Harbor Club on Lake Oconee

4.4857647059 4.5 stars from 5 (43)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7048 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 73.7
  • Layout

  • 1111 Polo Circle, Suite 102, Greensboro, GA 30642, Greene County
  • (800) 505-4653, (706) 453-4414
  • (706) 453-7999
  • www.harborclub.com

Year built: 1991
Architect(s): Tom Weiskopf, Jay Morrish
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: A1 Bent Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7048 yards 73.7 139
Blue 72 6538 yards 71.6 131
Green 72 6223 yards 70.2 127
White 72 5919 yards 68.7 119
Silver 72 5558 yards 67.2 115
Red (W) 72 5169 yards 70.0 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 43 Reviews
5 stars:
26
4 stars:
14
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

42 out of 43 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"After 25 Years, Harbor Club is Still Worthy of Praise"


TheGolfinGuy's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Harbor Club on Lake Oconee opened over 25 years ago and is still receiving high praise from golfers, writers and magazines alike. In fact, Harbor Club has been given 4½ out of 5 stars by Golf Digest as a "Best Places to Play" for the past 3 years running. Earlier this year, Golfweek Magazine rated Harbor Club #3 on its State-by-State list of Best Courses You Can Play in the State of Georgia.

With six sets of tees, Harbor Club offers a suitable distance for every caliber of golfer. The course measures 7,048 yards from the tips with a course rating of 73.6 and a slope of 138. Most guys will find the Green Tees (6,223 yards, 70.0/129) to be a challenge that still leaves them with a little bit of dignity intact. The Ladies Tees play 5,169 yards (66.6/111). Remember to choose the set of tees that best suit your game and you’re sure to have a good time.

This Tom Weiskopf - Jay Morrish designed golf course is nestled along the coastline of Lake Oconee and is fun to play for players of all skill levels. From the tees, you’ll find undulating fairways with generous landing areas, although fairway bunkers have been strategically placed to catch some errant tee shots. Almost every hole is tree lined, and, although the trees are not densely packed, if you’re in them, you’ll find yourself having to punch out, thus wasting a shot. For the most part, Lake Oconee provides visual aesthetics and really only comes into play on four holes.

In addition to a fabulous golf course, Harbor Club has some great practice facilities including a full-length driving range with targets, where you can hit every club in the bag, along with a short game area and large practice putting green. The pro shop is home to some of the latest golf fashions and logoed apparel.

Memorable Holes (All Yardages are from the Blue Tees)

Number 3: Par 4, 345 yards. Leave driver in the bag on number 3. “Stone Bridge” plays 345 yards and features water all down the right side and out of bounds left of the cart path. An accurate second shot is needed with the water guarding the right side, almost to the edge of the green.

Number 4: Par 4: 430 yards. The par 4 5th hole has an interesting moniker – “Horses Won’t Cross the Creek”. The hole brings into focus Lake Oconee for the first time and creates a wonderful backdrop behind the green on this lengthy par 4. Your second shot plays downhill, giving back some of the overall length, but be sure to hit the right club on approach. The long, narrow green creates a three-club difference between front and back pins. Number 4 is what I would consider to be a true test of golf.

Number 11: Par 5, 553 yards. The dogleg left 11th is nicknamed “The Chimney” and is just flat out long. It’s tree-lined to keep you honest off the tee and the fairway bunkers that flank both sides of the landing area have seen their fair share of action. The green is well protected in the front by bunkers on both sides. A front pin placement can make for an interesting approach shot.

Number 14: Par 5, 523 yards. Perhaps the most intriguing risk/reward hole at Harbor Club is the #1 handicap par 5, 14th nicknamed “Wildflower”. For the average player, the hole plays as a dogleg left, around a large oak tree and treed marsh area. However, for the thrill seeker, you can play your drive left of the giant oak off the tee, taking the dogleg out of play and giving yourself a clear, albeit lengthy, shot to the green. A great drive from the Blue Tees will still leave a shot of over 230 yards to the middle of the green, of which about 200 is carry over the marsh. Two good shots back to back and this feat is easily accomplished. Even if you just clear the marsh area, you’ll be looking at a makeable up and down. This has to be one of the most challenging risk/reward opportunities in the state.

Number 15: Par 4, 281 yards. After the thrill of conquering the course’s toughest hole, it’s on to the shortest par 4 on the course. “Hidden Springs” plays 281 yards from the Blue Tees and from an elevated tee box, you get the idea that driving the green shouldn’t be a problem. Many will try, most will come up short, which isn’t a bad thing (unless your buddies succeed); you’ll have a manageable up and down with a good drive. If you decide to play it as a two-shot hole, be sure to avoid the fairway bunkers on either side off the tee. The water behind the right side of the green shouldn’t come into play.

Number 17: Par 3, 174 yards. If the bunker between the water and the green on “The Marsh” par 3 17th were longer, it would be a carbon copy of number 17 at Bay Hill. From the Blue Tees, it plays about the same length as Bay Hill’s Gold Tees, with the same carry over water to an angular green. It’s a great par 3.

Number 18: Par 4, 415 yards. “Double Cross” is a very challenging finishing hole that requires a well-executed tee shot over a creek, which runs parallel to the fairway the entire length of the hole. You’ll need to carry the water a second time in order to reach the green. The green is large and features some significant undulations, making for some interesting pin placements. Take a par and run.

Last Word: After your round, be sure to stop by the clubhouse for your favorite post round libations or a bite to eat. Lunch is served Tuesday – Saturday from 11 am – 5 pm and you can grab dinner Thursday – Saturday from 5 pm – 9 pm.

The lunch menu features some amazing sandwiches and burgers, including a “Build Your Own Burger” where you select from a number of toppings. The French Dip, Reuben and Chicken Sandwiches are also great choices.

The Culinary Team at Harbor Club pulls out all the stops for dinner. Start off with a basket of eggplant French fries and then indulge in entrees such as Salmon Paillard, Shrimp Angel Hair Pasta or Rack of Lamb. After dinner, treat yourself to a Chocolate Martini, made with brownie cubes, chocolate mousse, whipped cream and candied nuts. After all, you deserve it!

If you’re looking to relocate to the Lake Oconee area, look no further than Harbor Club. There’s a lot more here than just an outstanding golf course. There’s a junior Olympic size pool, tennis and pickleball courts, and the 12-acre Grove – a complex that includes a state-of-the-art fitness center, hiking and Fit-Trails, a quarter-mile running track and an event/sports field.

Boat enthusiasts will feel right at home at Harbor Club. The award-winning Lake Oconee Marina (Best Recreational Facility in the Southeast) provides easy access to the lake as well as boat storage and a wide variety of services to help you enjoy life on the lake. This includes a 72-slip dry stack boat (soon to be 300 slip) storage facility, boat ramps, fueling, watercraft rentals and a convenience store. If that’s not enough, there’s always Harbor Club’s Boathouse Restaurant, where you can motor in by boat or by car and enjoy burgers, BBQ, ribs and fried catfish all tastefully presented and served piping hot. During the summer, there’s live music at the Boathouse on Friday and Saturday nights from 11am to 9pm, and Sundays from 11am to 7pm, May through September. It’s also available to host private events.

Harbor Club is also a great venue for weddings. The Stables provide a beautiful, pastoral setting for weddings, receptions and other special events.

As you can see, Harbor Club has a lot to offer. The golf course is one of the few courses on Lake Oconee that the public has access to and I suspect at some time it too will go private. Until then, if you’re in the area and are looking for a great place to play and be treated like you belong, give Harbor Club a try.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Top 5 public course in GA"


bfallgren's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

We love coming to Harbor Club. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Food is great and Golf shop is always stocked with great apparel.

We have played this course 3 times now and always in great shape. It helped that we last played just before the club championship but also played in June and it was also in great condition then. We have yet to experience slow play at Harbor Club. We would play it more often if green fees were slightly more reasonable but for now we''ll continue to look for hot deals on GolfNow


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great design"


drcann's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were deep tined aerated 10 days ago so we're slow on bumpy.The course is a super layout, through the woods but adequate landing areas make it fun and challenging for all handicap levels


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Exciting and Unique, Two Great Reachable Par 4's"


mr79golf's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Exciting layout with great mix of scoring holes that you can attack, and very difficult holes that take strategy and execution to navigate. If this course didn't have several spots where homes/OB stakes cut WAAYY too close to the area of play (number 3 is ridiculous), it would be one of the best layouts in Georgia. The fact that a couple of homeowners actually have electric fence around their yards should give you an idea. But even with that nonsense the course is a really fun and strong design. Conditions were very good for early August, even with slow greens as they protect the bent grass from the heat. The greens were healthy and rolled smooth, just very slow. Practice facility is adequate, nothing great, but it's all you need. Staff are good. Not overly willing to greet and serve, but they aren't bad either. The food quality is outstanding (we ate lunch there three times). Truly great dishes and execution. Dining service was very slow but it was worth it for the food. Overall, a good experience and would recommend if you are in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Course"


u252024529's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful Course. Very well maintained. Great elevation, and great views. Amazing layout, and I was able to play in under 3 hours for $54. Was a steal!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course and Experience"


matthewroberts1231's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course had been recently aerated, but regardless of that, the course was in spectacular condition. This course has no lackluster holes and provides a picture worthy hole every 4 holes or so.

The staff was extremely friendly and treated my father and I as if we were members.

Overall, the course is well worth a long drive and consider yourself lucky if this gem is near you.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



"May want to pass on this one"


u325335813's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Expected much more based on my experiences playing other courses in the area. The booking stated that aerofication was in recovery but the truth is the greens were not puttable and barely playable due to the large sand filled holes on the green. I think it was misleading to state in recovery when it was impossible to get a ball to roll without bouncing everywhere. We are staying at the plantation course who stated same thing regarding recovery conditions and the greens are very playable. The guys in the shop could care less that we were there since we aren't members. I play 150 rounds a year and am confident I will not have a worse experience than I had here. When the greens recover the course will be better but I found nothing impressive with this course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Just what we were looking for"


Eric6334571's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time player. We had two groups. We enjoyed the layout, the course was in great shape despite the greens being aireated. We were warned when we booked and the rate reflected the work being done. Very please with the experience overall. Everything from the range to the pro shop to the course was great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Best in the area"


jodawg's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Other than very hard bunkers, the course was in great shape. Play sloes on the back due to a couple of short par 4s that big hitters attempt to drive and a difficult par 17th and tough 18th with double water.

Overall, best Golfnow value and by far tops in the area that isn't private.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good Value"


SlowLefty's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Some great holes, some average holes. Overall, good value, but not as a strong as others in the area.

A good substitute for a day though if you're travelling in the area and want a dayvthats friendly on the wallet vs all the Reynolds courses that are 200+ USD at peak season.

Course was also in great shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



cdekdahl's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2017
First time playing Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


I recommend this course


"Overshadowed by Renyolds, but still one of the best."


ca03697's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

If the renowned Renyolds Plantation wasn't in the area this would be the best course on the lake. Golf.com ranks Harbor Club as one of the top 10 courses you can play, and I believe it.

I played the 6,200 yard tees, and felt a definite need for shot placement. Several times I found myself hitting irons off of tees, just because of the strategically placed landing areas. However, from the back tees, which stretch a touch over 7,000 yards, places an extra need for some distance.

One of the cooler things (at least for me) is the extra touch of naming the holes. One name in particular I will remember is the 16th hole, called "Deadman's Gold" This hole is short, but oh-so-tricky. The right side is out of bounds in the woods, and the left side of the fairway drops way down into the woods, placing a premium on hitting the fairway.

Yes, the Harbor Club was a bit on the pricey side, but it was money well-spent. One thing that is something to take advantage of is that by scheduling a tee time at Harbor Club, you are eligible for a 10% discount off your stay at The Lodge at Lake Oconee.

Overall, the Harbor Club is overshadowed by Renyolds, but that just makes the pace of play and serenity even sweeter for a day trip just outside of Atlanta.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Harbor Club Golf"


SmoovaJrGolfs's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I played Harbor Club prior to a club fitting at the Kingdom. This course handles rain really well (it was raining the day I went). Course has a great layout, friendly staff, and great food. I would highly recommend this place if you have a chance to play it. Should be a Bucket List Course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course but tight in places"


pigdoc's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played with two locals here on a Saturday morning. Course was tight in places, but very enjoyable to play. Conditions were great, and layout was challenging. I'd certainly play here again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent place to play"


u000001689200's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff was very friendly and helpful! Course is a lot of fun and in great shape. Worth more than what I payed!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Loved the course"


bucpilot's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 9 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and very friendly staff. The course was in great condition. I hope to play it again sometime soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"First Class"


bfallgren's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/19/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Very impressed with Harbor Club staff, amenities and course conditions. When we played, greens were a little slow due to heat conditions.

Although there are many nice views of lake, only a few holes had water in play. Loved the layout but beware long hitters could easily run out of fairway. Green fees are a little high for comparable courses in the Atlanta area but probably better than Reynolds Plantation. Clubhouse is Very aesthetically appealing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course to play"


janlest's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was very hot - 98 degrees - & humid, but it was a fun course & got bird sightings of a hawk & ospreys as a bonus. Not many golfers out (weekday & heat) - except directly in front of us the whole round. I got very good at getting out of the overabundant bunkers. Lots of elevation changes & lots of water as well. Greens were in good shape, as were the fairways which were, for the most part, fairly wide.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"This course is really nice to the eyes"


u000005676879's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It had rained for a couple of days prior to my playing the course. The fairways and greens were in great shape. The greens were moderately fast due to the rains, but putted true.

It was my pleasure to play this course. I will certainly play this again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Golf Course"


Keith1958UGA's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Harbor Club was in very nice condition. Several of the bunkers needed some work, but for March it was a very good day at the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed