Eastlake Country Club

3.4076000000 3.4 stars from 5 (395)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6606 yards
  • Slope: 116
  • Rating: 70.1
  • Layout

  • 2375 Clubhouse Drive, Chula Vista, California 91915
  • (619) 482-5757
  • (619) 482-5700
  • www.eastlakecountryclub.com
Write a review

Year built: 1991
Architect(s): Ted Robinson, Sr.
Type: Public
Greens: Bent grass
Fairways: Bluegrass and rye
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Golf attire is required; collared shirt, shorts are acceptable as long as the length is between the knee and four-inches above.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 6606 yards 70.1 116
Back 72 6224 yards 68.4 113
Middle 72 5834 yards 66.4 108
Middle (W) 72 5834 yards 74.8 133
Forward 72 5118 yards 70.9 120

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 395 Reviews
5 stars:
49
4 stars:
176
3 stars:
92
2 stars:
43
1 stars:
35

recommend this course

306 out of 390 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include water hazards bunkers elevation changes   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u2752398's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

Thanks for this awesome rating! We appreciate you!

"Fair course"


u042986600's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A lot of 4 ft pinball putts. Greens were punched. It's short narrow course that rewards the long ball evertime. Dont worry about FIR, they are just as long as the rough. Great views, im sure this place is a golf heaven after its manicured properly


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 03/23/2017:

We thank you for leaving your review, we are healing from our recent aeration and we appreciate you noticing our improvments to the conditions to the course. We can't wait to see you back for more rounds this season!

"Course was in embarrassing shape"


Shawn1476067's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were punched- no warning on the website.

The fairways were not mowed at all.

An 18 hole scramble was set at 30 minutes prior to our time without our knowledge. I usually like this course but it was in poor shape and the Marshalls were not enforcing the playing speed of the course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eastlake CC on 03/23/2017:

We understand it must have been a frustrating experience for you to arrive for your round unbeknownst to you the greens had recently been punched, as they are healing now. We will ensure we have the necessary warnings up online, thank you for looking out. We will address the pace of play concern so that your next round is much more enjoyable. Your feedback and experience while at our course is of utmost importance to us.

"Super super slow"


u800501207's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course is a good layout and in good condition other than the greens which were recently aerated. There was no warning on golfnow about the greens still recovering from aerification so putting was a guessing game as far as speed and extremely bumpy.

I can deal with the bumpy greens but the PACE OF PLAY was maybe the worst I've ever experienced. It took almost 3 hours to play the first 9 holes. I ended up quitting after 12 holes. NO MARSHALL controlling pace of play and we were behind 2 foursomes full of hackers.

Tee time was for 1:37PM and teed off 10 minutes late. Don't know if playing early in the morning is much better with pace of play, but I wouldn't pay $50+ and end up with the same problem. No Marshall No play


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

We regret to hear your round was not as enjoyable as it should have been because of the main issue, pace of play during your round. We will get this concern to management to ensure this type of delay does not happen again. we do hope you'll give us another shot. Your feedback is important to us, and we thank you for playing at EastLake Country Club.

"No bad for the money"


Darling61's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great layout however the greens are relatively slow and the fairways have the longest grass I have ever played on. If the greens and fairways were mowed a little closer this would be a great course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

We are working diligently to ensure the conditions are in pristine shape for your next round with us. Thanks for posting this awesome photo of the course! Glad you saw the value in playing here.


ronramos's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

Awesome! Thanks for being a fan! Glad you loved your round!


u000007338302's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

Thanks for this great rating! Come back and see us soon!


ahornof's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good value for a sunday Morning round, light rain kept the crowds away so we played in a good pace. Greens are very good fairways are ok.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake CC on 03/23/2017:

Happy to hear you saw really good value playing here, and the pace was good too! We thank you for your rating and can't wait to see you back for more!


u6480997's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/28/2017:

Thanks for this awesome rating!


tfuller220's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/28/2017:

We thank you for your rating here! Come back soon!

"Eastlake after the rains"


DufferCA's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in great shape San Diego has FINALLY gotten rain!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/28/2017:

Glad you loved the course and the weather has now improved! We can't wait to see you again!

"Non paying kid should never be allowed to accompany parents on the golf course."


jseng921's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

My experience playing on President day was very frustrating. Tee time was delayed for half hour, and pairing with a couple, who brought along a 5-6 year old kid. They have no concerns about distracting others golfers and slowing down the game by allowing their non paying kid to putt and to tee off, also to drive the cart. I think not only making us very uneasy, I think the management should never allow this to happen and put themself at liability risk. No site of marshal, after 4 and half hour we only able to finish 13 holes.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/28/2017:

We regret to hear it was very busy during the Presidents Day rush, we hope to see you again on a day that is not as busy. You are absolutely right about the child on the course. Our policy is 7yrs+ on the course and 12yrs+ to ride in a cart, but we should not have allowed this on a holiday. . We will let our staff and team here know about your concern here. Due to cart path only rules because of the rain you may have experienced an extra delay. Expect to have a round less than 4.5 hours on your next round. We will ensure we are more attentive to these matters. Your feedback is important to us.

"Horribly Slow"


DonKingRB's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I know this was President's Day but there was no evidence of a marshal to speed up play. With a 12:37 tee time, we were a half hour late getting off and finished after 6:00 in the dark. In addition, there were a lot of players leaving about that time but the restrooms were locked! They need better management.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/28/2017:

We appreciate your honest feedback, we willl address your concerns at the course, we regret to hear the pace of play was not ideal. You are right to say we did not have a marshall that afternoon due to lack of availability. Unfortunately we were fully staffed up until around 2PM. Sorry to hear about the bathrooms being locked up, we have addressed that at the course and you should not see this happen again. We urge your to come back and enjoy your day of golf with us. We are doing our best to ensure your next round is as enjoyable as possible.

"Nice course, nice area"


billdoney's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was hurting because of drought but with all three rain is back and beautiful.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/22/2017:

Thanks for enjoying the course and scenery!

"A challenge for seniors and a 5 hour round"


u000007194090's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace was slow and turned into. 5 hour round. Fairway grass was long as was the ruff. Not sure why. The greens were in great shape and so were the fairways except they had little to no roll because of the length of the grass. Our problem at over 70 years old was pace of play and in the ruff too often. We were pooped by the time we were done. We will be back for sure because all in all we think it is a great course. Lots if hills and ups and down hills. Beautiful views, friendly staff ( although we wondered where a marshal was to speed up play) We did have someone coming around with cold water. Maybe he was the marshal. Don't know.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake on 02/28/2017:

The grass was long, wiith how wet it was after the rain, we had to mow the next few days after your visit unfortunately and we completely agree with you on this matter. We should have the conditions up to par on your next round. The pace of play issue was a result of the cart path only rule due to the wetness of the course thus increasing the time and pace of play. We regret to hear that your round was not stellar due to these matters at the time. We do hope to see you again.

"Sand Traps"


u000001387911's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very hard. Not able to glide club under ball. It bounced due the bunker base being to hard or lack of sand. Cost extra stroke


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Eastlake Tee Times on 02/08/2017:

Thanks for your feedback, we will notify our crews about the concern on the bunkers, we appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thanks for the great rating!

"Great course"


rmercado59's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playing with friend on a work day, priceless, this course is in great shape, I will like that my fellow player to fix there divots also they need a beer car in the course,

Great place good restaurants nearby


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake Tee Times on 02/08/2017:

Excellent! So glad you loved the location and the course itself. We can't wait to see you back for more!

"Way too slow"


JohnErwin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Way too slow is the theme for this course. And one of the few times where I was ready to be done after the front 9. I realize it was the day after Christmas but there was no need to book that many groups five minutes apart. Cartpath only really slowed things down. There should never be a five hour plus ground on any course. Course was in pretty good shape except for the greens. Too bad that this may be the norm not the exception according to other reviewers.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from EastLake Tee Times on 02/08/2017:

Glad you loed the course conditions! We regret to hear the pace of play was not ideal for your round. Give us another shot when you can, we look forward to your next round and ensuring you have an enjoyable experience!



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/01/2016
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from EastLake Tee Times on 02/08/2017:

Thanks for your rating! Come back and see us!

"Too tough the rough"


ronsam's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played when overseeding not fully complete - both fairways and rough not cut. Hard to get good contact with the ball . Maybe a couple of weeks later would be better. Got my exercise though.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/08/2016

-Ronsam

We are currently into the final cuts of the fairways and are diligently working on the rough. I fully understand the difficulty that comes along with playing during overseeding. We definitely hope to see you back out once we have everything completed here shortly. Thank you for your feedback.

Nathan Ga

Assistant General Manager

EastLake Country Club



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed