Mellor & Townscliffe Golf Club

4.3921333333 4.4 stars from 5 (18)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 5936 yards
  • Layout

  • Tarden, Gibb Lane, Mellor, Greater Manchester, SK6 5NA, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 161 4275759
  • +44 (0) 161 4270103
  • www.mellorgolf.co.uk
Write a review

Year built: 1894
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Parkland

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Proper attire is required.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Delta, Mastercard

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 5936 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 70 5697 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 73 5165 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 18 Reviews
5 stars:
11
4 stars:
6
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

18 out of 18 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Pottyjo60's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Interesting course"


Keithwike's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playing well despite recent rains, some greens undergoing work but generally were in very good nick. Lots of variety, some challenging holes. A fair test.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Always fun"


t736049255's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I'm a fan of this course. Lovely views. Some great holes. The greens were hard to judge this time. Some had lots of sand on them others none. Greens very soft. Very smooth. Slightly hilly course which is what I like. Well worth a knock away from your home club.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u053281082's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/29/2017
First time playing Walked Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fantastic Course with Incredible Views"


chromeduol's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2017
Previously played Walked Hot weather

Reviewed on

This course was such an enjoyable day out. The views are amazing and the greens are as good as any I've ever played. It plays way more difficult than the card suggests, but there are plenty of chances to get a good score. The staff were really friendly from the professional (nice coffee machine!) to the bar staff, who served a nice selection of good priced food. I'd recommend this course to anyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"A hilly parkland course"


Andysharrocks's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Firstly the clubhouse is very nice and their is two practice nets although these were slightly broken.

The putting green was very reminiscent of the greens on the course. The greens on the course are quite fast but look to be well kept.

The fairways were in good condition and the rough was likewise

Quite a few holes play steeply uphill and steeply downhill with the latter having quite stunning views across the Peak District.

The last 5 or 6 holes are flat and have many interesting and beautiful water features with a final hole with a tough sloping green.

Overall a lovely, picturesque golf course in the countryside of Cheshire and great value for money


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Just a wonderful course"


Richardbeck7's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Second time playing this course and loved it , in great condition and has a variety of challenges for any golfer


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"This coarse has great views"


u652288776's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This coarse was recommended, so I took the chance to play it, I wasn't disapointed excellent holes greens were in great condition & excellent views, I will be definately going back. It's a must play coarse.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A must play!"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Quiet, inexpensive and stunning scenery. Great conditions around the course and fairways in particular superb.

Tough course first time you play as lots of blind shots you need to learn. Well worth it though. Will def return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Beautiful"


t1075762870's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
First time playing Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

I can't praise this course highly enough. It was in unbelievable condition, looked beautiful, the greens were very fast and true, there was nobody on the course when we started - it was a great morning. The course is definitely challenging - particularly in the 18 mph wind we played in, which meant we became well acquainted with its trees! - but fair - good shots are rewarded, and bad ones punished. There is a great variety of holes as well - the par 3s particularly had something for everyone, ranging from 107 yards to 220. Will definitely be playing this course again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fantastic course and excellent value for money"


None's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

A lovely gem tucked away a short drive from Manchester. Not the longest golf course but some very memorable holes and greens that were in superb condition. Everyone in the shop and clubhouse was extremely friendly and I'd recommend to anyone looking for a stroll and some great views over Manchester.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Short but Tight"


Swallworth's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed playing this course it may no be the longest but the the greens are small and very quick and the fairways in a few places are quite narrow. There is some up hill element to this course but it's spread over a couple holes so it's not a huge slog. will definitely play again the biggest thing for me was the quality of the greens themselves they were absolutely brilliant


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Busy course"


DH09's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First bit of sun we have seen for weeks brought out a lot of players - as usual the vets sèem to think they "own the course " walking in front of play on crossing paths etc - greens were excellent fairways good overall good day except for the arrogant senior players - then you find that everywhere :-)


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem"


Salthome's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

A hidden gem in Cheshire. Your climb to the top holes rewards you with stunning views of the surrounding countryside. Every hole is different requiring you to think your way around this course. A friendly professional was on hand to meet your needs. Bar and catering facilities were excellent with friendly staff. You can enjoy your food and drink whilst sat on the balcony watching golfers approach the 18th. A course you must visit.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u822926779's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Mellor & Townscliffe"


Wheelygolfer's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great course, with lots of challenges around the whole course. Played just after 2pm and quickly caught up a two ball. It was clear at least one (The younger) of them was a high handicapper, as he really struggled to hit any shots at all. On each hole from the second, until I finally gave up on the 7th, I had to wait a long long time to tee off. It took an hour and forty minutes to play those seven holes, without them once asking me to play through.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Keep it on the green"


Swallworth's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed playing this course whilst not long the greens are quite small and so quick and true I struggle to think of better greens. The pro was very welcoming and food in the clubhouse afterwards really was exceptional


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed