Shadow Mountain Golf Club

3.7932352941 3.8 stars from 5 (397)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 5375 yards
  • Slope: 116
  • Rating: 66.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 5375 yards 66.1 116
Blue (W) 71 5375 yards 71.1 125
Gold 70 5223 yards 65.4 114
Gold (W) 71 5223 yards 70.3 123
White (W) 71 5062 yards 69.4 121
White 70 5062 yards 64.7 112

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 397 Reviews
5 stars:
76
4 stars:
197
3 stars:
72
2 stars:
29
1 stars:
23

recommend this course

327 out of 395 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions at a resort   Great for seniors walkers locals   Challenges include narrow fairways bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Classic Course"


u000002818350's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I went with my wife and friend. Course well worth the discount price we received. The greens were all dried out, possibly they are getting ready to seed for the Fall. Again for the price I would play again. We got right on, had a twosome in front and behind us, everyone played ready golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/27/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are glad you had a great day on the course and look forward to having you back again soon!


William9863307's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/25/2017:

Thank you!


pcbravo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in poor condition. It's probably the worst time of the year to play there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/22/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Unfortunately, due to the weather, the course is a little dry at the moment. However, we can assure you our staff is doing everything to keep the course in great shape!


DebKallok's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/14/2017:

Thank you!

"The Shadow"


1Retired's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall not to bad, could use a little grass though. Markings on where to go need to be updated/cleaned up could get a bit confusing.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We hope you had an enjoyable day on the course!

"Great choice for the Labor day holiday !"


antofd's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I purposely picked this course as I thought it would NOT be crowded for the Labor Day holiday. What a good choice it was as I finished my round in 2 hours 45 mins ! Sharon, in the pro shop, is one of the NICEST people you will ever meet ! I LOVE this course !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/07/2017:

We pride ourselves on pace of play so we are happy to hear that you had a great and quick round!

"Dry course"


davisja's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens in good shape. Fairways for the most part very dry and no grass.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/07/2017:

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We apologize you thought the fairways were a little dry. Unfortunately, we have had an incredibly dry summer and recently one of our irrigation pumps broke. We appreciate you coming out to play!



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/06/2017:

Thank you!

"Good course on a quiet day"


Jlind88's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Really appreciated the excellent customer service from the gentlemen handling the carts to the ladies inside. Literally got out of my car and before we even had the lift gate open to get our clubs there was a cart waiting behind our car. We had a 7:30am tee time and we honestly may have been the last ones to tee off, there was nobody behind us. Some fairways were a bit dry but greens were nice. We managed to play 18 in three hours, will be back again...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/06/2017:

Thank you for the 5* review! We are so glad to hear that you were so happy with the service our staff provided!

"Too Tight for Most"


Ivank's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you can play 18 holes of straight down the middle - this is the course for you. But if you are an average golfer that loses control on a slice, a hook or even a draw in the slightest - avoid this course. It is tight and has absolutely no forgiveness. Houses line both sides of every hole. The slightest blip and you are in someones yard - or even worse - their house. I do not recommend this for the average run of the mill golfer. But if you have a controlled game - this will challenge you and make for an interesting day. The course however is on the shortside in yardage.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear you thought the course was too narrow but still hope you had an enjoyable day on the course.



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 08/29/2017:

Thank you!


Tommy7373988's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love playing Shadow Mountain. We play it in under 3 hours. Is it THE BEST? No but good enough. I look forward to playing there many more times this year


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 08/30/2017:

Thank you for the kind review! We look forward to having you back again soon!

"Condition"


miltocy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairway's aren't being watered very bare and hard with large areas of no grass.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Club on 08/23/2017:

Hey, “miltocy” thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As you know course conditions can tend to be a bit dry during this part of the year. We have been receiving positive feedback about the course conditions recently despite the dry weather, so we apologize conditions were not up to your standards. With the anticipation of over-seeding we are starting to reduce watering, this may lead to a few dry spots on the course but will ultimately pay off once we get into season! Thank you for coming out to play, and we hope to see you again soon!


oguragolf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was extremely tight for me, the houses along side of several holes were just too close for my game. If you hit it straight this is a course for you but if your not "beware"!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Shadow Mountain Golf Club on 08/16/2017:

Hello Douglas, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Shadow Mountain Golf Club, in the Palm Springs area. We hope you enjoyed the course layout, although the course may have been a bit tight. It looks like you had a smooth round and had a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for the 3-star review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Short surprise"


Delkins49's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was fairly narrow and 5400 yards from the back tees. Tees, fairways, and greens were excellent. Sand traps had plenty of sand in them. I was not used to playing such perfect lies on fairways. I used driver on only 5 holes. Others required placement for better second shot to greens. Will play again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"great value and very COLD beer"


oldguysflog's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Arrived at 7:20 for an 8:00 T time and found the course empty. The cart guy was ready with a cart to our car. The starter was very friendly and explained that they had $2.00 draft beer for after the round.

As I have played this course before I knew what to expect but I was pleased to be the only group within 3 holes. So the course was in very good shape and the round took 3 hours and the beer was very Cold and tasted wonderful after the round. I think this could be the best value in the desert.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Ed9008079's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Coming back real soon"


Sylvia39's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Wide open because of the hot weather in late July. Even in the 100 degree weather while most courses are all dried out, this course is in great condition. Loved the layout. Only complaint was that bunkers were hard and pact in. Although course is on the shorter side, GPS would have been nice.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"My Home Course"


kimmanfredi's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I love Shadow Mountain Golf Course. From the minute I enter the gates I am greeted by the pro, manager, and assistants. My clubs are put into the cart and ice buckets are filled. There is always an available tee time and the course is in great condition. Shadow Mountain is not a long course but it's Gene Sarazen design offers plenty of opportunities to craft and improve my game. The only reason I am hesitant to give this course a perfect score is the fear it may get too crowded! Best value and venue in Palm Desert.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Experience"


Brian4717135's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall had a good time playing here. The workers were super friendly. The course was in good condition well maintained. I would come back to play here again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed