Hilton Puckrup Hall

4.2936666667 4.3 stars from 5 (25)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6249 yards
  • Layout

  • Puckrup, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire, GL20 6EL , United Kingdom
  • +44 (0)1684 271591, +44 (0) 1684 296200
  • +44 (0) 1684 850788
  • hilton.co.uk/tewkesbury

Year built: 1992
Type: Resort
Style: Parkland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 6249 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 70 5912 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 70 5161 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 25 Reviews
5 stars:
9
4 stars:
13
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

25 out of 25 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"This course has some great holes"


u320283184's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/02/2017
Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging but enjoyable course, varied design of holes keeps you thinking about how best to play them


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u571549184's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2017
Previously played Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Conditions under foot becoming wintery, but course played well, greens very good for time of year.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Exceeded my expectations"


rstand21a's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played here a few times in summer and winter and was expecting some boggy bits. However, the course is much drier than I expected and the greens were in great condition for the end of November. Will play again, soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u571549184's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent course"


t526025240's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A great afternoon of golf. Only played off a couple of mats and only a couple of greens with lying water after a full cloud burst. Course played well. Looking foward to playing here again soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Puckrup"


willsy79's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course with fast greens . A lot of bunkers to contend with which makes this challenging very good the only issue I had was pace of play was being held up on most holes.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"nice but no cigar"


u958376503's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/28/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

fine course nice staff we were only allowed to book from 1116 and as we got there a hour and no one was teeing off should of let us go on early plus we would have started 0730 and the 8 mins between tee off needed to be marshalled as the tail back was bad from hole 2


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"a lovely round"


t868629732's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/29/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A lovely round ...bit odd we had to wait on 18th for wedding photographs though !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u740595338's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well worth the £18 we paid. Only down side no driving range.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice all round"


t294747081's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Right from arrival and the first greeting it's clear that this is a course that is well presented and a result of a lot of hard work.

Friendly and helpful staff giving good advice before you go out.

The course is well set out and in good condition. Something for golfers of all abilities.

A nice mix of holes that are well sequenced some nice par 3s including the 18th, some nice dog leg par 4s and 5s.

A nice bar and menu.

For those that want to stay over - a number of stay and play offers and good hotel accommodation from Hilton

Well worth a visit.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"A tight course with enough bunkers and water"


u226626180's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played with another couple booked via teeofftimes.co.uk. Course played well and provided sufficient challenge for me (hdcp 17). Fairly tight so watch out for balls coming in opposite direction on a number of fairways! Bookings appeared to have some issues - a society of 16 seemingly having the same tee time allotted on their booking confirmation, but not on the computer system - Pro Shop need to sort this confusion as it had apparently happened to the same Society the year before.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course!"


SammCotton6's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was a great course to play, really challenging and yet still enjoyable! The pace of play on the day was a little slow due to a slow group 2-3 groups ahead of us, however, in all fairness this allowed us to take in the beauty of the course. The conditions weren't as good as I'm told they usually are due to a morning of heavy heavy rain. The course still played well and just made a few "water hazards" on the greens!

Club house was great and the changing rooms clean and very smart.

Would definitely recommend to friends. In fact I already have!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Pay As You Play Top Course"


t410110221's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course for Pay As You Play members in the Gloucestershire area. It's reasonably priced after 11am on weekends, and is by far the best value for the price in the Pay as You Play category. The course is challenging but not too difficult. It has a good mix of par 3s,4s,5s including lots of bunkers and water hazards.It is well kept and you do not need a buggy,however, some distances between holes are a little longer than usual. Overall a good course to play now and again but maybe not 3 times a week.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


u901172026's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well worth a round here, great views and great course. Will be returning.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Superb quality course"


abbottmartin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a gem. One of the best and pretty courses I have played in UK. Lovely parkland course with gentle contours and water features. A great test and very enjoyable experience. A great par 3 over a lake to finish.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good course"


amiga285's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great days golf signing driving into the club house and car park could be better overall 9 out of 10


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Glorious Sunny May day."


Pat1956's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were fortunate to have a gloriously sunny and warm May day which made the round all that much more enjoyable. The course is in pretty good shape, wide undulating fairways with a few dog legs and picturesque greens with the Malvern Hills in the background. The course does challenge you to play short off some of the tee's due to the large oak trees and then a long second shot to the green.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Lovely course but really busy and slow going"


u374051595's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoy Puckrup, the holes are a fair challenge with large, strategically placed bunker and water.. It's not that long but you need to think your way round, taking irons or hybrids off the tee on a number of the par four and fives to avoid bunkers and water

Especially true on the fourth, I took a lofted hybrid short of the water and a nine iron to the green. The fifth, water along the left makes you play right and there's a large bunker at 240 yards, as you're hitting down to it, it's easy to go in if you use your driver. Same on the sixth, 14th, 15th and 17th.

The course is linked to a nice hotel with lots of people staying on golf breaks which made it really busy and slow going. We were behind two four balls and they were held up, on the 11th tee, we were waiting to drive with both of the four balls.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Crowded Puckrup"


t1852663296's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Took my daughter (relative beginner) as I like the course and it is not that difficult. Admittedly it was a Bank Holiday, but being told that my pre-booked Tee time had been paired up to play with someone else was not what we wanted to hear. As a result this may have a bearing on my report. It was SLOW. The pair in front played off the white tees and sprayed the ball everywhere, when asked politely if we could come through on one of the many waits for them to search for their balls, we were told that they were playing a competition, as if this gave them immunity from the etiquette of golf.

So aside from these two major irritations what was the venue like. Downside, it is a Hotel course and the bar prices reflect this. The course was in good condition. Good use of water without being too intrusive, but hitting over two very mature trees off the first is a liitle odd. The greens were fair, i.e. not too fast, small and resonably flat. When asked about pin placements I was given a number and told to read this off the score card, but obviously the greenstaff totally ignored it. Bunkers were plentifull and well presented, but the builders sand had plenty of stones left in. There was a good varity of holes and only the 9th and 14th (adlacent) had any remblance of "haven't we played this hole already?" The par threes were varied in length and challenge and the 18th (over water) was probably the signature hole. We played this as a six ball to save us another 20 minutes.

I will go back, but I will make sure it is not busy.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



u958702189's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good course spoilt by really slow round"


Loosener's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately there was a two ahead of us and a four ahead of them then no one .Eventually on the 12 th the four let the 2 ahead but didnt let us through so it took over 4 hrs to do a round . The weather was drizzly and the course was good .Like to play this course again when there is no waiting around between shots !! Cant say anything about 19th didnt go in .


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed