Makalei Hawaii Country Club

3.7908705882 3.8 stars from 5 (205)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7091 yards
  • Slope: 144
  • Rating: 74.3
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 7091 yards 74.3 144
Blue 72 6698 yards 72.4 140
White 72 6161 yards 68.7 134
White (W) 72 6161 yards 75.0 133
Red 72 5242 yards 65.6 118
Red (W) 72 5242 yards 69.4 121
Peacock (W) 72 3582 yards 60.3 103

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 205 Reviews
5 stars:
54
4 stars:
103
3 stars:
25
2 stars:
17
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

179 out of 204 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city near the airport   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers thick rough   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Challenging"


hstrilchuk's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Maybe not the most luxurious course in Kona but very challenging. You really have to put some thought into your shot. Enjoyed it a lot and have booked there again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"My favorite golf course"


u0000063300819's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have been playing Makalei for fifteen years, and I love the new changes. The greens are in excellent shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"GolfNow should divorce Makalei"


haeholds's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/31/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

all Sandtraps not in use (did not know)

Tee Boxes and fairways have not been touched in months. Greens were satisfactory.

$50. for at least 5 year old Cobra rentals.

Carts were old and almost brakeless.

Total course appearance was disgraceful.

Layout was reasonable with possibilities but course was worst maintained I have ever played in fifty years.

i was ashamed as I brought guests.

This course should be off your list as your reputation has been tarnished.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Makalei Hawaii Country Club on 01/04/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Makalei Hawaii Country Club, in the Kailua-Kona area. We appreciate that you liked the greens and pace of play. Our team is working hard to continue to make improvements throughout the course for 2018. We greatly value your feedback as we work towards any necessary improvements, and hope you will notice some of these during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Up island golf"


u000007826761's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course needs serious maintenance. Traps were all under repair. Fun course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Makalei Hawaii Country Club on 01/04/2018:

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff at Makalei Hawaii Country Club. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the golf experience that you deserve.

"Great value for Hawai‘i golf"


u000002333502's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course a few times over the years. It is built high up on the side of a mountain next to Kona. The course is very hilly, with not one flat hole. Virtually every hole has a blind shot due to the elevation gains and losses. For the money, the course is in good shape and their is lots of wild life around and ON the course, mainly peacocks and turkeys. It is also about 5 - 10 degrees cooler because of the elevation of the course and a few more clouds move in, which make the playing temperature about perfect.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



avieconnor's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000005607296's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"It will get better"


uZDZQ9542ZD's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course 30 years ago when it was a tough beautiful track. It’s been allowed to get pretty rough

The greens had just been sanded too that would have been nice to know- in advance!!

It’s hard to justify any more than $50 for this course, in spite of a beautiful layout and just overall poor conditions. The views cannot be matched anywhere on the island.

The good news is it is obvious the new managers are working to make the course playable again.

I’ll come back The high rating speaks for itsel, a good test.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Makalei Golf Club on 10/23/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We are sorry to hear that the course conditions were not at their best that day, however do hope that the pace of play and beautiful course layout were able to make sure you enjoyed your round with us. Thank you for recommending our course and we hope to see you back with us soon!


u000004763771's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course layout. The hilly terrain keeps the course interesting and challenging. The only downside is that the sand traps have not been maintained, apparently for years. I understand the course is under new management, so I expect that the traps will be refurbished soon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Mixed Bag"


brovarnm's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have to echo previous sentiments that this course is in really bad shape.

Greens are in horrible shape. Teeboxes are a disaster (played the whites) and the bunkers (devoid of rakes for the most part) haven't been cared for by maintenance in what appears to be months?! There are actually bunkers and areas under construction with no forewarning. Glad I didn't land my fairway shot on that bulldozer!!

The good. The fairways are looking and playing well. The staff is great and very courteous. The ocean views are still present and won't let you down! Beautiful! The temps are always a relief from other lowland courses.

Don't pay more than the hot deal or you're probably better off playing a little more for Hapuna or BICC.

p.s. Curse you 12 and 13!! I'll be back for you!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Makalei Golf Club on 09/28/2017:

Hello, thank you for giving our course, Makalei Golf Club, in the Kailua Kona area, a three-star review. We are sorry to hear that our course was in poor condition when you last played. But, we are happy that you enjoyed our course layout and that you found our staff friendly. We appreciate your feedback, and we'll see you on the course soon.

"A Faded Gem"


Robindea's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
Previously played Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played this course 3 times in the past when I came to the big island, and found it to be quirky fun. Now, it is clearly struggling, having just changed ownership. I understand the new owner is committed to reviving the course. It needs a lot of reviving. The greens are horrible, with disease spots all over. The bunkers haven't been raked, turned or cleaned in months. The fairways are playable, but in spite of drought conditions in South Kohala, are slightly overwatered. I hope this course can be saved, but it is not a good value now, in spite of the reasonable cost.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Makalei Golf Club on 09/06/2017:

Hello Robin, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Makalei Golf Club, in the Kailua Kona area. We are sorry to hear that our course was not in the best shape when you played. But, we are happy to see that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed the course layout. Thank you for playing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Golf in Paradise"


sawboston's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Mountainous couse with plenty of bird life. Staff very friendly. Play a bit earlier in the summer to get the best weather and floral conditions. Looking forward to the next trip!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"This is a course built by a large mountain."


u000003409560's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You've never played such a steep course! All parts of this course are angled top challenge play. Long drives come up short and poor drives can run down hill to the green. The grass is great to play on, but the course gets a little muddy from the daily rain. I highly recommend this course to anyone coming to the big island that wants to cool down while playing golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Needs serious reconditioning"


Dante8747951's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Hidden Gem? This course at first seemed cool with the long drive through thick forests and beatiful peacocks. But the condition was terrible. The bunkers were unplayable and certain areas of the fairway as well. Multiple times I had to move my ball over 10 yards just to find Some grass. Some of the tee boxes looked like the rough. If the conditions were better, The course would be pretty fun to play. Definitely not worth the rate, or even a hot deal for me. If you have played hapuna or mauna lani you be extremely disappointed with this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Makalei Golf Club on 07/05/2017:

Hello Dante, thank you for taking the time to review Makalei Golf Club in Hawaii. We are sorry to hear that the course may not have been up to par when you played. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will see an improvement for your next round. We are happy to see that you had a great experience with our staff and that you had a smooth round. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to see you again soon.


mel333's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great time. Golf course was in good condition.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Interesting layout"


u000003023233's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is not a resort course.

Amenities are minimal but still good value especially if you could get discounted rate from GolfNow.com.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Makalei Golf Club on 06/09/2017:

Hello Peter, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Hidden Gem"


msmithcsrs's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

This course has improved substantially from when I last played it in 2014. I think it was facing semi-drought conditions in 2014. Currently, it is green and the fairways have grown in substantially. While the fairways are not pristine, especially in extreme sloping areas, they are very playable. There still are plenty of weeds in the fairways, but typically they don’t impact play.

The dramatic elevation changes downhill and uphill provide an unforgettable golf experience. This is a course of spectacular character. You really need a range finder with slope technology to judge distances accurately. I had one uphill shot measuring 132 yards but the slope indicator on my range finder read 161 yards. I hit a 160 yard club to the center of the green. There were dramatic differences downhill as well.

This course has substantial distances between many holes. The distances and difficulty make for a long round. While I read several reviews of single players playing under 3 hours, I think this is the exception. You would have to have no one in front of you. We had no one in front of us the entire round and it took us a little over 4.5 hours as a threesome. We typically play a normal course in 3.5 hours if we don't have to wait. On the day we played we did have rain on the first three holes which could have added to our playing time.

The greens can be tricky to read, but beautifully receptive to approach shots and true rolling. They are reasonably fast considering how lush and green they are. Reading some of the greens reminded me of the “mystery spot” in Kentucky where your eyes trick you into thinking you are on an incline when you are completely level. We tried reading the greens with feel from our feet to judge the slope which appeared to prove more effective than judging with our eyes.

When I reviewed this course three years ago, I said I would not go back; however, I had a friend along on this trip who had never played it, and we had time to play all the courses on the island. I’m glad I went back. I was favorably impressed with the improvement in the course from 2014, and I highly recommend it now.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging but fair"


riebanks's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this on my own while on vacation and got around in under 3 hours. Staff was great and the marshal checked with me 2 or 3 times to see how the pace was. All the regulars let me play through and only had to wait on a tee box one time on a par 3. Course was in great condition and played fairly with true fairways that funneled into playable lies and true greens that were readable and in good shape. I'll definitely play again when I'm back in Hawaii.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Uneven lies"


HeartDoc1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

extreme undulating fairways. Multiple breaks on greens.

never a flat lie.

fairways not well maintained.

Peacocks were beautiful.

No adjoining fairways were nice.

Not a friendly course for a beginner.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Makalei Golf Club on 05/02/2017:

Thanks for your review, Reginald. We regret to hear that the conditions during your round were subpar, as that's not the standard we aim to provide. It's encouraging to see the positive rating of our staff friendliness and we do we that you'll consider playing our course again in the future.

"Over priced"


Maddiekennedy's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was recommended by a local resident. Couldn't get a signal for my gps so was on my own to estimate yardage which was a challenge as there are no fairway yardage makers to be found. If your looking for a course to hang out with the guys and horse around it's fine. If you on vacation and you're golf purist save your money and head to the resort courses. Great bird watching!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Makalei Golf Club on 04/27/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed