Filton Golf Club

4.3015666667 4.3 stars from 5 (27)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6174 yards
  • Layout

  • Golf Course Lane, Filton, Bristol, Gloucestershire, BS34 7QS, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 117 9694169
  • +44 (0) 117 9314359
  • www.filtongolfclub.co.uk
Write a review

Year built: 1909
Architect(s): Hawtree Ltd (1938)
Type: Private
Style: Parkland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Proper attire is required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 6174 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 70 6069 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 73 5609 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 27 Reviews
5 stars:
9
4 stars:
17
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

26 out of 27 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

t561369661's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u5261077's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent condition and enjoyable round"


t1166161582's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tees, fairways and greens all in very good condition, well paced round and not overly busy for a Wednesday lunchtime start . Will play again and can recommend the course especially with a cost of £15 per head.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



veedor's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great value Friday round"


EdYarker's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played Filton many times and it rarely disappoints. The holes are varied, with a few crackers (the drop hole 3rd and long par 5 14th being 2 favourites). £16 is excellent value for a course which is normally in good nick. This time the wet weather meant the greens were slower than usual, but they were still flat and fair. We were a four ball setting off at 10.30am and apart from letting a 2ball through, we didn't encounter any other groups. We had a nice beer (Doom Bar) and burger in the friendly club house after.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Filton golf round"


u7827184's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course, good condition and great value for £14 a round. The only negative is that we had to wait quite a while between some holes as it was very busy. After chatting to some other players who are members, they said it was a common problem. Apparently one reason for this is that the pro shop and tee times app both book tees without possibly communication. All in all tho, good course and great value.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Condition"


t1981779310's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course and is playing really well. The course is in excellent condition. Staff are always helpful and it's very well run. No hold ups. Always enjoy playing here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Well worth the money"


u1669235's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Grass probably needed cutting everywhere, but greens were true. Overall, course has matured well since last time I played it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice track, but bunkers need some sand !!"


t1246089467's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played here on a nice Summer evening. Teed off at 5.40pm. Very busy on the course. Pace of play was acceptable. Greens were good. The bunkers were more like grit and in urgent need of some sand. Real shame as the rest of the course was in good condition. Still very good value for money and a good challenge for any golfer!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u084363157's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A lovely golf course can't wait to play it next week hope I do better


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"have fun guyssssssss"


hschan88's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

only one thing i don't like is have some teenager play around the golf course,throw some object on the green


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




t1601806922's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



t1960507029's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u8238399's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course well worth a round. Would defo book up again soon


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u124938444's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played at 3 o clock, had the course to ourselves excellent, no hold ups or other golfers behind us


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Overall great experience"


Mattmooh's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff friendly and attentive. Course was good, greens were very good.

Although beneficial to be relaxed on tee times, by the time we got to the 10th about 12 people decided they were going to tee off which split our group up and delayed many back to the 19th.

Also had complaint from other players about the rudeness of members of the club out on the fairway and in the club house which soured their day.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"this course is nice"


hschan88's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
First time playing Walked Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways is Greens very nice ,so far i play the golf course :)


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



"golf day"


arksie's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

we were very pleased with the way we were treated and the condition of the course for the end of feb


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



harryboy27's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played Filton on numerous occasion, very friendly staff, and a very challenging course for the average club player, some very long par fours, especially the 17th which I would imagine your average club player would find difficulty in reaching the green in two, should be a par 5. A nice course, plenty of trees with the need to be straight off the tees, but you wouldn't think you were at the back of an industrial area/ air field, but take the opportunity to take a picture of Concorde from the first tee, lovely sight.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed