Painswick Golf Club

3.8000000000 3.8 stars from 5 (15)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 67
  • Length: 4831 yards
  • Layout

  • Golf Course Lane, Painswick, Gloucestershire, GL6 6TL, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 1452 812615
  • www.painswickgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1891
Type: Semi-Private
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Smart casual but please no jeans or collarless shirts.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 67 4831 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 67 4572 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 66 4298 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 15 Reviews
5 stars:
3
4 stars:
7
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

10 out of 15 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Lovely picturesque course"


Bannotti's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in great condition, lovely manicured greens. Nice and tricky undulating fairway


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A Different Golf Experience"


NeilJFox's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2017
First time playing Walked Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a golf course like no other.

Probably the only one built on an old quarry with countless blind shots to boot.

You have to be sure how far you can hit a ball with each club because you have to be so very accurate to score low on this course.

The walkers quite often come into play as do other golfers sharing the same fairways!

Lovely friendly people and a joy to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Amazing sunny afternoon"


kennysarmy's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was very quiet and greens for common land were better than I expected.

It's a course you have to plot your way around and I only hit driver a few times as it's accuracy not distance off the tee that matters, a refreshing change to the norm.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"querky but good"


t711955808's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Walked Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

some interesting holes several blind tee's but a real common course. challenging in places. Well worth a visit


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"great features and views"


t1294249754's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/20/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the course is in very good condition ,having played there as a member several years ago it was great to challenge myself against the course yet again !!!

the one thing that lets the course down as always has is the ignorance of the general public using the course as a pic nic area fully unaware of the dangers around them !!! we even had to miss 2 holes out because of this ignorance . even though we enjoyed the round we will seriously consider returning and being let down by peoples ignorance .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Short course requiring accuracy"


u677100766's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Quirky mid-section of the layout is confusing with tightly bunched holes playing both ways. Short course, but not straight forward if the rough is up. Nicest holes are 14 - 18. Pleasant clubhouse terrace and decent snacks.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Painswick a proper golf course."


3ironman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Brilliant course designed around the beautiful natural features..A proper technical course that demands full attention which we loved. Far better than modern flat boring park courses. Every hole is different each having its own amazing character. The 6th hole is probably one of the best to play in the county, if only to take a moment to stand and gaze at the view over at least four counties.

Our compliments to the green keepers.

CK.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Short holes but challenging and amazing views!"


u691536125's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Only the second time I have played this course despite living a few miles down the road. The holes aren't long but are certainly challenging. Hit the ball off course or too long and you'll end up in trouble! Tees are ok but the fairways and greens are in very good condition despite the fact there are lots of walkers and dogs roaming about. This is something to bear in mind when teeing off on a few holes, might have to wait for a short while until the walkers are out of hitting range! There are some memorable holes on the course which I could play again and again and again! Love the 3rd, 5th, 6th, 10th, 11th, 14th and 16th holes. The course is reasonably priced compared to some other courses near Gloucester so I would highly recommend playing 18 holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Challenging Course"


DavidStrange's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Even though this course is only 5 miles away, I have never played it in the three years of playing golf. It has some really lovely holes but also has three that are totally blind and as this is public land, there is always a risk of hitting walkers. The Cotswold Way runs through the course and is popular with dog walkers also. It is also very hilly so I know what a mountain goat feels like!! The greens were in good condition and the views were lovely.

It is a course for accuracy so very good to improve your short game. The greens were very small so accuracy again is vital.

It is not a course I will return to again due the hard work to get around and the danger element but glad I played it as it has some lovely holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Painswick"


t280254486's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A very unusual course quite short but a real test.

Played it 6 times and always enjoyed it..


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"An absolute must play"


u759866000's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cracking course, with amazing views out over the Cotswolds.

It's not a manicured golf course. There are areas where it's a bit rough and ready, and the fact that it's a public walkway can slow down play a little. Greens were tough when we played, and not overly receptive. But none of that really matters. It's a beautiful course, with some amazing views, some challenging holes and an absolutely top class experience.

Will definitely be returning to play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"You need to be a mountain goat to tackle this course!"


u541968137's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My friend and I (both senior ladies) wanted to play a round of golf whilst on holiday in the area and Painswick seemed to be a reasonable choice and certainly within budget. We are both reasonably fit but found the course a very challenging and not very enjoyable experience. We had not brought trolleys with us so hired them and found the course pathways so uneven that our bags fell off on several occasions as the trolleys had no straps. The course was not marked out with ladies in mind and on several occasions it was a case of "hunt the tee box" which was very frustrating. There were walkers, some with dogs, all over the course. One dog removed a ball from the green which the owners denied initially then eventually had to admit that one of their four muts had it. There were several bags of dog poo left around the course, there were cars crossing the course in several places and many of the holes played against each other. Had there been anyone else playing this would have been quite dangerous. The final straw was getting back to the club house almost on our knees and being told the catering staff had gone home so not even a cup of tea was available!! Don't bother!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Great challenging course"


u274776656's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course , would really recommend it, can get confusing at times but if you play it more than once you get used to it. Only downside is the dog walkers and walkers can get in the way but other than that it's a great course would


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Absolute must play. Keeps you on your toes"


t1003184740's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played this course a number of times and would consider it my favourite. This isnt your average flat and sedate course. It is harder work than most, but thats what makes it so good

The course has everything but bunkers and water hazards. And thats because it is an open course so you get ramblers, dog walkers, cyclists and runners etc using the course as its public right of way. So be prepared for a slightly slower than normal round whilst you wait for people to move.

They are some shorter easier holes. Long straight ones. Completely blind tee boxes. Several road crossings. Vast holes in the groundRuthless rough which will devour any ball that goes near it so play it accurately.

To top it off it has excellent views on top of the beacon. Windy days will be incredibly challenging

Excellent value at around 20 quid. Lovely course. Generally good condition for play


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Challenging course in more ways than one!"


u156056492's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing Walked Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Didn't realise that the course was on the Cotswold Way, full of walkers, dogs and horses, all of whom seemed

oblivious to the dangers that may occur with golf. I

wouldn't want to play in summer when the course was busy, too many cross over holes many of which had

blind spots.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed