Eastlake Country Club

3.4282000000 3.4 stars from 5 (404)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6606 yards
  • Slope: 116
  • Rating: 70.1
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 2375 Clubhouse Drive, Chula Vista, California 91915
  • (619) 482-5757
  • (619) 482-5700
  • www.eastlakecountryclub.com
Write a review

Year built: 1991
Architect(s): Ted Robinson, Sr.
Type: Public
Greens: Bent grass
Fairways: Bluegrass and rye
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Golf attire is required; collared shirt, shorts are acceptable as long as the length is between the knee and four-inches above.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 6606 yards 70.1 116
Back 72 6224 yards 68.4 113
Middle 72 5834 yards 66.4 108
Middle (W) 72 5834 yards 74.8 133
Forward 72 5118 yards 70.9 120

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 404 Reviews
5 stars:
53
4 stars:
180
3 stars:
93
2 stars:
43
1 stars:
35

recommend this course

314 out of 399 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include water hazards bunkers elevation changes   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great course"


PatrickEnglish's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in great condition. Staff were great. You meet the nicest people on the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u229256086's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Eastlake Country Club on 04/20/2017:

Thank you for the feedback and four star rating! We are happy to see you enjoyed the staff friendliness, course layout, and course conditions! Thanks for stopping by Eastlake Country Club and have a great day!


Ccjones's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape and the staff was welcoming. However it was extremely slow paced. It took over reacting 5 hours to play around. Makes it extremely difficult to enjoy the round waiting almost 15 minutes for each shot.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Eastlake CC on 04/12/2017:

We understand the pace of play was a bit frustrating as it might have been a bit slower duing your round. would you let us know which date/time you played so we can address the issue of pace at the course? Otherwise, we are so glad you enjoyed your overall experience at the course and your round was made more enjoyable by our friendly staff. We'll be sure to pass along the compliments and can't wait to see you back again!

"Great Shape!"


u000003139476's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in the best shape of any course I play. Only exception is that the sand in some of the bunkers is gravelly. Fairways are great, greens are nice even though punched recently, tee boxes are lush.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Eastlake CC on 04/07/2017:

Awesome! Glad you loved the conditions, we've been working hard to ensure the best possible conditions for your visit. We are working towards the best bunker conditions as well, keep coming back!

"good value"


harddraw's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Called the shop and was told the greens were 95 % recovered from aeriation and that was correct. The fairways are mostly good for Southern California courses. Bunkers are inconsistent, but at the price point, I've got no complaints. The staff is always friendly. Normally play as a single here and usually meet some nice folks to join. The wind plays a factor in the afternoon, especially on the back side. It's a great course to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Eastlake CC on 04/04/2017:

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the golf course and the conditions and staff were up to par, making your experience a great one during your visit. We are working towards the best bunker conditions possible for your next round, our management is addressing any concerns here. We look forward to seeing you back again at Eastlake CC!

"Great"


u836753537's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The only complaint That i have is at the golf cart need some improvement .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Eastlake CC on 03/30/2017:

Glad you loved the course, thanks for this awesome rating! We will audit our carts and take the necessary steps to ensure it is up to any expectations. We must ask, which cart (if known) did you have and what kind of improvements specifically can we make to it to improve your experience? The more detail the better, so that we may address any potential problems. Your feedback is important to us.


u000004411929's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Eastlake CC on 03/28/2017:

We love our fans! Thank you!


u2752398's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

Thanks for this awesome rating! We appreciate you!

"Value for your money"


wilfy57's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

After reading review I was concerned about greens. Realizing that the had been punched, they rolled well a good speed. The design has some very nice holes is a challenge from the greens. I enjoyed playing here although it was a drive, I felt well worth it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Eastlake CC on 03/28/2017:

Great! We're happy to hear you saw good value playing here and we look forward to your return. Thank you for noticing our improvements at the course and glad the design of the course workd for you too!

"Fair course"


u042986600's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A lot of 4 ft pinball putts. Greens were punched. It's short narrow course that rewards the long ball evertime. Dont worry about FIR, they are just as long as the rough. Great views, im sure this place is a golf heaven after its manicured properly


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 03/23/2017:

We thank you for leaving your review, we are healing from our recent aeration and we appreciate you noticing our improvments to the conditions to the course. We can't wait to see you back for more rounds this season!

"Walked off after 4 hours and 10 minutes for 13 holes!!!!!!"


goseecal's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have played here a number of times before and it is an OK course, but this time was an absolute NIGHTMARE!!! There were ZERO Marshals on the course and play was sickeningly slow! When my entire group finally had enough, and walked off after 13 holes, I stopped by the pro shop to tell them about the slow play and our frustration, they seemed not to care when replying "we only have marshals until 10am on Sunday. Really, one of the two busiest days of the week, and no marshals after 10am? I will not play here again, and I would warn any other golfers to stay away! Unless you don't mind playing 5and a half our rounds of golf!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eastlake CC on 03/29/2017:

We are sorry about your pace of play this past Sunday. We did have a marshal that day but only until about 2 pm due to lack of ambassadors. It was not scheduled to not have one, but simply do not have enough in our program of volunteers. To compound that, we did have a quite sizeable tournament for the Sweetwater School District that did slow things up considerably. For that we do apologize. We did have their tournament head driving around in lieu of an ambassador but you are correct as it was not enough. Most Sundays pace of play is not this bad, and we urge you to give us another chance. Feel free to call the golf shop when booking a tee time and ask on our busier days if we have a tournament and we will always let you know. We agree that slow play can affect the enjoyment of a round of golf. I myself played one of our competitors two weeks ago on a Wednesday and was met with a 5 hour plus round. We hope that you can understand that golf courses are busy on the weekends and it only takes a few to effect the pace and experience. Please call the golf shop when on the course if you witness a slow round, and we can try to target the issues with our marshals, or other coworkers who are on property to speed up play, or try to find an alternate starting hole for you and your players if one exists. P: 619-482-5757

"Course was in embarrassing shape"


Shawn1476067's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were punched- no warning on the website.

The fairways were not mowed at all.

An 18 hole scramble was set at 30 minutes prior to our time without our knowledge. I usually like this course but it was in poor shape and the Marshalls were not enforcing the playing speed of the course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eastlake CC on 03/23/2017:

We understand it must have been a frustrating experience for you to arrive for your round unbeknownst to you the greens had recently been punched, as they are healing now. We will ensure we have the necessary warnings up online, thank you for looking out. We will address the pace of play concern so that your next round is much more enjoyable. Your feedback and experience while at our course is of utmost importance to us.

"Super super slow"


u800501207's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course is a good layout and in good condition other than the greens which were recently aerated. There was no warning on golfnow about the greens still recovering from aerification so putting was a guessing game as far as speed and extremely bumpy.

I can deal with the bumpy greens but the PACE OF PLAY was maybe the worst I've ever experienced. It took almost 3 hours to play the first 9 holes. I ended up quitting after 12 holes. NO MARSHALL controlling pace of play and we were behind 2 foursomes full of hackers.

Tee time was for 1:37PM and teed off 10 minutes late. Don't know if playing early in the morning is much better with pace of play, but I wouldn't pay $50+ and end up with the same problem. No Marshall No play


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

We regret to hear your round was not as enjoyable as it should have been because of the main issue, pace of play during your round. We will get this concern to management to ensure this type of delay does not happen again. we do hope you'll give us another shot. Your feedback is important to us, and we thank you for playing at EastLake Country Club.

"No bad for the money"


Darling61's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great layout however the greens are relatively slow and the fairways have the longest grass I have ever played on. If the greens and fairways were mowed a little closer this would be a great course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

We are working diligently to ensure the conditions are in pristine shape for your next round with us. Thanks for posting this awesome photo of the course! Glad you saw the value in playing here.


ronramos's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

Awesome! Thanks for being a fan! Glad you loved your round!


u000007338302's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

Thanks for this great rating! Come back and see us soon!


ahornof's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good value for a sunday Morning round, light rain kept the crowds away so we played in a good pace. Greens are very good fairways are ok.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

Happy to hear you saw really good value playing here, and the pace was good too! We thank you for your rating and can't wait to see you back for more!


u6480997's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/28/2017:

Thanks for this awesome rating!


tfuller220's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/28/2017:

We thank you for your rating here! Come back soon!

"Eastlake after the rains"


DufferCA's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in great shape San Diego has FINALLY gotten rain!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/28/2017:

Glad you loved the course and the weather has now improved! We can't wait to see you again!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed