Three Locks Golf Club

4.4166666667 4.4 stars from 5 (18)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6040 yards
  • Layout

  • Great Brickhill, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, MK17 9BH, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 1525 270050
  • +44 (0) 1525 270470
  • www.threelocksgolfclub.co.uk

Year built: 1992
Type: Public
Style: Parkland

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Proper attire is required. Jeans not permitted, shirts must have a collar.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Yellow 70 6040 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 72 5236 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 18 Reviews
5 stars:
7
4 stars:
11
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

18 out of 18 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Course for a round"


u882698578's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a very nice day at the Three Locks and would recommend the Course to all levels of player.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


t36044522's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tough 1st 6 holes as very hilly but very good fun, flattens from 7th tee, good mix of short and long dog legs


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u675831778's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a year

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



t288671242's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



t288671242's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Another great round at 3 locks"


t1660078141's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lovely course , interesting and challenging holes .

Keeps you thinking all the way round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Free American Golf Round so took a friend and shared his green fee"


u1240949's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly welcome in Pro Shop. Course was in decent condition although bunkers had not been worked since recent heavy rains last week.

Greens fairly true but haven't yet speeded up.

Layout is fun with a great variety of holes with plenty of doglegs and water on back 9!!

All in all we both enjoyed ourselves even though we caught up with a very slow Society. Joined up for 2 holes with another pair in front of us.

Well worth a visit


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Really enjoyable round"


u863808290's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Agree with some other comments, 1st 6 holes very hilly but certainly the effort. The 1st par 3, 80 yards goes to show that you don't need lots of bunkers and long distance to make a hole exciting. Each hole was slightly different lots of doglegs and some really good thinking holes where position is more important than distance. Only criticism was lack of signs for next tee, 1st time playing and would have got lost afew times if we didn't keep up with the 2 ball in front.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



t2055661408's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is good and clubhouse is fantastic, greens were very slow so a bit of a let down but the rest was fairly good, maybe just a little more tlc and it could be great


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great little course"


NeilE25's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course and facilities.

Fantastic price @ £13pp for weekend golf.

No waiting time between holes & fortunate to have lovely weather.

Greens are in good condition although beware that pace varied (as expected) due to terrain and green placement.

As mentioned with previous reviews, first six holes are played up/down hill & the remainder are flat with woodland/ water hazards.

Enjoyable course and would recommend to all types of golfer.

Note - there was a club match & private function held on same day which led to the car park being full. Might be worth checking what's on beforehand and car sharing preferable


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Best £11 I've ever spent"


u414453810's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fantastic value for money. First 6 holes on the hill are a test of fitness but every hole has to be worked out. Last 12 on level land give you a chance to make a score. Lovely modern clubhouse with nice patio area


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice little course. Great for the money"


CAspar4937169's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

So firstly, I am not one of those golfers who wants to play the most challenging conditions, shooting over ravines into heavy winds. Give me a nice day out with some sunshine and lovely views and I'm happy. And on that front this course - like many in the surrounding towns - scores very highly. It's incredibly cheap and buggies are available for a correspondingly low price.

It's a course of two halves, or one third and two thirds more precisely. The first six are very very hilly. With lovely views over surprisingly pretty countryside. You are up and down hill every hole with the second hole a short 90yard par 3 with a drop of about 30 yards or so!

Holes 7 and onwards by contrast are well laid-out and flat flat flat. To be honest, I much prefer this, and as something of a weekend golfer I prefer to start on the 7th and play back to the 6th - something the course managers are not averse to.

The only 3 stars are for the condition of the course which is fairly scruffy in parts and the off-course amenities which are basic but then... you're not being charged a great deal of money for them so you really can't complain. Highly recommended for people who want what I want from a golf course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great challenging course"


t527129068's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fantastic course for the price, there was a bit of sand on the greens due the wet weather we had. This made judging the pace quite difficult. If you want a challenging course this is ideal, plenty of hills and plenty of water.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Decent course, great price"


DeanMK's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

I've played Three Locks many times over the years and really do enjoy playing it.

The first six holes are some of the most challenging in the area and the first hole is a really tough par 4 followed by a par 3 you have to see to believe.

The course is always in excellent condition, even in the winter. They could do with installing a few ball cleaners on the tees as currently none exist.

There's no driving range but there is a putting green.

Price wise, it's excellent value for money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Very very nice"


AdamWaind's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played here a few times. Very nice course with some lovely holes to play. Greens in great condition. In this iccassion we were following a society round but that can't be helped when you're a non member playing at a weekend. Overall excellent and would highly recommend.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed