Forest of Dean Golf Club

3.9547647059 4.0 stars from 5 (16)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 69
  • Length: 5925 yards
  • Layout

  • Lords Hill, Coleford, Gloucestershire, GL16 8BD, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 1594 833689, +44 (0) 1594 832583
  • +44 (0) 1594 832584
  • www.bells-hotel.co.uk

Year built: 1973
Type: Semi-Private/Resort
Style: Parkland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 69 5925 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 69 5524 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 71 5147 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 16 Reviews
5 stars:
4
4 stars:
9
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

15 out of 16 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Don’t play in the winter"


t186925868's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played the course many times and this was to be the last until spring next year. Unfortunately the heavy rain on the Tuesday had affected the course in many places and as trolleys had not been banned there was a lot of damage from them. Greens were very slow and needed a cut. Pro shop and clubhouse staff very friendly. Price was very cheap, so can’t complain of the value. Would recommend giving it a miss until spring but really like the course regardless of the negative comments


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u4389843's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time here and it was spectacular nice course layout ,excellent and quick greens,course in great condition, enjoyed in greatly and will be back soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good course"


t1621779445's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is great value for the price. Varied holes offer plenty of challenge which make it fun to play. I enjoy playing here. The only thing that could make this course better is the quality of staff - they are frequently not overly polite or easily findable.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Never again"


t591430117's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really don't like leaving negative feedback but feel I need to on this occasion. Round was cheap and pro was helpful and friendly. Didn't think it'd be too busy on a Wednesday afternoon. How wrong I was! I think the reason for all the waiting was the fact that the grass was extremely long everywhere. If you were just off the greens then you had a job to find your ball. We were constantly held up and after the 12th we decided enough was enough. Have played here before, although not in the last few years. Greens were dead, will not be back, sorry.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Good Fun, Forgiving Set Up"


t689432564's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed playing this course, not particularly long and you are not punished harshly for tee shots landing off the fairway. Surprised by the pace of the greens initially, first couple of holes in particular played quick for us but once we adapted they played nicely.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Over booked"


t95851182's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Arrived at the 1st tee 20 minutes before our booking time only to find 2 societies in front of us. There were 7 fourballs fortunately 3 of the fourballs went to the 10th tee. Once we got started we were constantly waiting for the societies in front of us. So our 3 and a half hour round turned into a 5 hour round.

The course itself was well presented as always but I think they need to look at their booking system.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"In the Forrest"


u087363636's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Super course with a good variety of holes to suit everyone's game

Good layout and extremely good value for money if you get the HOT DEAL

Would highly recommend it be given a go


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Forest of Dean Course"


t1357432459's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
First time playing Walked Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played on Sunday 14th May 2017. The course was well kept and interesting.

There was a Society event just ahead of our people so everything backed up from time to time. When we got to the 18th tee there were three groups waiting to tee off!

I will play there again but will check for Society events and/or play mid week in future.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Love This Course"


NeilJFox's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The second time back in a month to this lovely little gem nestled in the Forest of Dean.

A great find via Tee Off Times.

Great course, value for money and really genuine friendly staff and members.

David Morris in the Pro Shop is a credit to his profession and the club itself.

Only a 40 minute drive from Bristol and well worth the visit.

Will be going back on a regular basis.

You will not be disappointed.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Lovely location"


t561538258's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When I played early on a Friday afternoon the course was quiet. The fairways and greens were well maintained. I came away with a particularly good impression, partly because I played so well.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



t1178291949's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Greens very good ,fairwaysOk 4 April look forward to playing a game here later in year


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course to walk"


t1709313049's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2017
First time playing Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

1st class course if you suffer from bad knee's like I do, lovely lay out and very friendly members that were happy to give advise


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"We were"


Loosener's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

we were slightly late teeing off but luckily it didnt matter . Although we saw a fair few golfers to start with we were soon by ourselves . Course was in good condition and had been tidied up since last we played although greens were a bit bumpy . Didnt use amenities so cant comment


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Surprisingly well-maintained"


keithreid0's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2016
First time playing Used cart Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Calm and mild day after heavy rain, so course playing long. Smooth, slow greens and little run. Water features clear and attractive. Surrounded by mature woodland, varied, strategically challenging holes. Part of golf, bowls hotel complex. Great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Pretty and challenging"


W12250's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2016
First time playing Walked Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played on a lovely sunny day marred by strong winds. The course was well set out with several challenging holes, particularly a couple of the par 3s. some blind fairways so watch out for following drives.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth playing forest of Dean"


james1980564's avatar
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course great but greens patchy and not true but lovely course and well worth money


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed