ChampionsGate Country Club

4.5234235294 4.5 stars from 5 (490)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7058 yards
  • Layout

  • 8950 Clifton Draw Drive, ChampionsGate, FL 33896
  • (407) 507-2756
  • championsgatecountryclub.com
Write a review

Year built: 2015
Architect(s): Clifton, Ezell & Clifton (2015)
Type: Private

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire is required
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Pro 72 7058 yards 0.0 0
Blue 72 6404 yards 0.0 0
White 72 5744 yards 0.0 0
Red 72 4923 yards 0.0 0

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 490 Reviews
5 stars:
295
4 stars:
162
3 stars:
24
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

470 out of 490 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers locals a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nicely maintained course"


tomik17's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played it for the first time, was recommended from a co-player some days before. The track is very well maintained. Tee boxes, fairways and bunkers are in very good conditions. Greens are clean, not too fast, but true. It is rather easy to play (at least from the second tees – did not play the tips as it was very windy). On most holes there is “plenty of fairway” and the bunkers or (only some) water are rather not in play. The course itself is not very long, but the transfer from green to the next hole is terribly long, especially on the first nine – drove over 5 (!) miles… On the back nine it is a little bit closer, but the whole course gets you to almost 9 miles drive. Can not imagine walking it! No real clubhouse yet and mostly the path is not concrete but sand or gravel.

But overall it is a good place to go if you like to shoot a low score – even on a very windy day like we’ve had. And if you catch a hot deal with Golfnow, the rate is rather very friendly for what you get.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Great course"


eyeudoc1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played this course several times and it is always in great condition. Would definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Unfriendly starter"


Sammy737's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have never been spoken to on a golf course by a starter like I was on this course. We were 6 scratch golfers playing together on a course with nobody ahead or behind us.. We did team up and we're playing skins when Mike the starter came by and spoke to us as if we were thugs hacking up "his" course. We've been playing Florida together for 20 years but will never play this course again.

The course was in great shape...!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Challenging"


Tjswit's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I'm a 9 handicapper. I played the second to the back tees, which if I recall played to about 6,100. . I'm not a long hitter and I found that many of the par 4s were very long, over 400 hundred yards and up hill making them even longer. For the average player there is no way you are going to reach these in two, especially with a little breeze., thus making for a frustrating day on these holes. It would be nice if the tees were up a bit especially on theses par 4s, keep them under 400. Same with the par 5s over 500. I suppose I could have played the more forward tees on these holes, but that wouldn't be right. Although there are elevation changes, most of them are up hill. The par 3s were a good mixture of long and short. The 2nd hole is a par 3. In which you can't see the green you are hitting to, a little odd. The greens are big and putt true. So, once you' eventually reach the green it's no bargain. Didn't get in any traps, so don't know what they are like. But there are many and they are large and look well groomed. I don't recall any drinking water on the course and only saw the refreshment cart once. They should have drinking water on the course, especially in hot and humid Florida. The pro and the staff were very welcoming. The price to play this course is a great value and I would recommend it, just don't expect to break the course record. (PS, the water reclaimed areas should have signs around them to not enter to get your ball and if free drop is allowed, I didn't realize what these waste areas were).


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



John9383497's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Pace of play"


cuse52's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I have played this course at least 15 times over the last 3 years. Unfortunately things just don't change. There is no such thing as pace of play here and it makes for a miserable experience. Last Saturday we arrived at the course and we had to wait 20 minutes and there were no carts. After playing the first 9 in 1.5 hours it took us 3 hours and 45 minutes to play the second "8" holes.We were unable to play the 18th whole as there were 6 groups on the tee box. On hole 14 a par 3 there were 8 people on the green and 4 groups on the tee box.Group in front of us called the pro shop about the abysmal pace of play and no one addressed it or came out. Finally on 18th tee we quit or it would have been a 6 hour round. We tried to talk to the management "Assistant Pro" in pro shop and he said that wasn't his job, his only job was to collect money. On this course there was no starter or ranger as he said they were sent home because it was not busy....Last but not least tried to call the pro about this at Championsgate but to no avail and have not heard back from him... Unfortunately I love the layout of the course but I won't play here again especially due to the lack of customer service from the management....


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 10/16/2017

Sir,

I know exactly who you are and I'd like to address your comments. First, we had a large group that went out early and took 5 1/2 hours to play. For you to say there was no starter or ranger is absolutely not true as I sent the ranger out four times to address the slow play but they kept choosing to ignore his repeated request to speed up play. Unfortunately, short of calling the police and trying to remove 28 players, the only recourse we had was to not allow the group to play CGCC in the future. As players came in to express their frustration in a calm and courteous manner, we apologized and offered comped rounds for future play. You, however, screamed profanities at everyone from the beverage cart girl, outside staff and the Assistant Golf Pro - who has been in golf management for many years and I guarantee did not tell you his only job was to collect money.

I tried calling you back on Thursday after you left a message but got your voicemail.

I'm sorry you have had such bad experiences here at CGCC but judging from the almost 500 reviews on Golfnow, you seem to be the only one.

Good luck in your future golfing endeavors.

Jim Dolan

CGCC


"Nice course"


gaudw001's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyable round of golf. Course is one of the better ones around condition wise. Fairways and Greens in very good shape. I'll be back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fantastic Course"


Robb5512571's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great layout and the greens were amazing. They are still building their clubhouse so don’t expect to be impressed by the amenities but everything else was amazing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Challenging layout"


t1200494883's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is an enjoyable challenging layout, with plenty of lakes and water features to play around of over to create exciting risk/reward holes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course



dahorst1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The absolute best course for the money that I have ever played and I have been golfing almost once a week for 46 years!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"36 Holes in One Day"


xkyleclark3's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This is easily one of the most getable courses in the Orlando area. It is always in great shape and primed for you to shoot your lowest score of the year. The greens roll pure and the fairways are perfect. Definitely worth checking out if you haven't already! Staff was great inside and outside. Great experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Easy


I recommend this course



Arthur8234563's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



allenthain's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice day on the course"


uBFSJ1182BF's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging course with water in several holes, lots of well placed sand traps and tee locations.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"awesome course"


tk68's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course looked great from tee box to green got a great deal on golfnow if u haven't played this course u need to asap very friendly staff and the new club house should be done by December


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Not very challenging"


Ian9422721's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a new course with a temporary clubhouse/pro shop. Compared to the 2 other more established Championsgate courses the country club is new and settling in. For the lower handicap player there is not much challenge. It is a good course for a higher handicap or player just starting.. I played on a hot deal for $25 but don't feel it is worth a $70-100 price tag. I enjoyed the course but compared to some of the other courses locally e.g. Orange County national it is a definite lower class.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


"Great condition course"


Drewuk1966's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition from tee to green. The fairways are mown tight and the turf doesn't disentegrate when you hit a shot unlike most of the other courses in the area. The ball is playable if you go in the rough, it doesn't sink into wispy grass like most other courses here.

The greens were fast and true with subtle borrows around the holes.

As mentioned by another reviewer the front nine has no houses and is a joy to play. The back nine is 'resort style' with houses lining the fairways. Some of the lakes on the back nine haven't been completed yet and are sandy waste areas but it doesn't really detract from the round of golf.

I managed to get out in front of a fourball and had no one in front of me the whole round.

I will play again when I return next year and would thoroughly recommend playing here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/04/2017

Actually, they are not lakes on the back 9 - they're Rapid Infiltration Basins (RIB) that are used to treat waste water. This allows for control of waste water and for beneficial reuse of the water. If you hit your ball into a RIB, it is a free drop out of the basin.


"Better than expected"


Primedog3333's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I truly enjoyed the course it's a shame that the back nine has houses (thee front doesn't )but overall it's a great layout a lot of fun and not too difficult. The only it does not have is a club house but he practice area is fine. Greens were excellent and not one issue with the fairways. I like the tee box distances since it allows for all skills to enjoy the course. I say get out and play before rates go up.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Championsgate Country Club"


Rags123's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the best valued course in Central Florida. Conditions are always pristine, even after the greens are punched. If you haven't taken the opportunity to play here, you should.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Best course in the area."


fldevilfan03's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played an afternoon round after work. Course conditions are excellent as always. Layout is best of both worlds, forgiving off the tee, bit challenging onto and around the greens.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed