Wavendon Golf Academy - 18-hole Course

4.1666764706 4.2 stars from 5 (22)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 69
  • Length: 5570 yards
  • Layout

  • Lower End Road, Wavendon, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, MK17 8DA, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 1908 281811
  • +44 (0) 1908 281257
  • www.wavendongolfacademy.co.uk

Year built: 1990
Type: Public
Style: Parkland

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 69 5570 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 69 5462 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 70 5131 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 22 Reviews
5 stars:
6
4 stars:
14
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

21 out of 22 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

t1981745229's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"frendly staff"


t604750201's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a really friendly welcome in the pro shop, which made us want to play golf with a smile


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



t604750201's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course and value for money , greens a little bumpy, buts it's what you pay for. A good challenging course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"18 hole"


t632329632's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had breakfast before starting which was

Well presented & tasty.

Staff were friendly & helpful.

Played there many times over the years

& the course is in good condition.

Good value at £14 for afternoon tee time.

The course itself has some challenging holes & all the par 3s in particular .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good all round course"


u4014611's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very friendly staff both in catering and golfing. Good green condition firm and well maintained.the on course signage could be improved.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Wavendon"


t1345835562's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I like to play on a Sunday afternoon after 1500hrs, its good value for money. The course is not busy in the afternoon and you can have a good practice, for example taking several balls on a par 3, or practice chipping and putting on the greens.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great example of a course you need to play"


u3906193's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greater by friendly staff at reception. Being a single player, was given through by 2 groups of 2 ball and eventually joined up with another group of 2. Friendly players, course was in good condition and greens were a pleasure to putt on.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wavendon"


u8322290's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wavendon is a no frills, no nonsense but really pleasant and enjoyable golf experience for those who value a fun round of golf over the label on the designer golf shirt! The driving range is also comfortably the best for miles around and the putting practice green perfectly acceptable. And the prices are good value, food is unpretentious "pub grub". What's not to like, unless you are someone prepared to pay £100+ for a round. Well, the bunkers could do with a bit more sand and maintenance, but that's a criticism that can also be levelled at more expensive courses.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Slow play"


Sam584's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

People need to be more aware of people behind them and avoiding slow play! Had a group of 4 infront of me and my friend a two ball for the whole 18 holes not once did they achknowledge us only time they did was when we drove over them as they were that bad to which they still didn't let us past. For what should of took 2and a half hours took 5! Was an absolute joke! They were old 2 women 2 men so thought they would let us thru did they heck! Worst round ever!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course



t1447580548's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Course ok for time of year"


u000002257960's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee boxes , no temporary boxes. Fairways were OK for the time of year. A lot of mole hills on some fairways, overall the course was good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Wavendon"


Hughes230372's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great value for money and in better condition than previous winters


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Cold and frosty round!"


acsoilleux1's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately played the course on a cold frosty day and the greens were frozen, so my views may be somewhat distorted. However I thought the current 4 star rating is a little flattering for this course.

For a public course it is quite an interesting one and a nice layout. It is good value for money but I feel the course wasn't in great condition (excluding frozen greens) and whilst there are some good holes, there were quite a few "nothing" holes.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Enjoyed first time on this course."


Longhead23's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2016
First time playing Walked Played 18 holes Poor weather

Reviewed on

Myself and my partner played here for the first time in early November. Sarah and I both enjoyed the course immensely. Sarah is new to golf, but the course was technical but not too difficult, and being slightly shorter than most, this probably help her too. Unfortunately we only got to hole 13 before the rain really did come down and we chose quit at that stage.

But very nice course, friendly locals and staff. A handy little tuck shop after the 12 green (particularly well placed on this day).

Will definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Wavendon"


Mizunokev's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Second round at this course. Tricky in places despite being fairly short. Greens and fairways in good condition for this time of year. Good test.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good value"


u958023393's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played lunchtime and saw no one till 15th. Poured down day before and course held up and greens still fast. Only£12


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Lovely course"


DeanMK's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Squeezed in a late evening round at one of my favourite local courses.

The fairways and greens are always in great condition and it's a very picturesque place. You sometimes have to play around all the wildlife and their poo but it's not a massive issue.

Definitely recommended.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great condition"


u558591758's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Picturess course with dog legs and water , fairways tees and greens excellent condition, must play again soon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed