Gloucester Golf Club

4.3333000000 4.3 stars from 5 (9)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6514 yards
  • Layout

  • Matson Lane, Robinswood Hill, Gloucester, Gloucestershire, GL4 6DX, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 1452 411331
  • +44 (0) 1452 525353
  • www.gloucestergolf.com
Write a review

Type: Semi-Private
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Proper attire is required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 72 6514 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 72 6229 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 74 5772 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 9 Reviews
5 stars:
4
4 stars:
4
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

9 out of 9 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

t916215233's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Gloucester"


t1447552201's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course

Pro shop had no record of our tee time so had to slot in- had two beginners bombing round behind us in buggy who were both hitting at same time!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"VERY FRIENDLY WITH HELPFUL STAFF"


hallnorm99's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
First time playing Walked Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my first time at Gloucester and I hope not my last. The course was in excellent condition, challenging (esp. Cardiac Hill!) and the staff very helpful. Thank you.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great views!"


Bigdogdrive's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2017
First time playing Walked Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The first time at Gloucester Golf Club after finding a good deal online. Arriving at the course was greeted by electronic gates that opened to a lovely drive up to the clubhouse taking in views of the course that awaited. There was ample parking, with a club shop and bar, everyone we met was very friendly. Decided to hit a few balls on the driving range before starting the round, the driving range was reasonably priced and has two tiers with plenty of seating. The range was not the longest and the only bad point was that the range balls that were dispensed from the machine, a few (less than 10 out of the 50) balls were badly damaged or unusable as they had deep cuts in them. The course itself I really enjoyed and will be back to play again and again. The front 9/10 holes are superb and flat before taking on the steep uphill drive on the 12th hole named 'Cardiac Hill' this is where the course climbs up hill and you are greeted with great views while playing the back to back par 5s. The 15th is a nice elevated tee shot which is always fun with a wide fairway in font of you. The 16th allows you to give your driver a rest as it is a nice and fun par 3 with an elevated green with what can be described as a moat around it. Arriving at the 18th tee you can see the clubhouse below and is again an elevated downhill tee shot down to the green next to the clubhouse. Overall I really enjoyed the course and found little to fault, the tee boxes were well looked after along with the fairways and the greens, friendly staff and members, great views and all for a great price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Testing course"


t591430117's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape! Greens immaculate and bunkers fair and tidy. Matson is a 'real' course. If you score well then you've earned it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"great features"


hschan88's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Vastly improved"


u150101606's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in superb condition and so much improved upon our visit last year. So glad we gave it another chance. Only disappointment was the selection n quality of the food. No breakfast available and bacon roll was made with poor quality roll although bacon was ok.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great course"


t1809046936's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There are basically 2 parts to this course, the first 9 are on the flat, the 2nd 9 are up the hill. for less fit persons a buggy would probably be desirable.The greens are in great Nick as is the whole course.

The views fro the top holes are fantastic on a clear day.

I will definitely be playing this course again.

We teed off at 12:36 and had an uninterrupted round.

Try it !

Rob Wilks


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed