend this course


"booked up again for today"


u272692318's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent kept course first time i have played it the weather wasn't great but had good company who i met for the first time, greens excellent condition and so was the faiways looking forward to another round today and to better my score. full set of clubs required for a challenging course bringing my 3 wood today.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good exercise!"


sub333's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in beautiful condition, and nice wide fairways gave me confidence to use the driver most of the time.

Back 9 much hillier than the front 9, and course is a bit of a slog: 4 x Par 5s, and some VERY long Par 4s (447 + 448 yds, for example), but some lovely holes and well-maintained course.

Only downside for me: it took 4hrs 15 mins to get round - threeball ahead of me very slow, on their phones half the time, chatting, very poor behaviour. I do wish people would get clued up on course etiquette before playing a round. Not the club's fault, though…


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Worth a visit"


u00000956846's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/22/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Interesting layout friendly and excellent value..well worth a return visit.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"great location"


Doriz's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2016
First time playing Walked Played 9 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

a very friendly club couldnt be more helpful to me a beginner lovely course, very quite and not crowded


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"A challenging and fun round of golf"


Rafe123's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2016
Previously played Walked Played 9 holes Average weather

Reviewed on

A well maintained, friendly club. Course in good conditions, even with the mixture of all British seasons. A number of challenging holes where accuracy and course management prevail over distance. However, a number of good scoring holes for those bigger hitters out there. Greens do tend to get a bit harder come the summer months, which gives it an almost links approach to them. Always roll well and course is constantly improving.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed